Project Ressurrection

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

Project Ressurrection

Postby Monk BANzai » March 14th, 2007, 4:07 pm

well folks..some of you may know...some of you may not kow...but i have a Rover 200VI parked up that i'm planning on putting back on the road...teh car went udner in 2005 after i spun a bearing and i had Head woes (overheating).

I pulled the engine and the aim was to go Evo VII power on a $G92 box...but scrapped that idea due to the high costs of the the transplant.

My primary concern is this. Strucutaral stability . I am not going to put any high powered engine in the car if its affect that cars handling to the point of being scurred....

so....options?......do i go back euro?.....a n/a screamer or a Turbo hybrid?

Will psot pics of current state soon...

Postby SR » March 14th, 2007, 6:00 pm

b18c will fit nicely

or a d16a9 turbo with 10lbs boost

Postby Monk BANzai » March 14th, 2007, 6:45 pm

^^ box issues....the B series boxes are on the driver side no?

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 14th, 2007, 7:41 pm

Banzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ box issues....the B series boxes are on the driver side no?

This is normally a throw-away car in Britan more so as the factory closed down in Longbridge, Birmingham last year 06.
Anyway in Trinidad this may not be so. As this car is really based loosly on a EG series Civic I would suggest installing a late Honda motor. These rover K series engines, which are rubbish in the Elise, Exige and kit cars for durabilty are now being superceded by the owners with the mighty K20A CTR motor. You may also consider the 2ZZGE motor used in the Celica VVT-i 190 or TSport Corrolla. Take care in making sure the installation is not a boge job. I believe this can be done neat enough to retain most of the Rover DNA but all of the K20s grunt.
There is also the option of installing the 1.8T K series from the Rover 75 if you are will to find one overseas and pay the cost of carriage. Your close ratio gearbox will be crap for this huffer assisted motor. ECU control can be easily sourced and precalibrated so you do not need keys and immobiliser harness etc.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 14th, 2007, 9:16 pm

^^^ grr.yu no w'eve had many on line arguments over it..but i just may go japanese and done...

dry

Postby dry » March 14th, 2007, 9:34 pm

I just come to piss on the wall and spell out a couple letters and numbers.... I doh hadda tell you what it spell... do I?

hint: parts available in aisle 5 at HiLo, aisle 1 in Tru Valu. I think Kelvin have some under his doubles cart too.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 14th, 2007, 9:46 pm

^^ why man....thats so "common" hoss....

dry

Postby dry » March 14th, 2007, 9:51 pm

VE then.... unless you WANT to spend behind a 4AGE-20V or 4Gxx or KDBxxABCD

dry

Postby dry » March 14th, 2007, 10:01 pm

really and truly there's no other cost-effective choice that would perform as well. any other option would cost at least twice as much -- notice men calling all kinda 10 grand for a b16 gearbox alone.

Postby Monk BANzai » March 15th, 2007, 12:12 am

price on a VE?....

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 15th, 2007, 3:03 am

Banzai Rastafarai wrote:^^^ grr.yu no w'eve had many on line arguments over it..but i just may go japanese and done...

Whatever you do spend the money and do it neat. Pity you have to payout
to do this.

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » March 15th, 2007, 3:14 am

well B...let me see some pics of the project...

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » March 15th, 2007, 3:01 pm

:cry: :cry: :cry: So yuh want me to still price d ting for you? Well you know me; I eh changing my K series... Hell I go piece together you and Kern own if I have to. and build a beast of a 1.8... Doh throw away d box... or harness I may need it :oops: That is if u decide to throw out the K

Postby MG Man » March 15th, 2007, 11:33 pm

Toyota 20 valve engine
but you know me, Banzai, I'd plunk in a Vauxhall / Opel 2.2 n/a on ITBs :twisted:

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » March 16th, 2007, 5:56 am

4A20v motor has got too little torque (peaky 120lbft@5600r/min compared to 130lbft@4500r/min from Vi) to give that car the feel of a true GTi and its only a 1.6. I have got a 20v lump in me dads AE101 installed as an "economy" engine. The 143bhp K series 1.8 Vi engine was a cracker once revved and we have measured 15.3@94mph and a 7.3 0-60 on Banzi crap rolly-polly suspension all on STD parts. There would have been more to come if the rich owner shelled out some quid an bought a ZR160/MGF TF larger throttle body. Its just that these motors break so easy thats the let down of this car.
When Ford bought Land-Rover from BMW it is alleged that the rubbish headgasket design was altererd for the 1.8 K series freelander and might be a fix. If the liners have already moved in the block then the seal will be damaged and I am afraid it is pull-out and rebuild time.

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » March 24th, 2007, 10:18 pm

Whatever yuh choose keep it N/A. Yuh done have the VR already.

Return to “EURO”