Rover Engine Swap

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

DJ Q

Rover Engine Swap

Postby DJ Q » January 1st, 2014, 11:45 am

Hey all. I've tried all how to make the original engine work in my 216 but the headaches are just too much.
I believe it's time to try a different power plant.
Would the 1NZ-FE fit in this vehicle? I have a fielder and I love the fuel consumption on this engine.
I know nothing about conversions so I'm relying on your input.

If the conversion will be difficult and time consuming to do the NZE engine, that's ok. Car's not in use.
I just want something reliable and low maintenance.

Not really into the SRtwenny thing lol

Any help is appreciated thanks.

Re: Rover Engine Swap

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 1st, 2014, 3:54 pm

VR6 :D

Postby Ted_v2 » January 1st, 2014, 4:14 pm

Anything thing fitting.
You will need custom mounts. New wiring. Axles. Then machine shop to do the axel cutting and welding.

Nze engine with transmission goes for around 15k.
Qg15 engine and transmission 5500$
Ga15 engine and transmission 7000$.
Sr20 would work but be huge in that small bay.
Is up to you.

Postby cinco » January 1st, 2014, 4:32 pm

DJ Q wrote:Hey all. I've tried all how to make the original engine work in my 216 but the headaches are just too much.
I believe it's time to try a different power plant.
Would the 1NZ-FE fit in this vehicle? I have a fielder and I love the fuel consumption on this engine.
I know nothing about conversions so I'm relying on your input.

If the conversion will be difficult and time consuming to do the NZE engine, that's ok. Car's not in use.
I just want something reliable and low maintenance.

Not really into the SRtwenny thing lol

Any help is appreciated thanks.

Easiest swap is a d15b honda engine. 1nz is alot of wiring work and aint cheap

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 1st, 2014, 5:03 pm

Didn't realise NZE engines were so expensive :shock:
But honestly, I really like the reliability and the quietness of that 1nz.
I assume we're looking at roughly $20,000 in parts and labour?

Is the d15b reliable? Doesn't that run on premium?

Thanks for your responses!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 1st, 2014, 5:08 pm

Now doing some research on those engines.
Those are some really old engines. Newest out of them was the qg15 and that's '03.
I rather the extra cost of the NZE.

Postby cinco » January 1st, 2014, 5:29 pm

You know your rover working with a rover engine sells for less than 20k?
Unless u plan on keeping it till it dies the 1nz doesnt make sense to me.
The d15b is a pretty reliable engine and old school makes it easier to maintain.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 1st, 2014, 5:31 pm

that honda engine is a good option as well.
corolla 4a engines are pretty good also.

Postby cinco » January 1st, 2014, 5:31 pm

Btw if u dont care about cross breeding a zlde mazda engine or a ga15 should run u about 6-8k installed

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » January 1st, 2014, 7:51 pm

Honda usually works in rover without much welding n cutting n bracket making . In some cases Honda engines fit bolt for bolt in rover cars

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 2nd, 2014, 9:56 am

cinco wrote:You know your rover working with a rover engine sells for less than 20k?
The d15b is a pretty reliable engine and old school makes it easier to maintain.

No one more aware of this than me. The car was up for sale but the original owner is refusing to part.
Just trying to make the best of the situation. I don't doubt the d15b is reliable, but it's roughly at least 14 years old... I know the Rover is 16 years, but I rather the new technology.

It's very efficient and VERY quiet!

May even consider the 1.8 from the fielder if it fits. Don't know the engine code on that... is it 2ZZ something?

Postby cinco » January 2nd, 2014, 10:33 am

DJ Q wrote:
cinco wrote:You know your rover working with a rover engine sells for less than 20k?

No one more aware of this than me. The car was up for sale but the original owner is refusing to part.
Just trying to make the best of the situation. I don't doubt the d15b is reliable, but it's roughly at least 14 years old... I know the Rover is 16 years, but I rather the new technology.

It's very efficient and VERY quiet!

May even consider the 1.8 from the fielder if it fits. Don't know the engine code on that... is it 2ZZ something?

1zzge is 1.8 non vvtli 2zzge is 1.8 vvtli
2zzge is even more expensive to acquire and maintain.
Remember the rewiring is gonna be headache not to mention axles and all that. Hence why i suggested the d15 more than likely it will bolt straight to your current tranny and little modification to mounts if any

Postby Ted_v2 » January 2nd, 2014, 2:26 pm

New Model Toyota stuff are expensive and hard to wire up in another vehicle. Listen to Cinco. He speaks the truth.

Get something simple to swap. Like the Honda or the ga15/qg18.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 2nd, 2014, 2:43 pm

Ok what about the MR20DE?

Postby cinco » January 9th, 2014, 8:25 pm

DJ Q wrote:Ok what about the MR20DE?

2 words
electronic throttle.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 10th, 2014, 8:28 am

I'm guessing there's no conversion for that?

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » January 14th, 2014, 4:24 pm

LAWD mih heart Q mih heart!!! What happen to the engine now that you talk such blasphemy?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 14th, 2014, 4:33 pm

NickJr. wrote:LAWD mih heart Q mih heart!!! What happen to the engine now that you talk such blasphemy?

Lol
The car down almost a year now and it's just not worth it.
This is the second Rover engine and they've both been their share of problems.

Right now it's just refusing to start, and when it does, it refuses to idle.

Don't have the time (or care) to really put up with maintaining an original.
It's not like it's a rare ZR in the country or anything :lol:

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » January 14th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Sounds familiar, could be electrical. I've got a ground playing the fool right now myself

irvys

Postby irvys » February 20th, 2014, 9:16 am

whatever you do DO NOT CARRY YOUR ROVER BY: JOHNS CLINIC near uwi.
he took a month to do my conversion (b14).... I am still fixing a hundred problems on it.
THE MAN IS A BIG THIEF. spread the word

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » February 25th, 2014, 8:40 am

The Rover 200 engine and the 400 are HONDA built engines. a B16A is a direct bolt on fits for Rovers. So i would recommend going honda only

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » February 25th, 2014, 8:43 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Anything thing fitting.
You will need custom mounts. New wiring. Axles. Then machine shop to do the axel cutting and welding.

Nze engine with transmission goes for around 15k.
Qg15 engine and transmission 5500$
Ga15 engine and transmission 7000$.
Sr20 would work but be huge in that small bay.
Is up to you.

Unlike typical Trini thinking, a Nissan engine is NOT the answer to life's problems. For a 200/400/600 series rover, use a Honda Civic engine from an EG series car. I could never understand how mechanics cannot recognize a honda engine without a badge.

Engine conversions are always trouble. I would never advise anyone to do a swap... unless its like an old Royal Saloon or a 280c.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 25th, 2014, 10:51 am

Price for a B16A?
Super or Premium?

Postby black start » February 25th, 2014, 11:07 am

Around 13k or some with tranny. Price may vary from place to place and it works with super...

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » February 25th, 2014, 11:13 am

Well den buy the cheaper single cam Civic engine. once the mounts are the same, it will work.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 25th, 2014, 11:19 am

I see these transmissions listed on Wikipedia:

Transmission: YS1/S4C/Y21/S21

Trying to research them but not seeing whether it's manual or auto.
Some civics came CVT, Is it this engine?

Postby Monk BANzai » February 25th, 2014, 11:25 am

i eh no expert in engine swaps for teh rover 200...(lol) but what i will tell you is your main concern is line up of the axles to the hub. Whatever measurements you do..make sure the angle is not too extreme to cause axle issues (even with a non performance engine). To be honest...my first engine i bought for it purely on measurements was the 3SGTe...then .....yup..axle line up issues..lol..

Also...the Honda engines (1.6 L Honda D16A6) was designed for the Mk 2 (production end in 1995)... The 1.6 L (1590 cc) version used either a Honda D16A6 SOHC or D16A8 DOHC powerplant, Not the Mk3 (commonly known as the bubble shape which is what you have.). Honda and Rover had already been "divorced" after the BMW takeover the previous year in 1994.

so this "drop in bolt for bolt" talk is really drop in and modify yuh engine mounts.

you will have an issue re: speedometer not working or not reading accurately. But if yu have a good electrician, all instrumentation issues will be sorted. Get you electrician to rewire the Central locking to make it NOT lock you out your car even if the key is in the ignition.

Also bear in mind the clutch setup (if you're going manual).

When i did my swap i had to do over the mounts because of the axle issue..we was popping axles like an addict on meth....so we set the engine lower and further back (closer to the firewall)...it would require that you remove all the plumbing for fuel and cooling that was previously Rover related from the firewall to make for space (now this is for teh SR platform eh...other big sawatee engines may not have a space issue)

Also, my first fabricator didnt think it out properly and suggested we relocate our front Stabaliser bars...cuz of space...after it was done properly the second time..there was no need to do that...the vertical space of the engine bay is limited tho..so watch where yuor sump pan and collector pipes fro mthe headers drop. My car is the 200VI so it sits lower due the differnt setup..if you havethe 216 Sli, you should consider that as well...the Sli shares the same suspension set up as the 200VI with rear disc brakes et al.

You car may or may not come with that ABS setup.....depending on what engine you chose to go with..the ABS pump may have to be relocated..and brake lines re-shaped.

Image ... ABS repositioned

If you can (and should)..use back the Rover's cooling system..the dual fan setup is really effective.and save on space...(one fan mounts on the front side of the radiator)

Here is a local with a Honda powerplant....all mounts redone

notice ABS has been removed.

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » February 25th, 2014, 11:38 am

DJ Q wrote:I see these transmissions listed on Wikipedia:

Transmission: YS1/S4C/Y21/S21

Trying to research them but not seeing whether it's manual or auto.
Some civics came CVT, Is it this engine?

ALL EG model Civics were 4 speed automatics or 5 speed manual.

EK series came with CVT. consult your bamboo man on which would be an appropriate swap between an EG and EK model civic

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » February 25th, 2014, 11:41 am

ooo Ban Zai!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 25th, 2014, 1:06 pm

Well my brain just exploded with BANzai's comment..

I think when the time comes I'm going to just drop the car for the Ras.

Return to “EURO”