Under 30s Only - What is you & your spouses combined salary?

What is you and your spouses combined salary?

less than $10,000
22%
$10,000 to $15,000
19%
$15,000 to $20,000
13%
$20,000 to $25,000
7%
$25,000 to $30,000
6%
$30,000 to $40,000
10%
$40,000+
23%

Total votes: 135

Re: Under 30s Only - What is you & your spouses combined salary?

Postby bluefete » July 3rd, 2019, 7:47 am

^^ The cultural dynamic in T&T is most interesting.

In the USA / UK / Germany / Europe, when you hit 18 years, you already have a job of some kind and are renting somewhere.

In T&T, we tend to stay longer (much longer) at home. That allows us to save and buy land / property. I did not move out of my parents home until I got married. However, I bought house and got married all within one month of each other.

Much of that was due to savings and not going to the rumshop every Friday.

At least you are building and as you rightfully said "when it done, it done."

I knew a house in 4 Roads, Diego Martin where the owner started from scratch and took about 20 years to complete. I am sure he never had to borrow a cent from the bank.

Postby zoom rader » July 3rd, 2019, 8:42 am

eliteauto wrote:the salaries I'm seeing quoted here makes me happy that despite my son doing his degree currently I've also engendered an entrepreneurial spirit in him, it also explains why some students leave their studies midway and become self-employed, not from an inability to complete but instead because of a sense of realism and self-awareness
With the current employment habits it makes very little sense to work for an employer.

The goverment and bussiness owners are the ones causing folk to drop out of schools and not take up certain jobs. That's why venes are a blessing to bussiness.

Our labour laws have very little protection for workers. Contract workers are what I call abuse and undermines what ever labour laws there are to protect them.

All these factors push people into being self employed and or running a side hussle while working.

If Labour laws don't improve then folk will think why live here and why spend time in UWI to become a clerk.

You may think salaries make you happy but to live in Trini most of these folk have to resort two incomes because employers are abusing and cheating workers.

Gone are the days when you worked caroni as your only souce of income and you brought up a family of 6.

I don't see this as nothing tobe happy about, you are pushed into a corner

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2019, 11:28 am

Plent ppl does be seeing new houses going up all over the place, & ppl driving luxury vehicles, & equate that to the owners doing well, have plenty money, etc. If only they really knew how many of these ppl literally ketchin they royal backside in mortgages up to their eyeballs, it really eh funny.
yuh very right boi zr, it reach the point where a single source of income is not sufficient to do anything substantial. if allyuh feel I joking, check this
kfc for quite some time now has been seeing a shortage of delivery drivers to work during the daylight hours, and they getting more than too many applicants saying they want to work after 4 pm. All these applicants already have their day job, yet willing to deliver kfc whole evening with their own vehicle to make the lil extra change. Compare that to 10-15 years ago, when if you had tell a man to take he vehicle to do kfc deliveries on the side. back then if u eh get some serious cuss is cuz he getting ready to slap yuh

Postby eliteauto » July 3rd, 2019, 11:32 am

yup, in POS on evenings/nights you see many delivery drivers for various restaurants who use their vehicles, most are new/roro so I suspect they are augmenting their work income to pay for the vehicles, same can be said for app-taxi drivers

Postby hydroep » July 3rd, 2019, 11:44 am

A lot of pundits say the newer generations have it better than their forebears...depends on how you look at it.

In terms of convenience yes we have a lot of things that make our lives easier: vehicles, phones, appliances etc. And there's no shortage of things to experience in the modern world, if you can afford them.

The irony is to afford these conveniences and pleasures you have to work, probably harder than your parents did with some killing themselves or "going off" from the stress.

What a t'ing...:|

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 3rd, 2019, 5:40 pm

bluefete wrote:^^ The cultural dynamic in T&T is most interesting.

In the USA / UK / Germany / Europe, when you hit 18 years, you already have a job of some kind and are renting somewhere.

In T&T, we tend to stay longer (much longer) at home. That allows us to save and buy land / property. I did not move out of my parents home until I got married. However, I bought house and got married all within one month of each other.

I knew a house in 4 Roads, Diego Martin where the owner started from scratch and took about 20 years to complete. I am sure he never had to borrow a cent from the bank.

Moving out as soon as you hit 18 or graduate high school is a very american/canadian/british phenomenon. You'd be hard pressed to find that in many other parts of the world where people realise the value of the family unit to financial security.

In the US, you could move to the other end of the country to find work, but in TnT, most of the population centres are within 90 minutes of each other. What point is there in moving out immediately unless you have a high income or able parents straight off the bat? Unless you have an untenable situation where is just more healthy to get out of course. But it is mostly a long term game structured to keep people saving less and spending more.

Postby Chimera » July 4th, 2019, 6:33 am

I met my wife in law school...law wasnt working out for me...I went China around the age of 22/23 to see what opportunity it had for import/business. Came back and dropped out of law school. Wife is a lawyer...I must be making 5 or 6 times what she making per month. And I going to work in slippers and 3 quarters. Opening 10 to 4.
Business life hard though. I've lost more than a million dollars in the last 2 years to bandits

boxy

Postby boxy » July 4th, 2019, 7:50 am

A172 wrote:i remember in form1 had a man used to say he have 4 PS1, 6 N64 & 5 mountain bike

like he on tuner now
Ahahahahahahaha aye hear nah I spit out muh coffee with this one.
I had a similar partner in school who lied like this.

Postby zoom rader » July 4th, 2019, 8:43 am

This is really a non sufferer chead.

Postby De Dragon » July 5th, 2019, 1:57 am

ProtonPowder wrote:
bluefete wrote:^^ The cultural dynamic in T&T is most interesting.

Moving out as soon as you hit 18 or graduate high school is a very american/canadian/british phenomenon. You'd be hard pressed to find that in many other parts of the world where people realise the value of the family unit to financial security.

In the US, you could move to the other end of the country to find work, but in TnT, most of the population centres are within 90 minutes of each other. What point is there in moving out immediately unless you have a high income or able parents straight off the bat? Unless you have an untenable situation where is just more healthy to get out of course. But it is mostly a long term game structured to keep people saving less and spending more.

My father told me flat out that I had to leave his house at 18 because he "wasn't minding no big man"
I did just that, and went to stay with my mom :lol: At 22 I moved out on my own. Lived the swinging "Bachelor life" for more than a decade, then got married and moved into the house that I presently own. Slaved and saved for many of those years, and borrowed just about 270K from the bank to complete the house.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » July 5th, 2019, 9:29 am

Living with your parents is fine, depending on the level of privacy and control they want to give you. But I'm telling you, if you want to become your person, be ambitious and live on your terms, move da firetruck out.

I had moved out after my taking my first job which was in Chaguaramas. It took me 2 hours to get there from Couva. Not me and that, moved out and saved hours per day. Was able to push harder at my job, hit gym easily after work. Lime in PoS far more easily.

Literally improved my quality of life 10 fold and was able to save. I no longer work in tong, so I moved out and built a place after a few years.

I see many people my age who haven't moved out and they honestly still seem like children, can't cook their own food, fraid to go out after 8pm, don't socialize much with people outside their family.

That's fine if that's what you want, but that type of mindset seems to hold me back and stagnate your development.

Postby A172 » July 5th, 2019, 10:00 am

Anancy 2019

Postby matr1x » July 5th, 2019, 10:48 am

Renting for venes really paying off!!!!

HSA

Postby HSA » July 5th, 2019, 2:09 pm

l33t2 wrote:Living with your parents is fine, depending on the level of privacy and control they want to give you. But I'm telling you, if you want to become your person, be ambitious and live on your terms, move da firetruck out.

I had moved out after my taking my first job which was in Chaguaramas. It took me 2 hours to get there from Couva. Not me and that, moved out and saved hours per day. Was able to push harder at my job, hit gym easily after work. Lime in PoS far more easily.

Literally improved my quality of life 10 fold and was able to save. I no longer work in tong, so I moved out and built a place after a few years.

I see many people my age who haven't moved out and they honestly still seem like children, can't cook their own food, fraid to go out after 8pm, don't socialize much with people outside their family.

That's fine if that's what you want, but that type of mindset seems to hold me back and stagnate your development.

seems like a cross between desi and effectic

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2019, 2:34 pm

•they often talk about experiences and accomplishments in which they appear heroic
•they’re also the victim in many of their stories, often looking for sympathy
•their stories tend to be elaborate and very detailed
•they respond elaborately and quickly to questions, but the responses are usually vague and don’t •provide an answer to the question
•they may have different versions of the same story, which stems from forgetting previous details

Examples of pathological lying:

•creating a false history, such as saying they’ve achieved or experienced something they haven’t
•claiming to have a life-threatening illness that they don’t have
•telling lies to impress others, such as saying they’re related to a famous person

https://www.healthline.com/health/pathological-liar

The reason why I try to call out this forum user every time is because I hope one day he will decide to get some help. I have known a pathological liar in my life; he used to pretend to be a doctor and took everyone else's stories and retold with himself as the star. From his father being the Ambassador to India, to that he used to live in Toronto. And he was always attempting to display wealth, even though he had none. Lots of bottles of expensive alcohol and every night was a party at some club. He used to boast about all the girls he had been with (he was a homosexual in real life and he believed that no one else knew).

It was such a facade to appear to be the center of attention and create a grandiose character of himself. Even when confronted with the lies with evidence he just used to laugh as if it just wasn't real. Used to even tell his poor parents he was a doctor, he bought scrubs and wore a stethoscope sometimes, but I realized he had no clue about anything in medicine in a very short time. Other people around him tried to help, but he could never face the reality to other people that he was not a doctor. I felt very sad that someone's life was controlled that way by some sort of trauma or negative behaviour in his past to make him become a pathological liar. And I realized the pain he must go through over and over when he has moments of clarity. So this is why I hope that Daran/l33t2 and all his other forum names here will eventually break that cycle.

Postby K74T » July 5th, 2019, 2:54 pm

Ferk.

matix

Postby matix » July 5th, 2019, 3:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:

•they often talk about experiences and accomplishments in which they appear heroic
•they’re also the victim in many of their stories, often looking for sympathy
•their stories tend to be elaborate and very detailed
•they respond elaborately and quickly to questions, but the responses are usually vague and don’t •provide an answer to the question
•they may have different versions of the same story, which stems from forgetting previous details

Examples of pathological lying:

•creating a false history, such as saying they’ve achieved or experienced something they haven’t
•claiming to have a life-threatening illness that they don’t have
•telling lies to impress others, such as saying they’re related to a famous person

https://www.healthline.com/health/pathological-liar

The reason why I try to call out this forum user every time is because I hope one day he will decide to get some help. I have known a pathological liar in my life; he used to pretend to be a doctor and took everyone else's stories and retold with himself as the star. From his father being the Ambassador to India, to that he used to live in Toronto. And he was always attempting to display wealth, even though he had none. Lots of bottles of expensive alcohol and every night was a party at some club. He used to boast about all the girls he had been with (he was a homosexual in real life and he believed that no one else knew).

It was such a facade to appear to be the center of attention and create a grandiose character of himself. Even when confronted with the lies with evidence he just used to laugh as if it just wasn't real. Used to even tell his poor parents he was a doctor, he bought scrubs and wore a stethoscope sometimes, but I realized he had no clue about anything in medicine in a very short time. Other people around him tried to help, but he could never face the reality to other people that he was not a doctor. I felt very sad that someone's life was controlled that way by some sort of trauma or negative behaviour in his past to make him become a pathological liar. And I realized the pain he must go through over and over when he has moments of clarity. So this is why I hope that Daran/l33t2 and all his other forum names here will eventually break that cycle.

Damn, tuner has quite a few though. One that really clicks is Red Vag with her/his food menus.

HSA

Postby HSA » July 5th, 2019, 3:13 pm

#whatislife

Postby A172 » July 5th, 2019, 5:04 pm

minimum wage does cause this

Postby 88sins » July 5th, 2019, 8:10 pm

A172 wrote:minimum wage does cause this

true to some extent
some can't afford to do, but everyone can afford to dream.
problem starts when they begin wanting ppl to think their dreams are actually reality

Postby RedVEVO » July 14th, 2019, 10:45 pm

l33t2 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:I have two incomes, job pays around 25k after taxes and my side hustle averages around 20-25k/mo.

Right now deliberating if to push side hustle harder or maintain.....pushing it harder requires me to quit but this side hustle if done right, can clock 100k a month or more.

Can't you take some leave from your job and see if you can turn the side job into your only one?

You sound like a real lazy Trini
Take a what ?

Hombre work the 2 jobs and save your money .
If you young 5 hours sleep is enough .

Nah it's not about being lazy, if it was hard work where i just had to put in mindless hours I'd find a way. But both my job and side hustle require concentration and smarts. If I put too much time into one the other suffers.

At this balance I have now I'm averaging about 45k take home a month. But the truth is this is far from rich, only option I see to get rich is selling my apartment and using my job to get a new mortgage to build up some apartments.

In two years time that will replace my salary (hopefully exceed it, and also hope I get a good severance package) and then I could push my side hustle to be bigger and turn it into a legit company too. Also I've got a good reputation at this company so going back on contract if everything falls apart is also a worst case option.

Don't study this tunts, he'd have you believe he goes to Miami everyday, and makes the most beautiful Sunday lunches ever.

Yes ALL true. Why you so green brother ?
US Citizen since birth & Sundays lunches are familia events .
And I know who my Padre is also. Graduate UM & FIU.

Postby De Dragon » July 14th, 2019, 11:02 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:I have two incomes, job pays around 25k after taxes and my side hustle averages around 20-25k/mo.

Right now deliberating if to push side hustle harder or maintain.....pushing it harder requires me to quit but this side hustle if done right, can clock 100k a month or more.

Can't you take some leave from your job and see if you can turn the side job into your only one?

Take a what ?

Nah it's not about being lazy, if it was hard work where i just had to put in mindless hours I'd find a way. But both my job and side hustle require concentration and smarts. If I put too much time into one the other suffers.

At this balance I have now I'm averaging about 45k take home a month. But the truth is this is far from rich, only option I see to get rich is selling my apartment and using my job to get a new mortgage to build up some apartments.

In two years time that will replace my salary (hopefully exceed it, and also hope I get a good severance package) and then I could push my side hustle to be bigger and turn it into a legit company too. Also I've got a good reputation at this company so going back on contract if everything falls apart is also a worst case option.

Don't study this tunts, he'd have you believe he goes to Miami everyday, and makes the most beautiful Sunday lunches ever.

I don't envy liars.

Postby RedVEVO » July 14th, 2019, 11:06 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Take a what ?

I don't envy liars.

No miento .

Verdad !

Bimmerhead

Postby Bimmerhead » December 20th, 2022, 11:50 am

Updating to $25k combined - Both under 30

Postby alfa » December 20th, 2022, 12:32 pm

Bimmerhead wrote:Updating to $25k combined - Both under 30

Excellent salary but as I've gotten older I've started considering job security and benefits more than salary especially since I did most of my major life spending already. Something under 30 people need to look at is that there are jobs where you can make a ton of money in the short term but the day the market changes you're the first one out. Or when you retire you have nothing to get. I don't think people should stay in this kinda environment longer than necessary but if your 25k comes with stability and benefits you get through for life they

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 20th, 2022, 12:43 pm

Mih brother rich mih sister rich and i driving motor car......

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » December 20th, 2022, 12:52 pm

This was so interesting to read through. Even tho we are over 30, my salary and wife's combined is about 14000 take home. It can be hard at times, but as I was explaining to her recently, no matter how much you work for, if it isn't managed properly then it will never be enough. Because the more you earn, the bigger your eye get and the more you end up splurging on. I remember like 7 years ago working for $6000 a month and paying $2000 in rent plus maintaining a car, buying food and still managing to save money and fly to florida for vacations. Once you know your goals and stick to them, you do what is necessary to meet those goals.

Postby alfa » December 20th, 2022, 1:00 pm

Musical Doc wrote:This was so interesting to read through. Even tho we are over 30, my salary and wife's combined is about 14000 take home. It can be hard at times, but as I was explaining to her recently, no matter how much you work for, if it isn't managed properly then it will never be enough. Because the more you earn, the bigger your eye get and the more you end up splurging on. I remember like 7 years ago working for $6000 a month and paying $2000 in rent plus maintaining a car, buying food and still managing to save money and fly to florida for vacations. Once you know your goals and stick to them, you do what is necessary to meet those goals.

X100

Bimmerhead

Postby Bimmerhead » December 20th, 2022, 1:10 pm

@musical, that is so true, because the reason i updated is because these positions are fairly recent. However, believe it or not when we were below the 15k bracket we still managed to save but since these new positions... all of the "things we were suppose to do" starting to pop up and becoming "relevant" in such a way that we havent been able to consistently save like before.

Interestingly enough, her rationale is the fact we are still young and "have the means to" now is the time to get the things we dreamed about while in the earlier stages. Personally i am giving it a year until i really reconsider being more stringent regarding spend.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » December 20th, 2022, 8:42 pm

Musical Doc wrote:This was so interesting to read through. Even tho we are over 30, my salary and wife's combined is about 14000 take home. It can be hard at times, but as I was explaining to her recently, no matter how much you work for, if it isn't managed properly then it will never be enough. Because the more you earn, the bigger your eye get and the more you end up splurging on. I remember like 7 years ago working for $6000 a month and paying $2000 in rent plus maintaining a car, buying food and still managing to save money and fly to florida for vacations. Once you know your goals and stick to them, you do what is necessary to meet those goals.

Nuff respect.

You already richer than the majority in terms of mentality.

Go through hard...