WTK: Best Engine and Tranny Conversion for Peugeot

Posted: February 27th, 2007, 9:45 am
by JoeZwalez
Looking to buy a peugeot (306) but want to swap out the engine and tranny.. Been told that the SR-20DE will work with minimal mods/probs....anyone with advice/aternatives???

Posted: February 28th, 2007, 11:34 am
by SUPERMAN2
IF U PUTTING A SR20 U HAVE TO CUT THE CROSS MEMBER EVEN IF IU PUT AN SR18 U HAVE TO CUT THE CROSS MEMBER I KNOW TRIED TO PUT THEM IN BUT WAS NOT WILLING TO CUT THE CROSS MEMBER THE ONLY ENGINE THAT FIT WITHOUT CUTTING THE COSS MEMBER WAS THE GA15 B 14 ENGINE
I HAVE A PEUGEOT 306 SO I KNOW THE ENGINE WORKS WELL NO PROBLEMS CHECK ME I HAVE A 306

Posted: February 28th, 2007, 12:28 pm
by moti
SUPERMAN2 lay off the CAPS nah :lol:

the b14 engine works great in those cars peugeot & skoda.

Posted: March 3rd, 2007, 3:27 am
by JoeZwalez
Does the tranny have to go as well? Who does this kinda work and at what price range??

Superman2....pm me a contact # please. Interested in your info

Posted: March 3rd, 2007, 7:03 am
by Marct
why do want to swap?, what size engine does the pug have now?

The GA 15 wont give the same power as the pug engine

Posted: March 3rd, 2007, 9:13 am
by JoeZwalez
it have a stock 1.8....( a big mudder!) I love the car but dont want to inherit the high cost factor of maintenance of that engine......from my research, they have been known to give probs and cost a lot to fix...... bear in mind the car/engine is 10 years old

Posted: March 3rd, 2007, 11:23 am
by Marct
talking from my experience I have a pug 1.4 just as much power if not more than the 1.8 (few mods) no mechanical probs. Mine is a PBC (10yrs old) parked it up bout 1 yr now (because I bought a new car).

There are place you can get parts relatively good prices. Check Zorce forum to

Posted: March 3rd, 2007, 12:46 pm
by JJ16
well yea i know the SR20 fits in cause i saw alot of ppl with this 306 with this conversion but they had a gearbox..and well gearbox does be smaller than tranny...so maybe it wud fit easier with a gearbox...

what about a CA18DET, thaz like a 1.8 and the CA not so big...i doh know so i asking also.

what about a 4EFE is it...the starlet turbo engine...not sure...

do u wanna go boost or stay n/a
and are u willin to put a gearbox or u want tranny...

but the normal b15 engines work nromal so thaz a safe scene if u jus looking for someitng normal

Posted: March 3rd, 2007, 2:17 pm
by plex
JoeZwalez wrote:it have a stock 1.8....( a big mudder!) I love the car but dont want to inherit the high cost factor of maintenance of that engine......from my research, they have been known to give probs and cost a lot to fix...... bear in mind the car/engine is 10 years old

How much mileage is the car reading?

I have one is 12yrs old 1.8 and doing just over 150,000km.And is now i am facing some wear & tear issues...I understand your concerns about the age and maintenance costs however, i would advise to weigh out all pros & cons in your decisions..

Posted: March 5th, 2007, 1:39 pm
by SUPERMAN2
my no is 746-0730/340-1404 give me a shout if u serious u can come amd see my car and how it works u wont be disappointed

wait na joel is u this is shivanand here boy if u interested u could buy mines

Posted: March 5th, 2007, 1:39 pm
by SUPERMAN2
my no is 746-0730/340-1404 give me a shout if u serious u can come amd see my car and how it works u wont be disappointed

wait na joel is u this is shivanand here boy if u interested u could buy mines

Posted: March 8th, 2007, 10:02 am
by JoeZwalez
oh sheit...is you boy Shiv! LOL.....ah go call yuh fella!

Posted: March 15th, 2007, 9:31 am
by SUPERMAN2
NO SCENE U COULD COME AND SEE MINES U MIGHT FALL IN LOVE ONE TIME BET U IS ONE AH THE BEST LOOKING ONE IN TRINIDAD

Posted: November 21st, 2008, 5:36 pm
by giggle868