Importing a Diesel BMW 5 series from UK

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

wilsonartsdesigns

Importing a Diesel BMW 5 series from UK

Postby wilsonartsdesigns » September 17th, 2017, 5:49 pm

Guys, need some advice. I know that the diesel quality in Trinidad is terrible and the UK cars are designed for Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel. But I'm still seeing several people still bringing in the diesel 5 series, X5, Q7, etc.
Prices are way lower than the petrol and I'm considering importing one. I would definitely increase the maintenance schedule because of the diesel.
Advice and guidance welcomed.....

nick639v2

Re: Importing a Diesel BMW 5 series from UK

Postby nick639v2 » September 17th, 2017, 8:06 pm

Inside for info

Postby SR » September 17th, 2017, 8:25 pm

Maintaince will be high

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 18th, 2017, 10:11 am

A euro mechanic once advised never to buy a RoRo euro diesel.

I'd take my chances with the gas version.

Postby SR » September 18th, 2017, 10:34 am

Our diesel does not meet the specs for any of the newer euro diesel engines dpf will have to be removed and ecu remapped for both dpf removal and diesel

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 18th, 2017, 11:01 am

SR that procedure you mentioned above, is it done for all new local vehicles?

My cousin recently bought a local X5 (PDH) series .. 2.5 diesel and had to get the engine changed after approx 30 000km. Luckily it was covered under warranty.

wilsonartsdesigns

Postby wilsonartsdesigns » September 19th, 2017, 1:40 am

Heard that Petrotrin will finally be modifying and starting up their ULSD Plant (Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel) in 2021. I guess that would open up a bigger market for the types of vehicle we can import.....

Will avoid the headache for now and stick to the Gas Engine Vehicles

Postby SR » September 19th, 2017, 3:53 pm

Sweeks as far as i am aware no change is done to the dpf and ecu tuning to local new vehicles. Toyota does not equip thier vehicles with the newer 2.4 diesel but retains the older 3l diesel thruout the entire local lineup from hilux to prado. This ecu has been detuned by toyota to match the diesel locally. Results in much less power than the new 2.4 or a previous untouched 3.0 from older models

wilsonartsdesigns

Postby wilsonartsdesigns » September 20th, 2017, 6:43 am

SR wrote:Sweeks as far as i am aware no change is done to the dpf and ecu tuning to local new vehicles. Toyota does not equip thier vehicles with the newer 2.4 diesel but retains the older 3l diesel thruout the entire local lineup from hilux to prado. This ecu has been detuned by toyota to match the diesel locally. Results in much less power than the new 2.4 or a previous untouched 3.0 from older models

The imported Toyota Revo with the new engines were designed for the cleaned diesel. But I haven't heard of any giving problems yet.....

Postby MG Man » September 21st, 2017, 9:57 am

don't buy a euro diesel
besides our diesel quality being poop (which can be dealt with by changing your oil every 3,000 km), the other problem is the level of particulate contamination, which eventually kills your diesel pump and injectors
Even if you remap and remove the DPF, that won't solve the fuel pump and injector problems

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 22nd, 2017, 8:47 am

wilsonartsdesigns wrote:The imported Toyota Revo with the new engines were designed for the cleaned diesel. But I haven't heard of any giving problems yet.....

SR I hear you.

Wisonartsdesigns there have been a few cases of issues with DPFs I've heard off.

If diesel prices increase again come budget day, I'm not sure if it makes much sense to own a new diesel vehicle.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 6th, 2017, 1:36 pm

sweeks wrote:If diesel prices increase again come budget day, I'm not sure if it makes much sense to own a new diesel vehicle.

So said ... so done.

Postby SR » October 6th, 2017, 2:48 pm

Lol still getting more mileage per tank on diesel than super...

Postby MG Man » October 7th, 2017, 11:41 am

SR wrote:Lol still getting more mileage per tank on diesel than super...

depends on what you drive
Your diesel car is probably in the 55-60 mpg range, same as mine
Problem is trinis driving these dotish thirsty pickups....they were happy because diesel was cheap and most probably don't realize how thirsty some of those vans are
The axio I was driving was cheaper to run than the ranger they replaced it with...people don't believe me but the axio gave similar range as the ranger but cost less to fill up

Return to “EURO”