WTK: Who is the best optometrist?

perfect10

WTK: Who is the best optometrist?

Postby perfect10 » July 8th, 2009, 3:25 pm

My family and I used to go to various optometrists but it seemed as as if our eyes still would strain even after we got our glasses/contacts. We started just waiting until whenever we travelled to get our eyes tested which worked really well but I need advice on who is really good at testing here since it is urgent. Any help will be appreciated.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 8th, 2009, 3:26 pm

Optometrist Today, dealt with the for the past 6 years.
No complaints what so ever.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » July 8th, 2009, 3:27 pm

I & I Jah Rastafari

triniangie

Postby triniangie » July 8th, 2009, 3:30 pm

...Ferreira Optical

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 8th, 2009, 3:32 pm

Captainzaak wrote:Optometrist Today, dealt with the for the past 6 years.
No complaints what so ever.

Injun

Postby Injun » July 8th, 2009, 4:06 pm

I'll disagree...

I found Optometrists Today to be:
slow (took me >5 weeks to get my frames/lenses),
pricey (my lenses alone cost more than my previous frames + lenses: High Density/ AR Coated) and
stingy (didn't even get a small bottle of lens cleaner which is NEEDED for AR lenses)

AND my right eye was straining when I got them.
AND the AR coating started peeling within 9 months.

Now, to be fair, this was about 5-6 years ago. I was told (by another company) that back then Optometrists Today used a Venezuelan lab for the lenses and that they've since gone all in-house, with tremendous quality improvement.

I've actually had good experiences with Value Optical (and well, PriceSmart Optical back in the day). Good service, quick turnaround (~1 week), cheaper frames, lenses that feel right (no strain).

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » July 8th, 2009, 4:12 pm

Optometrists Today is good. If you lucky Margarita from South Africa might do your eye test

Ferreira is good also.

Postby bluesteel29 » July 8th, 2009, 4:35 pm

triniangie wrote:...Ferreira Optical

Or.... JCA Optical, starlite plaza , diego martin

perfect10

Postby perfect10 » July 8th, 2009, 4:37 pm

Injun wrote:I'll disagree...

I found Optometrists Today to be:
slow (took me >5 weeks to get my frames/lenses),
pricey (my lenses alone cost more than my previous frames + lenses: High Density/ AR Coated) and
stingy (didn't even get a small bottle of lens cleaner which is NEEDED for AR lenses)

AND my right eye was straining when I got them.
AND the AR coating started peeling within 9 months.

Now, to be fair, this was about 5-6 years ago. I was told (by another company) that back then Optometrists Today used a Venezuelan lab for the lenses and that they've since gone all in-house, with tremendous quality improvement.

I've actually had good experiences with Value Optical (and well, PriceSmart Optical back in the day). Good service, quick turnaround (~1 week), cheaper frames, lenses that feel right (no strain).

This is exactly what I was talking about! They were one of the optometrists we used years ago and every time our eyes would strain. It seems that they have greatly improved now.

Thanks everyone for all the suggestions, you can keep them coming!

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2009, 5:04 pm

do they have their own lens making lab or sub to someone else ?
ferreira's has their own lab

Sequel

Postby Sequel » July 8th, 2009, 5:10 pm

the place behind valpark!

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2009, 5:14 pm

legs for days

trinigamer wrote:Optometrists Today is good. If you lucky Margarita from South Africa might do your eye test

Ferreira is good also.

Re: WTK: Who is the best optometrist?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 8th, 2009, 5:15 pm

perfect10 wrote:need advice on who is really good at testing here since it is urgent. Any help will be appreciated.

Caribbean Eye Institute- Dr. Allan, Dr. Deo Singh-645-2363, 667-2802

Don't let anyone fool you, these two are very good and do work both here and abroad, hence why its hard to get an appointment. I usually test my eyes by them and then purchase my eyewear elsewhere. You said its urgent, I don't know if you will get an early appointment. Most of those eyewear stores don't keep their optometrists for long periods, the two occasions I went Value Optical there were different doctors. OT generally unfriendly, they act like certain people cannot afford their stuff. Ferreiras, good service but I never tested there only bought.

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2009, 5:17 pm

does value optical use another set of people for different branches? cuz d one in valsayn... *thumbs down*

Optometrist Today was where i got my 1st pair. Seemed good.

There is one on chaguanas main road. Excellent guy. Cant remember the name. But his prices were GREAT and i still using the same pair (yea i know i need a new set).

Best bet is to get more advice, besides tuner and then chose, that is, if you really want to get your pair down here.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 8th, 2009, 5:59 pm

There is a Dr. Rajack in South (by Sparks on Royal Road)

very good, experienced and reasonably priced.

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2009, 6:04 pm

Firewall wrote:There is a Dr. Rajack in South (by Sparks on Royal Road)

very good, experienced and reasonably priced.

YEA!!!! him too!

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » July 8th, 2009, 7:17 pm

I'd vouch for Optometrist Today, been dealing with them for the past 15 years with no complaints, dem get a good chunk of money from my family over the years...

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » July 8th, 2009, 7:26 pm

it is a good thing i got 20/20 vision... :fadein:

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » July 8th, 2009, 7:32 pm

Soundwave wrote:
SPK1983 wrote:I'd vouch for Optometrist Today, been dealing with them for the past 15 years with no complaints, dem get a good chunk of money from my family over the years...

so they're extortionists also...

lol, well we've gone through a number of glasses over the years, especially me when I had to start wearing them...

I think I went through like 5 frames in 3 years or so...I became a very desirable customer to them at that time :lol:

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 8th, 2009, 7:36 pm

Ferreira Optical been with them years now - I heard OT is good also - anyone but Boddington!

Postby Gem_in_i » July 8th, 2009, 8:03 pm

triniangie wrote:...Ferreira Optical

I go to their Gulf City branch.
Never had a problem and they have reasonably priced frames.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » July 8th, 2009, 8:27 pm

I would strongly advise that u go to an EYE SPECIALIST instead of a mere "optician" cuz everybody callin dey self optician!!!D BESS is Jamaladin(cant remeber correct spellin) On the corner of MARLEY and WOODFORD STREET POS!!! my whole fam goes there he is best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 8th, 2009, 10:02 pm

If u're having problems you should see an eye specialist first then go to an optician .

I use Optique or watever they name is in west mall down on the west side by the stairs . Prompt, efficient and u get free contacts as well if u're frame isn't there when u have to pick it up . plus some of the opticians do some minor surgery work as well my optician was explaining in SA you had to be certified to conduct minor inhouse eye surgery's ( taking out foreign matter etc) .

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 8th, 2009, 11:44 pm

as eurogirl, said......................

most times the people in the stores are opticians, versus optometrists.

the opticians can only check for the strength of the prescription (can't directly touch the eye) while the optometrist can test for everything (pressure etc.)

at least that's what Dr Rajack told me earlier this year.

so GO BY A SPECIALIST

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 8th, 2009, 11:46 pm

Yea dude ever since i went to a specialist and he put me on some vitamins my prescription actually stablized . As compared to every yr I had t oincrease my glasses strenght . :| :|

Postby mitsu_chick941 » July 9th, 2009, 6:45 am

so i not getting any value with Value Optical? :? :?

¤Sabrina¤

Postby ¤Sabrina¤ » July 9th, 2009, 2:47 pm

pugboy wrote:do they have their own lens making lab or sub to someone else ?

OT has their own lab too, but depending on the type of lens you want they order it specifically for you

i've tested with Ferreira's for the past 12yrs, but just glasses with regular lenses and contacts
i recently switched to OT when i decided to get AR lenses and i heard that people who work at value and ferr go to ot

Eurogirl, Optique is Ferreira's high end boutique
Last edited by ¤Sabrina¤ on July 9th, 2009, 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kittles

Postby Kittles » July 9th, 2009, 2:52 pm

optometrists today is good......

a few years ago ferreria tried to give their customers counterfeit cash as change.
Their excuse was somebody give them it this morning and they just trying to get rid of it. STEUPS :x

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 9th, 2009, 4:29 pm

¤Sabrina¤ wrote:
pugboy wrote:do they have their own lens making lab or sub to someone else ?

OT has their own lab too, but depending on the type of lens you want they order it specifically for you

i've tested with Ferreira's for the past 12yrs, but just glasses with regular lenses and contacts
i recently switched to OT when i decided to get AR lenses and i heard that people who work at value and ferr go to ot

Eurogirl, Optique is Ferreira's high end boutique

it was de only place i coulda get an appointment ah sat abt 4pm .

*shrugs* no matter i find they cheap compared to OT , plus Ot does give u a lower prescription , my sis did her contacts with them and she don't even use them anymore coz, they gave her permenant and told her that they don't do her prescription in Temp's yet when she went Optique she get a pair of temp her prescription to try on frames .

so i dunno I just go with de flow my sister tell me go dey so i went and them treat me good so i say ok :D