Tech thread- Suzuki Vitara/ Grand Vitara

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

tourniquet

Tech thread- Suzuki Vitara/ Grand Vitara

Postby tourniquet » December 17th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Hello everyone, I've been spending quite some time lately, browsing the pick up truck forum on here, and was really impressed at how organised it seems over there. As such, I would like for this thread to be used by all owners/ enthusiasts to ask any troubleshooting questions, post DIY maintenance/ modification instructions, offer recommendations and assistance, etc :)

I'll get started with some simple things on the current gen

Here's a list of some of the major GV accessories and the related part numbers:
http://www.suzukicaribbean.com/en/vehic ... cessories/

K&N filter
2.0L
33-2361

2.4L
33-2429

Automatic transmission fluid:
Suzuki ATF 3317 or Mobil ATF 3309

Brake/ clutch fluid:
SAE J1703 or DOT3

Engine oil:
Quality: SG, SH, SJ, SL or SM
2.4L
0W-20, 5W-30, 10W-30, 10W-40, 15W-40, 20W-40

2.0L
5W-30, 10W-30, 10W-40, 15W-40
ps. I believe Lifestyle uses a Castrol 10W-30, but I'm not 100% sure on that

VJTEK

Re: Tech thread- Suzuki Vitara/ Grand Vitara

Postby VJTEK » December 20th, 2012, 8:31 am

Great Stuff tourniquet...thanks for sharing!

spiked_up

Postby spiked_up » April 5th, 2013, 1:29 pm

I'm looking for an a/c compressor for 2007 series G.V. 3 door (M16A engine)

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 5th, 2013, 7:54 pm

well this thread certainly didn't catch on in here :lol:

spiked_up, you could check this guy:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=490499
he's done some work for several guys in the pickup truck forum, and they recommend him. Good luck, and please update us on who ever fixed your problem :)

spanglish1

Postby spanglish1 » April 15th, 2013, 7:26 pm

Don't be disheartened. Post ur oem part numbers. This would help in sourcing parts outside!

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 12th, 2013, 2:06 am

I've come back in the suzuki camp, got a '92 2dr Escudo, will be glad to share info in this thread regarding the 1st gen Vitara 1989-1998 model.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 13th, 2013, 5:03 pm

spiked_up wrote:I'm looking for an a/c compressor for 2007 series G.V. 3 door (M16A engine)

Went to maraj air conditioning today...
I noticed they have many compressors on the shelf...
Including grand vitara...
Try them and see if they have the correct 1

They are on the aranguez road....
Not too far from the roundabout...

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app

aidan

Postby aidan » May 13th, 2013, 10:58 pm

VK-Sportsman wrote:I've come back in the suzuki camp, got a '92 2dr Escudo, will be glad to share info in this thread regarding the 1st gen Vitara 1989-1998 model.

Hmm soundin familiar :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 20th, 2013, 8:19 pm

Gents, 2010 GV here, has anyone experienced a clattering noise in the front suspension when going over rough roads :?:

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » May 20th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Sounds like either:
1. sway bar link arms or
2. control arm bushings

aidan

Postby aidan » May 21st, 2013, 12:57 pm

Have a feeling it's the sway bar link arms and bushings.This is happening with other models (SX4 & swift as well).

1- Stabilizer bar
2- Stabilizer bar bushing
3- Stabilizer bar bracket
4- Stabilizer link
5- Stabilizer link nut

I had the same issue with my SX4 (which is well maintained (company maintained for warranty period too), low mileage so I was shocked to get this issue), and I replaced the bushings and links and the noise is gone.
I ordered the parts from rockauto.com, and cost much less than the 'company'.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 23rd, 2013, 5:03 pm

thanks man. I'll update when I get it resolve :)

aidan

Postby aidan » June 20th, 2013, 3:21 pm

got a nice bush bar with bracket for 1998-05 vitaras; viewtopic.php?f=6&t=493876&p=6966264#p6966264

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » July 8th, 2013, 8:18 am

tourniquet wrote:Gents, 2010 GV here, has anyone experienced a clattering noise in the front suspension when going over rough roads :?:

Shock mounts. Had the same problem on a 2006 model and Suzuki has identified it as a defect. They'll change it for you free of charge as long as you're servicing the vehicle regularly by them.

Berg

Postby Berg » July 9th, 2013, 5:01 pm

tourniquet wrote:
Gents, 2010 GV here, has anyone experienced a clattering noise in the front suspension when going over rough roads :?:

Yes, I am having the same issue with 2010 GV 2.4L. It started early on in the vehicle's history. Of course the company did not understand what I was trying to describe, so I have been living with it.
Tourniquet, if/when you determine the precise cause, please post the information. Likely others are having a similar experience. Thanks

Berg

Postby Berg » July 9th, 2013, 5:09 pm

Does anyone know of a good (or better) alternative to dealer servicing?
I am out of warranty and I am not at all pleased with them.

GV 2010 2.4L

Postby *KRONIK* » July 9th, 2013, 5:56 pm

2.4 v6??

Pics plz!

Berg

Postby Berg » July 12th, 2013, 8:44 am

*KRONIK* wrote:2.4 v6??

Pics plz!

No Just an ordinary stock GV 2.4
the V6 starts at either 3 or 3.2L , can't recall exactly.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 13th, 2013, 8:19 am

ohhh...
thanks...

Jrmurder

Postby Jrmurder » July 17th, 2013, 8:46 am

Hey looking for a water pump 2007 GV 2wd??
any help would be good thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2013, 8:50 am

Check by bobby's in the bamboo....
U would be surprised what they have in stock..
Better yet...
Carry the old 1 with u...
If not... walk across by dollar savers...

Jrmurder

Postby Jrmurder » July 17th, 2013, 11:02 am

sorry made a mistake its not the water pump
its the belt tensor pulley
and the idle pulley

the two are bad

i heard ppls saying to change the bearings is this possible and would it last?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2013, 12:21 pm

That will depend on if the bearings are built in or removable....
Then u can take them out and u should be able to get replacements at united bearings (skf)

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » July 20th, 2013, 9:51 am

Any 89-98* Vitara peeps here?

Learned of a mod that uses Grand Vitara springs (98-2005*) to raise the vehicle by 1.5". The catch is that you'll need longer rear shocks, and front strut spacers, maybe a rear upper link spacer.

I've got my hands on a set of 2003 SWB G.Vitara springs, might try it out, however I'll have to face additional cost of longer rear shocks and front strut spacers and etc. versus using a body lift alone.

I have a set of 225/70R16 BFG long trail t/a tours to mount. Stock tire size is 215/65R16. So I'm in need of a little lift to clear the larger tires.

aidan

Postby aidan » July 20th, 2013, 2:45 pm

^^Yuh rel enjoyin that escudo eh lol

Gaize, I looking for one of these (3door auto or manual):

Any leads will be greatly appreciated.

NavySeal

Postby NavySeal » January 7th, 2014, 9:46 am

Hey I just acquired a 2001 Grand Vitara and I am looking for a bushing that is in the Front right mount that supports the front Diff....

Also looking for a Link that is in the rear break shoe assembly..

Any info appreciated

Andrew
484-8367
Whatsapp

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 18th, 2014, 7:21 pm

Sorry for not updating, as I haven't been using the GV as much as I used to. Months ago, the firm changed the bushings, and that appeared to have resolved the issue, then I let my sister use it full time and didn't hear any complaints from her. Today I drove it and heard the clattering again :S will tell the firm to check the shock mounts, recheck the bushings and link arm again :/

Apart from the firm though, who would you guys recommend in the San Fernando area for suspension checks like this?

On another note though, if anyone needs to replace your OEM foglight, please see below:
Brand: Valeo
Model: 088358
http://www.amazon.com/Valeo-088358-Driv ... leo+088358
Think the firm has it for around $875 :/

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 2:41 am

NavySeal wrote:Hey I just acquired a 2001 Grand Vitara and I am looking for a bushing that is in the Front right mount that supports the front Diff....

Also looking for a Link that is in the rear break shoe assembly..

Any info appreciated

Andrew
484-8367
Whatsapp

Yunno, I think I threw away a set of those recently.. You may have to buy the full bracket if it is the front upper right side diff mount, they don't sell the bushings separate..

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » June 28th, 2014, 6:38 pm

I have the same issue with my 2008 Grand Vitara. Recently changed the sway bar link arms and bushings. Still hearing the noise. I will check the shock mount next. If anyone knows of any alternative in the San Fernando area for servicing besides the firm PM me.

Postby DVSTT » July 11th, 2014, 10:00 pm

Anyone here with the 3 door awd 1.6 vitara? The 06 model? How is it?

Return to “SUZUKI”