Pointman-IA wrote:duh worry..word on the track is that Renault might be coming back to T'dad with a new alliance...
christopherwilliams2 wrote:MG Man wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:MG Man wrote:chriswilliams, buy a Mini Cooper
lol...it's a nice car but I need more room
lol well is me and wifey alone so..................
well right now is me and wifey too but yuh know how it could end up...
MG Man wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:MG Man wrote:christopherwilliams2 wrote:MG Man wrote:chriswilliams, buy a Mini Cooper
lol...it's a nice car but I need more room
lol well is me and wifey alone so..................
well right now is me and wifey too but yuh know how it could end up...
pffffffffffft modern science ftw jed
x2floor wrote:renault coming back under a new alliance?sure i mean, which local dealer so stupid to take that risk especially in these times? I know several dealers who would never take that brand. French cars have no hope in T&T as we're too north americanised but good luck.
damieG82 wrote:christopherwilliams2, the Ford Focus, Skoda Octavia and VW Jetta are all under 200K... so take your pick
I heard rumors that the problems with the AL4 tranny Peugeot uses, and resulting warranty claims, is what caused City to go into the red, and sell out to Neal and Massy... anyone can confirm this??
In any regard, I do hope the brand picks back up locally... would love me a 308CC one day. N&M needs to do some aggressive marketing, speaking directly to the problems of the older cars, and stating that the new ones are a whole different breed
x2floor wrote:^^actually you are right, when I mean north americanised I mean the more mainstream jap, korean and german brands in t&t and the fact that they won't buy peugeot, renault, citroen and skoda. but the "american" brands do poorly in T&TFord exists locally because of the ranger and that is from thailand, the focus is the euro version as well as the mondeo.
the chevrolet's we get in trinidad are from south korea from the same plants daewoo used to build cars. since daewoo was shot and killed gm took over the operations.
who next.....jeep? virtually non existent.
christopherwilliams2 wrote:Looks nice ^^
As we talking Peugeot...the brand seems to be still well in Trinidad...today I saw a PCN 207 so I guess the brand is still on sale.
I won't mind thinking of the 308 as my next car but what I am worried about is service and support!
MG Man wrote:trinis are morons
no japanese car can shine a light to the safety engineered into european cars
If I were driving a japanese car when that truck hooked and dragged me, I would have had to get a door, rocker panel, left AND right suspension AND pull the chassis back into alignment
The Mini did what a well engineered car is supposed to do...it isolated the impact with well-engineered weak points....
when people say their euro got a front end collision and the car mash up and engine fall out, what I hear is the car did what it was designed to do, ie absorb and isolate the impact, let the engine break away and NOT be pushed into the cabin.....
The other problem with trinis is they don't like to maintain their cars, and european cars need their scheduled maintenance...that said, no japanese car offers 20k / one year oil change intervals...............7 years and I haven't even touched the CVT fluid on the Mini.........
Biggest issue is the price dealers charge for parts and labour
Dealer quoted 1k for 4 plugs...got em in the UK for 20 pounds
ALL the parts to repair it after the accident cost TT35k including shipping and tax, compared to nearly 7ok from the dealer........
ek4ever wrote:MG Man wrote:trinis are morons
no japanese car can shine a light to the safety engineered into european cars
If I were driving a japanese car when that truck hooked and dragged me, I would have had to get a door, rocker panel, left AND right suspension AND pull the chassis back into alignment
The Mini did what a well engineered car is supposed to do...it isolated the impact with well-engineered weak points....
when people say their euro got a front end collision and the car mash up and engine fall out, what I hear is the car did what it was designed to do, ie absorb and isolate the impact, let the engine break away and NOT be pushed into the cabin.....
The other problem with trinis is they don't like to maintain their cars, and european cars need their scheduled maintenance...that said, no japanese car offers 20k / one year oil change intervals...............7 years and I haven't even touched the CVT fluid on the Mini.........
Biggest issue is the price dealers charge for parts and labour
Dealer quoted 1k for 4 plugs...got em in the UK for 20 pounds
ALL the parts to repair it after the accident cost TT35k including shipping and tax, compared to nearly 7ok from the dealer........
Are you serious??? No Euro can match a Honda or Toyota for reliability and quality....None....and nearly all the newer Japs are scoring 5 stars on the Euro NCAP so the Japs are making great progress in safety while still maintaining there superiority in quality and reliability.
My friend's B14 ran head first into a pickup ....each vehicle was doing at least 100km/h at the time of impact.....the backs of the vehicles flew up and kissed each other before dropping back down....that's the force of the impact....and ALL persons from the B14 survived with only 2 persons having to be strechered....if they were wearing their seatbelts in the back they would've walked out....that's a hell of safety engineering given the severity of that impact.
I knew someone who bought a new Pug and while driving it off the dealer lot it stalled and wouldn't start back up....not even the dealer could get it to start
The bottom line is that the reason some Euros can't make it here is simply because of poor quality