Suzuki Vitara Misfiring

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Suzuki Vitara Misfiring

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 8th, 2024, 4:15 pm

Today out of the blue my 2016 Suzuki Vitara started misfiring. Has anyone ever experienced this problem before and what was the problem?

The car is currently doing 109,520km. It was serviced only by Lifestyle Motors up to 90,000km when they did a comprehensive servicing of the vehicle. After that, since it was off warranty I took it by Ryotech for the 100,000km service where he did the normal oil and filters replacement and a complete fuel injection system service. It is coming up on the 110,000km service soon.

I am going to the mechanic tomorrow, but it would be good to know beforehand what could be the possible problems.

Thanks.

Re: Suzuki Vitara Misfiring

Postby *KRONIK* » November 8th, 2024, 5:05 pm

Spark plugs?
Coil packs?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 8th, 2024, 5:22 pm

Spark plugs were replaced by Lifestyle at the 9,km service.

Postby Dave » November 8th, 2024, 6:40 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Spark plugs?
Coil packs?
Coil pack is my guess.

I have seen dealers change plugs at mileage rather than time and that causes the breakdown of the coil packs.
Standing in traffic still cause wear and tear on plugs.

If you have a hold back, then I would say fuel filter but should also be checked with the amount of fuel issues I am seeing these days.

Just good measure.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 8th, 2024, 7:42 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Spark plugs were replaced by Lifestyle at the 9,km service.
Yuh know they using generic NGK V-power right?
The correct spark plug is actually a NGK iridium or a denso
Both are listed in the manual

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 17th, 2024, 3:03 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Spark plugs were replaced by Lifestyle at the [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]],[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]km service.
Yuh know they using generic NGK V-power right?
The correct spark plug is actually a NGK iridium or a denso
Both are listed in the manual

How do you know that they aren’t using the recommended replacement spark plug?

You checked it yourself?

Postby Dave » November 17th, 2024, 3:27 pm

What was the outcome Rory?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 17th, 2024, 6:03 pm

Dave wrote:What was the outcome Rory?

Bad coil pack on plug number .

Got a new OEM replacement at Ravi’s in the bamboo (for $,[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]) as Lifestyle did not have in stock (their price was $,[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]+)

Postby Dave » November 17th, 2024, 6:23 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Dave wrote:What was the outcome Rory?

Bad coil pack on plug number .

Got a new OEM replacement at Ravi’s in the bamboo (for $,[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]) as Lifestyle did not have in stock (their price was $,[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]+)
Bingo.
Good job. Change plugs short of their actual recommended change interval. I usually cut mine by up to 25k km shorter.

Return to “SUZUKI”