Peugot 307 Engine Swap to SR18

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

tristanali

Peugot 307 Engine Swap to SR18

Postby tristanali » July 14th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Decided to do this engine swap on a 307 with bad engine and tranny, now having a hell of a time with the electrical re-wiring. Any advice or suggestions on someone with experience on this?

tristanali

Re: Peugot 307 Engine Swap to SR18

Postby tristanali » July 17th, 2012, 10:37 pm

Still looking for some help with this.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » July 18th, 2012, 9:11 pm

what was wrong with the engine and tranny? Don't know of anyone who did this swap. Who do you have doing the electrical so far?

plex

Postby plex » July 19th, 2012, 8:02 am

what was wrong with the engine? how many miles u clock in it?

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 19th, 2012, 9:03 am

Original 307 engine is in good condition, transmission was screwed and kept slipping after speed crossed 40km. Loads of run around and trial and error with no success in fixing it. Plenty of dollars and wasted time after, decided to throw in the towel and turn it into a project.
Nissan engine and transmission is installed in 307 now and running really sweet, but inside electrics and instrument panel have me pulling hairs. Documentation on wiring is difficult to find, so we kinda stuck at the moment...back to the days of hand signals and windows rolled down!

plex

Postby plex » July 19th, 2012, 10:47 am

To be honest when u mixed these cars something is not going to line up right...I known a few ppl who did it with 306 and although they got the car running they still had an issue.....About the tranny did u change the solenoids ? Lots of ppl complain about the 307 tranny but all they needed was solenoids change and tranny fluid.....we have 307 hatchback doing close to 100k and no engine and tranny issue to date...only issue we have right now the auto wiper com needs changing.....other than that the car is working.......sorry to hear u facing a costly expense..u could check people auto supplies for support...

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 19th, 2012, 11:34 am

Followed all the recommended steps to resolve transmission issue. Changed fluids, changed both solenoids and ECU upgrade. Quotation for opening transmission and potential cost of repairs was breaking point to cut losses and try to have some fun.
Honestly the conversion hasn't been all that costly, and the electrics is a bit hassling, but hey..what fun would it be if it were easy?
Have engine and various other parts for sale if any one interested, otherwise off to Curtis they will go once time permits. Found some schematics that seem to match up, will be having some fun this weekend. Maybe post some pics later with the progress so far.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 19th, 2012, 7:24 pm

could have gotten a gearbox... would have taken some time but worth it.. especially for a project/ something to have fun with cuz tuning the 1.6 is a very good prospect given the coin

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 20th, 2012, 8:05 am

True, but must say that what really turned me away was the pricing I encountered for tranny repairs, definitely didn't want to get stuck with those sorts of bills on engine repairs going down the road sometime.
Looks like today is gonna be some fun, the whole gang, armed with wiring schematics (that we hope are correct), will be elbows deep in it today. Hope we get it right!

RIKNAHSTIK

Postby RIKNAHSTIK » July 20th, 2012, 8:19 am

Could u tell where u got the schematics ? I have a 307sw and I put in a SR20 with a CVT tranny and I have similar issues.

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 20th, 2012, 8:23 am

Knew I couldn't be the only one!
The schematics we have come from a different model but seem to match closely to the 307sw.
Give me your email and I'll send you what we have later on. Will know today if it's the right stuff.

plex

Postby plex » July 20th, 2012, 8:45 am

fellas i hope u get through..

RIKNAHSTIK

Postby RIKNAHSTIK » July 21st, 2012, 6:16 pm

My e-mail is hupernikoomen@gmail.com. Strange huh ? It's Greek lol but seriously it is. Thanks in advance man and for my sake and all the folks faced with the same issue, I really hope u are successful !

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 22nd, 2012, 9:29 am

Disappointing news so far. We have managed to get some additional experienced hands for next week. We'll see how it goes. I'll send over the schematics later today.

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » July 23rd, 2012, 5:55 pm

I hate to see when people cop out and throw in a SR or a Q whatever in any car that give them trouble. Did you go on any other forums out of the uk? I am sure with enough patience you could have got a tranny out of the UK used or as GT said a gearbox.

But too late for that, I wish you the best in sorting that gremlin out.

RIKNAHSTIK

Postby RIKNAHSTIK » July 23rd, 2012, 8:41 pm

Hey Tristan did u get d schematics ? Link meh when u can

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 23rd, 2012, 8:45 pm

emailed them earlier. Let me know if u didn't get em.

RIKNAHSTIK

Postby RIKNAHSTIK » July 23rd, 2012, 8:55 pm

I got them but I sent u an email and some other schematics tonight. Tell me if u got dem. Laterz man.

tristanali

Postby tristanali » July 23rd, 2012, 9:34 pm

Got it. Thanks. I've purchased the Peugot work shop manuals for some more specific info.
I'll go thru it with the electrician tomorrow and send you the relevant diagrams.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2012, 8:23 pm

I have a peugeot 307 service CD somewhere
dunno if that is of any use to you guys

However there is an electrical guy near dinsley who I believe did or knew somebody who did this swap.

tristanali

Postby tristanali » August 1st, 2012, 3:22 pm

Thanks for the info pugboy, got on to the guy and he is gonna take a look at the car soon.
Got in a neat set of Equus gauges to install under the climate controls, so I can safely drive the car longer distances, gonna get them installed next week and this guy sounds confident that he can sort out the internal electrics.
Keep you guys posted on the progress.
If anyone is interested in purchasing the Peugot Workshop Manuals let me know, it's got the service box and the wiring diagrams for all the models.

RIKNAHSTIK

Postby RIKNAHSTIK » August 5th, 2012, 12:44 am

Hey Tristan like things looking up ? Call when u can or I'll link u on Monday

Triniak47

Postby Triniak47 » August 23rd, 2012, 9:04 pm

Hey guys I am also the owner of a peugot. I am interested in keeping my car going for many years. So please update this forum with your success.

Reddo!

Postby Reddo! » March 12th, 2013, 1:44 am

Hey guys...I also have a 307 Wagon and the Transmisson is in a mess. I was wondering to take out the entire Engine and Tranny and replace it with a 1.8 almera engine and tranny. But I guess I should not go this way in doing a change out. Now i don't know what to do????? Feel free to advice me brian_wmb@hotmail.com
480-9742

Reddo!

Postby Reddo! » October 7th, 2013, 4:16 am

Hey guys...you you all got through with the Wiring for the SR within the 307...please let me know. brian_wmb@hotmail.com

Reddo!

Postby Reddo! » October 7th, 2013, 4:18 am

Keep me informed about the Electrical for the 307 with a SR engine.

Postby RBphoto » January 12th, 2014, 11:34 pm

tristanali wrote:If anyone is interested in purchasing the Peugot Workshop Manuals let me know, it's got the service box and the wiring diagrams for all the models.

Interested

fido

Postby fido » January 24th, 2014, 8:28 am

1.6 306 engine for sale 2,800 complete. Call 3096679

Postby RBphoto » January 25th, 2014, 11:13 pm

With tranny?

rique

Postby rique » January 30th, 2014, 9:12 am

i am having the same problem with a 406 with an sr20 engine . tranny started to run sluggish and no acceleration also re wiring is a pain nothing on my instrument cluster is currently working.

Return to “EURO”