Leaving Trinidad for good...

AlphaMan

Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby AlphaMan » April 19th, 2023, 2:45 pm

Rovin wrote:d way crime was so rampant yesterday all over, those who were thinking to ride out must be make up their minds now ...

Alot of persons made up there minds a long time ago but some are asking themselves, "How do I finance myself in another country"

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » April 19th, 2023, 10:00 pm

AlphaMan wrote:
Rovin wrote:d way crime was so rampant yesterday all over, those who were thinking to ride out must be make up their minds now ...

Alot of persons made up there minds a long time ago but some are asking themselves, "How do I finance myself in another country"

Walmart and most big chains are always hiring. If you really need to supplement whatever your current financial foundation is, no shame in working a service job. Better to work at a Publix in Florida than get murdered for whatever pittance you happen to have in your pocket in Trinidad. Financial planning should have been the first thing taken care of before the thought of migration ever crossed your mind. It was simple enough to get up and go, and I went to a no Trinis around non-English speaking country.

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2023, 11:17 pm

But then yuh mite get gun down in same Publix or Walmart when it have the usual mass shooting or someone decide to kill all the non whites they can find.

America is not the answer

Postby Dizzy28 » April 19th, 2023, 11:24 pm

Even with mass shootings and availability of legal firearms America's murder rate is still around five times less than Trinidad's. The odds still in their favour.
Phone Surgeon wrote:But then yuh mite get gun down in same Publix or Walmart when it have the usual mass shooting or someone decide to kill all the non whites they can find.

Postby adnj » April 19th, 2023, 11:35 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:But then yuh mite get gun down in same Publix or Walmart when it have the usual mass shooting or someone decide to kill all the non whites they can find.

The city in Florida with the highest murder rate is currently Jacksonville, IIRC. If Trinidad had the same murder rate as Jacksonville, there would be less than 200 murders per year in the entire country.

Safety is something different. You are less likely to be the victim of a violent crime in Trinidad as compared to the US.

If you really want to be safe, move to the EU.

Postby Chimera » April 20th, 2023, 7:18 am

You factoring in that most trinis would be treated as blacks in America? And the issues that come with that?

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 20th, 2023, 8:38 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:You factoring in that most trinis would be treated as blacks in America? And the issues that come with that?

So we will get preferential placement in universities and can commit crimes without fear of being persecuted because they don't wanna seem racist? Sign me tf up fam!

Postby Dizzy28 » April 20th, 2023, 9:16 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:You factoring in that most trinis would be treated as blacks in America? And the issues that come with that?

So we will get preferential placement in universities and can commit crimes without fear of being persecuted because they don't wanna seem racist? Sign me tf up fam!

If you are an Indo-Trini they will lump you as Asian and then a 1580 in SAT wouldn't guarantee you a spot at an Ivy League.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » April 20th, 2023, 9:34 am

My mind made up years now, all I needed was the factors to align. In 2024, the only time T&T will see me would be to tie up some loose ends.

leavingforgood

Postby leavingforgood » April 20th, 2023, 9:37 am

You sound delusional if you think you have a higher chance of being shot in America vs. T&T but I guess you fell into the race trap the liberals love to spew and would be fine so long as the shooter shares your complexion and hair type.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 20th, 2023, 9:38 am

Some real uneducated responses here yes.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 20th, 2023, 9:39 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:

If you are an Indo-Trini they will lump you as Asian and then a 1580 in SAT wouldn't guarantee you a spot at an Ivy League.

Depending on how light your skin tone is people will come talk to you in Spanish in south florida and be surprised when you don't know it too.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 30th, 2023, 6:08 am

Morning all. Is there a specific website or somewhere I can go to access information on how to migrate to Canada via the option of Canada looking for skilled workers? I’ve been looking but I feel I looking in the wrong place. Thanks.

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2023, 7:02 am

adnj wrote:You are less likely to be the victim of a violent crime in Trinidad as compared to the US.

Lol

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » April 30th, 2023, 8:00 am

hindian wrote:Morning all. Is there a specific website or somewhere I can go to access information on how to migrate to Canada via the option of Canada looking for skilled workers? I’ve been looking but I feel I looking in the wrong place. Thanks.

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-re ... entry.html

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » April 30th, 2023, 2:48 pm

adnj wrote:You are less likely to be the victim of a violent crime in Trinidad as compared to the US.

this is a typo right?

Postby adnj » April 30th, 2023, 3:52 pm

i_code_and_stuff wrote:

this is a typo right?
No. UN data shows that you are more likely to suffer a "serious assault" in the United States than in Trinidad.

https://www.unodc.org/

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » April 30th, 2023, 4:35 pm

Why everyone rushing to go Canada and USA..
There are so many other countries in the world...
Europe seems great!
Also how do you deal with the issue of taking care of sick relatives when you're gone...
This is basically the keep back with me...

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2023, 4:41 pm

Language, closeness to TT, family members??
AlphaMan wrote:Why everyone rushing to go Canada and USA..
Europe seems great!
Also how do you deal with the issue of taking care of sick relatives when you're gone...

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » April 30th, 2023, 4:45 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Language, closeness to TT, family members??
Europe seems great!

Good Point but you have to show ties to get visas and when you migrate permanently what happens to the "ties" you used to get the visa In the first place..

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » April 30th, 2023, 5:12 pm

Europe seems great!

People go with what works, I suppose. Always to the same places, always to the same neighborhoods which have become microcosms of what has been left behind. Never liked the US or Canada myself, but I suppose they're the places you want to go to if you want to make something of yourself.
If, on the other hand, you're out of the rat race and just want to take life slowly, you can move anywhere where the weather is pleasant and the cost of living is nice and just enjoy life.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » April 30th, 2023, 6:31 pm

adnj wrote:
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

this is a typo right?
No. UN data shows that you are more likely to suffer a "serious assault" in the United States than in Trinidad.

America is a big place. If you decide to live in depressed areas around depressed people you more likely to suffer serious assault. I live in an area you can leave your car doors unlocked in Walmart parking lots with laptops in open view on the seat and nobody will touch it.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 30th, 2023, 6:43 pm

The Bamboo Online wrote:
America is a big place. If you decide to live in depressed areas around depressed people you more likely to suffer serious assault. I live in an area you can leave your car doors unlocked in Walmart parking lots with laptops in open view on the seat and nobody will touch it.

So true. It's very hard for some people to understand this here.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » April 30th, 2023, 7:04 pm

adnj wrote:
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

this is a typo right?

I'd have appreciated a direct link, but thanks.

One flaw in this argument is the definition of "serious assault" (in fact, they specifically call out this flaw in one of the studies as a disclaimer).

Anyway, some actual numbers:

Serious assault rates for US: 246.84 (2018)
Serious assault rates for TT: 43.79 (2015)

However, let's take a further look at more specific metrics:

Homicide rates
US: 4.96
TT: 30.65

Sexual violence
US: 0.00 (lack of data/under-reporting)
TT: 50.70

Kidnapping
TT: 0.29

Robbery
US: 86.24
TT: 180.18

And these statistics for TT are labelled as of 2015 - I'm sure most of us here understand the situation is magnitudes worse now. Especially as our detection rates for many of these types of crimes are incredibly low, so the reality is likely worse than we can realistically measure.

Anyway, being back and forth between both countries, I'm lead to believe that despite all the problems the US has, one is still far safer there, than they are in TT (assuming that, like in TT, you avoid known hot spots). But you're right about EU

Edit: forgot to cite: https://worldpopulationreview.com/count ... by-country

Postby adnj » April 30th, 2023, 7:39 pm

i_code_and_stuff wrote:
adnj wrote:
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

this is a typo right?

I'd have appreciated a direct link, but thanks.

One flaw in this argument is the definition of "serious assault" (in fact, they specifically call out this flaw in one of the studies as a disclaimer).

Anyway, some actual numbers:

Serious assault rates for US: 246.84 (2018)
Serious assault rates for TT: 43.79 (2015)

However, let's take a further look at more specific metrics:

Homicide rates
US: 4.96
TT: 30.65

Sexual violence
TT: 50.70

Kidnapping
TT: 0.29

Robbery
US: 86.24
TT: 180.18

And these statistics for TT are labelled as of 2015 - I'm sure most of us here understand the situation is magnitudes worse now. Especially as our detection rates for many of these types of crimes are incredibly low, so the reality is likely worse than we can realistically measure.

Anyway, being back and forth between both countries, I'm lead to believe that despite all the problems the US has, one is still far safer there, than they are in TT (assuming that, like in TT, you avoid known hot spots). But you're right about EU

Edit: forgot to cite: https://worldpopulationreview.com/count ... by-country

Trinidad's homicide rate moved from 30 (2015) to 40 (2022).

Though I view "magnitudes worse now" as simple hyperbole, it is doubtful that the UN data dramatically misrepresents the current situation in both nations.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » May 17th, 2023, 10:02 pm

Another positive of having left Trinidad is the sheer amount of options available to you when it comes to dining out or having lunch or dinner delivered. This is but a small sampling of what a typical weekend getaway can look like for you in a foreign country. All prices are for two person meals, apart from the shrimp which is a three person dish. You begin to see just how much dining out in Trinidad and Tobago was an exercise in extortion and having to endure poor service.

Jumbo stuffed shrimp with shrimp gratin dinner in a nice restarurant - 185 TTD

20230515_124337.jpg

20230515_125851.jpg

Half and Half Pizza - Chicken and Bacon \ Chicken and Extra Cheese with 2 Liter drink - 48 TTD

20230514_183730.jpg

Choux cream and sparkling water and coffee at a Japanese cafe - 40 TTD

20230513_140116.jpg

Korean fried chicken and spicy pork noodles with sparkling water - 94 TTD

20230513_210519.jpg

German semmelwurst with caramelized bacon - 56 TTD

20230514_123920.jpg

Japanese for two - Kare ramen with char siu and kare raisu with gyudon - 78 TTD

20230512_123543.jpg

20230512_123526.jpg

Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby MaxPower » May 17th, 2023, 11:09 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Another positive of having left Trinidad is the sheer amount of options available to you when it comes to dining out or having lunch or dinner delivered. This is but a small sampling of what a typical weekend getaway can look like for you in a foreign country. All prices are for two person meals, apart from the shrimp which is a three person dish. You begin to see just how much dining out in Trinidad and Tobago was an exercise in extortion and having to endure poor service.

Tim,

Ur sure right about the poor service in T&T, and not only for dining.

T&T, Trinidad especially is becoming overly inconsistent in their cuisine which is due to a careless culture, high staff turn over, poorly qualified “chefs” and poor management. It really is a hit and miss whether it’s buying doubles or at a supposedly fancy restaurant. I have had foreign guests and when taking them out, i literally have to pray the food tastes good and the waiters are pleasant. It really is sad where T&T has reached when it comes to our food. Now don’t get me wrong eh, good cooking exists, but hard to come by.

Yuh better off youtubing a recipe and cooking home.

sachin

Postby sachin » June 25th, 2023, 3:44 pm

Thinking bout Orlando. Any advice from someone who migrated there or FL in general?

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » June 25th, 2023, 5:39 pm

sachin wrote:Thinking bout Orlando. Any advice from someone who migrated there or FL in general?

Be careful the governor might put you on a plane to a sanctuary state.

Postby gastly369 » June 25th, 2023, 5:52 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Another positive of having left Trinidad is the sheer amount of options available to you when it comes to dining out or having lunch or dinner delivered. This is but a small sampling of what a typical weekend getaway can look like for you in a foreign country. All prices are for two person meals, apart from the shrimp which is a three person dish. You begin to see just how much dining out in Trinidad and Tobago was an exercise in extortion and having to endure poor service.

Tim,

Ur sure right about the poor service in T&T, and not only for dining.

T&T, Trinidad especially is becoming overly inconsistent in their cuisine which is due to a careless culture, high staff turn over, poorly qualified “chefs” and poor management. It really is a hit and miss whether it’s buying doubles or at a supposedly fancy restaurant. I have had foreign guests and when taking them out, i literally have to pray the food tastes good and the waiters are pleasant. It really is sad where T&T has reached when it comes to our food. Now don’t get me wrong eh, good cooking exists, but hard to come by.

Yuh better off youtubing a recipe and cooking home.
Give we ah lil sunday menu post nah bro