FORD FOCUS

Postby dtp » January 20th, 2009, 3:53 pm

are parts hard to get 4 these cars
what about fu parts

TK!

Postby TK! » January 21st, 2009, 10:31 pm

hard is joke... expensive is even funnier ...

dtp

Postby dtp » January 22nd, 2009, 2:49 pm

or i c
like elantra

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » January 24th, 2009, 10:20 am

TK! wrote:hard is joke... expensive is even funnier ...

Not true... if you talking about the first gen, parts are easy to get now, at least in d west. We get parts from Mathura's, Sylvan etc. Prices comparable with any other car of the same era.

Can't say if parts are easily available for the second gen as I've had no reason to inquire, but Sylvan specialises in euro car parts so I would imagine they already stock them since that model came out in 2005.

Rush

Postby Rush » January 27th, 2009, 11:57 am

X10

i always tell ppll that
mathura's has very reasonable prices

omjaco

Postby omjaco » May 11th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Hi.
Where is Mathura's and/or Sylvan's located? Phone No. will also help.
Manny thanks.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 11th, 2009, 10:38 pm

wow... i cud understand Sylvan, but never knew anyone who didnt know where Mathura's was.

Anyways, Mathura's 622-4513, Sylvan 625-1396... you'd better get directions from them since I not too sure how much of POS u know

I also saw an ad for someplace selling Focus spares in d Express classified, under car parts for sale... check Sunday papers

omjaco

Postby omjaco » May 12th, 2009, 1:58 pm

Hi,
I must sincerely thank you for the info. However, these parts dealerships did not have the part that I wanted which is a Radiator Coolant Bottle for the Focus.
Is there anyone out there who has one for sale or may know where I may obtain one? My number is 649-8746.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 12th, 2009, 4:26 pm

oh, the bottle... my bro changed his with a new one from Mc Enearney. We couldn't locate a used one that was worth the price, in terms of knowing what kinda life it had left. But you can try Cupen's in Petit Valley... 632-8736

omjaco

Postby omjaco » May 12th, 2009, 4:45 pm

Hi again,
I must thank you very much. You have been of immense help to me, I got one.

Plucko1

Re: FORD FOCUS

Postby Plucko1 » November 8th, 2016, 10:26 pm

Hi everyone i myself looking for ford focus alternator and this info would be of great use

Anton ragoo

Postby Anton ragoo » November 2nd, 2020, 8:22 am

Good day everyone anybody know where I can get a bonnet lock for the sec gen ford focus??????

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 26th, 2021, 7:34 pm

Hey guys,

I'm being offered a 2017 Ford Focus Titanium Hatchback for purchase but wanted to know how easily available parts are and if they're to expensive for the average man to buy. Any advice?

Postby Dave » October 26th, 2021, 10:30 pm

They are expensive to maintain for the average person.

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 28th, 2021, 12:20 pm

Damn. I thought so.

Postby MG Man » June 7th, 2022, 11:52 am

Dave wrote:They are expensive to maintain for the average person.

what did you base that statement on
We've had one 7 years now, bought it from new, currently doing 120k kms
In that time, changed brake pads once, had a power mirror replaced under warranty, had the TCM replaced at no cost outside warranty, Just bought two rear shocks from Continental for 1,200, replaced two sway bar bushes
I can go thru the invoices for prices on spark plugs, fuel filter, brake pads etc, but nothing cost more than say corolla parts

tmack

Postby tmack » June 20th, 2022, 3:18 pm

In that time, changed brake pads once, had a power mirror replaced under warranty, had the TCM replaced at no cost outside warranty, Just bought two rear shocks from Continental for 1,200, replaced two sway bar bushes
I can go thru the invoices for prices on spark plugs, fuel filter, brake pads etc, but nothing cost more than say corolla parts

MG, I'm surprised you're still rocking the Focus. Are you still going to turbocharge it?

Postby MG Man » June 21st, 2022, 10:32 am

tmack wrote:

MG, I'm surprised you're still rocking the Focus. Are you still going to turbocharge it?

nah, it's really wifey's car and she's happy with it
Just ordered an engine mount for it, for 1,200

tmack

Postby tmack » June 21st, 2022, 9:48 pm

tmack wrote:

nah, it's really wifey's car and she's happy with it
Just ordered an engine mount for it, for 1,200

I hear that, same on my end "wifey car". That's my issue the parts are 'expensive' compared to the Japanese parts, however, they tend to 'last longer' (within reasonable driving conditions).

I wish more outside parts stores will have parts for them, going by the firm is not for the 'faint of heart!'

Postby MG Man » June 22nd, 2022, 8:09 am

doh waste money by the firm
I buy most parts from Continental
A lot is available on ebay as well as US suppliers

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 22nd, 2022, 9:51 am

Problem might not be price but availability

tmack

Postby tmack » June 23rd, 2022, 6:49 am

MG Man wrote:doh waste money by the firm
I buy most parts from Continental
A lot is available on ebay as well as US suppliers

Right now, I go by ERM and they've got most of the things I need.

I'm skeptical about Ebay, as I understand our Ford's are the European spec and certain parts wouldn't fit, for eg 'replacement headlights' etc.

tmack

Postby tmack » June 23rd, 2022, 6:50 am

kamakazi wrote:Problem might not be price but availability

Bro, right now I'll say it's both!

Postby MG Man » June 24th, 2022, 11:36 am

tmack wrote:

last thing I had to order was the rear shocks, which took 2 weeks to arrive
Other than that, Continental stocks pretty much all the basics from brakes to filters
What sort of ownership experiences have you guys had?

tmack

Postby tmack » June 27th, 2022, 7:50 pm

tmack wrote:

last thing I had to order was the rear shocks, which took 2 weeks to arrive
Other than that, Continental stocks pretty much all the basics from brakes to filters
What sort of ownership experiences have you guys had?

Well, MG you should remember my history since our last PM, however, the car has been a 'tank' to drive on these nations' roads. Preferably I would have hoped for better gas mileage!

In all 8 yrs of owning the vehicle, I have just recently replaced a bad 'steering rack end', sadly it's the complete unit I had to get. I'm currently awaiting a sensor for the engine, which I'm getting from ERM auto supplies, everything else has been ok. With regards to service, I'm doing it at an 'independent shop' and those guys have been doing an excellent job.

If I have to upgrade, I'd prefer to get an electric/hybrid vehicle for better fuel economy as well as more space.

Postby MG Man » June 28th, 2022, 8:53 am

I do most of my servicing myself
I get about 400 km from a tank, which is fine for me
My issue with buying a hybrid, is it will take me 10 years to break even vs just keeping the existing car
That fuel saving is an illusion, because you have to spend more to save

tmack

Postby tmack » June 28th, 2022, 9:05 am

MG Man wrote:I do most of my servicing myself
I get about 400 km from a tank, which is fine for me
My issue with buying a hybrid, is it will take me 10 years to break even vs just keeping the existing car
That fuel saving is an illusion, because you have to spend more to save

Yeah about the same for us, btw 400-500km on a tank of premium. I had a hybrid X-Trail that vehicle was beautiful, normally I got between 600-1000km on a tank of super fuel.

I hear your point about the 'illusion', however, my reality was a stark difference from it!

Postby MG Man » June 28th, 2022, 9:20 am

let's say you're paying 250 per tank, and you fill 4 times a month, that's 1k / month or 12k per year in fuel
If a hybrid cuts that in half, you'll save 6k a year
Now assuming you have to put out 50k more for the hybrid, you're putting out 50k to save 6k a year on fuel
How long would it take for the fuel saving to cover the 50k you had to spend?
Unless a more fuel efficient car isn't costing more to buy, the fuel saving is an illusion
To put it another way, if I sell the Focus for an optimistic 60k, and i have to find 200k more to buy an Ionic EV. I will die before recouping 200k worth of fuel savings. It's actually cheaper to keep the Focus and absorb whatever maintenance costs and repairs it throws at me

tmack

Postby tmack » June 28th, 2022, 6:19 pm

MG Man wrote:let's say you're paying 250 per tank, and you fill 4 times a month, that's 1k / month or 12k per year in fuel
Now assuming you have to put out 50k more for the hybrid, you're putting out 50k to save 6k a year on fuel
Unless a more fuel efficient car isn't costing more to buy, the fuel saving is an illusion
To put it another way, if I sell the Focus for an optimistic 60k, and i have to find 200k more to buy an Ionic EV. I will die before recouping 200k worth of fuel savings. It's actually cheaper to keep the Focus and absorb whatever maintenance costs and repairs it throws at me

Well, I hear and fully understand what you're saying, however, owing the vehicle is far more than just the cost of fuel for the vehicle.

Now the primary reason for the hybrid/fully electric is the impact on the gas consumption, the cost of which hits your wallet, but more importantly how expensive is it to own and operate. Massy has claimed that the service fee on the Kona is $795.00 for every 9months. I believe that the thing that might go quickly on those vehicles are the tires, when I had my hybrid, my brakes lasted and I think they're still on the vehicle. So overall the car is cheaper to own and run in the long term. If it's financially good for you to invest in an EV/Hybrid then I say go for it, if not and the Focus is able to stand the time, then keep it!

Postby MG Man » June 29th, 2022, 8:41 am

tmack wrote:
MG Man wrote:let's say you're paying 250 per tank, and you fill 4 times a month, that's 1k / month or 12k per year in fuel

Well, I hear and fully understand what you're saying, however, owing the vehicle is far more than just the cost of fuel for the vehicle.

Now the primary reason for the hybrid/fully electric is the impact on the gas consumption, the cost of which hits your wallet, but more importantly how expensive is it to own and operate. Massy has claimed that the service fee on the Kona is $795.00 for every 9months. I believe that the thing that might go quickly on those vehicles are the tires, when I had my hybrid, my brakes lasted and I think they're still on the vehicle. So overall the car is cheaper to own and run in the long term. If it's financially good for you to invest in an EV/Hybrid then I say go for it, if not and the Focus is able to stand the time, then keep it!

7 years / 120k kms of Focus ownership:
tyres twice
Brake pads once
Rear shocks: once
Rear sway bar bushes: once
Engine mount: once
TCM: replaced under extended warranty
1 wheel speed sensor
Air filter: twice
Cabin filter: twice
Spark Plugs: once
Faulty door mirror: replaced under warranty
Oil changes: every 5k kms
Battery: once
Wipers twice

Everything listed there are items you'd also have on a hybrid vehicle
So I'm still trying to what about a hybrid vehicle makes it inherently cheaper to own, other than fuel costs
The first three years of ownership of the Focus included free maintenance inclusive of everything except tyres and batteries. Down to wiper blades were free
If you're keeping the hybrid for 3 years, then yeah, it will be cheap to run, but sayin a hybrid vehicle is inherently cheaper to own makes no sense. If it were a full EV with no ICE, then I'd say you have a slightly stronger argument, but the maths not mathsing

Return to “FORD”