GPS Hikes with Satellite Overview in Trinidad and Tobago

john005

GPS Hikes with Satellite Overview in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby john005 » July 8th, 2013, 3:51 pm

For those who like to trek thru the bush at times. Just my way of giving back something to our country. Can click on hiker's name for other hiking trips across our lovely country. You can change mode to Satellite for better accurate viewing on top right corner of map. Also can zoom trails with controls to left.

St.Ann's to Maracas Bay
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1578758

Matelot to Blanchisseuse
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1598589

Madamas River trek circuit
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=2061142

Heights of Cerro del Aripo

http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1875330

PM for other trails
Last edited by john005 on July 23rd, 2013, 12:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.

jm3

Re: GPS Hiking trips in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby jm3 » July 8th, 2013, 4:26 pm

thanks, would you say any of them are suitable for mountain biking?

Postby SMc » July 8th, 2013, 5:40 pm

^^ not if you dont mind carrying the bike for most of the time.

excellent maps though..I coulda done with the MAtelot to Paria on a few years ago :(

Postby black start » July 8th, 2013, 6:25 pm

opie, what's the approximate distance from spring bridge@blachisseuse to the paria falls on the trail?

I trying to convince some friends to make the run with me so I want to give them all the details up front....

Postby Ted_v2 » July 8th, 2013, 8:19 pm

one of these good days ill find myself on one of those trails

john005

Postby john005 » July 8th, 2013, 8:31 pm

jm3 wrote:thanks, would you say any of them are suitable for mountain biking?

Yes, in fact, I want to do the Brasso Seco to Blanchesuisse trail. Perfect for mountain biking except a few portions of the trail. The distance
i)Brasso Seco to Paria 7.5 miles , gently undulating trail down to the sea.
ii)Paria to Blanchesuisse 4.5 miles , lots of up and down but not too bad, will have to push bike a couple of spots.

I am hoping to do this trail one of these good days. It has been done before. Maybe we can link up

john005

Postby john005 » July 8th, 2013, 8:39 pm

black start wrote:opie, what's the approximate distance from spring bridge@blachisseuse to the paria falls on the trail?

I trying to convince some friends to make the run with me so I want to give them all the details up front....

http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=2072753
5.3 miles one way to the falls, day-hike ideal for teenagers. Need to do some training for desk-pushers. Walk with sun-hat and at least 2 liters of water, couple bottles of Gatorade and snacks.

Paria Bay and falls are considered to be the number one hiking destination in Trinidad. The scenic coastal walk starting from the Blanchisseuse Spring Bridge will take two hours to reach the bay. Along the way, an added attraction is to visit Turtle Rock, a fifty foot peninsula that has the appearance of a turtle head. This is an ideal place to relax, take pictures of turtles swimming in the choppy waters and enjoy the refreshing Caribbean Sea Breeze.

The bay half mile long is lined with coconut trees, the silky smooth sand is a favorite nesting ground for leather-back turtles. At the western end, the sea has eroded the rocks to create a dramatic arch called Cathedral Rock. On the eastern end, where the river's mouth is located, the river has lost it's energy and transformed into a lagoon. The vegetation along it's bank consist primarily of red mangrove, the backlash of sea water has deposited sand into the river creating a relaxing fresh water lagoon.The falls from the beach is a fifteen minute walk,heading upstream alongside the river. The plunge pool at the base is wide and perfect for swimming.

Postby black start » July 8th, 2013, 10:16 pm

5.3 miles not too bad. I made the hike once or twice before but I didn't know the length.

thanks for the info.....

jm3

Postby jm3 » July 9th, 2013, 9:05 am

john005 wrote:
jm3 wrote:thanks, would you say any of them are suitable for mountain biking?

Yes, in fact, I want to do the Brasso Seco to Blanchesuisse trail. Perfect for mountain biking except a few portions of the trail. The distance
i)Brasso Seco to Paria 7.5 miles , gently undulating trail down to the sea.
ii)Paria to Blanchesuisse 4.5 miles , lots of up and down but not too bad, will have to push bike a couple of spots.

I am hoping to do this trail one of these good days. It has been done before. Maybe we can link up

if we can get a group of us together to do it, i'd be very happy to do it

john005

Re: GPS Hikes with Satellite Overview in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby john005 » July 23rd, 2013, 1:11 pm

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 23rd, 2013, 1:13 pm

nice thread

Postby crazybalhead » July 23rd, 2013, 1:13 pm

Guys, you can distance any run, walk using a couple easy online tools.

mappedometer.com is one of them.

Postby skylinechild » July 23rd, 2013, 1:15 pm

never been on a hike before...definitely will do it..

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 23rd, 2013, 1:16 pm

Nice thread, thanks op

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » July 24th, 2013, 8:57 am

crazy yuh looking fit boy.. 1jealous

yuh inspire me to do the same

Postby sliderz1 » July 24th, 2013, 9:08 am

pretty good write up along with deets

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2013, 4:23 pm

MadCrix wrote:crazy yuh looking fit boy.. 1jealous

yuh inspire me to do the same

Nice!!!

@lex

Postby @lex » November 20th, 2020, 10:03 am

Does anyone know who has the better coverage between digicel and bmobile in terms of 4G lte when going on the trail/hikes?