Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Pointman-IA

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby Pointman-IA » May 22nd, 2013, 6:00 pm

VW_Exec wrote:

Syncrod, this is an excellent find and very succinctly captures my own gut feelings on the DSG and its operations.

I find this excerpt most instructive:

The rules that govern the shifting behavior of the DSG are NOT adaptive. Lets be clear about this. The DSG does NOT change the rules governing shifting behavior based on your driving style - It doesn't "Learn" those - These were hard coded sets of rules established by the engineers of the DSG software. It does dynamically change its operating parameters internally to account for clutch wear, etc - But none of that effects the rules for deciding gear changes - these are STATICALLY PROGRAMMED. This means you can reliably use what you know to influence the decision it makes by influencing some of the factors it takes into account. And that 2 drivers with the same DSG software in the same exact scenario will have the same outcome no matter what their previous driving "Style"

Will definitely start trying the accelerate prior to down-shifting technique that was prescribed.

So only the Renault's transmission were able to adapt to the driving style of the driver? :drinking:

neexis

Postby neexis » May 22nd, 2013, 10:47 pm

How does Renault's transmission adapt to the driving style? That sounds very complex.

Allergic I don't find there to be a lag in downshifting (in D), but more so in waiting for power to kick in. I assume this would be from the turbo spooling up and kicking in. The Jetta felt quicker in this sense and I thought it to be because of the supercharger.

I feel we should have a DSG meet.. all models in all vehicles applicable :D

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » May 22nd, 2013, 11:25 pm

neexis wrote:How does Renault's transmission adapt to the driving style? That sounds very complex.

Allergic I don't find there to be a lag in downshifting (in D), but more so in waiting for power to kick in. I assume this would be from the turbo spooling up and kicking in. The Jetta felt quicker in this sense and I thought it to be because of the supercharger.

I feel we should have a DSG meet.. all models in all vehicles applicable :D

The Passat's turbo is pretty fast-spooling; boost comes in just under 2,000 rpm.

Jetta would have that two stage feeling given dual chargers.

I related to the guy's experience because it's happened once or twice only in Manual mode as he mentioned. D-mode or S-mode is fine, but still not always appropriate for the traffic/road conditions.

DSG meet sounding in order.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 23rd, 2013, 6:20 pm

neexis wrote:How does Renault's transmission adapt to the driving style? That sounds very complex.

If there are two persons driving the same car, depending on how you accelerate and braking etc, the vehicle will adapt to the driver's driving style. Let's say Driver A is someone that loves accelerating quickly and runs the car to top speed (for eg 160 km/h), it would hold that setting. If Driver B is someone that drives around 50 km/h and stops alot, the vehicle would take a while to adapt to the driving style of Driver B.
If Driver A decided to use the car after Driver B, the car feels as if it is holding back.

neexis

Postby neexis » May 23rd, 2013, 8:54 pm

Sounds neat.. but not sure if necessarily useful. I think I would be kinda annoyed if I went to drive the car and it was holding back. How would you reset the style..... just push it harder again?

The only thing I've noticed with my VW that might compare is that the car will shift based on driver input on the gas. Usually when taking off....light pressure will result in very quick economical shifting, with very little boost. Flooring it from rest will launch the car and it will hold each gear for a much longer time with good boost. Similar variations for everything in between. I can almost predict how it will shift depending on how I mash down.

But I suppose most cars behave in a similar manner

kingskid

Postby kingskid » May 27th, 2013, 10:38 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2OzK-oR ... ata_player

No tiguan for me Subaru forester all the way yes ah gone against.

Sent from my Nexus S using TriniTuner mobile app

neexis

Postby neexis » May 27th, 2013, 3:49 pm

but that video 5 years old man, and is very pro subaru.

even with all the problems we had, i'll still take the touareg over the tribeca that was purchased to replace it.

kingskid what loaner did they give you?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 27th, 2013, 7:12 pm

lol @ kingskid.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » May 27th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Don't laugh at me, I'm just desperate, this is my fifth car since back here and all of them have had major problems. The video might be old but the technology remains the same, so I'll give the Subaru a chance. If that fails I'll buy a BMX LOL!!!!!!!

neexis

Postby neexis » May 27th, 2013, 10:05 pm

kingskid wrote:Don't laugh at me, I'm just desperate, this is my fifth car since back here and all of them have had major problems. The video might be old but the technology remains the same, so I'll give the Subaru a chance. If that fails I'll buy a BMX LOL!!!!!!!

aye doh joke... bicycle is serious talk!

what vehicles you had before? i doubt you gonna find a vehicle that will be totally fault free. at the end of it all, they still at risk for some kinda problem.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » May 27th, 2013, 10:11 pm

Boy they installing sound system on bike now, improved suspension and ting . Gear change at your finger tip, and some even have built-in compos.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » May 27th, 2013, 10:21 pm

neexis wrote:
kingskid wrote:Don't laugh at me, I'm just desperate, this is my fifth car since back here and all of them have had major problems. The video might be old but the technology remains the same, so I'll give the Subaru a chance. If that fails I'll buy a BMX LOL!!!!!!!

aye doh joke... bicycle is serious talk!

what vehicles you had before? i doubt you gonna find a vehicle that will be totally fault free. at the end of it all, they still at risk for some kinda problem.

Lancer tiida, corolla optra, all at the end of the day was sheit. So I decided yo go high end and still more sheit just with better service. Don't get me I really love the car but I'm just disappointed. Oh they gave me a pcr passat. I was very lucky because that was all they had at the time, and maybe the felt sorry for me, after all I just got back the car.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 28th, 2013, 9:45 pm

I don't mean to be evil or to be mean ... but if you seem to be having all these problems with all these different car brands and dealers maybe the problem is you. Most people in Trinidad have bought, driven and dealt with dealers without problems with just 1 brand/dealer. There is only 1 common thing in that whole equation and its you. Maybe your driving style/habits/route's are not conducive to the longevity of the drive-train and the other components of a car.

Again I am not saying this to be harsh or to bash you, its just an alternative solution to all the problems you are having.

kingskid

Postby kingskid » May 28th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Noted

neexis

Postby neexis » May 28th, 2013, 10:12 pm

drchaos wrote:I don't mean to be evil or to be mean ... but if you seem to be having all these problems with all these different car brands and dealers maybe the problem is you. Most people in Trinidad have bought, driven and dealt with dealers without problems with just 1 brand/dealer. There is only 1 common thing in that whole equation and its you. Maybe your driving style/habits/route's are not conducive to the longevity of the drive-train and the other components of a car.

Again I am not saying this to be harsh or to bash you, its just an alternative solution to all the problems you are having.

either that... or the man just has some seriously shitty luck with these cars.

i really dunno what driving style/routes damage a corolla..besides run it off the road or something.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » May 30th, 2013, 9:52 am

just found these on the youtube

guessing the Jettas get a similar treatment

cqk4

Postby cqk4 » May 31st, 2013, 10:23 am

Hey Guys,

@ around 18k miles, I believed there to be a problem with my N75 valve, its the bit that determines turbo switch over at around 3500 rpm in our dual charger cars.. So the symptom was that sometimes during acceleration I would feel a dip in power @ 3500 rpm then @ 4000 it would pick back up. Now I don't normally drive @ 4000 rpm and over but couple times w/spirited driving I noticed..

So anyhow I am going to swap it out with a new one purchased from ecstuning.com and see if i get back full power.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 2nd, 2013, 12:51 pm

To be honest I am so fed up of my 1.4 tsi. It's one problem after the next with these cars. Just drove my car up the highway and it started to misfire, not sure if its a coil pack gone bad. What causes a coil pack to go bad anyway?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 2nd, 2013, 2:08 pm

That sucks. You're the 3rd person with a mk5 who seems to be having issues. I don't even think they sold many 1.4 tsi mk5 Jettas here so the number of persons with issues seems very high to me.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 2nd, 2013, 2:10 pm

svramoutar wrote:To be honest I am so fed up of my 1.4 tsi. It's one problem after the next with these cars. Just drove my car up the highway and it started to misfire, not sure if its a coil pack gone bad. What causes a coil pack to go bad anyway?

What is the mileage?
If it is a coilpack gone bad, depending on which one it is, the engine would sound like that of a lawn mower.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 2nd, 2013, 2:57 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
svramoutar wrote:To be honest I am so fed up of my 1.4 tsi. It's one problem after the next with these cars. Just drove my car up the highway and it started to misfire, not sure if its a coil pack gone bad. What causes a coil pack to go bad anyway?

What is the mileage?
If it is a coilpack gone bad, depending on which one it is, the engine would sound like that of a lawn mower.

I'm doing about 26,000miles now. The car just started to buck and hesitate to accelerate, then I dropped it in sport, and I got a message saying engine fault check workshop. The epc light came on and stayed on. When I switch the car off and started back, everything was ok, but the same problem again when I ran it hard.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 2nd, 2013, 3:04 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:That sucks. You're the 3rd person with a mk5 who seems to be having issues. I don't even think they sold many 1.4 tsi mk5 Jettas here so the number of persons with issues seems very high to me.

Exactly, I only hope I don't get any major gearbox issues too, already changed mechatronics @ 1 week old.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 2nd, 2013, 3:24 pm

svramoutar wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:That sucks. You're the 3rd person with a mk5 who seems to be having issues. I don't even think they sold many 1.4 tsi mk5 Jettas here so the number of persons with issues seems very high to me.

Exactly, I only hope I don't get any major gearbox issues too, already changed mechatronics @ 1 week old.

You know, just last night a buddy of mines looking at one of these to buy. Now doing approximately 25,000 miles (PCP). I told him I hope he have money put down to change the mechatronic unit, if the vehicle is not under warrantly anymore.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 2nd, 2013, 7:48 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
svramoutar wrote:

You know, just last night a buddy of mines looking at one of these to buy. Now doing approximately 25,000 miles (PCP). I told him I hope he have money put down to change the mechatronic unit, if the vehicle is not under warrantly anymore.

Yeah, tell him get a history of the car first to see if it was changed, because they had an issue with some of them and had to swap them out.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 2nd, 2013, 7:54 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Looking at the new 2012 Jetta and on the surface it looks like a solid buy based on price ($230K) but I may be overlooking a few things.

Pros:
Cheaper initial price than Lancer GT
Low Theft in general for VW (Do insurance companies recognize this?)
6 airbags standard
Good mileage (1400 cc TSI engine)

Cons:
Dealer servicing costs possibly higher than japanese cars in its segment locally (Corolla, Lancer, Civic).

On paper it looks to me a good buy but I have zero experience dealing with the local dealer. Are they reputable and hassle free? I've heard one or two stories about bait and switch on the pricing to entice you but I would like to hear the good stories too about dealing with the dealer too.

I have had numerous issues with the dealer and so have a friend of mine and my brother. I'm sorry, I just cannot give a favorable recommendation. I used to be scared every time my car had to go in for service, because it would come back out with either a ding, or something broken.

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 2nd, 2013, 8:00 pm

rawCpoppa wrote:^^^Sales guy at Best Auto insisted that the JETTA we are getting is the euro spec one with the advanced multi link suspension versus the older torsion beam suspension of the US JETTA. Not sure how to check how accurate the accuracy of the local JETTA though.

I agree on the headlights though.

He is correct, we do get the Euro spec. You would not want to touch the US version, trust me.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 3rd, 2013, 2:28 pm

svramoutar wrote:
rawCpoppa wrote:^^^Sales guy at Best Auto insisted that the JETTA we are getting is the euro spec one with the advanced multi link suspension versus the older torsion beam suspension of the US JETTA. Not sure how to check how accurate the accuracy of the local JETTA though.

He is correct, we do get the Euro spec. You would not want to touch the US version, trust me.

Why?

svramoutar

Postby svramoutar » June 3rd, 2013, 7:44 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:
svramoutar wrote:

Why?

Because its very much watered down. You don't get the same multi-link suspension, interior is very cheap, dashboard is hard plastic like in a Japanese car among other things. When I first saw them in the states before we even got them in Trinidad, I wasn't impressed at all. Remember in the states it was designed to compete directly with the Honda civic and Toyota corolla.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » June 3rd, 2013, 8:02 pm

a report on an upgraded clutch for the DQ200
no word on pricing/availability or even if tested
Theoretically the new clutch can hold 480-500Nm of torque
:twisted:
http://www.vagoc.co.uk/vb/showthread.php?t=13155

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 5th, 2013, 1:01 am

I'mma just drop this here cuz it's blue!!! :D White drl n ting too.

Yes I only posted this video cuz the Jetta looks sorta like mine :lol:

Anyways I just hit 30000 km/18,750 miles on mine so I figure I'll do a review soon of ownership so far. If you have any questions you want answered in it let me know.

Return to “EURO”