Suzuki Grand Vitara - tire choices

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Mini

Postby Mini » October 31st, 2008, 12:35 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Mini wrote:narrowed it down to the Kumho STX and the Kumho KL51

both similarly priced... what allyuh think?

Hear nah, you haven't bought your tyres yet?? :lol: :shock:

Actually, the Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 rates better the the Kumho Ecsta STX as a "Highway All-Season" tyre, vs "Street/Sport Truck All-Season".

Where/how much yuh getting it?

I'm getting the Toyo Proxes STs next week.

next week for sure... 47,000kms and going on the OEM set of tires... the back ones are pretty worn though

decided on the KL51's from mileage mack in the OEM size of 225/70 16

Mini

Postby Mini » November 8th, 2008, 12:54 pm

put on the Kumho KL51's this morning at MM in south... 225/70 16 (OEM size)

still getting used to the outline white lettering... but it brings out the wheels when their clean

the bridgestone duelers lasted 48262kms ...and could have easily gone to the 50,000kms mark

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 8th, 2008, 7:40 pm

Mini wrote:put on the Kumho KL51's this morning at MM in south... 225/70 16 (OEM size)

still getting used to the outline white lettering... but it brings out the wheels when their clean

the bridgestone duelers lasted 48262kms ...and could have easily gone to the 50,000kms mark

Nice! Don't mind the Outlined White Letters, that will give you a sportier look, especially with your Satin Silver. The important question is how it riding?

I take it you kept your stock rims?

I'm surprised through, you didn't go a bit wider 235/70R16.

I was supposed to do mine today as well, but my brother trying to convince me to go 18". If I do I'll have to sell the OEM rims and tyres.

Decisions, Decisions. :?

Mini

Postby Mini » November 12th, 2008, 10:06 pm

norstar2k wrote:Nice! Don't mind the Outlined White Letters, that will give you a sportier look, especially with your Satin Silver. The important question is how it riding?

I take it you kept your stock rims?

I'm surprised through, you didn't go a bit wider 235/70R16.

I was supposed to do mine today as well, but my brother trying to convince me to go 18". If I do I'll have to sell the OEM rims and tyres.

Decisions, Decisions. :?

I kept the stock rim. I decided against going wider because of the heaver tire and the fact that the speedo woulda been out of calibration

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

Overall thought I must say I'm not entirely pleased with the Kumhos. I instructed MM to put the 32psi that I used to run in the Bridgestones and I do feel like the sidewalls are a bit softer. I can feel the van transfer it's weight more around corners. I am gonna up the pressure another 2psi and see what happens though.

The ride is softer, but the van just doesn't feel like it used to.

Today I had a panic stop, and honestly I did feel the van grip the dry road much better than the Bridgestones would have held (but they were pretty worn)

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 16th, 2008, 6:02 pm

Mini, after a couple of weeks riding on the KL51s, are you still not 'entirely pleased'? Actually the fact the ride is softer is the first gain, that should be a big improvement over the 687s.

BTW, I noticed the 2.4L SGV comes with 18" 225/60R18 Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyres - a Ultra High Performance Summer (Offroading not included).

Mini

Postby Mini » November 19th, 2008, 11:02 am

norstar2k wrote:Mini, after a couple of weeks riding on the KL51s, are you still not 'entirely pleased'? Actually the fact the ride is softer is the first gain, that should be a big improvement over the 687s.

BTW, I noticed the 2.4L SGV comes with 18" 225/60R18 Dunlop SP Sport 01 tyres - a Ultra High Performance Summer (Offroading not included).

I'm getting used to them...

I think I had over rated them slightly... they're good tires for the price... and do the job quite well...

in the wet they're GREAT... better than the 687's... but I'm still not totally comfortable with throwing the van around corners like I used to with the 687's (like I said.. the sidewalls flex more) ... but I'm playing with the pressures and will get back to you.

Mini

Postby Mini » November 24th, 2008, 6:39 pm

ok... after a couple thousand (yes I said thousand) kilometers on them... and after increasing the tire pressures to 34psi all around... I am pleased with the tires...

keep in mind they are by no means the best tires on the market... but the best bang for the buck... for less than $1000 V.I. each yuh can't go wrong

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 24th, 2008, 10:39 pm

Mini wrote:ok... after a couple thousand (yes I said thousand) kilometers on them... and after increasing the tire pressures to 34psi all around... I am pleased with the tires...

keep in mind they are by no means the best tires on the market... but the best bang for the buck... for less than $1000 V.I. each yuh can't go wrong

^^^Finally. A couple thousand eh? :shock: :D

I got the Proxies Saturday from MM. Totally different ride to the Duelers.

You running at 34? LM recommended 33 all around for me.

Mini

Postby Mini » November 25th, 2008, 11:00 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Mini wrote:ok... after a couple thousand (yes I said thousand) kilometers on them... and after increasing the tire pressures to 34psi all around... I am pleased with the tires...

^^^Finally. A couple thousand eh? :shock: :D

I got the Proxies Saturday from MM. Totally different ride to the Duelers.

You running at 34? LM recommended 33 all around for me.

yes... I'm doing 50,600kms now

LM also recommended 33 for me with the Bridgstones... and I thought it was too hard.... so I ran the recommended 32 all around... but as I said... with the Kumho's the 32 is way too soft.

Postby tr1ad » November 26th, 2008, 10:46 am

whats the threadwear on those proxies norstar2k?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 26th, 2008, 1:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:whats the threadwear on those proxies norstar2k?

BTW tr1ad, the Toyo Proxes S/T is a street tire eh, not suited for mud. :lol: :lol:

Postby tr1ad » November 26th, 2008, 9:07 pm

so wam i cyah wah it fuh meh forester?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 26th, 2008, 9:19 pm

tr1ad wrote:so wam i cyah wah it fuh meh forester?

Of course you can. I just tryin to tell yuh the SGV eh goin' in the mud for sure now! :D

You decide:
http://www.toyo.com/docs/tires/tires.as ... -suv-truck

Postby tr1ad » November 26th, 2008, 9:22 pm

i tort proxies does wear down fast

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 26th, 2008, 10:01 pm

tr1ad wrote:i tort proxies does wear down fast

I guess it depends on the speed rating. If you bought a 'Y' speed rated = 280. 'H/V/W' = 420, which is pretty good. My tyre is 104V (420 AA)

The Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 Mini bought is rated at 600. If yuh takin' the Forester off-road, you might want to consider the KL51.

Postby tr1ad » November 26th, 2008, 10:16 pm

hmmmmm

Enzo

Postby Enzo » August 6th, 2009, 9:51 pm

I replaced the bridgestones on my old model GV with Good Year Wranglers and they worked beautifully. I experimented with all different tyres on my car, pirelli, michellin, kumho, toyo and got the best performance on these roads with the eagle. Tried with my GV and the performance continued. My current GV is a year old and I can't wait to get Good Year.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 15th, 2010, 2:54 pm

After 18 months and 25,000 km later it's time to switch from the Toyo Proxes ST.

I decided to keep the OEM rims; No longer upgrading to 18s.

I'm upgrading to the Toyo Proxes ST-II. 235/65R17.

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » April 16th, 2010, 9:44 am

Proxies ST II - Dealers (MM i suppose). Have a set of Proxies ST on the GV, but it is going to be a while before I change, tyres still good. Its louder than the OEM though. What are the prices on the ST II and reviews once you've tested them...

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 16th, 2010, 11:35 am

GVTrini07 wrote:Proxies ST II - Dealers (MM i suppose). Have a set of Proxies ST on the GV, but it is going to be a while before I change, tyres still good. Its louder than the OEM though. What are the prices on the ST II and reviews once you've tested them...

ST II - $1200+Vat from MM, the shipment is due mid-May.

I too found the STs to be loud but I was told directional tyres tend to be louder than the conventional patterns, because of the depth and size of the grooves. I challenge that because my Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-D3 tyres on the Primera weren't loud at all. Car vs SUV perhaps? Anybody knows?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 16th, 2010, 11:39 pm

It amazes me how people place so much effort on finding 'quiet' tyres.. I have never found tyre noise to be a bother at all! I have used different types of directional and non directional tyres on my Civic and never noticed a difference WRT noise..

I am now running Terra Trac All Terrains on my SGV and even at highway speeds, i never notice them...

norstar2k, Toyo Proxies?? come on man... This is what you should be looking at for your GV.. :mrgreen:

NorStar2K

Re:

Postby NorStar2K » May 30th, 2010, 2:44 am

3stagevtec wrote:It amazes me how people place so much effort on finding 'quiet' tyres.. I have never found tyre noise to be a bother at all! I have used different types of directional and non directional tyres on my Civic and never noticed a difference WRT noise..

I am now running Terra Trac All Terrains on my SGV and even at highway speeds, i never notice them...

norstar2k, Toyo Proxies?? come on man... This is what you should be looking at for your GV.. :mrgreen:

I now see this comment from 3stagevtec. Lucky you that yuh never get a noisy tire in yuh tail cuz if you did you'd notice.

I not doing mud, ask Tr1ad, so i have no use for Mud-Terrain tires :D . I use Sport Truck Highway All-Season tires only.

However they rate quite well on wet traction and hydroplane resistance. Who sells these?

guiness

Re:

Postby guiness » July 1st, 2010, 10:00 am

norstar2k wrote:After 18 months and 25,000 km later it's time to switch from the Toyo Proxes ST.

did you get these?

NorStar2K

Re: Re:

Postby NorStar2K » July 2nd, 2010, 10:27 am

guiness wrote:
norstar2k wrote:After 18 months and 25,000 km later it's time to switch from the Toyo Proxes ST.

did you get these?

Funny you should ask, actually no. I've been waiting for the shipment since May and to date it is yet to arrive.

I've been offered the Kumho Road Venture SAT KL61 as an alternative.

guiness

Re: Re:

Postby guiness » July 2nd, 2010, 9:08 pm

norstar2k wrote:
guiness wrote:

did you get these?

Funny you should ask, actually no. I've been waiting for the shipment since May and to date it is yet to arrive.

I've been offered the Kumho Road Venture SAT KL61 as an alternative.

I saw these today from MM
i also saw another Kumho from Quick Service for 986.00 +vat
are you sticking with the 235/65/R17? I thinking about going bigger 255/55/R17 (max)
Checking another place tomorrow that say they might have more options available. will let you know what i find out..

NorStar2K

Re: Suzuki Grand Vitara - tire choices

Postby NorStar2K » July 4th, 2010, 9:06 pm

Ok. Cool. The Kumho Road Venture SAT KL61 is appx. $950+VAT. Remember to look for a tyre with a high wet traction ranking before you buy. (check tirerack.com).

Brand doesn't necessarily mean best overall performance. The OEM Bridgestone Dueler H/T D687 is crappy on wet roads, which I found out the hard way. But the Dueler H/L Alenza is excellent.

Six months+ of the year the roads are wet, so you need better hydro and wet traction.

guiness a profile of 55 is pretty low for a 4000lb SUV. You'll feel every single stone and bump. I have a friend with 255/55R18. I hate the ride. Especially at speed. Also the 255 sits just beyond the outer edge of the fender flares so mud/water spray is high.

I'm looking for tyres rated as:
Street/Sport Truck All-Season
Crossover/SUV Touring All-Season
Highway All-Season

NOT:
On-/Off-Road All-Terrain
Off-Road Maximum Traction

guiness

Postby guiness » July 5th, 2010, 8:31 am

thanks for the info norstar2k
I got good wet traction from the michelin and they cost 1000.00. 225/60. but i haven't been able to source them.
I will be doing some more checking this week.

NorStar2K

Re:

Postby NorStar2K » July 14th, 2010, 1:00 am

norstar2k wrote:So far the Goodyear Fortera TripleTred wins top honours for Highway All Season Light Truck/SUV based on recommended tires - scoring scored 9.1 & 9.2 in hydro and wet traction.

guiness, I got a set of these on Saturday from Automotive Components Ltd. in Arima. $965.22 + VAT. 235/65R17. Made in Canada.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... TripleTred

http://www.1010tires.com/tire.asp?tireb ... TripleTred

http://www.goodyear.ca/goodyeartiresele ... ht%20Truck

http://www.discounttiredirect.com/produ ... rhc.xl.jpg

I got fed up waiting on MM.

guiness

Postby guiness » July 14th, 2010, 8:31 am

norstar2k, i did come across these for around 1600.00
thats a good price and it meets all of your requirements as well..
i'm going to MM on friday last time, will update with info but it seems this is the best find
hows it working out so far, anything noticeable?

bgh

Postby bgh » October 26th, 2010, 5:32 pm

so, i'm in the hunt for 2 rear tyres for my SGV and so far its very hard to come by...

Tyre Clinic - Goodyear integrity - 1000
Milage Mack - Kumho KR21 - 719
Kelly

Return to “SUZUKI”