Tech thread- Suzuki Vitara/ Grand Vitara

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

tourniquet

Re: Tech thread- Suzuki Vitara/ Grand Vitara

Postby tourniquet » January 7th, 2015, 6:53 pm

will take the pics before the week ends.
on another note, does anyone know if the newer GVs come with these:
I see them as a selling point on some Suzuki websites, but can't seem to find them for sale anywhere; would love to get a pair.
Also, where can I get center wheel caps to buy down south? Stealership has them for ~$170 +VAT for one :|

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:06 pm

tourniquet wrote:will take the pics before the week ends.
I see them as a selling point on some Suzuki websites, but can't seem to find them for sale anywhere; would love to get a pair.
Also, where can I get center wheel caps to buy down south? Stealership has them for ~$170 +VAT for one :|

Would these work?

http://m.ebay.com/itm/171632042271?fits=Make%3ASuzuki

As for the centre caps you'd probably get them off a crashed one, if you can find a crashed one locally.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 7th, 2015, 7:54 pm

saw those already, but those were made for the previous generation so the spacing may be off. Plus I don't like the fact that the mirror doesn't have a cover, or that it will be on the driver's side only. If the new ones are coming with it, I could wait for one to crash and pick up the center cap one time :lol:
Police got a bunch of new ones recently too, so............ :lol:

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 8:07 pm

tourniquet wrote:saw those already, but those were made for the previous generation so the spacing may be off. Plus I don't like the fact that the mirror doesn't have a cover, or that it will be on the driver's side only. If the new ones are coming with it, I could wait for one to crash and pick up the center cap one time :lol:
Police got a bunch of new ones recently too, so............ :lol:

Wait for them to pack up behind VMCOTT then mysteriously disappear?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » January 13th, 2015, 12:19 pm

Good Day all, anyone knows where I can find side air vents for the Vitara also the the center air vent with the upper pocket.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » January 13th, 2015, 12:22 pm

double post
Last edited by kg494EJ-1 on January 15th, 2015, 9:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

sealwtm

Postby sealwtm » February 6th, 2015, 9:13 am

PCS Grand Vitara Coil Packs...

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=612810

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » December 11th, 2015, 5:03 pm

Guys I am changing my cradle arms because I could not source the ball joint for GV 06 5 door. I got the big bushings is it making sense to repair the original and install after market???

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 16th, 2016, 3:13 pm

GUY what brand oil do you use for the differentials , transfer gear box etc. 2011 SGV

Postby 3stagevtec » February 16th, 2016, 10:19 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:GUY what brand oil do you use for the differentials , transfer gear box etc. 2011 SGV

I remember reading a gear oil comparison test a while back and the regular Castrol came out near the top in terms of performance. I stick with Castrol from ever since and never had any wear issues. I have looked inside both my differentials and transfer case and they have held up really well from all the abuse.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 17th, 2016, 7:56 pm

Were the magnetic plugs on the differentials relatively clean?

Postby DVSTT » February 17th, 2016, 9:33 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote:GUY what brand oil do you use for the differentials , transfer gear box etc. 2011 SGV

I remember reading a gear oil comparison test a while back and the regular Castrol came out near the top in terms of performance. I stick with Castrol from ever since and never had any wear issues. I have looked inside both my differentials and transfer case and they have held up really well from all the abuse.

My mech is a castrol advocate as well..

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » February 23rd, 2016, 11:00 pm

DVSTT wrote:Anyone here with the 3 door awd 1.6 vitara? The 06 model? How is it?

Got one recently, from a 2nr :mrgreen: .
Thinking of an OldManEmu lift and maybe 235/70R16 BFG K02's next year.
Currently waiting for OEM mudflaps and some aftermarket door visors to arrive.

Comparing to the '92 Escudo, the JB416X is way better as a daily driver; larger fuel tank, softer ride, spacious rear seats, a plus for ABS and airbags and 4.625 gearing vs 5.125 on the Escudo.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2016, 6:41 am

A silver 1 by chance?

aidan

Postby aidan » February 24th, 2016, 1:39 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:A silver 1 by chance?

dat one self :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » February 24th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Nice

U get a bess van dey

Postby DVSTT » February 24th, 2016, 8:14 pm

VK-Sportsman wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Anyone here with the 3 door awd 1.6 vitara? The 06 model? How is it?

Got one recently, from a 2nr :mrgreen: .
Thinking of an OldManEmu lift and maybe 235/70R16 BFG K02's next year.
Currently waiting for OEM mudflaps and some aftermarket door visors to arrive.

Comparing to the '92 Escudo, the JB416X is way better as a daily driver; larger fuel tank, softer ride, spacious rear seats, a plus for ABS and airbags and 4.625 gearing vs 5.125 on the Escudo.

Nice.

The 235 AT tyres kill your fuel economy, well that and my heavy right foot.
As for the mudflaps, I got rally armor URs over the OEM, I liked them more.

Lmk about the door visors, post pics if you can, I'm not sure how I feel about them just yet.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 24th, 2016, 8:41 pm

255 is even worst, I genuinely like my vitaras, like them so much I have 2.

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » February 24th, 2016, 11:21 pm

@*KRONIK*, yea I real like it.
@DVSTT, the door visors are Heko brand (from here).

I currently have stock sized BFG long-trail tires, it's either stock sized or 235 AT's whenever I do the OME suspension lift. Future mods also; hidden winch, oem rear disc conversion & oil press/oil temp gauges.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2016, 5:51 am

I beggin for pics from all now eh!

Postby 3stagevtec » February 28th, 2016, 12:59 am

I have a brand new turbo manifold for the Suzuki J20 motor for sale.. If anyone's interested, msg me..

dgobo

Postby dgobo » March 7th, 2016, 11:30 am

Recently bought a 2010 3dr Vitara, for my work commute and trying to get back into a little off-roading. But I find the 1.6 engine lacking power and is heavy on fuel. Thinking of changing the engine to diesel do you guys think it makes sense or is there anything that can be done the the 1.6
Mods thus far: Painted oem rims and 244.70.16 tires

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dgobo

Postby dgobo » March 7th, 2016, 11:32 am

Really wanted to get this looking but decided to get AT instead of MT tires

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » March 7th, 2016, 4:07 pm

@dgobo, you need to find out if the engine mounting on the JB416X is the same as the JB419X. If so, then you can source the 1.9DDIS engine & etc out of the UK from the JB419X 3dr.

If the 1.9DDIS cannot be swapped into the JB416X, then all you could really do is just monitor yuh right foot. :lol:
Remember its a 3000+lb vehicle, and yes the M16A is under-powered compared to the J20A and J24B.

For a long distance commute, a SX4 or Swift would be more economical than the 3dr GV but won't be able to go places that a GV can go.

Postby DVSTT » March 7th, 2016, 11:23 pm

Turbo m16a

dgobo

Postby dgobo » March 8th, 2016, 7:03 am

^^ Thinking about installing a turbo, but one of my concerns already, is fuel economy and i already have two other turbo vehicles in the garage

Turbo diesel, i dont mind

Need to do some more research

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » March 8th, 2016, 11:22 am

So from the owners manual for my 2011 SGV 4wd it states the following
Transmission oil (Suzuki ATF3317 or Mobil 3309) - 2.5L
Front Differential oil (80W-90 API GL-5 Hypoid gear oil) - 0.95L
Rear Differential oil (80W-90 API GL-5 Hypoid gear oil) - 0.8L
Transfer oil (80W-90 API GL-5 Hypoid gear oil) - 1.5L
Extension case oil (75W-80 API GL-4) - 0.47L
Brake fluid - DOT3
Power steering fluid - ATF DEXRON - II (Esso JWS 2326) or Dexron-III
Coolant -7.3L
So the previous response to my question on what most used was castrol
Can some one direct me to where I can procure these items.
What coolant you guys use.

dgobo

Postby dgobo » March 8th, 2016, 2:15 pm

^^ I would assume those items should be pretty easy to get at a regular auto parts shop. Seeing that you have all the info

You wont happen to have or anyone have a owners manual for the 2010 3dr 1.6

As I also have to replace all drivetrain fluids, i bought 3qtrs Amsoil Long Life Synthetic Gear Lube 75w90 and had 2qtrs AMSOIL Severe Gear 75w90 left over from a old car, that i had plan to use on it.

But now im wondering if its the correct lubricants

michael67

Postby michael67 » April 3rd, 2016, 8:01 am

DVSTT wrote:
tourniquet wrote:will take the pics before the week ends.

Would these work?

http://m.ebay.com/itm/171632042271?fits=Make%3ASuzuki

As for the centre caps you'd probably get them off a crashed one, if you can find a crashed one locally.

Postby pugboy » April 24th, 2016, 9:41 pm

Looking for cradle bushings for a PCR grand vitara
is company only option ?

Return to “SUZUKI”