High sulphur diesel endangering luxury vehicles

Re: High sulphur diesel endangering luxury vehicles

Postby eliteauto » February 26th, 2020, 11:21 pm

Seems there are still issues, just had my own experience, filled up by St.Christopher's on Wrightson road and left the Hilton for the airport, around Curepe van starts shuddering and throttle response is sluggish and rough, vehicle still running but when I stop at lights you get the shuddering, rpms remain constant. Was able to get to the airport and then bought a treatment at the gas station ( first time I ever used one, mech advised that I use 2) . After putting it in tried giving it a blowout, shuddering continued and then I got a hold back followed by a surge after that van worked normal. I was fortunate not to shut down like several other drivers I know

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 26th, 2020, 11:27 pm

Hope you start using treatments regularly now

Had a couple bad experiences like that , i use treatment regular now and never recurred
eliteauto wrote:Seems there are still issues, just had my own experience, filled up by St.Christopher's on Wrightson road and left the Hilton for the airport, around Curepe van starts shuddering and throttle response is sluggish and rough, vehicle still running but when I stop at lights you get the shuddering, rpms remain constant. Was able to get to the airport and then bought a treatment at the gas station ( first time I ever used one, mech advised that I use 2) . After putting it in tried giving it a blowout, shuddering continued and then I got a hold back followed by a surge after that van worked normal. I was fortunate not to shut down like several other drivers I know

Postby gastly369 » February 26th, 2020, 11:44 pm

What treatment yall using?... Need to buy some cases yes

Postby RedVEVO » February 27th, 2020, 2:31 am

There is NO high sulphur diesel anymore ..

In Trinidad ..

Hence the increase in the price of diesel :D

Including the gold plated diesel watches :roll:

carluva

Postby carluva » February 27th, 2020, 6:59 am

gastly369 wrote:What treatment yall using?... Need to buy some cases yes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 27th, 2020, 7:00 am

gastly369 wrote:What treatment yall using?... Need to buy some cases yes

Liqui Moly diesel treatment

Postby Chimera » February 27th, 2020, 7:24 am

I'm using a liquid moly diesel treatment in every tank. $70 for one

I've been advised to use like $20 kerosene instead....

Driving a 2012 l200 that recently had all the injectors refurbished

What yall think about using the kerosene?

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2020, 7:26 am

been using Diesel Kleen a few years now

Postby Dave » February 27th, 2020, 7:46 am

Many ppl advise against the use of these fuel additives but many are much ado about nothing. When you spending money on these buy the brand name ones and don't cheap out.

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2020, 7:52 am

Dave wrote:Many ppl advise against the use of these fuel additives but many are much ado about nothing. When you spending money on these buy the brand name ones and don't cheap out.

as far as I understand, you need the extra lubrication for these new high pressure diesel pumps etc
I've never had any weird experiences with local diesel so I use it just in case....Diesel Kleen was recommended to me by a trusted mechanic and based on various sources, seems to be one of the best...could be snake oil....I dunno

Postby eliteauto » February 27th, 2020, 9:53 am

Diesel Kleen is the one seen in Pricesmart right? Grey bottle?

Postby pugboy » February 27th, 2020, 9:59 am

yes
i use diesel kleen once a month

you should drain the tank and see what the diesel looks like
i buy diesel there all the time

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2020, 10:09 am

eliteauto wrote:Diesel Kleen is the one seen in Pricesmart right? Grey bottle?

yeah that one self

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2020, 10:10 am

pugboy wrote:yes

their site says 'with every fill up'. I think I use it twice a month

Postby eliteauto » February 27th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Same with me I buy there often, never had an issue, will pull the filter tomorrow and have a look at the fuel

Postby eliteauto » February 27th, 2020, 12:01 pm

eliteauto wrote:Diesel Kleen is the one seen in Pricesmart right? Grey bottle?

yeah that one self
Thanks will buy a case

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 27th, 2020, 2:19 pm

diesel kleen is good stuff, amsoil has a injector clean + cetane boost in one,green lettering on bottle,that works better than the diesel kleen imo,but cost more. liquid moly is also good,used it a few times,but diesel kleen is easily more available,hence i stick with it,been using it some years now,no issue, quiets down injector pump and adds a little more responsiveness.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 27th, 2020, 3:13 pm

eliteauto wrote:Seems there are still issues, just had my own experience, filled up by St.Christopher's on Wrightson road and left the Hilton for the airport, around Curepe van starts shuddering and throttle response is sluggish and rough, vehicle still running but when I stop at lights you get the shuddering, rpms remain constant. Was able to get to the airport and then bought a treatment at the gas station ( first time I ever used one, mech advised that I use 2) . After putting it in tried giving it a blowout, shuddering continued and then I got a hold back followed by a surge after that van worked normal. I was fortunate not to shut down like several other drivers I know

So tell me something. In light of this experience and others' feedback, what exactly are the diesel fuel treatments being used for?

It cannot be to address excess water.

If the issue with the diesel quality is water content/particulates, how does a diesel treatment help?

Are they being used to help with cetane boost?

How did a diesel treatment help eliteauto in this case??

The majority of diesel treatments that treat for sulphur are designed for low sulphur diesel. To my knowledge, there are none that treat for high sulphur. So how does this fit into the equation.

And what's the deal with using kerosene? What is this supposed to do?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 27th, 2020, 3:42 pm

^oh forgot to mention,all the diesel engines i've been using it in are old school Nissan UD iDi (indirect injection) engines,they would basically run on piss if given the chance :lol:

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2020, 3:49 pm

kerosene is basically the base for a lot of fuel treatments (read the labels)
However using kerosene means you don't get the benefits of additional additives for lubricity etc
Diesel Kleen contains:
Petroleum Distillates - Trade secret Trade secret 25 - 65
Alkyl Nitrates - Trade secret Trade secret 20 – 50
Aromatic hydrocarbons - Trade secret Trade secret 1 – 5 (stuff like benzine, toluene, napthalene)
Hexan-1-ol, 2-ethyl

From the internet: Petroleum distillates is the term commonly used to refer to aliphatic hydrocarbons. ... Petroleum distillates include mineral spirits, kerosene, white spirits, naphtha, and Stoddard solvent. These products may contain trace amounts of benzene and other aromatics.
So a good fuel treatment is a bit more complex than just kerosene

I agree that most fuel treatments can't deal with water contamination (unless clearly stated) and particulate contamination
I use it mainly for the lubrication and system cleaning properties
That said, it's possible elite's van picked up some sediments that could be dissolved by a fuel treatment...might not be related to the gas station in question. Might just be stuff in the tank or pump that decided to break free and try to escape

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 27th, 2020, 6:41 pm

I have used
Power Service Diesel kleen
Penray diesel fuel prep/diesel fuel conditioner
Amsoil (when they used to sell the cetane boost and diesel fuel concentrate individually and it used to come in translucent bottles)
Redline 85 plus
Redline 2 stroke racing oil
Belray 2 stroke oil (before you ask; Bailey's diesel group Toyota specific)
Liqui moly diesel purge
Gulf diesel power
Engine oil

Still use the diesel kleen and started back using 85 plus. Started using some form of additive since the second fill up.

Always used at maintenance dosage levels; now being used to bump cetane as much as possible while adding lubrication. I believe that lack of cetane is the biggest problem after "dirt"in our local diesel; haven't seen as much water as in the past.

Normally don't let the tank drop below half to hopefully give the filter an easier time.

Vehicle is a d4d Hilux.

Iirc...Gulf diesel power on paper requires the most dilution of any product I ever purchased. (It's the most concentrated)

Not sure if kerosene is an altogether good idea. It doesn't offer the same lubricity as diesel and does burn hotter.

Postby Chimera » February 27th, 2020, 8:57 pm

$70 is the usual price for liqui moly diesel treatment?

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 27th, 2020, 9:16 pm

If you adding a 70 dollar treatment each fuel fill, bess you switch back to a gas vehicle!

This applies to the tray virgins

Postby MG Man » February 27th, 2020, 9:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:If you adding a 70 dollar treatment each fuel fill, bess you switch back to a gas vehicle!

unless you drive a diesel crapbox like mone that delivers 55-60 mpg :lol:

Postby rspann » February 27th, 2020, 10:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:If you adding a 70 dollar treatment each fuel fill, bess you switch back to a gas vehicle!

Tray virgins. Allyuh hitting hard. :D

Postby gastly369 » February 27th, 2020, 10:20 pm

Share pics and filter milage
eliteauto wrote:

Same with me I buy there often, never had an issue, will pull the filter tomorrow and have a look at the fuel

Postby Chimera » February 28th, 2020, 11:01 am

talk to them mechanics and find out how much money people spending when they get bad fuel

check out the hilux group on fb

i personally know someone who spend 27k to fix his diesel Tucson after a bad full up

i lend out 2 of my cars to two friends who fraid to drive their hiluxes

sookhais busy like hell with injector work

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 28th, 2020, 11:29 am

Exactly it's a nice insurance

Right now my neighbour's hilux down for injectors

My van doing 320000 and no blue smoke or black smoke and very quiet and smooth

I use the redline that removes water . I buy one a month and divide into half

In between I use the unipet cleaner which is cheaper
Phone Surgeon wrote:

talk to them mechanics and find out how much money people spending when they get bad fuel

i personally know someone who spend 27k to fix his diesel Tucson after a bad full up

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 28th, 2020, 11:39 am

PariaMan wrote:Exactly it's a nice insurance

Right now my neighbour's hilux down for injectors

My van doing 320000 and no blue smoke or black smoke and very quiet and smooth

I use the redline that removes water . I buy one a month and divide into half

In between I use the unipet cleaner which is cheaper
Phone Surgeon wrote:

When we start importing diesel fuel?
When did the fuel issues start?

I sold my van in Aug 2019 and had zero diesel issues. Finding this odd

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2020, 11:52 am

where them folks buy their diesel ?
that is the more important question