need someone to rebuild a Pug 206SW AL4 Transmission

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

need someone to rebuild a Pug 206SW AL4 Transmission

Postby MG Man » June 18th, 2012, 4:16 pm

so the long version is:
the tranny had just begun to show signs of slipping, so I decided to get it rebuilt by DH in La Horquetta
He says all was well, and he replaced the bands...........twice
Anyways........now, the car jerks very harshly on the first gearchange, plus when I come to a crawl and then ease back on the gas, the revs build and the car won't pick up for a few seconds, then suddenly, the tranny engages with that same harsh jerk, sometimes causing the front tyres to chirp.....yesterday it decided to remain in 1st gear :?
Oh yeah, and it still slipping on occasion..........
Man charged me 5k to fcuk up a good tranny..........where do I go now?

rdeonarine

Re: need someone to rebuild a Pug 206SW AL4 Transmission

Postby rdeonarine » June 19th, 2012, 3:30 pm

call this guy, he will sort you out........Andy - 731-2634

plex

Postby plex » June 19th, 2012, 8:04 pm

i am really surprised u get that kind of service from him...

Postby MG Man » June 20th, 2012, 1:26 pm

I suspect he didn't do any work on the car himself...he just let his clowns do the job....heck he hardly even around..........u have to wonder how much work is actually done by him / under his supervision

plex

Postby plex » June 20th, 2012, 3:07 pm

any luck with the number above?

Postby MG Man » June 20th, 2012, 10:35 pm

havent called yet

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 22nd, 2012, 12:57 am

gearbox!

fido

Postby fido » July 18th, 2013, 1:20 pm

MG man i rebuilt the same transmission by david hobbs and i got the same problem BUT ! I HAD PATIENTS. your problem is the piston seals or and the valve body. rebuilding the transmission may have meant changing the parts that were bad at the time. get it scanned by him again..which he will do for free and he will guide you from there. parts in those transmissions sometimes go in an instant even if you changed other parts recently. my own works fine now but have a little patients.

fido

Postby fido » July 18th, 2013, 1:22 pm

and b.t.w his workers are not little clowns.

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2013, 1:28 pm

lol you is one ah dem oar?
well they neglected to put back in the stone shield so now I have water splashing up and staining the under-bonnet padding, and yeah the car smells stink and sweaty..........either they were storing their coveralls in the car, bullin it, or jus doh bathe...........nobody wants to sit in the car because of that smell............I even paid eliteauto to clean it out, but it so embedded in the car that even he couldn't get the stink out.............and I really cannot afford to have my car by DH for another year..........if you really want to talk patience, week after week of checking on the car........on one occasion he said 'yeah by next wednesday...........I pulled up the tuesday, and my trany was in pieces in the trunk :?
It kept dragging on and on, so yes, I have patience...........a year to get back a car that works worse than when it was sent in

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2013, 1:38 pm

btw any good mechanic knows when you rebuild a transmission, you replace all seals etc. At the very least, you measure everything and compare to spec, to get an idea of wear

Postby Ted_v2 » July 18th, 2013, 1:52 pm

Keith Charles did some rebuilds for us. No problems with the service.

Postby MG Man » July 18th, 2013, 2:04 pm

can u PM me his number?

fido

Postby fido » July 18th, 2013, 3:32 pm

WOW all of that ? now that's a whole next story. i went on what you told me thinking you were upset for the tranny not knowing it was a year your car was there. that is utter madness. i apologise for telling you to have patience. so what was his reason for making you wait a whole year ?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 19th, 2013, 10:19 am

MG Man wrote:can u PM me his number?

I have it in a phone. Will find it and pm you. His shop is in Duncan village if you're nearby I can send you directions

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 19th, 2013, 7:01 pm

MG Man, the Pug AL4 Tranny is the same as the Ren DP0 Tranny.
If you want,I could talk to my Ren Mech.

Postby Ted_v2 » July 30th, 2013, 12:46 pm

Didnt find his contact number. sry

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2013, 2:36 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:MG Man, the Pug AL4 Tranny is the same as the Ren DP0 Tranny.
If you want,I could talk to my Ren Mech.

that would be much appreciated. I'm no longer selling it, and plan to do some work on it (suspension bushes, ends etc), so I need to be sure the tranny has no surprises
I really love that little wagon

Return to “EURO”