If I buy an OPel Astra.....

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

If I buy an OPel Astra.....

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2007, 3:12 pm

where I gettin parts for it?
things like belts, hoses, sensors, interior switches, suspension rubbers, ends etc? I lookin at an Astra for an everyday car / work car.....any suggestions?

BRT

Postby BRT » November 19th, 2007, 5:48 pm

yea i replied to your PM, u can get all those parts down here in free port, or Life Style Motors. but Free Port is Cheaper.

Postby Team Loco » November 19th, 2007, 9:10 pm

Kevin, parts available from ERM auto, Freeport. Also got a friend with one -bought two years ago. he was very concerned about parts. so far so good, he did some servicing at VMCOTT

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2007, 9:40 pm

thanks guys
I just waiting on th eowner to do a valuation so I will know if it in my price range

BRT

Postby BRT » November 19th, 2007, 10:45 pm

yea doh worry, they cant sell them cars expensive down here, also i have a mechanic that use to work platinum who services my car, so if u take it, i can give u him number.

Postby MG Man » November 19th, 2007, 11:06 pm

cool scene
will know next week

plex

Postby plex » November 20th, 2007, 7:08 am

Anyone seen the green Astra roaming around..It has rear touring wing.

BRT

Postby BRT » November 20th, 2007, 8:20 pm

anyone ever see, the white vectra, with black rims, black tail lights, black angel eyes, and slotted/drilled rotors?

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2007, 8:53 pm

BRT wrote:anyone ever see, the white vectra, with black rims, black tail lights, black angel eyes, and slotted/drilled rotors?

yours?

Saw a black Astra (Maybe very dark green) with smoked tail lights.....din like it so much

The green 2 door Astra parked off the southbound a bit before the Caroni bridge....looks like it was crashed and scrapped....that car had an OPC tuned engine :-(
The rims looked like sheit tho

BRT

Postby BRT » November 20th, 2007, 8:56 pm

yes i know, he real stupid to crash that astra, with the OPC engine, now it have a stupif 20valve in it, and well yes the white vectra is mine, lol,

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2007, 6:08 am

^^^well that Astra officially dead now, buy the looks of it.......what a waste
some people should not own european cars

plex

Postby plex » November 21st, 2007, 6:55 am

BRT wrote:yes i know, he real stupid to crash that astra, with the OPC engine, now it have a stupif 20valve in it, and well yes the white vectra is mine, lol,

So the man drop a 20v..

BRT

Postby BRT » November 21st, 2007, 7:12 am

yip u know, i sticking to my euro, if anyone knows of any opel engines that are avaliable, like from crashed cars, anything from a 1.6 and up, please let me know, i want to try a lil project,

plex

Postby plex » November 21st, 2007, 3:51 pm

Saw a nice white Astra on the highway today..

Postby MG Man » November 21st, 2007, 11:23 pm

I waitin for police aution to get my spiffy Vauxhall Astra 1.4.....would make a great rallycar :!:

BRT

Postby BRT » November 21st, 2007, 11:27 pm

aye u goin to have info when that going to be cool man, u know how long i does want to know when and where they does have it, all them is 1.4? i thought some had bigger engines? how much u think they go sell a wreck or front cut for?

plex

Postby plex » November 22nd, 2007, 6:57 am

MG Man wrote:I waitin for police aution to get my spiffy Vauxhall Astra 1.4.....would make a great rallycar :!:

new project in the making.

Postby MG Man » November 22nd, 2007, 7:37 am

BRT wrote:aye u goin to have info when that going to be cool man, u know how long i does want to know when and where they does have it, all them is 1.4? i thought some had bigger engines? how much u think they go sell a wreck or front cut for?

I tryin to find out when they have them things
All the Astra police cars were the base econo 1.4s....they are remarkably slow, 1 - 60 in 14 seconds :shock: ....less for the police cars with all the added weight :!:

BRT

Postby BRT » November 22nd, 2007, 7:41 am

nah dread, i want an bigger engine than that, lol, i wish i could get an omega engine.

plex

Postby plex » November 22nd, 2007, 9:48 am

thats a 2.2l 16v.

Postby MG Man » November 22nd, 2007, 4:35 pm

BRT wrote:nah dread, i want an bigger engine than that, lol, i wish i could get an omega engine.

my plan would be to wait for someone in the UK to crash their VXR Astra :twisted:

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 22nd, 2007, 7:49 pm

BRT wrote:aye u goin to have info when that going to be cool man, u know how long i does want to know when and where they does have it, all them is 1.4? i thought some had bigger engines? how much u think they go sell a wreck or front cut for?

All the Astra police cars were the base econo 1.4s....they are remarkably slow, 1 - 60 in 14 seconds :shock: ....less for the police cars with all the added weight :!:

Shows how stupid the MET must think trinidadians are when they made that Goverment deal back then. The Astras the Police had in the UK at the time had a 1.8 16v X18XE. And I know the Police Astras in trinidad were made in Luton, UK and are Vauxhalls vs Opels. Opels are made in continental europe.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 22nd, 2007, 7:52 pm

BRT wrote:nah dread, i want an bigger engine than that, lol, i wish i could get an omega engine.

my plan would be to wait for someone in the UK to crash their VXR Astra :twisted:

We got Astra vans that have that were swaped with the 240 or 197bhp engine in them. Plus there is a 170 version of the 2.0 16v T that is fairly common and was fitted to the Astra convertable.

BRT

Postby BRT » November 22nd, 2007, 11:19 pm

yea, and they have them in 2.0 too down here. anyone would be fine with me, lol

Postby MG Man » November 23rd, 2007, 7:13 am

thegtiman wrote:

Shows how stupid the MET must think trinidadians are when they made that Goverment deal back then. The Astras the Police had in the UK at the time had a 1.8 16v X18XE. And I know the Police Astras in trinidad were made in Luton, UK and are Vauxhalls vs Opels. Opels are made in continental europe.

you wana talk stupid?
THose Vauxhall Astras came with fly-by-wire throttle
A friend of mine who is a former Vauxhall / GM exec spent a whole day trying to explain to the fleet manager why there was no accelerator cable :? At the end of teh day, the local guy looked at him and asked 'so where they run de cable?'
Poor fella could just not understand the concept :?

BRT

Postby BRT » November 23rd, 2007, 8:44 am

is to find out when, and where a crashed VRX AStra is, how we goin to know,?

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 23rd, 2007, 11:16 am

MG Man wrote:[
you wana talk stupid?
THose Vauxhall Astras came with fly-by-wire throttle
A friend of mine who is a former Vauxhall / GM exec spent a whole day trying to explain to the fleet manager why there was no accelerator cable :? At the end of teh day, the local guy looked at him and asked 'so where they run de cable?'
Poor fella could just not understand the concept :?

Drive by wire is going to be in all vehicles once they have torque request PCM strategies. Very normal these days and nothing special.
I just thought that the Metropolitan Police UK, who recommend those cars to the Trini gov short changed us. They had better spec'd vehicles at the time.

Postby MG Man » November 23rd, 2007, 3:06 pm

^^^^I know the guys from Vauxhall had a good chuckle, but don't be fooled....our guys knew the specs.....as to whether they understood those specs is debatable :?
The performance figures were even published in the newspapers

Postby MG Man » November 23rd, 2007, 3:07 pm

BRT wrote:is to find out when, and where a crashed VRX AStra is, how we goin to know,?

if you have the cash, I have some direct links to one of the biggest Vauxhall dealerships in the UK....I am sure they would have some idea....give me a few weeks to see what I can dig up

BRT

Postby BRT » November 23rd, 2007, 6:00 pm

serious man, well i dont have the cash now, but when i do i will check u, i want a turbo engine, like a 2.0 turbo,

Return to “EURO”