DIY: Suzuki Swift center light mod!!

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

katastrophic

DIY: Suzuki Swift center light mod!!

Postby katastrophic » April 26th, 2008, 11:42 pm

Ok so i had nothing to do today... so i decided to turn my center light into an actual light (brake light)...... i had a spare one lying around. so i used that....

ok first thing is to open the center light... what u have to do is fire up the oven on 350 degrees for 15 mins... then turn it off an place the center light in the oven for about 10-15 mins.. make sure an watch it ever so often in case it starts to warp..

this is the center light opened, minus the red piece... the silver plastic which acts as a reflector, needs to be cut... (i cut it before... just placed it back to show what it should look like)

this is with the silver piece cut.... if u are wondering why it looks like a bulb was meant to fit there perfectly..... thats cause the foreign swifts came with what they call a rear fog light, aka an extra break light.....the local swifts came wit the light... but with no bulbs or wiring

this is the back of the light... as u can see, there is a place for the bulb, but no hole.... so a hole must me made......

i just used a dremel to create the hole.... the bulb socket will fit in the hole but it will not stay... slots must be made on the edge of the the hole for the socket to lock into...

this is the finished hole wit slots.....

this is with the socket in place....

front view.....

front view with both bulbs in place.....

i tried a lil something to get it brighter..... yes i kno it's aluminum foil :lol: :lol: it's the only thing that came to mind... and it works...

all wired up.... thank God for heat shrink.. whoooo hoooo :lol:

test run..... ok no smoke... no sparks... yeaaaaaa it works!!

before pic....

another before pic.....

and this is the after pic..... finished..... oh yea and i jus powered the light off one of the other brake lights...

Mezeker

Postby Mezeker » April 27th, 2008, 11:26 pm

nice look man i wish i had taken pics of my fan mods..

Slayer

Postby Slayer » April 29th, 2008, 11:19 am

where did u get the directions to open the up the lights? on www.teamswift.net by chance?

NOS4R2

Re: DIY: Suzuki Swift center light mod!!

Postby NOS4R2 » April 29th, 2008, 3:29 pm

katastrophic wrote:

ATX PS
W0RDS :twisted:

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » April 29th, 2008, 5:27 pm

Slayer, yea i got it from teamswift.....

http://www.teamswift.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=35167

:oops: I just realized that are a member on teamswift..... sorry bout de hijacking of instructions...... :oops:...... and in that case... Special thank to Slayer,for the super instructions on opening the light.....

Slayer

Postby Slayer » May 3rd, 2008, 9:45 pm

lol is no scene! was just surprised to see it popping up in front of me on trinituner!! btw, i got those instructions from a corolla man...

good idea with the lights, katastrophic, i might hijack that!!

www.teamswift.net is a great forum, i learnt alot there..

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » May 3rd, 2008, 10:28 pm

Slayer, yup no prob.... but don't use foil for the reflectors...Hook suggested chrome spray paint....

NOS4R2, thats right... ATX PS FTW!! :mrgreen:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » May 3rd, 2008, 10:37 pm

You can also use Chrome tape or Vinyl, used that inside my tail lights.

aidan

Postby aidan » May 3rd, 2008, 11:44 pm

nicee.like yuh was bored katastrophic,.

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » May 4th, 2008, 9:50 am

yea boi i was real bored :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Return to “SUZUKI”