New House Numbers and Zip Codes

ProtonPowder

Re: New House Numbers and Zip Codes

Postby ProtonPowder » March 31st, 2021, 2:46 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Most deeds have lot numbers. Some just have boundaries if you have a piece of land in the middle of nowhere with nothing but other people land around yours. Some deeds have the house number or LP number.

This TTpost change is in keeping with an international standard.
http://ttpost.net/wp-content/uploads/20 ... 2sided.pdf

Typical trinis, always griping that the system broken, then when somebody try to standardise the system, the same trinis complaining that they getting inconvenienced.

funny thing tho, as far as I can recall I don't remember hearing anything to that would indicate that the majority of the population had any problem with the postal service to this point. So if the people are now complaining, that means they were content with what they previously had. So what's the motivation to change what already works? With the changes, is TTPost going to automatically start efficient postal delivery to every house in the country, including those rural areas that never had their mail delivered before the change?

waiting patiently to see the organized chaos this gonna cause.

I not speaking on behalf of any postal service or the postmaster, but just because you not hearing about the issue doesnt mean it isnt happening.

On the one hand, trinidadians usually gripe, beyotch and moan in a corner and do nothing to remedy their situation, or they gripe, beyotch and moan in the open, and do nothing to remedy their situation. In 10 years people would be happy that this change happened, I wouldnt care about what they say now unless their points were valid.

"Since i born and know myself my grandfadda used to call this LP#5 Cunumunu Lane, and all of we was LP5 Cunumunu Lane, and I eh want no PNM telling me what my address should be" isnt a valid complaint.

Postby 88sins » March 31st, 2021, 5:50 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:Most deeds have lot numbers. Some just have boundaries if you have a piece of land in the middle of nowhere with nothing but other people land around yours. Some deeds have the house number or LP number.

This TTpost change is in keeping with an international standard.
http://ttpost.net/wp-content/uploads/20 ... 2sided.pdf

Typical trinis, always griping that the system broken, then when somebody try to standardise the system, the same trinis complaining that they getting inconvenienced.

funny thing tho, as far as I can recall I don't remember hearing anything to that would indicate that the majority of the population had any problem with the postal service to this point. So if the people are now complaining, that means they were content with what they previously had. So what's the motivation to change what already works? With the changes, is TTPost going to automatically start efficient postal delivery to every house in the country, including those rural areas that never had their mail delivered before the change?

waiting patiently to see the organized chaos this gonna cause.

I not speaking on behalf of any postal service or the postmaster, but just because you not hearing about the issue doesnt mean it isnt happening.

On the one hand, trinidadians usually gripe, beyotch and moan in a corner and do nothing to remedy their situation, or they gripe, beyotch and moan in the open, and do nothing to remedy their situation. In 10 years people would be happy that this change happened, I wouldnt care about what they say now unless their points were valid.

"Since i born and know myself my grandfadda used to call this LP#5 Cunumunu Lane, and all of we was LP5 Cunumunu Lane, and I eh want no PNM telling me what my address should be" isnt a valid complaint.

So tell me
What brand of glass cleaner do you use on that crystal ball of yours, that allows you to see so clearly that far ahead into the future?
So, you wouldn't care about what the people say unless you find their issues were "valid"? Good thing you only responsible for you, cuz with that attitude if you were in charge of something more important you would end up in problems. Some people are openly and actively defiant, some quietly and passively so. Your statement indicates that you think no matter what method the people use to voice their distaste, their opinions should only be disregarded and ignored. This is not the ideal way to get anything done, especially anything that can possibly have a negative affect on practically every resident in this country.

Humans are creatures of habit, and don't really like too much change that they have no control over. So for you, or TTPost, or chief Toolumhead, or anyone else to tell people "I say we doing this now, shut up and do as I say, and I say it go wuk how I say I want it to wuk", and expect people to happily and mindlessly accept it, whomsoever expects such is an idiot, and should also expect to be disappointed.

You say "because you don't hear about it that doesn't mean it doesn't happen", and I can cede that there's probably a lot of things that don't make major headlines. But here's the thing. It has plenty examples of issues people having all over this country that do make major headlines, and the people stand up and make it known that is a problem. We hear about these problems, almost daily, and by and large it's safe to say that most go unresolved for months and years, if they ever get resolved at all, across all sectors. Bad roads, no water, crappy healthcare services, long lines at govt offices to get basically things done, etc. Nobody have none of those as a priority. But now, just because some random petty functionary decides he has a problem with people address, and his solution is to implement a "zip code system" in a country so small that you can literally drive around the edge of the whole thing in less than 24 hrs, the entire population should what? Accept whatever they say or do and comply as mindless sheep? Nah, that eh go wuk.

If yuh want to turn everyone's life inside out and upside down to fix a problem you alone seeing that doesn't affect the majority, you have to be able to show the majority exactly how in the not too distant future it would be of a great benefit to them, to make the sacrifice of accepting the pressure for awhile now worth the gains down the road. Do that, and you won't have much if any opposition. If you fail to do so, then you can expect people to question and oppose.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 31st, 2021, 6:33 pm

Such misplaced anger.

Trinidadians want change but not to undergo change.

Postby 88sins » March 31st, 2021, 6:46 pm

Who's angry?

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » March 31st, 2021, 7:31 pm

If you want to elicit buy-in from the users, then your approach matters. If you plan just to push your plan down their throats, then not so much. The approach to the rollout has been poor. I have sent a query via email; waiting to see if I get a response.
Unless TTPOST plans not to deliver mail that uses the old address format, I can see a lot of people not conforming, especially having to update all their utilities/banks/etc.

ProtonPowder wrote:Trinidadians want change but not to undergo change.

Trinidadians want positive change... - FTFY.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 31st, 2021, 8:13 pm

All change is negative if people you don't like in charge of it.

Postby adnj » March 31st, 2021, 8:29 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:All change is negative if people you don't like in charge of it.
I'm looking forward to sequential addresses.

Postby 88sins » March 31st, 2021, 9:45 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:All change is negative if people you don't like in charge of it.

You are living in abject poverty when a man you despise delivers to you a gift of 1 billion dollars, no strings attached. That change in your financial status would be negative because it's a sudden and unexpected change? Or would it be negative because you don't like him?

Son, like I said, humans are creatures of habit, in addition to being very opportunistic, and don't really like change unless they can clearly see that the change in question is going to benefit them, and significantly more so than whatever they had prior to the change. Who bringing the change has essentially nothing to do with it.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 31st, 2021, 10:34 pm

You all really didn't get the reason that I stated that sentence.

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2021, 6:20 am

ProtonPowder wrote:You all really didn't get the reason that I stated that sentence.

If that's true, then that's nobody's fault but your own. But let's assume that it's true.

Please clarify.

I yield the floor to you sir.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » April 1st, 2021, 3:09 pm

Actually, I can say there was consultation with the public, at least in the penal/debe area. but I feel it wasn't highly publicized. TT Post held meetings at the PDRC building which was when we heard about this whole thing, about 2017 I think. I know of 2 different times it was held. My brother had gone to the first one and it was there he was given his house number. He had sent me the ad about the 2nd meeting for me to attend but I couldn't because of work.

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2021, 8:05 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Actually, I can say there was consultation with the public, at least in the penal/debe area. but I feel it wasn't highly publicized. TT Post held meetings at the PDRC building which was when we heard about this whole thing, about 2017 I think. I know of 2 different times it was held. My brother had gone to the first one and it was there he was given his house number. He had sent me the ad about the 2nd meeting for me to attend but I couldn't because of work.

So national postal policy alterations can be developed and implemented that affects the entire population, based on a couple meetings in one of the least populated areas in the country.
Ok, if that's the way to do it who is anybody that NOT living in Penal to have a problem with it.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » April 6th, 2021, 11:15 am

Musical Doc wrote:Actually, I can say there was consultation with the public, at least in the penal/debe area. but I feel it wasn't highly publicized. TT Post held meetings at the PDRC building which was when we heard about this whole thing, about 2017 I think. I know of 2 different times it was held. My brother had gone to the first one and it was there he was given his house number. He had sent me the ad about the 2nd meeting for me to attend but I couldn't because of work.

So national postal policy alterations can be developed and implemented that affects the entire population, based on a couple meetings in one of the least populated areas in the country.
Ok, if that's the way to do it who is anybody that NOT living in Penal to have a problem with it.

I'm just saying that if there was meetings in penal, I would like to think there were meetings at the other regional corporations in the country, which was probably poorly advertised just like the one in penal.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » April 6th, 2021, 11:52 am

Santa Cruz had consultation and everything was discussed. Very few attended even though it was online. So like here, many complaining but I have already changed my MAILING addy with most institutions I deal with from my PC.

blacklight

Postby blacklight » April 7th, 2021, 4:56 am

SLVR1 wrote:Santa Cruz had consultation and everything was discussed. Very few attended even though it was online. So like here, many complaining but I have already changed my MAILING addy with most institutions I deal with from my PC.

My address changed from xxxx, Santa Cruz to xxxx, Bourg Mulatresse, San Juan :roll: . I live after the santa cruz boundary. My only concern are legal issues with regards to deeds and searches when trying to sell a property.

Postby j.o.e » April 7th, 2021, 7:09 am

At this point if you’ve heard nothing is it safe to say your address is unaffected or is this exercise still ongoing ?

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2021, 9:27 am

j.o.e wrote:At this point if you’ve heard nothing is it safe to say your address is unaffected or is this exercise still ongoing ?

Ongoing. Eventually, everyone will have new numbers and zip codes.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » April 7th, 2021, 10:10 am

blacklight wrote:
SLVR1 wrote:Santa Cruz had consultation and everything was discussed. Very few attended even though it was online. So like here, many complaining but I have already changed my MAILING addy with most institutions I deal with from my PC.

My address changed from xxxx, Santa Cruz to xxxx, Bourg Mulatresse, San Juan :roll: . I live after the santa cruz boundary. My only concern are legal issues with regards to deeds and searches when trying to sell a property.

They originally put me under La Canoa and I complained and it was adjusted. Your lot number remains the same which is used on the deed etc.. So in my case my lot is still XX and that does not change ever. However my house number for mail is now a single digit. So when selling the lot number is what you use. This was confirmed by TTPOST. On my visit to RG I was advised same so I think the problem will be where persons use their mail number for their lot number. Bourg ends right before Sun Valley but Sun Valley at one point was part of Bourg then was adjusted to Santa Cruz. I know the exercise is a bit upsetting to many but any issues, email TTPOST and they will respond (in my case they did). Once persons are registered on with BIR, T&TEC etc. most allow the change easily online once the card is your name. I requested the card be reissued in the names of the deed holders so this helped me out. I confirmed with my bankers and they said just walk with the card for the change to be made and I already changed my utilities to have a supporting bills. For NIB, there is a download page with the info update form and you just have to drop it in.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 7th, 2021, 2:21 pm

Got my new address today.
What exactly is this to be used for?

Postby 88sins » April 7th, 2021, 9:23 pm

wtf wrote:Got my new address today.
What exactly is this to be used for?

From what I gather, you're expected to notify people and institutions that send you mail of the change and they then use the new address.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 3rd, 2021, 8:53 am

So is there an official Listing for the Postal codes in Trinidad now?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 3rd, 2021, 9:29 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So is there an official Listing for the Postal codes in Trinidad now?
Yes. Send ttpost an email to get your new address.

Postby redmanjp » November 3rd, 2021, 3:24 pm

what is the their email address?

eitech

New House Numbers and Zip Codes

Postby eitech » November 3rd, 2021, 6:26 pm

I remember when i moved into a new place and I went and changed my address on all my important documents. Then ttpost sent the updated address in the mail a week later. I was like wth. I aint making all dem run again

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2023, 8:57 am

anybody know if zip codes listing was ever published ?

Postby maj. tom » August 19th, 2023, 9:05 am

I didn't see anything published but you have to dig up on the website to get info.
You need to obtain your postal code by using the Query Form. https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeUsSTttYyxu4c5ZOqVZT6HZTP3pHpBt4vPpLvniiCGrzE71w/viewform

How it works. https://ttpost.net/index.php/2017/02/27/trinidad-tobago-postal-code-system-tt-pcs-2/
POSTAL CODE: 120110
12 01 10

-The first two digits (12) point to the Postal District and they identify the main TTPost delivery office which will process the mail. In this case, 12 would go to the Diego Martin delivery office.
-The second two digits (01) point to an area within the postal district called the Delivery Loop. They tell the delivery office which postal route will deliver the mail item. In this case, it is Route number 01 in the Diego Martin postal district.
-The last two digits (01) point to either a zone or building within the delivery loop. They identify the geographic location of a group of addresses or the address of large institution.

Wikipedia has info on the Districts: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Postal_codes_in_Trinidad_and_Tobago#List_of_Postal_Districts

Postby eliteauto » August 19th, 2023, 9:33 am

Used the query form earlier this week, got the response via email in about 15 minutes

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2023, 10:28 am

boy i tried digging up on the website and it’s painful

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 19th, 2023, 12:27 pm

You can email postcode@ttpost.net
They were very prompt.

Postby 88sins » August 19th, 2023, 9:52 pm

Can someone tell me something plz.
when the addresses and descriptions on the deeds to my properties don't match these new postal codes, which one of these two, deeds vs TTPO postal codes, the GoRTT, banks, etc, gonna be inclined to consider when conducting business, particularly for a property that DOESN'T get postal service?

I ask, because, as an example, on one of my properties, T&TEC put the physical address as something entirely different from the address on the deed to the property. As a direct result, if I present a T&TEC utility bill with that deed, ppl does watch me like 'wtf, dis is not 2,different places?'

So now, deed says one thing, utility says something else totally different, and TTPO says something else entirely unrelated to the previous two others. All for 1 single property.