Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby Redman » February 11th, 2021, 6:51 am

Chavez like blow out.
Right.

Again plants shut down....as you posted the industry is cyclical.

BP and Shell are the major suppliers...and the contracts were at end of life and WE want them to renegotiate on the LNG complex in order to recapture revenue lost to transfer pricing...billions per year.
That was done and the GORTT received payment and is changing how the LNG compensation is dealt with.
And you suggest a Chavez like position.

Ok.

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » February 11th, 2021, 10:51 am

So what are they (ngc, govt, bp, shell) doing with train 1 next? The TAR should be done very soon, right? They gonna start it and cut back gas in point lisas? Now is when tough choices have to make. The bigger revenue earners will be given priority. I know for a fact there are several plants without a gas contract. Will they finally cut them off and send the gas to train 1 to produce lng and hence higher returns? The MoE is too quiet on saying what comes next. Something has to sacrifice to improve the economy which Imbert admitted is really really badly off

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2021, 6:14 pm

Redman wrote:Chavez like blow out.
Right.

Again plants shut down....as you posted the industry is cyclical.

BP and Shell are the major suppliers...and the contracts were at end of life and WE want them to renegotiate on the LNG complex in order to recapture revenue lost to transfer pricing...billions per year.
That was done and the GORTT received payment and is changing how the LNG compensation is dealt with.
And you suggest a Chavez like position.

Ok.

Dummy, there is a difference between Chavez like, and what Chavez did, which was to seize businesses.
You're playing dotish again, because literally the next line I typed was about negotiating a better position even if it meant being arses. JUHN Scarfy could only be an arse for reporters, murdered women, and Kamla it seems, When it is needed, he and the next Pantyman who took it upon themselves to negotiate away our future, FAILED!
Again Dotishee, NO plant in PT Lisas EVER shut down and cited gas prices/curtailments as the cause, so once again, playing dotish, and made worse by you not knowing WTF you're talking about. You feel this is the first contract with them we never negotiated? Really?
Also you're position of pissing away BILLIONS at Pt Lisas, while spending 300M to turn around a 10% stake plant for which there is no gas, is simply stupid.

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2021, 6:27 am

And again as repeatedly stated thhrough out the thread....the negotiation was done with a wider scope than just PTL.
And yes getting it right for us is more important than any specific plant in PTL.

If you have not caught on to the that fact by now...then ok.

Postby zoom rader » February 12th, 2021, 6:56 am

Redman wrote:And again as repeatedly stated thhrough out the thread....the negotiation was done with a wider scope than just PTL.
And yes getting it right for us is more important than any specific plant in PTL.

If you have not caught on to the that fact by now...then ok.

Yawn

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2021, 6:58 am

Lol
Morning Zoombindranath

How is freedom treating you?

Postby zoom rader » February 12th, 2021, 7:01 am

Redman wrote:Lol
Morning Zoombindranath

How is freedom treating you?

I good but you still clowning and still spearing Red Government mis-truths

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2021, 7:06 am

Well we can't all be the insightful bastion of all-inclusive morality that you are.

Out of an abundance of concern, can you point out specific instances of these dastardly mis truths....I will retract immediately.

Postby zoom rader » February 12th, 2021, 7:12 am

Redman wrote:Well we can't all be the insightful bastion of all-inclusive morality that you are.

Out of an abundance of concern, can you point out specific instances of these dastardly mis truths....I will retract immediately.

everything you present on tuner is biased on spin .

You need to retract yourself from tuner or start to produce hard facts. Dont bring articles written by Red Government OJTs .

Besides only idiots like Habit7, eliteauto, elect2020 believes the lies you present

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2021, 7:22 am

Aha. Well again we can't
If it's everything just point out a few. That shouldn't take you long.

And also can you list what are the acceptable sources of info...that you've screened?

I'm waiting for an example of a mis truth so I can correct them all

Postby zoom rader » February 12th, 2021, 8:08 am

Redman wrote:Aha. Well again we can't
If it's everything just point out a few. That shouldn't take you long.

And also can you list what are the acceptable sources of info...that you've screened?

I'm waiting for an example of a mis truth so I can correct them all
The list is too long

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2021, 8:20 am

That's why I asked for a few...I know yuh busy

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » March 9th, 2021, 5:40 am

So I just took a read of the Sunday Business Guardian's interview with Franklin Khan and I must say, I am confused. Frankie said Atlantic Train 1 will be back up in mid April AND that an M5000 gas contract is imminent. Where all this gas magically coming from now? Didn't he recently say 2021 will be a bad year for gas?

https://guardian.co.tt/news/government- ... dcc16294a2

Postby De Dragon » March 9th, 2021, 6:06 am

DreamWeaver wrote:So I just took a read of the Sunday Business Guardian's interview with Franklin Khan and I must say, I am confused. Frankie said Atlantic Train 1 will be back up in mid April AND that an M5000 gas contract is imminent. Where all this gas magically coming from now? Didn't he recently say 2021 will be a bad year for gas?

https://guardian.co.tt/news/government- ... dcc16294a2

M5 produces the most methanol, so the smaller plants like M1 and M2 were taken offline to ensure M5 receives their full gas quota. Maybe now that LFD RFD PNM idiots like Guy Smiley, JUHN Scarfy and Impsy allowed themselves to be bobolized into financing Train 1's TAR to the tune of $300M, they got the gas for it.

Cantmis

Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby Cantmis » March 9th, 2021, 8:01 am

Pointe a Pierre lights up again, as Niquan GTL opens

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/p ... 54cdc.html

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 1st, 2021, 7:41 am

Pressure on the estate again

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 1st, 2021, 8:37 am

Was the word?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 1st, 2021, 9:20 am

M4 an m5 down indefinitely
FB_IMG_1617283178962.jpeg

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » April 1st, 2021, 10:30 am

:angel:
ST Auto wrote:M4 an m5 down indefinitelyFB_IMG_1617283178962.jpeg

This should free up gas for atlantic train 1 now. XD

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2021, 10:36 am

Red government killed Pt lisas.

Eric Williams must be a UNC

Postby The_Honourable » April 1st, 2021, 10:48 am

No April Fools here

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 1st, 2021, 11:36 am

Agree with zoom on this, this govt has been negotiating in bad faith to support the sector.
That energy minister has no foresight on where the sector needs to be or even how to support a transition to a green economy and the steps needed to be taken.
Right now we should be investing heavily in green hydrogen and the support facilities for such.
From an energy roadmap prospective there is little hope for this country in the next 5-10 years
zoom rader wrote:Red government killed Pt lisas.

Postby sMASH » April 1st, 2021, 3:32 pm

Is one ting to switch gas from one plant to favor another. Is a totally different thj g to sponsor ah whole blasted TAR just to keep it running.in the first instance, a plant is a plant, more or less the same number of workers will be working.
Thr second is a whole bunch of money will be wasted to for pride and joy... When it didn't need to.

Postby sMASH » April 1st, 2021, 3:37 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Agree with zoom on this, this govt has been negotiating in bad faith to support the sector.
That energy minister has no foresight on where the sector needs to be or even how to support a transition to a green economy and the steps needed to be taken.
Right now we should be investing heavily in green hydrogen and the support facilities for such.
From an energy roadmap prospective there is little hope for this country in the next 5-10 years

If I remember correctly they recently signed a deal for thr trinigen 1 facility to spear head a hydrogen plant.
After the reform the gas, wonder what the process will be to take the carbon out of the loop after they extract thr hydrogen

OR they can can just run the ammonia process Inefficiently to recover excess hydrogen in the purge gas recovery

Postby De Dragon » April 1st, 2021, 8:34 pm

sMASH wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Agree with zoom on this, this govt has been negotiating in bad faith to support the sector.

If I remember correctly they recently signed a deal for thr trinigen 1 facility to spear head a hydrogen plant.
After the reform the gas, wonder what the process will be to take the carbon out of the loop after they extract thr hydrogen

OR they can can just run the ammonia process Inefficiently to recover excess hydrogen in the purge gas recovery

Hydrogen plants typically thrive when the plants they are supposed to supply have no reformers of their own from conception. A reformer is typically 1/4 of the cost of a plant, so if a greenfield plant can avoid this cost, and receive a reliable, cheaper source of hydrogen, then they go that route. No one really cares whether the hydrogen is green or not, cost is, and will always be, the overriding factor.

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2021, 8:45 pm

After my brief stint in Caroni I spent a good 20 years working in Pt lisas with NGC, Fertrin, Ispat, Tringen and other plants. Leant the most from these plants. They provided good paying jobs and an above agv lifestyle.

At its peak I would Say about 10000 permanent and contractor workers was employed there from all walks of life. From cleaner to CEO. Down streamers and supplier's and food joints was also a major part of Pt lisas, Californa and Couva. If it was not for Pt lisas these areas would have remained as just villages. Not forgetting UTT

An entire generation of highly skilled workforce is all gone now, distroyed by the red government that don't seek citizens interest.

Eric Williams created Pt lisas from Caroni and now both of them are all gone. Distroyed by Rowlair

Trinidad is the new Tobago depending on handouts, an island of waiters and store clerks.

The present crop of Rowlair MPs and advisers have no clue about the industrial industry .

It's all fook up now, next generation have nutting to look forward to , we gone back to the 1960s

Postby sMASH » April 1st, 2021, 9:09 pm

sMASH wrote:

Hydrogen plants typically thrive when the plants they are supposed to supply have no reformers of their own from conception. A reformer is typically 1/4 of the cost of a plant, so if a greenfield plant can avoid this cost, and receive a reliable, cheaper source of hydrogen, then they go that route. No one really cares whether the hydrogen is green or not, cost is, and will always be, the overriding factor.

but when they reform the methane and extract the h2, what going to go on with the carbon?
a reformer may be the most economical way to extract h2 due to economies of scale, but how green it will be will be determined by the path of the carbon... unless, they plan to send the carbon to the methanol plants to improve their process... and in that case, letting m4 and 5 shut down might not be the best state to let happen.

the cgcl and methanex plants burn methane to generate the extra carbon they need to further the process. they might want to look at installing a purge gas recovery system at methanol plants and just extract the excess h2 from their front ends, and balance by h2 removal, rather co2 addition. u might just suffer with ur steam production, so just increase ur aux boiler capacity.

why i fretting about this is, cause i experienced some 'test projects' with pie in the sky logics used justify them. yeah they got the financiers to put out millions of dollars to go ahead but when i read the process, it didnt make sense and kept thinking that i missing sumting. so said so done, waste of times and monies.

they going to push a project tru, that will not be viable and taint the whole concept for all the people that not familiar but still need to buy into it. like most govt projects.

i just need to know what going on with the carbon. they shouldnt burn methane to produce h2 unless they have a very good use for the carbon.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 1st, 2021, 9:22 pm

Hydrogen is a critical input in ammonia production.  Currently, all hydrogen utilized in ammonia production on the island is generated solely from the steam methane reforming of natural gas.  NewGen is seeking to produce hydrogen using a proven industrial electrolysis process that is powered by electricity obtained from carbon-neutral sources such as excess heat from existing simple cycle power plants, or from green energy sources such as the recently-announced LightSource BP-Shell  solar power generation facility.  The proposed NewGen hydrogen plant, once operational, will be the single largest industrial consumer of electricity in the country.

That's the basis for newgen plant. Basically it's just caclucting carbon neutral electricity generation from exisitng sources and proposed RE.
It'll only be a 25% supply but if successful should be scalable and allow a reduction in demand for natural gas. Plenty of opportunity cost for the value gas chain if it works.

Postby De Dragon » April 1st, 2021, 9:23 pm

sMASH wrote:

but when they reform the methane and extract the h2, what going to go on with the carbon?
a reformer may be the most economical way to extract h2 due to economies of scale, but how green it will be will be determined by the path of the carbon... unless, they plan to send the carbon to the methanol plants to improve their process... and in that case, letting m4 and 5 shut down might not be the best state to let happen.

the cgcl and methanex plants burn methane to generate the extra carbon they need to further the process. they might want to look at installing a purge gas recovery system at methanol plants and just extract the excess h2 from their front ends, and balance by h2 removal, rather co2 addition. u might just suffer with ur steam production, so just increase ur aux boiler capacity.

why i fretting about this is, cause i experienced some 'test projects' with pie in the sky logics used justify them. yeah they got the financiers to put out millions of dollars to go ahead but when i read the process, it didnt make sense and kept thinking that i missing sumting. so said so done, waste of times and monies.

they going to push a project tru, that will not be viable and taint the whole concept for all the people that not familiar but still need to buy into it. like most govt projects.

i just need to know what going on with the carbon. they shouldnt burn methane to produce h2 unless they have a very good use for the carbon.

If the hydrogen project is using electrolysis, then the only byproduct will be Oxygen, and some water.
AFAIK, the IPSL, now Proman methanol plants got their CO2 from PCS, now Nutrien. With the idling of the biggest plants M5 and M4, the CO2 not used by the Urea plants in Nutrien, will be vented to atmosphere thus contributing further to green house gas emissions.

Postby sMASH » April 1st, 2021, 10:10 pm

sMASH wrote:

If the hydrogen project is using electrolysis, then the only byproduct will be Oxygen, and some water.
AFAIK, the IPSL, now Proman methanol plants got their CO2 from PCS, now Nutrien. With the idling of the biggest plants M5 and M4, the CO2 not used by the Urea plants in Nutrien, will be vented to atmosphere thus contributing further to green house gas emissions.

but u dont need to strike a deal with tringen to do electroysis route. so, hence my presumption that they want to use tringen1 reformer to do the h2 generation.

the extra 400mt of meoh that m5000 used to make, used the purge gas from the loops of the other plants. as a further means of economies/ecology, as that gas simply burnt in the reformer. so what used to be chaching, went back to jess going up in flames.
400mt by 400us is 160,000 US per day

y? cause rowley want lng train 1 to survive.