COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » November 22nd, 2021, 8:39 am

hover11 wrote:Hospitalizations rising among fully vaccinated in U.S., Fauci says

"What we’re starting to see now is an uptick in hospitalizations among people who’ve been vaccinated but not boosted."

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... d_nn_fb_ma

I swear you can't make this sheit up, well Played Fraudchi

On Wednesday, Dr. Rochelle Walensky, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, reported a decline in vaccine effectiveness among the elderly and residents of long-term care facilities, many of whom were the first to be eligible to be vaccinated last winter.

Although the highest risk are those people who are unvaccinated, we are seeing an increase in emergency department visits among adults 65 and older, which are now again higher than they are for younger age groups,” Walensky said Wednesday at a White House Covid briefing.

Walensky also pointed to new data on long-term care facilities from the agency's National Healthcare Safety Network comparing rates of Covid disease between people who are vaccinated with two doses and those who have received extra doses.

The rate of disease is markedly lower for those who received their booster shot, demonstrating our boosters are working,” she said.

Fauci and Walensky stressed that the majority of hospitalizations and deaths are still among unvaccinated people in the U.S.

Old news.

Your panties get creamy and you can't read past the headline.

Try harder.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2021, 9:17 am

Other vaccines such as the one we all received as children require boosters. Waning immunity after the first set of doses doesn't mean the vaccines don't work. Its possible that over time the interval between boosters will increase- so for instance the first covid booster may be around 6 months after the primary doses, but the next booster may not be needed till a year after.
Last edited by redmanjp on November 22nd, 2021, 9:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 22nd, 2021, 9:25 am

Like the anti vaxxers don't read or have memory loss, from early 2021 scientist knew efficacy would fade. They just didn't know by how much, by when and if all age groups would be affected.

Science continuously learns.

Postby Chimera » November 22nd, 2021, 9:26 am

Doh make sense arguing with the unvaxxed yes. Everyone makes their choices.
Just hope your family or people who depend on you if any could live with your choices if something happens

Imagine dying simply because you refuse to believe in science.

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2021, 9:34 am

we reaching 2000 deaths in the next couple of days oui.

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2021, 9:37 am

redmanjp wrote:we reaching 2000 deaths in the next couple of days oui.
May affect the out come of elections

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2021, 9:38 am

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/nov/19/austria-plans-compulsory-covid-vaccination-for-all

Austria plans compulsory Covid vaccination for all
Country goes into fourth lockdown amid soaring cases and announces jab mandate from February 2022

Austria is to become the first European country to make vaccinations against Covid 19 mandatory, and will go into its fourth nationwide lockdown for at least 10 days from Monday, the chancellor, Alexander Schallenberg, has announced.

The government said it was preparing the legal groundwork for a general vaccine mandate to come into effect from 1 February, with exemptions for those unable to receive a jab on medical grounds.

The age from which people will be required to be vaccinated has not yet been determined, the government said.

Those refusing to be vaccinated are likely to face administrative fines, which can be converted into a prison sentence if the fine cannot be recovered.

“For a long time the consensus in this country was that we don’t want a vaccine mandate,” Schallenberg said after a meeting with the Alpine republic’s heads of state. “In spite of months of persuasion, we have not managed to convince enough people to be vaccinated”.

Tightening vaccine pass controls and testing requirements had started to make a difference but it “hasn’t convinced enough”, said Schallenberg, who took over as chancellor last month from his party ally Sebastian Kurz. “We don’t want a fifth wave, we don’t want a sixth or a seventh wave.”

Austria is weathering its most powerful wave of Covid, with authorities on Friday reporting 990 cases per 100,000 people over seven days. It recorded another 15,809 new infections on Friday.

The country has the lowest vaccination rate in western Europe, with 66% of its population fully vaccinated. Over the past two weeks, the conservative green coalition government has tried to prevent a collapse of the health system by making it mandatory for citizens to show proof of vaccination or recovery at restaurants and bars, and then announcing a “lockdown for the unvaccinated”.

The national lockdown is expected to last until 12 December but could be reevaluated after 10 days if the Covid situation has improved. Nurseries and schools will stay open but mask-wearing is mandatory in classrooms and pupils can choose to study remotely without a note from a doctor.

Lockdown rules would end for vaccinated people from 12 December but stay in place for those who declined to take the jab.

Those who have got their second jab will in the future only be considered fully immunised for seven rather than nine months, and can get their booster shot after four months.

The former chancellor Kurz, who resigned amid a corruption inquiry in mid-October, had assured the public in July that “for everyone who is vaccinated, the pandemic is now over”.

“No one wants a lockdown, it is a crude instrument,” said Austria’s Green health minister, Wolfgang Mückstein, on Friday. “But it is the most effective instrument that we have available”.

In particular, the planned general vaccine mandate drew heavy criticism from the opposition benches in parliament. “From this day Austria is a dictatorship,” said Herbert Kickl of the far-right Freedom party, which has advocated scientifically unproven alternative treatments against coronavirus infections, such as the anti-parasite drug ivermectin.

While countries including Italy and France have made vaccination against Covid-19 mandatory for health workers, Austria will be the first country in Europe to apply such a requirement for the society at large. Outside the continent, Indonesia, Micronesia and Turkmenistan have a vaccine mandate for adults.

Unlike other federalised countries like Germany, Austria has a centralised national database of vaccination, which the government could check against those registered as living in the country to determine who has not yet got a jab.

Mandatory vaccination is not unprecedented in Austria. In 1948 the postwar government made vaccination against smallpox compulsory by law. In 1980 the World Health Organization declared smallpox the first disease to have been defeated through vaccination.

This article was amended on 20 November 2021. Austria is entering its fourth nationwide Covid lockdown, not its third as an earlier version said in the text and subheading.

BUG

Postby BUG » November 22nd, 2021, 9:43 am

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Hospitalizations rising among fully vaccinated in U.S., Fauci says

"What we’re starting to see now is an uptick in hospitalizations among people who’ve been vaccinated but not boosted."

https://www.nbcnews.com/health/health-n ... d_nn_fb_ma

I swear you can't make this sheit up, well Played Fraudchi

On Wednesday, Dr. Rochelle Walensky, the director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, reported a decline in vaccine effectiveness among the elderly and residents of long-term care facilities, many of whom were the first to be eligible to be vaccinated last winter.

Although the highest risk are those people who are unvaccinated, we are seeing an increase in emergency department visits among adults 65 and older, which are now again higher than they are for younger age groups,” Walensky said Wednesday at a White House Covid briefing.

Walensky also pointed to new data on long-term care facilities from the agency's National Healthcare Safety Network comparing rates of Covid disease between people who are vaccinated with two doses and those who have received extra doses.

The rate of disease is markedly lower for those who received their booster shot, demonstrating our boosters are working,” she said.

Fauci and Walensky stressed that the majority of hospitalizations and deaths are still among unvaccinated people in the U.S.

Old news.

Your panties get creamy and you can't read past the headline.

Try harder.

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:03 am

ole news is misinformation

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:05 am

eitech wrote:
hover11 wrote:Every vaccinated person should "get boosted" depending on how long it's been since their initial shots, but those with their original vaccination protection are still considered "fully vaccinated" despite some states changing their definition, Fauci says.

https://abcn.ws/30HSh3b

Gotta stop listening to this clown yes

Next definition to change is “new normal”. Lol

newormal...lol
controversial word tbh

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 22nd, 2021, 10:06 am

*Facebook Post*

OH GOSH DR MARYAM, YOU SHOULD KNOW BETTER
...As Principal Medical Officer, You Are Professionally And Ethically Conflicted As Angostura Board Director.

DR MARYAM ABDOOL-RICHARDS has to be fickle, if she honestly believes she is not conflicted being an Angostura board director while operating in the public health system as Principal Medical Officer (PMO).

Alcoholism and alcohol related lifestyle and cronic diseases are a result of alcohol consumption, which adversely impact on health, finance, human and social resources.

How could the PMO associate with a company that profits from manufacturing, promoting and selling alcohol products that are consumed by teenagers 18-year-old and older?

How can the PMO advise citizens about the harmful medical and health effects of alcohol consumption, while sitting as a director of a rum and alcoholic beverage company?

How could the PMO advocate against alcohol consumption contribution to the debilitating lifestyle disease of diabetes, which is prevalent amongst Trinidad and Tobago citizens?

Could the PMO, who comes across as the PM's blue-eyed favoured medic, be under the influence of any or several of Angostura's enticing products, when inseminated with the bright idea to accept the offer of a directorship in Angostura, while holding the senior Ministry of Health post?

Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards needs to engage in sober introspection and reflection on the untenable dichotonomous situation.

On principle, one cannot ethically serve as both PMO and Angostura director and will have to choose one or the other.

In selfishly defending her Angostura board appointment, while clinging on to being PMO, with responsibility for managing the parallel health care system, based on academic qualifications, Dr Abdool-Richards is obviously oblivious to the conflict, ethics and principle that can be seen to impugn her judgement and character.

She is quoted in the Express as stating:
"I hold an EMBA (executive master of business administration) with distinction from the Arthur Lok Jack School of Business, a Master of Science in Public Health in Developing Countries from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, a Master of Science degree in Family Medicine and a MBBS (medical degree) from The University of The West Indies.

"I believe that I can add value to complement the skills and experience of the existing Board of Directors from a diversity and inclusion standpoint. This is based on my academic qualifications, skills, training and previous Board experience.

"I have always worked in the interest of our country and being a part of one of the premiere public companies in Trinidad and Tobago is yet another aspect of my service to country. Respectfully, given my diverse background and managerial skills, I see this as an opportunity to enhance Angostura’s Board and contribute to its growth. There is no conflict with the two positions I now hold."

Postby hover11 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:08 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Doh make sense arguing with the unvaxxed yes. Everyone makes their choices.
Just hope your family or people who depend on you if any could live with your choices if something happens

Don't we all have to die one day regardless

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 22nd, 2021, 10:12 am

hover11 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Doh make sense arguing with the unvaxxed yes. Everyone makes their choices.

Don't we all have to die one day regardless
Got that right.
The biggest and baddest men out dey (service men) does be the weakest men inside.
They fraid death like that.
No man lives forever.
You die and life goes on.
Be fearless and live your life.

Postby Chimera » November 22nd, 2021, 10:13 am

hover i realize you're an idiot

same way that fella chain you up and take all that $$$ for a car that was never delivered, same way people chaining you up not to get vaccinated. same way your lawyer chaining you up into thinking you going to recover your $$$ from a professional conman.

good luck with all your life decisions.

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:22 am

is dman hover? idk
rel chain up :?

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:24 am

Soon there will be a vaccine or something to prevent natural death.. That will be the day.

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:28 am

Does science take emotions out of the equation..that would hamper data?

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 10:31 am

Good luck with that........
"Business Insider:
Fauci says you don't need to wear a mask for family gatherings this Thanksgiving – but only if everyone is fully vaccinated against COVID-19"

https://news.yahoo.com/fauci-says-dont- ... 54130.html

Postby redmanjp » November 22nd, 2021, 11:06 am

aaron17 wrote:is dman hover? idk

dman say he vaxxed

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 11:09 am

We in third wave or fourth?
Capture.PNG

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 11:10 am

redmanjp wrote:
aaron17 wrote:is dman hover? idk

dman say he vaxxed

and when his account was created?

Postby hover11 » November 22nd, 2021, 11:24 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:hover i realize you're an idiot

same way that fella chain you up and take all that $$$ for a car that was never delivered, same way people chaining you up not to get vaccinated. same way your lawyer chaining you up into thinking you going to recover your $$$ from a professional conman.

So what bro money comes and money goes...I make back that and more learnt from it....I'm an idiot cuz I say we all have to die someday well ok that's your opinion

eitech

Postby eitech » November 22nd, 2021, 11:28 am

hover11 wrote:

So what bro money comes and money goes...I make back that and more learnt from it....I'm an idiot cuz I say we all have to die someday well ok that's your opinion

How allyuh studyin death so? Look two man was beatin out ah reds yuh feel dem was studyin covid? Look they come and kill each other. Imagine that.

Postby aaron17 » November 22nd, 2021, 11:38 am

eitech wrote:
hover11 wrote:

How allyuh studyin death so? Look two man was beatin out ah reds yuh feel dem was studyin covid? Look they come and kill each other. Imagine that.

bro ..that is covid too

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2021, 11:39 am

more than a few local survivors on dialysis now
and seeming for rest of life

i would guess this something which should certainly turn off ppl

just like how nobody want to get polio and end up with deformed limbs

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 22nd, 2021, 12:04 pm

LMFAO..
All yuh ain't easy nah...hahah

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 22nd, 2021, 12:56 pm

hover11 wrote:

You seem to be doing good for 29 bro. What kinda work you, do? I know it's public service

Postby timelapse » November 22nd, 2021, 3:55 pm

daring dragoon wrote:People dying at home.

[Pastor Shivanan Bhadai, 64, and his mother Kusmawate Bhadai, 83, both died at the family home on Wednesday. Without going into details, a relative told Newsday on Sunday that the two got the virus a week earlier and were at home in quarantine.]
Both were reported as unvaccinated.I guess they weren't blessed and highly favored

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 22nd, 2021, 4:15 pm

Cases starting to drop arready? :shock: