COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » December 4th, 2021, 6:53 pm

Never saw it that way before..
Screenshot_20211204-093252_Facebook.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 73759 (+984) cases, 2215 (+17) deaths, 11707 active, 59837 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » December 4th, 2021, 7:54 pm

Your First Covid Encounter Shapes Response To Future Variants: Study

London:

The first SARS-CoV-2 spike protein that a person encounters, be it through vaccination or infection, shapes their body's subsequent immune response against current and future variants, according to a study conducted in the UK.

The study finds that exposure to the virus imparts different properties that have an impact on the immune system's ability to protect against current and future variants, and also affects the rate of decay of protection, which explains why populations across different regions and countries build varying degrees of immunity to similar virus strains.

Orchestrated by a team of scientists from the Imperial College and Queen Mary University of London, their findings were published in the journal ‘Science' on Friday.

“Our first encounter with spike antigen either through infection or vaccination shapes our subsequent pattern of immunity through immune imprinting,” said Professor Rosemary Boyton, from Imperial College's Department of Infectious Disease.

“Exposure to different spike proteins can result in reduced or enhanced responses to variants further down the line. This has important implications for future proofing vaccine design and dosing strategies,” she said.

https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/your-fi ... dy-2637337

Postby bluefete » December 4th, 2021, 8:12 pm

So tuners:

An uncle came in from the UK 2 weeks ago. He was out for a while but he lives here.

Double vaccinated and took all the relevant pre-fly tests.

Arrived Saturday and family had a big bragadang for him.

By Monday, every man and woman jack, who went, start to get sick. Plenty were not vaccinated. One ended up on drips in the hospital.

I have an aunt who is 90 and a staunch anti-vaxxer who was one of the attendees. She is having problems catching her breath and coughing.

I called her today and said: Auntie you see why you should take the vaccine.

Her response to me was : Nope. It is the vaccine that is killing people.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 4th, 2021, 8:20 pm

bluefete wrote:So tuners:

An uncle came in from the UK 2 weeks ago. He was out for a while but he lives here.

By Monday, every man and woman jack, who went, start to get sick. Plenty were not vaccinated. One ended up on drips in the hospital.

I have an aunt who is 90 and a staunch anti-vaxxer who was one of the attendees. She is having problems catching her breath and coughing.

Who is the backside that decided a family bragadang at this current moment I the best thing to do.
You may have alot of dead family members by next week.

Postby paid_influencer » December 4th, 2021, 8:51 pm

doh blame granny too much. 90 years of living in a deeply corrupt, third-world shithole will leave anybody with a distrust of authority. tell them old people the island authority on the up and up and they will consider you naive (and for the past 90 years, they were right).

90 is a good long time to have been alive tho. boom times x3 in their lifespan. the next generation not going to get those chances. between covid and climate change, tough tough times ahead and life expectancy going to fall off a cliff

Postby MaxPower » December 4th, 2021, 9:06 pm

I keep telling you phuckers…..just because someone is vaccinated whether it be one or a hundred times, have a million tests done all saying “positive”….it doesn’t mean sheit.

HOW many people have travelled and have ALL the requirements and STILL getting covid?

It’s because of erroneous, undetected, fraudulent and incorrect Anti-gen/PCR testing….AND also FAKE or ineffective vaccines.

You phuckers are NOT protecting your bodies properly. For heavens sake……up to now people are still clueless as to how a virus spreads and what they have to do to prevent getting infected.

The priority and the objective is to protect harmful particles from entering your body’s and prevent your particles from exiting.

Remember what i have been saying from the start of this pandemic eh…

Anyways.

BUG

Postby BUG » December 4th, 2021, 9:25 pm

MaxPower wrote:I keep telling you phuckers…..just because someone is vaccinated whether it be one or a hundred times, have a million tests done all saying “positive”….it doesn’t mean sheit.

HOW many people have travelled and have ALL the requirements and STILL getting covid?

It’s because of erroneous, undetected, fraudulent and incorrect Anti-gen/PCR testing….AND also FAKE or ineffective vaccines.

You phuckers are NOT protecting your bodies properly. For heavens sake……up to now people are still clueless as to how a virus spreads and what they have to do to prevent getting infected.

The priority and the objective is to protect harmful particles from entering your body’s and prevent your particles from exiting.

Anyways.

Lol frothing :lol:

Postby Gladiator » December 4th, 2021, 9:26 pm

Gladiator wrote:One of my workers is ill & went to Arima hospital and spent 6 hours waiting on a test. At 9:30PM they told the crowd of 100+ waiting that if you not having trouble breathing it makes no sense to wait since you wont get through tonight. He went home and will try back tomorrow....

Things really bad out there.

Lol

6 hours waiting for a test? Sounds like the average wait time for someone who knows no one in a typical day in a Trini hospital.

100+ waiting for 6 hours and not a thing on social media?

But the PM spoke a lil 5 minutes and getting more attention that Trinis supposedly waiting for lengthy periods.

Really don’t know when the fairytale stories gonna stop.

You need to start closing yuh stink cornt cause it smelling up the place, your brain like it putrefying ... damn blasted parasite.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 4th, 2021, 9:27 pm

BUG wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I keep telling you phuckers…..just because someone is vaccinated whether it be one or a hundred times, have a million tests done all saying “positive”….it doesn’t mean sheit.

Anyways.

Lol frothing :lol:

Postby Kenjo » December 4th, 2021, 9:43 pm

bluefete wrote:So tuners:

Wait how long is he staying in Trinidad for ? Yeah they jumped the gun for that lime

Postby MaxPower » December 4th, 2021, 9:48 pm

Gladiator wrote:You need to start closing yuh stink cornt cause it smelling up the place, your brain like it putrefying ... damn blasted parasite.

HYC and stop lying on your workers.

6 hours my ass.

Either you’re a lying sack of sheit, or your worker playing you for a fool and you jackassly believed them.

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2021, 10:12 pm

Is christmas.

If it have safe zones for strangers to drinks and lime then why not have family limes

Zesss til yuh can't zess no more

Postby Gladiator » December 4th, 2021, 10:40 pm

Gladiator wrote:You need to start closing yuh stink cornt cause it smelling up the place, your brain like it putrefying ... damn blasted parasite.

HYC and stop lying on your workers.

6 hours my ass.

Either you’re a lying sack of sheit, or your worker playing you for a fool and you jackassly believed them.

Says the clueless a$$hole that annoys everybody... do yourself a favor and go eat some dump sheit from your backyard, you could do with a refill of garbage. Stupid sheitbag...

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » December 4th, 2021, 11:08 pm

SmartSelect_20211204-230728_Instagram.jpg

Postby MaxPower » December 4th, 2021, 11:09 pm

Gladiator wrote:Says the clueless a$$hole that annoys everybody... do yourself a favor and go eat some dump sheit from your backyard, you could do with a refill of garbage. Stupid sheitbag...

Yawnnnn, u too boring and petty….bye.

Run along now and follow the protocols, stop contaminating the thread with your BS.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 5th, 2021, 1:56 am

ron_28 wrote::shock:

Just as Rowley in tobago. You done deal the father, you going for the son now boy Rowley

Postby redmanjp » December 5th, 2021, 4:34 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Is christmas.

If it have safe zones for strangers to drinks and lime then why not have family limes

For vaxxed family members u mean. No unvaxxed allowed. Unless he wear a mask whole time and eat food outdoors like health minister said.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 5th, 2021, 5:51 am

redmanjp wrote:

For vaxxed family members u mean. No unvaxxed allowed. Unless he wear a mask whole time and eat food outdoors like health minister said.
is best you be safe for you and your family and people you work with and just lime with immediate family home, you with people in work for most of the day and with your family the rest of the time. family you only see once or twice for the year make no sense risking your life for that. just setup a virtual lime using webcam and tv and lime for the day. best vaccine is stay the fuq away from everybody. move like all them positive. similar to a setup of a live in youtube.
if anyone know how to get this done please post the step or a link to get this done.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » December 5th, 2021, 6:24 am

FB_IMG_1638699377981.jpg

Hope everyone has a good Sunday.
Everyone has to die, make peace with your maker everyday.

Postby matr1x » December 5th, 2021, 6:46 am

Best news all day.

Also, didn't China ship out a bunch of tainted, faulty testing kits? Might wanna check in on that

Postby matr1x » December 5th, 2021, 6:48 am

redmanjp wrote:

In all fairness, poverty and crime going to do us all in so might as party hard

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 8:14 am

A senior PNM official also confirmed that Manning was fully vaccinated, having received the AstraZeneca vaccine. Is it that immunity is waning, how are so many vaccinated persons requiring hospitalisation, hmmm wonder what would happen if there are no beds available. Any way he is in the HDU recieving oxygen.

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 8:15 am

For the first time in two months, the US is averaging more than 100,000 new Covid-19 cases each day, shortly after millions of Americans traveled for the Thanksgiving holiday.

https://www.facebook.com/5550296508/pos ... 729376509/

Postby bluefete » December 5th, 2021, 8:44 am

Kenjo wrote:Wait how long is he staying in Trinidad for ? Yeah they jumped the gun for that lime

He is living here now. He went back to the UK just when Covid hit and he was itching to come back for a while.

My aunt is his sister and one of his brothers ended up on drips in the hospital.

My aunt is real fortunate so far that she has been able to fight it but we are watching her closely.

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2021, 8:50 am

yea the "breakthrough infections are rare and vaccinated-vaccinated spread is unlikely" doesn't hold anymore. Avoid christmas office parties like the plague, because well, we are in a plague.

On a related note, below is the age distribution for hospitalization in South Africa (omicron wave). You can see it is hitting the younger demographics harder. This is a reversal from Delta where people in their 30's were the ones getting infected and spreading it in the community, but people in the 60's+ were the ones going to hospital and dying.

It's possible this is because the Omicron wave hasn't spread to those older contacts yet (Omicron was discovered 3 weeks ago, ffs).
FFzDzo-XEAI_FVN.png

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 8:57 am

paid_influencer wrote:yea the "breakthrough infections are rare and vaccinated-vaccinated spread is unlikely" doesn't hold anymore. Avoid christmas office parties like the plague, because well, we are in a plague.

On a related note, below is the age distribution for hospitalization in South Africa (omicron wave). You can see it is hitting the younger demographics harder. This is a reversal from Delta where people in their 30's were the ones getting infected and spreading it in the community, but people in the 60's+ were the ones going to hospital and dying.

It's possible this is because the Omicron wave hasn't spread to those older contacts yet (Omicron was discovered 3 weeks ago, ffs).
If I reading this graph properly, 10 year Olds in the hospital, that not right at all

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 9:00 am

TTPS TO ENFORCE COVID PROTOCOLS MORE RIGIDLY

Deputy Commissioner of Police McDonald Jacob is warning those who wish to deliberately violate the Public Health Regulations that the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS) will enforce the law.

“We intend to enforce the law in an aggressive manner. Once persons have not been granted permission, the police officers will make the necessary arrests and the question of discretions will be left to the court. They will feel the full brunt of the law. We will move around with our buses and will make arrests,” Jacob told the Sunday Guardian by phone yesterday.

He said since the pandemic started, the TTPS had issued 21,254 fixed penalty tickets to people who have violated the COVID-19 regulations, including for not wearing face masks. He said between 6 am on Friday and 6 am yesterday alone, the TTPS issued 100 fixed penalty tickets.

Jacob said since the Safe Zone initiative started, the TTPS had issued 153 fixed penalty tickets to individuals for violations of the zones and five times to business owners.

He also said it was also unfortunate that since the State of Emergency (SoE) was lifted last month, citizens’ behaviour had changed.

“Recently, we have seen an increase in the number of persons violating the COVID-19 rules since the SoE lifted.

Persons are constantly bent on creating all different measures to cause unnecessary gatherings. A lot of them are politically-driven events where there are small groups actually converging together to create difficulties for the police. An example is what happened at the Savannah recently,” he said about the recent protest against Government’s COVID policies, where 30-plus people were arrested.

He said unruly citizens are placing the lives of the police at risk when they go to break up these events, noting officers are in danger of contracting the virus.

“At present, the TTPS has 634 police officers on quarantine, with 148 police officers who have tested positive in recent times. We have 17 police officers who are now deceased. In some instances, the police have to go into action and institute arrests of individuals who choose to violate the regulations. We believe in some of these situations the police officers may be unfortunately affected with COVID-19.”

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh also yesterday warned the public about large gatherings that violate the Public Health guidelines and regulations, as he responded to public complaints about a promotional motorcade by Angostura on Friday.

Asked whether a motorcade involving women on trucks and music was sending the wrong message during a third wave of the pandemic, Deyalsingh said, “There is something called the Public Health Regulations. We just ask all persons, whether it is corporate or individual…what I did see is what happened in the Savannah. It was very disconcerting. It is about any type of gathering, even if it is your homes, any type of gathering at this time is something that we should think twice or three times about. Whether it is a protest as we saw in the savannah and people encouraging their children not to wear masks. I am just hoping that gathering in the Savannah does not result in a spike.”

In a statement to the Sunday Guardian, Angostura said that on Friday (December 3) and yesterday (December 4), the Angostura Rule the Road Caravan participated in islandwide promotional activities in several parts of Trinidad.

Angostura said in keeping with COVID-19 regulations, the caravan, which consisted of music trucks, trailers and a tow truck displaying the all-new Jeep Rubicon prize, did not allow gatherings or interactions. Angostura used the caravan as part of its roll-out for its new packaging project for White Oak, new product campaigns and the Jeep promotions this month. It said in previous years, these events involved bar stops, live performances and inviting persons to participate in the trailer activities.

“This year, none of that happened because the company understands that this is the new normal and while business must continue, we must balance lives and livelihoods. All our activities and activations are now done through the lens of safety. In addition to our announcers and messages, we enclosed the trailers with plexiglass to avoid and discourage any interaction with our promo teams, thereby also keeping the public safe.”

Angostura added that all their trailers were equipped with electronic boards which also prompted messages of safety – reinforcing the need to stay safe, the need to vaccinate and to wear masks.

“We took the communication one step further today (Saturday), with our announcers asking persons to go to mass vaccination sites which are open to the population and get vaccinated which is a responsible corporate concern for the country.”

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 5th, 2021, 9:27 am

He won't make it.
Obesity is a comorbidity.
RIP.

Postby hover11 » December 5th, 2021, 9:31 am

wtf wrote:
He won't make it.
RIP.
Ent rowley is elderly with heart issues and survived?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 5th, 2021, 9:43 am

With the alleged reallocation of nurses specifically to him he's in a good place.
wtf wrote:
He won't make it.
RIP.