Induction to VW world...

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

purple_heart77

Re: Induction to VW world...

Postby purple_heart77 » February 5th, 2013, 4:37 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Really....again...

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » February 5th, 2013, 5:10 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The manual itself for the 7 speed dsg says no fluid changes :shock:
The manual for the car also makes no mention of fluid changes for this tranny. The dealer says no fluid changes.

pardon my ignorance; but is it not because the DSG7 is a twin dry-clutch manual transmission controlled electronically? i s'pose it's disconcerting that there is an absence of cooling via appropriate fluid, but this VW seems to suggest that the clutches don't run through an oil bath:

http://en.volkswagen.com/en/innovation- ... riebe.html

so what fluid change are we referring to?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » February 5th, 2013, 5:12 pm

neexis wrote:Thanks! It's been quite a journey.... almost 9 months in the making (at least since I asked you for Jetta specs and pics June last year!) I really appreciate all the info that you and VW_Exec shared with me in your experiences so far. You guys were quite helpful in making this decision.. Thanks alot!
Location didn't change... but here are more pics!

Car looks fantastic! I should be bringing the VW over in late February so maybe after detailing, some dual pics can be taken.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 5th, 2013, 5:24 pm

VW_Exec wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The manual itself for the 7 speed dsg says no fluid changes :shock:
The manual for the car also makes no mention of fluid changes for this tranny. The dealer says no fluid changes.

pardon my ignorance; but is it not because the DSG7 is a twin dry-clutch manual transmission controlled electronically? i s'pose it's disconcerting that there is an absence of cooling via appropriate fluid, but this VW seems to suggest that the clutches don't run through an oil bath:

http://en.volkswagen.com/en/innovation- ... riebe.html

so what fluid change are we referring to?

It has 1.7 litres of fluid. Not bathed in as much oil as a manual or 6 speed dsg but it still requires that very specific amount according to VW. The term dry is in reference to the comparatively small volume of fluid that lubricates the clutches.

I'm not saying it needs an oil change for sure but I'm just trying to understand how it doesn't ever need an oil change "ever" according to VW. Sort of like other people who heard the same no maintenance story with previous Vw and Peugeot trannies that eventually went kaput anyway.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 5th, 2013, 7:18 pm

Allergic.... Maybe the entire transmission will eventually have to be replaced. Hopefully by the time it requires such maintenance the vehicle will be on to another owner

VW_Exec wrote: I'm not sure about that - I could have sworn the dealer mentioned Passat came with sub-woofer.
In fact, it does feel/sound that way. I'll check the manual and vehicle thoroughly.

and I'll challenge you on the difference with stock system! Sound-off to be booked 8-)

Trust me... there's no subwoofer. I looked before, and its absence is noticeable. Altho considering the setup, both stock and Dynaudio put out a satisfactory amount of bass.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 5th, 2013, 7:27 pm

In other news.... just giving some feedback wrt fuel economy.

From the dealer the tank was about 95% full... The car managed a 611km with a projected 25km remaining (and took 64L to fill up). I think these numbers aren't bad considering mild to moderate zorcing on the highway and a bit more traffic on the highway (stop/go) than usual on 2 or 3 trips.

I'll keep reporting on these figures over the next few months with various driving styles. Still though.. all things considered.. not a bad start.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » February 11th, 2013, 4:28 pm

vw_2007_maintenance_schedule.pdf

Found this on a Russian site, however it is for the American market. Does anyone by chance have an updated version for the UK market? Or an even better maintenance schedule that spells out important things like change Transmission Oil at 40K km.

Thanks.
vw_2007_maintenance_schedule.zip
(231.02 KiB) Downloaded 103 times

neexis

Postby neexis » February 11th, 2013, 6:44 pm

purple heart.. check this thread

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=475444

this might be the document... altho it says 2006.
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/88004385/00028 ... t_2006.pdf

Allergic has uploaded a whole lotta VAG documents.
All these documents are available on Erwin. I downloaded some when I bought the 1hr pass but only for the b7 passat

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » February 11th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Dropbox is blocked here, hence I have not been able to download any of Allergic files, so I did not know one existed there. Will check it out in due course.

Thanks Neexis.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 23rd, 2013, 7:04 am

Went in for first service on Thursday... just basic oil and filter change. I mentioned the strange smell to them and that it was only noticeable during lower temps. The technician supposedly checked the cabin filter but didn't get any strange smell from it.

My only gripe about service at BA right now is that I'm not able to see what's going on during servicing and they don't allow customers in the back. Considering the problems experienced with another VW vehicle and other horror stories I've heard, a little transparency would be nice.. seeing as you can't tell what's going on during the service (or IF anything is actually being done... a far fetched idea maybe, but this is still Trinidad). And no, I don't trust anybody

That aside, the engine has more or less run in now..... so accelerator being mashed freely now.... reached a 190 quite effortlessly.. and car still handled beautifully.

VW_Exec you were right.... reaching 140km/h is like nothing now. Only issue are the other drivers on the road to contend with (seeing as 90% of them don't grasp the concept of a slow lane). There's considerably more traffic on the highway now, so I only really get to zorce freely on night runs.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » February 23rd, 2013, 11:18 am

I hear you on the transparency. The best experience I had there was may be 2006 or 07 my Bora kept shutting off and they resolved it. Spoke to a number of mechanics, even people who said they were "experienced", one guy told me he needed the car for a week to drive it.
I bit the bullet and dropped the car in, collected it later that day, 350 TTD, sensor changed.
Cool air, night zorce....all light behind always become small.....:)

neexis

Postby neexis » March 13th, 2013, 5:29 pm

Here's my centre console (just phone pics.... no high end camera involved :wink: )

AC controls are different....dials for temps and fan speed, with individual temp displays

Do you use your Auto Hold function? I usually have it on, but I find myself switching it off in crawling traffic, or once there's frequent stop and go

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 13th, 2013, 5:49 pm

I did use the auto hold in traffic. However, I hate when I depress the accelerator and it disengages, the transmission makes a loud "thud" sound. Just brings back bad memories from the old Bora of a failing transmission. Hence, I don't use it at all.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 13th, 2013, 6:06 pm

Head-Unit, Steering wheel and center console on top.

I am sure it could be done, don't know who will be capable of installing, i.e. competent with the electronics of the car.

BTW, no plastics around the transmission lever area.....all plastic came out the car from day 1 :) !

neexis

Postby neexis » March 13th, 2013, 7:56 pm

I seeing steering controls... and looks like you have the space for the mic (speaker looking grills just in front the sunglasses compartment)

I'd say call BA.... While waiting some day I observed (wasn't really macoing) a bill on the dealers desk for VW Bluetooth install.... not sure what vehicle. Price was 3500 if i remember correctly.

Is that a backup camera monitor on the mirror or you added that for extra rear view coverage?

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 13th, 2013, 8:02 pm

If I am not mistaken, when the car was brand new it was TTD3000 to install the bluetooth, thanks for that I will give BA a call...

The extra mirror is to keep an eye on the small one in the car seat at the rear of the car.

Did your car come with Bluetooth installed? If so show the set up in some pics.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 13th, 2013, 10:42 pm

190 kph .. WoW only taken the jetta up to 160. Dont enjoy speed that much its the acceleration that floats my boat.

Oh yeah make sure that your tires are rated for that speed. The jetta ones are rated R means up to 170 kph. Dunno what you guys have on those sweet passats.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 14th, 2013, 12:01 am

purple_heart77 wrote:I did use the auto hold in traffic. However, I hate when I depress the accelerator and it disengages, the transmission makes a loud "thud" sound. Just brings back bad memories from the old Bora of a failing transmission. Hence, I don't use it at all.

i think when you come to a complete stop with autohold, it engages the brakes and puts car into neutral, once you tap the gas first gear engages. unless you on a hill, then floor it a lil bit to prevent roll back once the brakes release

drchaos wrote:190 kph .. WoW only taken the jetta up to 160. Dont enjoy speed that much its the acceleration that floats my boat.

Oh yeah make sure that your tires are rated for that speed. The jetta ones are rated R means up to 170 kph. Dunno what you guys have on those sweet passats.

where did you get that info on the tyres?

have you finished running in your engine yet? the acceleration is almost the same, but the jetta may be a bit quicker on the draw due to the supercharger.. but that acceleration is nice, and I must say, the jetta's engine sounds sweeter. both cars are rated with a max speed of around 220km/h.

got to 195 just now, but i only do that kinda wildness once theres good smooth clear road ahead of me. car handles it like nothing.... solid on the road 8) jetta should be similar. Allergic pushed his well past 220km/h

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 14th, 2013, 9:41 am

I like your description of "Auto Hold"....but that sound I hear when it disengages has turned me off...Mercedes Benz version is much more encouraging to use however.

I grew up in San'do driving manual so hills are not a problem, can mange auto transmission easy, less "Auto Hold" too.

I ent testing no 1.4 TSI Jetta, I read Allergic's comments....agree with Drchaos...the acceleration....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 14th, 2013, 10:52 am

neexis wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:I did use the auto hold in traffic. However, I hate when I depress the accelerator and it disengages, the transmission makes a loud "thud" sound. Just brings back bad memories from the old Bora of a failing transmission. Hence, I don't use it at all.

i think when you come to a complete stop with autohold, it engages the brakes and puts car into neutral, once you tap the gas first gear engages. unless you on a hill, then floor it a lil bit to prevent roll back once the brakes release

drchaos wrote:190 kph .. WoW only taken the jetta up to 160. Dont enjoy speed that much its the acceleration that floats my boat.

where did you get that info on the tyres?

have you finished running in your engine yet? the acceleration is almost the same, but the jetta may be a bit quicker on the draw due to the supercharger.. but that acceleration is nice, and I must say, the jetta's engine sounds sweeter. both cars are rated with a max speed of around 220km/h.

got to 195 just now, but i only do that kinda wildness once theres good smooth clear road ahead of me. car handles it like nothing.... solid on the road 8) jetta should be similar. Allergic pushed his well past 220km/h

Sorry need to make a correction ... the tires on the jetta are W's not R's so that means they an go up to 270 kph ... mis read them

here is a good article that explains from wiki
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire_code

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 14th, 2013, 11:03 am

Yeah finished running in the engine, now at 1798 miles. Don't know much about the first service, my friend at BA took it to work with him and then brought it back in the evening. They did do something stupid tho... there are light specks and spray marks on the leather and the matte plastics from what i think was the lubricant to lubricate the doors. So my friend spoke to the service guys and they said if I can't get it off I should bring it in and they will see what they can do. So far tried using some mothers plastic/rubber/vinyl protectant/cleaner and it seems to cover it up. Dunno how long it will last tho.

BTW you guys going to their event on the 23rd? they got test drives ... sadly no golf gti's availible to test, and a two hour seminar to new owners ... driving tips and car care. All this comes with free ice cream from marble slab!

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 14th, 2013, 11:21 am

You may need to check that 'R' speed rating you're talking about. Sure you're not reading the R as in Rim size?

VW Passats now come with Continental ContiSportContact 3 (235/45/ZR17) which are 94W speed-rated (or up to 168MPH/270KMPH). So we're ok at 225KMPH or so.

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Conti ... tact-3.htm

EDIT: Whops! You beat me to it with the correction.... :idea:
Last edited by VW_Exec on March 14th, 2013, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 14th, 2013, 11:25 am

neexis wrote:Here's my centre console (just phone pics.... no high end camera involved :wink: )

AC controls are different....dials for temps and fan speed, with individual temp displays

Do you use your Auto Hold function? I usually have it on, but I find myself switching it off in crawling traffic, or once there's frequent stop and go

Uploading mine again for side-by-side comparison.

As for plastic...lol :| ..I have a major problem with seeing scratches on brushed metal. It would send me nuts. I also left the plastic in the black middle area between the two gauges (Speedo/Tach), because I also hate the swirls on the black hard plastic.

Karim is aware of my psychosis when it comes to how I keep my rides and bills me accordingly...lol. :D
VW Passat console.jpg

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 14th, 2013, 3:17 pm

Question, something I have seen for a long time on my B6.

When reversing out of my driveway, I notice the wipers give a small movement in the down direction. Recently, I noticed the Yeti doing the same anyone seen that in their car?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 14th, 2013, 3:30 pm

purple_heart77 wrote:Question, something I have seen for a long time on my B6.

When reversing out of my driveway, I notice the wipers give a small movement in the down direction. Recently, I noticed the Yeti doing the same anyone seen that in their car?

yup..once you start up and first move off, seems that the wipers set into a particular position. I've always suspected that this is driven from Auto-wiper feature as it prepares to react to information from sensor.

there's also the 'service position' for the wipers when you're washing/detailing and need to raise blades. I usually have to check the manual to remember how to; but it's fairly straightforward.

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » March 14th, 2013, 3:53 pm

Ok, thanks for that...seen the reaction in the Passat only, not the Bora...wonder if the Jetta inherited it.

The washing/detailing position, key in (not start), accessories if you like, put wipers on and they stop up at their furthest reach, key out.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 14th, 2013, 4:46 pm

VW_Exec wrote:
purple_heart77 wrote:Question, something I have seen for a long time on my B6.

yup..once you start up and first move off, seems that the wipers set into a particular position. I've always suspected that this is driven from Auto-wiper feature as it prepares to react to information from sensor.

there's also the 'service position' for the wipers when you're washing/detailing and need to raise blades. I usually have to check the manual to remember how to; but it's fairly straightforward.

oops... i don't think i used the service position properly. normally once the car's off, you can freely slide the wipers on the windshield up enough so you can lift them off. once the ignition is engaged, their locked into place and ready to go. i always thought that motion was activation/deactivation

isn't the service mode activated by pressing down on the wiper stalk once after switching off the engine? i have yet to try this to confirm.

also.... all plastic was taken off my vehicle by the firm. i don't actually touch the brushed metal but it's pretty solid.. no fingerprints or scratches.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2013, 11:34 pm

purple_heart77 wrote:I like your description of "Auto Hold"....but that sound I hear when it disengages has turned me off...Mercedes Benz version is much more encouraging to use however.

I grew up in San'do driving manual so hills are not a problem, can mange auto transmission easy, less "Auto Hold" too.

I ent testing no 1.4 TSI Jetta, I read Allergic's comments....agree with Drchaos...the acceleration....

maybe the previous version of auto hold is different..... i don't get any sound when it engages or disengages. it really comes in handy for taking off on hills though, cuz as you know any manual may tend to roll back... and "riding clutch" isn't really an option. i'm in sando every week and the auto hold works beautifully every time i'm on the hill by gulf city's traffic lights.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2013, 11:37 pm

drchaos wrote:Yeah finished running in the engine, now at 1798 miles. Don't know much about the first service, my friend at BA took it to work with him and then brought it back in the evening. They did do something stupid tho... there are light specks and spray marks on the leather and the matte plastics from what i think was the lubricant to lubricate the doors. So my friend spoke to the service guys and they said if I can't get it off I should bring it in and they will see what they can do. So far tried using some mothers plastic/rubber/vinyl protectant/cleaner and it seems to cover it up. Dunno how long it will last tho.

BTW you guys going to their event on the 23rd? they got test drives ... sadly no golf gti's availible to test, and a two hour seminar to new owners ... driving tips and car care. All this comes with free ice cream from marble slab!

drchaos why did they spray? were you getting any noises? right now i'm getting some creaks/clicks oi the interior and it definitely sounds like the plastic trim. i'm getting this on take off (even with light acceleration) and braking. not really a problem when the music is playing, but it kinda sounds like a real old car. the dealer said they would check/spray as needed.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 19th, 2013, 11:46 pm

purple heart.... as requested, here are the some pics of the VW bluetooth system

the phone menu can be brought up on the MFD by pressing the "phone" icon on the steering wheel or ceiling

[imgwh]https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4863373/2013-03-19%2018.03.04.jpg[/imgwh]

from there you can open your call register to see dialed, received or missed calls or scroll to find the contact you want. alternatively you can press the "mic" button which activates the phone voice command.. so you can say "call home" and it asks you to confirm whether you want to call the number. i find it works most times depending on if it recognizes what you say. if not it usually pulls up a list on the MFD that you can choose from the usually accurate suggestions. you can also dictate a number for it to dial.

also, you can press the phone button on the HU (RCD510 in this case) and access the keypad, speed dial etc. between the MFD and voice command, i really haven't had reason to use this feature. worst case, it's usually easier and faster for me to just pull it up on the phone once its nearby.

Return to “EURO”