:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2022, 1:56 pm

Ask for a bolt extractor set wherever you calling. Many places know them by different names

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2022, 4:16 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:guys i have been looking for a tap m14x1.5 , i'm from san juan area. A1 tools dont have . Where else can i check
I couldnt get one to buy
I ended up buying it online

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2022, 4:33 pm

doubt you will find large size like that locally

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2022, 4:46 pm

Try a 14⌀ and see if you will get a 1mm thread bolt. Dunno exactly what application you need.

https://shopssltt.com/handtools/threading-tools/taps/tap-set-cst-14-x-1

Call them, they might have exactly what you want but it listed not on the website.

OUT OF STOCK
https://shopssltt.com/tap-set-cst-m14x1-5

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2022, 5:39 pm

a tap that size need to be entered pretty straight or the first set of threads might end up cut very loose

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2022, 5:49 pm

Either I install that pressure reducing valve wrong or it completely useless

Postby *KRONIK* » December 15th, 2022, 6:53 pm

pugboy wrote:a tap that size need to be entered pretty straight or the first set of threads might end up cut very loose
Yup
This happened to me
Cuz we decide to repair the threads on the spot
But we cleaned the hole rel good and used some oil to thread up the new bolt.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 15th, 2022, 10:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:Try a 14⌀ and see if you will get a 1mm thread bolt. Dunno exactly what application you need.

Call them, they might have exactly what you want but it listed not on the website.

OUT OF STOCK

i wonder if allied or bhagwansigh would have?

hindian

Postby hindian » December 16th, 2022, 6:41 am

trinibajan34 wrote:guys i have been looking for a tap m14x1.5 , i'm from san juan area. A1 tools dont have . Where else can i check

Try Lotec in Tacarigua, they sell lots of machine shop supplies and tooling you should get that tap there. They re named the business though to Phyton machinery supplies or something so

hindian

Postby hindian » December 16th, 2022, 6:42 am

trinibajan34 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Try a 14⌀ and see if you will get a 1mm thread bolt. Dunno exactly what application you need.

OUT OF STOCK

i wonder if allied or bhagwansigh would have?

Lotec Tacarigua

Postby Dave » December 16th, 2022, 7:32 am

Does Lotec still have a Tacarigua presence?
They have a nice place in Pt Lisas and always helpful staff.

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2022, 7:43 am

yes, i think the name changed though, but same ppl

Dave wrote:Does Lotec still have a Tacarigua presence?

hindian

Postby hindian » December 16th, 2022, 10:24 am

Dave wrote:Does Lotec still have a Tacarigua presence?

Yea they still there under the name Phyton now…

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » December 16th, 2022, 12:43 pm

hindian wrote:

Try Lotec in Tacarigua, they sell lots of machine shop supplies and tooling you should get that tap there. They re named the business though to Phyton machinery supplies or something so

Thanks

Postby *KRONIK* » December 16th, 2022, 3:26 pm

By chance, anybody come across any 3" cutting discs locally?

Postby maj. tom » December 18th, 2022, 7:11 am

Prices for Hardware and Non-Food items in Trinidad & Tobago December 2022

.XLS file with several worksheet tabs.
from tradeind.gov.tt

Postby maj. tom » December 21st, 2022, 4:52 pm

Rovin wrote:thats something i looked at a few times & hear so much good about it online from many ppl but being a skeptic i hadda see 1 being used in real life to convince me especially when it not exactly cheap ....

maj. tom wrote:Hadden have the industrial one with wheels too. Don't get the regular bristles one that going to rub on the concrete.

Boy once you see this thing in action you never going back to swinging pressure wand 300 times just to clean 1 square meter. I only use the wand for walls and the edges. A side of my house used to take a good 4 or 5 hours before I bought this. Now that side took 1 hour. I'll make a lil video to show you sometime.

phpBB [media]

https://i.imgur.com/Iq37qMw.mp4

Postby Rovin » December 21st, 2022, 6:23 pm

:lol: ... awww u remembered ... i appreciate it - thanks :oops: .... :lol:

looks good , maybe in d new year next time when i bringing in anything i will get 1 ...

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2022, 3:04 pm

not sure if right thread....but how allyuh does arrange allyuh small fittings that you have plenty of?

like i have storage totes of PVC fittings

like 3 -4 kits with 3/4 inch, 1 kit with 1 inch, 1 kit with 1/2 inch, 1 kit with 1.5, few kits with 2 inch (use 2 inch for irrigation)

i redoing some plumbing in an apartment and i would just rock with 2 of the 3/4 kits and the half inch kit...
but then when it come down to it i hadda be digging tru digging tru to find a fitting i need...and sometimes i dont have it and it too late to go buy it

last week i buy a bunch of 9inch x 13 inch 2 mil lockable bags (not the brand ziplock, its not food grade bags)
and i bagging up all the fittings individually...so now i know what i have and dont have very easily

it real annoying to be 95% through a plumbing project at 8 in the night and then realize you dont have a 3/4 elbow and 1/2 inch tee

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 3:19 pm

I use small rectangular buckets like what some soap powder comes in or foodstuffs

sort the fittings using bags and just throw them in the bucket, one bucket 1/2", another for 3/4 etc

Phone Surgeon wrote:not sure if right thread....but how allyuh does arrange allyuh small fittings that you have plenty of?

like 3 -4 kits with 3/4 inch, 1 kit with 1 inch, 1 kit with 1/2 inch, 1 kit with 1.5, few kits with 2 inch (use 2 inch for irrigation)

i redoing some plumbing in an apartment and i would just rock with 2 of the 3/4 kits and the half inch kit...
but then when it come down to it i hadda be digging tru digging tru to find a fitting i need...and sometimes i dont have it and it too late to go buy it

last week i buy a bunch of 9inch x 13 inch 2 mil lockable bags (not the brand ziplock, its not food grade bags)
and i bagging up all the fittings individually...so now i know what i have and dont have very easily

it real annoying to be 95% through a plumbing project at 8 in the night and then realize you dont have a 3/4 elbow and 1/2 inch tee

hindian

Postby hindian » December 23rd, 2022, 3:26 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:not sure if right thread....but how allyuh does arrange allyuh small fittings that you have plenty of?

I does fling everything in a pigtail bucket inclusive of threadseal and random ends of pipe and then empty out the whole bucket on the ground to get a fitting. The chirren does put it back

Postby Rovin » December 23rd, 2022, 3:36 pm

i have 2 cardboard boxes about 12"x12"x8-10" tall , 1 for 1\2" fittings & d other for 3\4" - dise it ... it works for me

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2022, 3:48 pm

I feel like I have alot more fittings than the average person lolll would post a pic when I doing some cleaning up after xmas

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 3:51 pm

those rectangular buckets have good covers too so can stack and more effective spacewise than round

hindian

Postby hindian » December 23rd, 2022, 4:46 pm

Where can I get a manual hand pump to put oil back into my gearbox and to fill diff oil?

david12

Postby david12 » December 23rd, 2022, 5:10 pm

hindian wrote:Where can I get a manual hand pump to put oil back into my gearbox and to fill diff oil?
hmmm

try Garage Fresh not sure of anywhere else

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 6:10 pm

some use a garden spray can with spray nozzle removed

Postby Rovin » December 23rd, 2022, 7:44 pm

pvc small fittings even lengths of pipeline imo still cheap so when i have a lil something to fix i always buy extras in case when u doing d fix u realise u didnt account for something & u dont want to get ur self in a bind where u dont have water

new fittings & pipelines is something that doh spoil so better u buy\have extra than less especially when u doing something after hardware closing hrs or on sundays or holidays ...

Postby adnj » December 23rd, 2022, 7:59 pm

︎ Sort your fittings by type and size.
︎ Put each in a separate, clear plastic bag.
︎ Store all of the all of fittings in a larger container dedicated to a single size of pipe.
︎ Seperate and store valves, compression couplings, traps, etc., by type only - keep all of the sizes together.

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 23rd, 2022, 9:00 pm

hindian wrote:Where can I get a manual hand pump to put oil back into my gearbox and to fill diff oil?
Got one at Allied a few months back.