WtK Looking for reputable /knowledgeable mechanic for GV

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

TRDGUY

WtK Looking for reputable /knowledgeable mechanic for GV

Postby TRDGUY » March 15th, 2018, 9:27 pm

As the post states , I have been experiencing a abnormal ticker/ticking at about 2-3k rpm on my GV 2007 j20a engine ( noise seems to be coming from the top of the engine but internally )

I’ve done at the beginning of the year the following PM using Genuine Suzuki parts.

Timing chain ,valve seals , tensioners , guides, rear seal , torque converter seal , engine mounts , changed transmission oil , spark plugs , clean injectors , throttle body etc .

Engine starts and idles like a charm no noise or vibrations , no loss in power or loss in oil levels ( not like the GV is the most powerful of suvs) nevetheless the noise have progressively gotten worse even though I’ve the changed oil since it was about due to changing anyways.

I’m in need of a mechanic who can identify the root cause of this noise and resolve it ,no guess work .
Just to get some recommendations from you experienced guys.

Brgs

Re: WtK Looking for reputable /knowledgeable mechanic for GV

Postby skylinechild » March 18th, 2018, 7:29 pm

why dont u check big Z.... hes the suzuki guy on tuner and has his own shop and does alot of work on different suzuki and can also supply genuine suzuki items.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 19th, 2018, 7:40 am

Yea hoss....check big Z
734-7669

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 19th, 2018, 3:44 pm

Thanks guys

Postby *KRONIK* » March 19th, 2018, 5:44 pm

Let us know if u get thru.
And what the issue was
And the solution

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » March 26th, 2018, 7:05 pm

Sounds like the valve clearances are off. Have them rechecked.

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » September 29th, 2018, 8:52 pm

Just an update on this issue ,

It was in fact worn connecting rod bearings , problem seemed to be ineffeficient oil pressure as the pump seals were not the best and possibly the main cause of the tappet noise in this regard. . Bearings replaced and pump overhauled.

No work was done to the head or valve clearances .

Engine is quiet as a lamb again.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 30th, 2018, 7:39 am

Good to know

Glitch_22

Postby Glitch_22 » December 8th, 2019, 8:04 am

I wouldn't recommend Big Z, guys.
I carried Suzuki Liana based on recommendations on this forum.
After 7 days I got back completely messed up car. The car doesn't even start.
Please be careful when you recommending someone.
At the end of the day , it does affect severely someone life.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » December 8th, 2019, 8:27 pm

The car was taken back before repairs were complete.
My apologies.

matix

Postby matix » December 8th, 2019, 10:21 pm

Glitch_22 wrote:I wouldn't recommend Big Z, guys.
I carried Suzuki Liana based on recommendations on this forum.
After 7 days I got back completely messed up car. The car doesn't even start.
Please be careful when you recommending someone.
At the end of the day , it does affect severely someone life.

Learnt my lesson as well

nuffkuff

Postby nuffkuff » July 11th, 2021, 7:39 pm

Hey i was reading your post about ur noise problem, i read that you changed the timing chain and guides i wanna kno how much did you pay for the chain and the guides and the tensioner, i hv a 2008 Gv and i am getting noise from the chain with the first start, any info will be appreciated.thks..

Return to “SUZUKI”