FYI: 3G (2005/11) Grand Vitara Owners

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

NorStar2K

FYI: 3G (2005/11) Grand Vitara Owners

Postby NorStar2K » October 6th, 2007, 8:51 pm

If you have the model with the Smartkey, be advised your vehicle is not protected from B&E.

Several owners have suffered B&E while parked in malls for example, and them blamed the firm for it. The Smartkey is simply proximity central selective unlocking and keyless start.

It is strongly recommended that owners install an alarm, either from the firm or externally, but install one all the same.

I installed the Viper 480xv simply because it has motion sensors, VRS and paging. It can be installed so as to still maintain the Smartkey features, but still maintain all the features if the alarm.

Many of you paid $239k+ accessories. Protect your investment.

Just my 2¢

Mini

Re: FYI: 2006/7 Grand Vitara Owners

Postby Mini » October 6th, 2007, 9:47 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Several owners have suffered B&E while parked in malls for example, and them blamed the firm for it. The Smartkey is simply proximity central selective unlocking and keyless start.

explain how the smart key works... i have the fabric 4x4 with the regular key

I know I'm susceptible to B&E, but the 3 point immobilizer supposed to proect against vehicle theft

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 6th, 2007, 11:50 pm

Mini check yr PM please.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 7th, 2007, 12:10 am

:bump: FYI

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 7th, 2007, 12:17 pm

Mini

Postby Mini » October 7th, 2007, 1:09 pm

what other alarms work with the smart key or the regular keyless entry found on the 4x4 fabric or the 4x2?

can you still use the stock key fob for disarming the alarm or do you need a separate remote?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 7th, 2007, 7:19 pm

Any alarm would work with the regular keyless entry Mini, such as the Viper 350HV, 1002, 791xv etc.

I'm only aware of the Viper 460xv and 480xv for the Smart Key models. But I believe the new Viper line would also work. And, yes you would have to use a separate remote apart from the stock key fob.
Last edited by NorStar2K on October 7th, 2007, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 7th, 2007, 7:24 pm

puta civic
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby puta civic » October 7th, 2007, 10:12 pm

well my dammm sales rep didn't know her @$$$ from her ears ...
she told me if i installed an alarm i would loose the smart key function..
ok.. so who and where i can install this alarm? :evil:
and how much $$$$??
any ways...
anyone bringing kits yet?
Mini?? yuh sticking?? Loco install the nudge bar yet?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 7th, 2007, 11:47 pm

puta civic wrote:well my dammm sales rep didn't know her @$$$ from her ears ...
she told me if i installed an alarm i would loose the smart key function..
ok.. so who and where i can install this alarm? :evil:
and how much $$$$??
any ways...
anyone bringing kits yet?
Mini?? yuh sticking?? Loco install the nudge bar yet?

You can get the 480xv installed from the firm for $2900+VAT.
Or you can get it installed for $2500 - Call Hamza at 712-6000.

You still keep ALL the functions of your SmartKey.

Postby tr1ad » October 8th, 2007, 11:09 am

good work pardner

still waiting to take urs in the mud to test 4x4 capabilities

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 8th, 2007, 11:41 am

tr1ad wrote:good work pardner

still waiting to take urs in the mud to test 4x4 capabilities

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :shock: :shock:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 8th, 2007, 8:26 pm

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 9th, 2007, 6:51 pm

Postby tr1ad » October 10th, 2007, 1:39 pm

ask a mod to make it a sticky fuh yuh nah

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 10th, 2007, 2:36 pm

Thanks tr1ad. Hook me up nah Mini

Postby tr1ad » October 10th, 2007, 4:41 pm

bless

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 10th, 2007, 6:26 pm

Hey thanks. Bless.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 1st, 2010, 11:03 pm

hmm look theing here , glad to know a secondary security system can be installed without amking the smart key non functional

NorStar2K

Re: FYI: 2006/7 Grand Vitara Owners

Postby NorStar2K » August 11th, 2010, 11:54 pm

SUZUKI Grand Vitara 2.0L J20A

Bulbs Replacement Guide:
(source: Osram Sylvania)
Function: Socket

Low Beam: H7
High Beam: 9005 (HB3)
Fog Lights: H11
Parking Lights: 2827
Front & Rear Turn Signals: 992
Tail Light & Stop Light: 7443
Backup Light: 7440
Map Light (Front Roof): 175
Dome Lights (Middle Roof & Rear Roof): 3175
High Mount Stop Light, License Plate & Trunk: 2825

Wheels:

Bolt Pattern: 5 x 4.5" (114.3 mm)
Lug Nuts and Locks Thread Size: 12 x 1.25

Camber Angle Adjustment Bolts (Front)(For Lifted GVs)
Models: 81250 (Pair - 2 Bolts) - 81251 (Single - 1 Bolt)
Size: 12mm
* With 1 Bolt per Tire = ±2°
* With 2 Bolts per Tire = ±4°

Door Speakers Size:
Front: 6.5"
Rear: 6.5"

Wiper Blades:
Front: 19"
Rear: 12"

K&N OEM Replacement Air Filter:
Part: 33-2361

NGK Spark Plugs:
Standard: BKR6E-11
Iridium: BKR6EIX-11

Motor Oil:
10W-30
Lifestyle uses Castrol GTX Magnatec Synthetic Blend Motor Oil.

NorStar2K

Re: FYI: 2006/10 Grand Vitara Owners

Postby NorStar2K » August 12th, 2010, 12:13 am

No major thefts yet, but there has been an increase in the number of break-ins via the rear door quarter glass. (See above for recommended alarm).

Remember to secure your personal items in the tail section. Do not leave documents, laptops, bags, etc. on the back seat or the main cabin area.

tourniquet

Re:

Postby tourniquet » December 5th, 2010, 8:59 am

norstar2k wrote:Any alarm would work with the regular keyless entry Mini, such as the Viper 350HV, 1002, 791xv etc.

I'm only aware of the Viper 460xv and 480xv for the Smart Key models. But I believe the new Viper line would also work. And, yes you would have to use a separate remote apart from the stock key fob.

any updates to these recommendations? :)

rajivvitara

Postby rajivvitara » August 4th, 2011, 11:31 am

anyone know where i can get the original hood racks for the grand vitara?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 4th, 2011, 12:47 pm

rajivvitara wrote:anyone know where i can get the original hood racks for the grand vitara?

Try Hamza 712-6000

nb15fourwheel

Postby nb15fourwheel » August 10th, 2011, 6:47 pm

My gf got a Grand Vitara (2011 March) and she is second owner. first owner gave d 2 sets of original keys though. But how ah know if dis is smart key? but the key locking/unlocking all the doors. No alarm or No vibration sensors etc. But it has a 'key number', just in case we lose dis, den we can use de number to program another key. But it is looking jus as my Nissan ignition key, same we need to insert de key into ignition and turn it to start. So all yuh think that dis is a 'smart key'? should I go for viper 480? or any new vipers in market? True that de first owner told us about the warranty will be void, if we put next alarm on it.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 11th, 2011, 3:31 pm

nb15fourwheel wrote:My gf got a Grand Vitara (2011 March) and she is second owner. first owner gave d 2 sets of original keys though. But how ah know if dis is smart key? but the key locking/unlocking all the doors. No alarm or No vibration sensors etc. But it has a 'key number', just in case we lose dis, den we can use de number to program another key. But it is looking jus as my Nissan ignition key, same we need to insert de key into ignition and turn it to start. So all yuh think that dis is a 'smart key'? should I go for viper 480? or any new vipers in market? True that de first owner told us about the warranty will be void, if we put next alarm on it.

The Smartkey FOB looks like this:

It also has a removable key. If your keys don't look like that and your front and tail-gate doors don't have a small button on each door handle, then you don't have the key-less entry proximity system (standard on all leather models). If your unit has a fabric interior, chances are you have the basic key-less entry package.

The previous owner gave you the wrong info about voiding the warranty with an aftermarket alarm. One of their approved installers did the installation. Right now LM uses R.E.O Auto Security Co. Ltd. (Make sure you get approval before ANY aftermarket upgrade/installation, cuz its the first thing to be blamed should you have any electrical issues).

I installed the 480VX because of the ultrasonic sensors (perfect for SUVs). You can buy any other model Viper alarm once it supports the aftermarket ultrasonic sensors, part #509U or Invisibeam Field Disturbance Sensor.

nb15fourwheel

Re: FYI: 3G (2005/11) Grand Vitara Owners

Postby nb15fourwheel » August 11th, 2011, 11:00 pm

Thanks "I-LUV-THIS-PLACE" for your detailed posting and my apologies for not providing more details of our unit. Basically a) our unit is only 2WD/ Fabric model b) our unit does not have smart key as shown in the pictures. The doors/ handles do not have buttons either. This means we have only a basic key-less entry on this unit. I will go to LSM and ask for Viper from their approved installers. Thanks a lot for a detailed input!!

nb15fourwheel

Postby nb15fourwheel » August 11th, 2011, 11:06 pm

Hi,
Right now my key has open/ close functions on it. I was told that there is chip inside they with a battery on it. If I put any duplicate key (which will not have this chip on it) the unit would not start. (we try to cut a duplicate key, it could not start; so we tested it out already). So, with this - if we install a viper on it - what we get additionally? is it like getting a) immobilizer b) alarm sound c) kill feature etc? Please advise me on this again, so that I can convince my gf to get the viper

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 11th, 2011, 11:26 pm

nb15fourwheel wrote:Thanks "I-LUV-THIS-PLACE" for your detailed posting and my apologies for not providing more details of our unit. Basically a) our unit is only 2WD/ Fabric model b) our unit does not have smart key as shown in the pictures. The doors/ handles do not have buttons either. This means we have only a basic key-less entry on this unit. I will go to LSM and ask for Viper from their approved installers. Thanks a lot for a detailed input!!

Hmm. :shock:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 11th, 2011, 11:36 pm

nb15fourwheel wrote:Hi,
Right now my key has open/ close functions on it. I was told that there is chip inside they with a battery on it. If I put any duplicate key (which will not have this chip on it) the unit would not start. (we try to cut a duplicate key, it could not start; so we tested it out already). So, with this - if we install a viper on it - what we get additionally? is it like getting a) immobilizer b) alarm sound c) kill feature etc? Please advise me on this again, so that I can convince my gf to get the viper

Hmm! A simple answer this time is simply yes. I explained the benefit of the Viper with ultrasonic sensors in previous post.

Simply go to/call REO, ask for Ryan (675-2886). Tell him you want a Viper for your SGV with interior motion sensors (ultrasonic).

Once you have the Viper remote, the central locking controls on the individual keys are disabled (no need to duplicate the function), but you can keep it if you insist.

Return to “SUZUKI”