snatman

Re: good investments?

Postby snatman » October 11th, 2021, 6:20 pm

Redman wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Tuner Friends

Real estate in Trinidad is a good investment still? or what other country?
Very lucrative in Trinidad.Buy, build condos and lease.$ for generations.

I'm seeing lots of places not getting rented recently though....wondering if that would change.

People making their moves....it worth buying,maintain and wait for the market to come to your price.

Beats sitting in cash.

What's your thoughts on Agostini @ ~ $25?
I think its a steal. Been buying it up with my limited funds.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 11th, 2021, 6:22 pm

Tbh wondering if prices - real estate would go down in next year or two. It's really high right now.

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2021, 6:32 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Tbh wondering if prices - real estate would go down in next year or two. It's really high right now.
As the old people say : Land doh rotten

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2021, 7:38 pm

timelapse wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Tbh wondering if prices - real estate would go down in next year or two. It's really high right now.

vacant land is a good buy - especially if you have your ear to the ground and can tell where development/investment is coming.

Housing market still inflated AF, so buying a house/land as an additional investment is iffy, unless you plan to make it an income property off the bat so it pays for itself and adds some coin in your pocket at the end of the month. In that case apartments ftw

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 11th, 2021, 7:47 pm

snatman wrote:
Redman wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

I'm seeing lots of places not getting rented recently though....wondering if that would change.

People making their moves....it worth buying,maintain and wait for the market to come to your price.

Beats sitting in cash.

Has a buy and hold strategy worked for anyone in the local market for in the past 20 years as it has in the US and other stock markets?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 11th, 2021, 9:45 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
snatman wrote:
Redman wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Beats sitting in cash.

Has a buy and hold strategy worked for anyone in the local market for in the past 20 years as it has in the US and other stock markets?
Nope. Trinidad economy is bs.

Postby shogun » October 12th, 2021, 12:06 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:

vacant land is a good buy - especially if you have your ear to the ground and can tell where development/investment is coming.

Housing market still inflated AF, so buying a house/land as an additional investment is iffy, unless you plan to make it an income property off the bat so it pays for itself and adds some coin in your pocket at the end of the month. In that case apartments ftw

Actual factuals.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2021, 6:44 am

snatman wrote:
Redman wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Beats sitting in cash.

I would still be looking for companies that have one income earning leg outside TnT.

I think our overall systemic risk is getting higher as time passes.

GHL has done well and is a great hedge.
So look for companies like that

External biz, pricing power and hard currency generation from geographically diverse jurisdictions

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 7:10 am

shogun wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Actual factuals.
Additional factuals:
There are cheap apartments over the road by me.4 apartments at $1200 a month total $4800
My father has buildings the same size,just a couple hundred feet away, two apartments, one upstairs,one downstairs each, at $3200 a month each total $6400 . Difference, more privacy ,remote gate, camera system and designed more aesthetically.
It all depends on your location, and target customer.Sometimes the tiniest details make a huge difference

Postby De Dragon » October 12th, 2021, 8:10 am

timelapse wrote:

There seems to be an almost manic resistance to lower land prices in T&T. Land doesn't rot, but the opportunity cost in simply holding it for years and not developing/selling it is folly.

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 9:08 am

timelapse wrote:

There seems to be an almost manic resistance to lower land prices in T&T. Land doesn't rot, but the opportunity cost in simply holding it for years and not developing/selling it is folly.
If is injun, they keeping it for their granchirren.Also a good thing

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2021, 9:18 am

yeah but plenty does end up in family dispute too

timelapse wrote:

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 10:22 am

pugboy wrote:yeah but plenty does end up in family dispute too

timelapse wrote:

Family will get it either way

snatman

Postby snatman » October 12th, 2021, 11:15 am

Redman wrote:
snatman wrote:
Redman wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Beats sitting in cash.

I would still be looking for companies that have one income earning leg outside TnT.

I think our overall systemic risk is getting higher as time passes.

GHL has done well and is a great hedge.
So look for companies like that

External biz, pricing power and hard currency generation from geographically diverse jurisdictions

Yeah, hence Agostini with their now almost monopoly in healthcare/pharmaceutical products, their expanded oil services which is also in Guyana, their food and beverages divisions (export). Lots of catalysts. I expect this to be at ~$40 in a couple years. Offers are drying up on the exchange today. We'll see.

Postby Redman » October 12th, 2021, 11:27 am

timelapse wrote:

Until bank rates reach a point where they present an attractive alternative to the risk of land ownership-Land eh coming down.
Once we have excess liquidity in the system where the banks are awash in cash- its reasonable to just buy land as a store of value, look at: the
Mortgage rates since 2000. Down from 15% to 7.5%
Prime lending rates -Down from 14 % to 7% ish
Deposit Rates-The rate that a bank pays you for your deposit... down from 10%+ in 2000, were at 4% in 2008 currently at sub 1%.

Banks therefore keeping rates suppressed as they are awash in cash.

Post CLico/2008 our deposits in the commercial banking sector both commercial and business deposits went from 38B to 88B.

So they have attracted 2X the deposits by offering one quarter the interest rate.-this is artificial.

There is no competition to Bank deposits-no real non bank instrument.

They happy to keep money cheap.

I think land prices holding strong no matter what, is a symptom of the liquidity and artificially low rates/forex rates.

Things have to unwind.And that will come when the US rates begin rising on the other side of this cycle they in
Last edited by Redman on October 12th, 2021, 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 12th, 2021, 4:54 pm

Anyone here got Investments in RBC mutual funds?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 12th, 2021, 5:10 pm

wtf wrote:Anyone here got Investments in RBC mutual funds?

Heard it dropping like a rock these past few days.

widdyphuck

Re: Best Way to Invest Money in Trinidad

Postby widdyphuck » October 12th, 2021, 9:31 pm

Invest in Agriculture

Postby MaxPower » October 12th, 2021, 9:33 pm

wtf wrote:Invest in Agriculture

Now we talking

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 13th, 2021, 8:52 am

Now we talking
Any tips and suggestions?

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2021, 9:05 am

wtf wrote:

Now we talking
Any tips and suggestions?
Lots :
Build green houses and rent spaces.

Build green houses and grow things yourself.

If you don't have space, invest in some hydroponic/ aquaponic equipment and grow stuff.

If you have land, plant some long term tree crops and use the space between for short and medium term crops.This being your choice, also invest in a firearm and shoot any trespassers.

Set up a worm farm and sell earthworm castings

If your land swampy, plant dasheen

You got lots of options

popozan

Postby popozan » October 13th, 2021, 9:13 am

Start a business.
Re-skill yourself.

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » October 14th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Really good advice on the thread. As many other have stated before, Roytrin Income and Growth Fund is among the best local mutual funds. Plenty people who worked dey entire lives and were smart enough to put dere money in those funds and not a regular savings account are now millionaires off of it. I know 2 personally.

If that $5,000.00 is just the start and you have a good income stream already, just keep contributing to it and never look back.

If you can don't have time but you can afford some risk with that 5k, crypto 1000%.

If you have the time and land, agriculture.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 14th, 2021, 3:10 pm

new_gran_fella wrote:Really good advice on the thread. As many other have stated before, Roytrin Income and Growth Fund is among the best local mutual funds. Plenty people who worked dey entire lives and were smart enough to put dere money in those funds and not a regular savings account are now millionaires off of it. I know 2 personally.

If that $5,000.00 is just the start and you have a good income stream already, just keep contributing to it and never look back.

If you can don't have time but you can afford some risk with that 5k, crypto 1000%.

If you have the time and land, agriculture.
How does the Roytrin fund perform in comparison to Unit Trust Growth and Income Fund?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 14th, 2021, 6:35 pm

Onlyfans @wtf

solarkh

Postby solarkh » October 14th, 2021, 9:30 pm

If you have the land- Avocado farming.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 14th, 2021, 9:34 pm

solarkh wrote:If you have the land- Avocado farming.
People will thief it.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 14th, 2021, 9:52 pm

Try it first before you condemn it nah. Allya Trini's does be too negative right off the bat eh.

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » October 15th, 2021, 8:05 am

wtf wrote:
How does the Roytrin fund perform in comparison to Unit Trust Growth and Income Fund?

Never really had any dealings with UTC, and their website doesn't show you the historical performance of the funds or which companies they buy into.

Have a look at Roytrin G&IF : http://www.rbcroyalbank.com/caribbean/t ... growth.pdf

Their average annual returns since inception sits right around 10 percent, almost right on par with the S&P 500.

Whoever makes their decisions, are doing it correctly.

Postby MaxPower » October 15th, 2021, 9:55 am

Have a main road property.

About 10,000 sq

Thinking to build offices and rent to our aspiring young doctors. Jam a lil 10k a pop on them.