Wedding Cost

Re: Wedding Cost

Postby timelapse » March 24th, 2021, 12:10 pm

My grandmother gave me the same advice, except was 10%.Consider it like tithes to your own benefits
Gem_in_i wrote:My wedding had 10 people. Only cost was for the Pundit. Which I think was $300. We still married, 6yrs later.

well done
it have a difference between a wedding and a marriage eh fellas.

word to the wise
when yuh get married, put 7% of your annual income somewhere that yuh wife doesn't have access to and doesn't know about, and make sure she never finds out about it.
Worst case scenario, if yuh divorce, yuh have a cushion to land on after she try to take you for all you have.
Best case scenario, when allyuh decide to retire if allyuh still together by then, either you alone or both of you have a lil extra spending money to enjoy retirement with/leave for future generations/what ever you want to do with it

Postby Gladiator » March 24th, 2021, 12:39 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:My wedding had 10 people. Only cost was for the Pundit. Which I think was $300. We still married, 6yrs later.

My wedding also had 10 people... total cost was $5500 and pops handle $3000 of that. This year would be 14 years. I have cousins that spent upward of $150K for wedding that didn't last 5 years...

As I told my family. I don't care for a big wedding, it serves no purpose to me. I used my cash to invest in property. I could never understand people that spend hundreds of thousands on wedding then have to go in they mudda house to bull.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » March 24th, 2021, 12:41 pm

makes sense....i would recommend even 10%.....have to be very careful with even, the assets you may inherit, inlaws and besties can be very influential if the ships start to sink....."tek him for everything!!!"

well done
it have a difference between a wedding and a marriage eh fellas.

word to the wise
when yuh get married, put 7% of your annual income somewhere that yuh wife doesn't have access to and doesn't know about, and make sure she never finds out about it.
Worst case scenario, if yuh divorce, yuh have a cushion to land on after she try to take you for all you have.
Best case scenario, when allyuh decide to retire if allyuh still together by then, either you alone or both of you have a lil extra spending money to enjoy retirement with/leave for future generations/what ever you want to do with it

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2021, 12:50 pm

killercow wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Old joke/saying
What's the difference between paying for sex and sex for free?
Paying for sex is ALWAYS cheaper.
Never pay, offer food and drinks

Postby zoom rader » March 24th, 2021, 12:52 pm

Gladiator wrote:

My wedding also had 10 people... total cost was $5500 and pops handle $3000 of that. This year would be 14 years. I have cousins that spent upward of $150K for wedding that didn't last 5 years...

As I told my family. I don't care for a big wedding, it serves no purpose to me. I used my cash to invest in property. I could never understand people that spend hundreds of thousands on wedding then have to go in they mudda house to bull.
Good , smart move

Postby matr1x » March 24th, 2021, 1:37 pm

Wedding is for people who like to throw away money

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 24th, 2021, 1:51 pm

matr1x wrote:Wedding is for people who like to throw away money

Those wedding are fun tho not gunna lie

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2021, 1:55 pm

Plenty weddings are a "keeping up with the jonses" type thing.
Yuh friend do X, so you want Y - or sometimes it's the parents who think that way.

My wife and I married 10 years this year. We did a small temple ceremony that still ended up bigger than I wanted, but compromise was needed. No hullabaloo, no rum/dj/bram, no bacchanal. Extended family and a few close friends.
Simple ceremony, everyone ate some good food, take some pics, fly out same night for de honeymoon, end (or beginning) of story.

Money saved on ceremony helped as downpayment for land.

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2021, 2:19 pm

most times is the parents trying to showoff against their siblings

VexXx Dogg wrote:Plenty weddings are a "keeping up with the jonses" type thing.
Yuh friend do X, so you want Y - or sometimes it's the parents who think that way.

Postby Gladiator » March 24th, 2021, 7:08 pm

I always remember one of my workmen came to me for a recommendation letter for the credit union. I asked him what he taking the loan for he say he borrowing a $50K for he wedding. He say the wife taking a $75k loan also and they have $80k saved up. That was 10 years ago.

I tell the fella, boy that amount of money is enough to use as a down payment for a small house or buy a piece of land. I ask him where they going and live , he say they will rent. I do a little mortgage calculation and show him how he can be a homeowner if he have a small wedding and use the cash to invest in a property.

He listen to me and say he would talk to the woman. 2 weeks after I ask him how it went, he say they going marriage counselling since the woman want to break up after he talk with she. She say she want she $20k dress and $40k ring etc etc and if she cant get that she ent want to marrid he and when time reach for house they go see bout dat.

It really is important to find the right woman yes... or else is ketch ass for the rest of your life. Better stay single...

Postby 88sins » March 24th, 2021, 7:39 pm

matr1x wrote:Big wedding is for idiots who like to throw away money

Fixed it for you.

A wedding is, simply put, a public display of a man and woman decision to stay together long term and legally bind themselves to each other in the eyes of the law.
Some like a big spectacle of a show, and there's nothing necessarily wrong or bad about that, but even if one can actually afford to do so it's not the brightest idea.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » March 24th, 2021, 8:02 pm

Fork all them trini girls who feel jees because dem have a vagina dem entitled to everything free..Don't waste money on any wedding for dem and them horning yuh mc as dem reach to work while you taking years to repay loans. Dont be losers guys stay woke out here.

VII

Postby VII » March 24th, 2021, 8:10 pm

People does still get married ? Steups WOFT and money..

Wifey and I have been to 14 weddings or more since we've been together and only 2 couples are still together ,one is her cousin and the other is a friend on her second marriage about 2 years ago...we've been together going in 21 years now....never married..

Postby matr1x » March 25th, 2021, 6:38 am

Seeing as how the divorce rate is over 65%, you have to be all kinds of dotish to get married. Just give me the money. Less wasted that way

Postby De Dragon » March 25th, 2021, 7:06 am

I sold one of my cars to finance my wedding.
Full works, band, bar, food, DJ etc.
300+people, which started as 150 max :?
16 year anniversary this year.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 25th, 2021, 7:14 am

Best wedding idea for me: go sign the fcking book with a couple witnesses, spend on a nice honeymoon and go big for building a house!!!

Postby De Dragon » March 25th, 2021, 7:39 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Best wedding idea for me: go sign the fcking book with a couple witnesses, spend on a nice honeymoon and go big for building a house!!!

Honeymoon was also included. I do regret not using some of that money and finishing my house sooner though.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 25th, 2021, 9:05 am

I don't think the issue is that of big weddings.
The issue is more along the lines of hanging yuh hat where it can't reach (loans etc) to impress people you normally DGAF about.
For those who can comfortably afford to pull these events with cash, power to ya

Postby adnj » March 25th, 2021, 9:29 am

Before there was GoFundMe.com, there was the big wedding. Cash purse. Wedding gifts.

You might just have some really stingy friends and family on your invitees' list.

Postby MaxPower » March 25th, 2021, 10:23 am

matr1x wrote:Seeing as how the divorce rate is over 65%, you have to be all kinds of dotish to get married. Just give me the money. Less wasted that way

Slim,

So no marriage for you?

Then again you hate all women so i understand.

You don’t want them, and they have shown you countless times that they don’t want you.

Enjoy the single life bro.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » March 25th, 2021, 10:32 am

spent about $5k total, we signed the book & has a very small gathering at home (max 20 persons), that was 18yrs ago.
Got nephew & nieces still paying loan for wedding 2 yrs after marriage, dumb AF to spend that money for all the glamor.

Postby MaxPower » March 25th, 2021, 10:32 am

Fellas,

Go Prenup an done.

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2021, 10:39 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Best wedding idea for me: go sign the fcking book with a couple witnesses, spend on a nice honeymoon and go big for building a house!!!
Getting married is only for legal reasons and only if she has bank or assets.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 25th, 2021, 10:42 am

Them long time mamoo doh see it that way though. I listening to a lady last week, saying she want a traditional 3 day hindu wedding for her son. I was like good lord

Postby Gladiator » March 25th, 2021, 11:00 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:I don't think the issue is that of big weddings.
The issue is more along the lines of hanging yuh hat where it can't reach (loans etc) to impress people you normally DGAF about.
For those who can comfortably afford to pull these events with cash, power to ya

Actually it goes beyond that. Its a state of mind and thinking.... I personally had "cash" to entertain 300+ people comfortable with the best wine and live band singing and all that, but chose not to on pure common sense and financial future planning.

There is also the part of pressure from family. I called my moms on Wednesday and tell she "organize yuhself I getin marrid weekend"

If I didn't do it that way it would have been a 300+ people affair by default.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 25th, 2021, 11:06 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Them long time mamoo doh see it that way though. I listening to a lady last week, saying she want a traditional 3 day hindu wedding for her son. I was like good lord

My compromise on a 3 day wedding was a 2 day one. I cut out the Cooking night as that for me wasn't sense. Had a small maticoor at home and then got married in a temple and had a small shindig at my house afterwards with a live band, indian and chinese veg menus and non alco beverages.

My father in law, as it was his 1st daughter wanted a reception with meat and alco so the weekend after the wedding itself there was a reception for around 100 persons but that was all him.

Left up to me I wouldn't do all that had I had to do it all over again. But my expenses were also not full as my parents (cough* mother) who insisted on a lot of things also paid a lot of the expenses.

I paid for my clothes, tent rental, tables and chairs, Police presence for the two days at home by me, beverages and maybe some decor and thats bout it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 25th, 2021, 12:00 pm

To summarize, majority of weddings these days is just for glitz and glamour. What yuh buy to drink, eat, who singing fuh yuh, decor etc and people would still turn around and find some faults. Yuh invite bout 400 people and yuh might only see about 20 of them after the wedding day. Not me nah. Wedding loan just like carnival loan...WOFT!!! NO COMMON SENSE AT ALL

Postby pugboy » March 25th, 2021, 12:05 pm

all boil down to low self esteem

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » March 25th, 2021, 12:22 pm

Guys,

Wedding cost for Decoration can be adjusted to your budget.

Food and drinks is your choice for cost.

Contact me if decoration is required for your event.

death365

Postby death365 » March 25th, 2021, 12:24 pm

Hindu - sit down or table - full temple or temple then reception
Muslim - 2 or 3 meat
Christian - full church or church then reception
Baptist - same as above
hall of Justice - then reception
Satanist - full church or church then reception

thats ur 1st issue