Well it's prefect time to create some temporary Soilders or SRPs for patrol jobs.88sins wrote:Redman, I hear you.
Problem with that approach mostly hinged on a singular shortcoming, in that we simply DON'T have the manpower required to do it. That would require significantly increasing our forces numbers, & that's something that I seriously doubt we as a country can afford.
The process you outlined is called refoulement and is illegal.Lou Screuz wrote:we do not have to sink no boat
we do not have to be cacaholes about this
1 - Intercept vessel as they try to land on shore
2 - Do not allow them to disembark
3 - Call up the Guardia National
4 - Coordinate a pick up at a pre determined location at the border
5 - Give them all the care package and hamper you want
6 - Tow out their boat and hand them over safe and sound
7 - Repeat
don't make a song and dance about it
don't tell the UN or CNC3
88sins wrote:Redman, I hear you.
Problem with that approach mostly hinged on a singular shortcoming, in that we simply DON'T have the manpower required to do it. That would require significantly increasing our forces numbers, & that's something that I seriously doubt we as a country can afford.
adnj wrote:The process you outlined is called refoulement and is illegal.Lou Screuz wrote:we do not have to sink no boat
we do not have to be cacaholes about this
1 - Intercept vessel as they try to land on shore
2 - Do not allow them to disembark
3 - Call up the Guardia National
4 - Coordinate a pick up at a pre determined location at the border
5 - Give them all the care package and hamper you want
6 - Tow out their boat and hand them over safe and sound
7 - Repeat
don't make a song and dance about it
don't tell the UN or CNC3
The principle of non-refoulement is applicable whenever a person falls within the jurisdiction of a State
Under refugee and human rights law, it is understood that the principle of non-refoulement protects persons that are under the jurisdiction of a State. This is the case when a person is within a State’s territory, in its territorial sea, or when the State exercises effective control over the person. Under refugee law, there is great support for the view that the principle applies to rejection at a State’s border. Moreover, in recent years human rights bodies and courts have been clear that the principle also applies when States operate extraterritorially, including during interception or rescue operations in the high seas. There is, admittedly, some debate as to when exactly a person falls under the jurisdiction of a State. While it has been argued that in the context of border closures or ‘pushback operations’ the principle of non-refoulement applies because the State aims ‘to exercise effective control over the physical movement of migrants, even if only through the direct prevention of such movement in a certain direction’, the traditional view is that a State needs to exercise effective—meaning physical—control over a person for human rights law to apply.[3]
matr1x wrote:The real problem is priority is being given to the venes over local population. When flooding happens, pnm dragging their feet. And no help
Vene bump dey toe, hampers fuh so!
Black market barter economy. Venezuelans have been smuggling food and fuel into Colombia and Brazil for more than four years. They use the money to buy medicines and scarce imports.
matr1x wrote:Wasn't Venezuela coasting on everyone?
When dey had money.
The actual number in Trinidad close to 300,000
Send them back.
Were there a few problem people with hampers? Yeah. Are there a lot of venes that don't have a right here? Absolutely.
Max, you focus only on my weight.
That girl probably didn't pay she pimp fee.
matr1x wrote:I was referring to the human pincushion
88sins wrote:well look ting, I ask a question to gauge tuners opinions
i knew I'd ruffle some feathers, but some of allyuh in here showing like allyuh need midol, snickers & tampons & birth control ASAP.
anyway, at least I got a good laugh about our "familial relations" with venezuela
& my dear little max,
I eh mean to "esink" squat. I meant to literally sink said vessel in plain view of it's owners, captain & last occupants. & as I stated before, I don't mean let them drown.
Anyway, the point to my question was this.
There are vessels originating from both here & there that make multiple trips each day, all for a nice chunk of change paid to the owners & operators of these boats. If one were to initiate the practice of disabling said boats heading to T&T with their human cargo of venezuelans, and then tow them back to where they came from & finally sink said vessel in plain view of the owner & last occupants, NOBODY with a boat would be so enthusiastic & willing to be taking the chance to get caught transporting people or contraband here when they know that if they are caught, they will immediately lose said boat & the occupants will end up back at their point of origin, losing all the money they paid to persons back in venezuela to facilitate bringing them here illegally, and losing it all for nothing more than a very short boat ride out and back. Thus, they'd look for easier cheaper lower risk alternative destinations. Yes, I said cheaper, because with the increase in the direct risk and penalty to the vessel owner/operator, the price per head for the trip on a boat headed here will skyrocket, making it too expensive for most that would be willing to make the trip to afford.
What's needed is a deterrent, a means via which to discourage those with the vessels facilitating the illegal movements of people & other items between these countries. If that isn't done, we the problem will persist. My question was just a Q&D example of what could be done to net the desired effect.
And for the resident diplomatic protocol experts, the seizure of an illegal venezuelan vessel in the process of committing a crime in T&T waters does not constitute an act of war, or an act inciting war. Nor is returning n them to their point of origin considered an act of war or hostility. Nor would be the destruction of the seized vessel.
Redress10 wrote:
Yes bro
Familial ties. Look it up and get a history lesson.
What you are advocating is the coast guard should fire and sink boats containing unarmed women and children. That could never be right but is expected on this forum. A forum filled with a bunch of fantasist pretending to be anything else.
88sins wrote:Show of hands.
Besides the resident illegal aliens here, honest opinions wanted.
Which Trinis would be against it if one vessel was to either disable or esink another vessel full of Venezuelans in the midpoint of the small span of open waters between here and Venezuela?
Not necessarily saying to let them drown in open water, but the idea is to sink the vessel they on and pick them up and hand them over to their own guardia nacional.
This is a serious question fellas.
Redress10 wrote:Once you sink a vessel you can't guarantee that no one will drown. There are too many variables that are beyond your control.
Why do I have to explain this to you?
MaxPower wrote:Reek,
All you had to suggest was to intercept the illegal vessel and escort it back to the shore of origin or over the respective authorities.
This sinking and drowning ting you inciting not cool at all Reek.
A question for you only if you have the time 88sins.
You have a good comfortable life and family, and suddenly the economy crashes. You have no other choice but to flee the country....No other choice.
Your wife is pregnant and you also have a 3 year old child with you. There is a mean of transportation from point A to B which costs the very last of your savings.
Along the way, the journey is halted by harsh armed authorities who are instructing you to return to point A and even threaten to hurt you or your family if you do not comply.
Note, Point A has nothing....Point B is a new life and most importantly, food and shelter. The midpoint is imminent danger.
How do you expect to be treated?
They did. There are more than 5 million Venezuelan refugees -- tú entiendes.matr1x wrote:Why didn't they go to other Latin American countries?
Cry me a river. They were riding high when they were making money. Boohoo
DeepRedVEVO wrote:MaxPower wrote:Reek,
All you had to suggest was to intercept the illegal vessel and escort it back to the shore of origin or over the respective authorities.
You have a good comfortable life and family, and suddenly the economy crashes. You have no other choice but to flee the country....No other choice.
Your wife is pregnant and you also have a 3 year old child with you. There is a mean of transportation from point A to B which costs the very last of your savings.
Along the way, the journey is halted by harsh armed authorities who are instructing you to return to point A and even threaten to hurt you or your family if you do not comply.
Note, Point A has nothing....Point B is a new life and most importantly, food and shelter. The midpoint is imminent danger.
Few people can be happy unless they hate some other person, nation or creed
adnj wrote:They did. There are more than 5 million Venezuelan refugees -- tú entiendes.matr1x wrote:Why didn't they go to other Latin American countries?
Cry me a river. They were riding high when they were making money. Boohoo
It's a good excuse for you to brush up on your Spanish because they are coming to your neighborhood.
zoom rader wrote:Max
You need to tell PNM to put a Vene Senator in the senate.
zoom rader wrote:Max
You need to tell PNM to put a Vene Senator in the senate.
mero wrote:DeepRedVEVO wrote:MaxPower wrote:Reek,
Few people can be happy unless they hate some other person, nation or creed