kamakazi

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby kamakazi » July 10th, 2023, 1:42 am

dtopshottas wrote:Question?
Mirror Privacy tint
When installed how to prevent seeing through it at night? Will 5% tint do? I need the mirror finish all day and night. Is it possible?
Light up outside your house... Mirror tint only works for privacy when the outside is brighter than the inside

Postby Chimera » July 10th, 2023, 9:23 am

Or u can 5% tint before putting the mirror tint but u still need lights outside to be able to see outside.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » July 10th, 2023, 1:37 pm

dtopshottas wrote:Question?
Mirror Privacy tint
When installed how to prevent seeing through it at night? Will 5% tint do? I need the mirror finish all day and night. Is it possible?

Yeah. Not possible. I was In that same predicament.

It only works one way. Can see inside at night and can’t see inside during the day (unless extremely close).

What may work is the reflective tint first then a 5% tint after. That should decrease visibility at night.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 11th, 2023, 8:30 am

Fellaz

Options for flood gates

Its to fit over them metal security doors, so we looking at possibly adding some mods to the wall/floor to accommodate fitment.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 25th, 2023, 12:56 pm

where have the bess price on pvc ceiling and vinyl floors rite now?
Looking to diy a ceiling and flooring, for small 9x20 space, any alternative materials that cheaper or perhaps easier for diyer.
I have no experience at all in doin this other than watching folks do it lol.

Gixxerrider

Postby Gixxerrider » July 25th, 2023, 1:32 pm

@daxt0r Contact 368 3390 for ceiling and floors

Postby maj. tom » July 29th, 2023, 4:16 pm

Builders and structural engineers:

I've never seen this block arrangement done ever, but is there anything wrong with laying blocks this way?
The interlocking should make the wall stronger? What are the flaws in this?

Second >> should the concrete load bearing pillars be poured first before laying blocks?

matix

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby matix » July 29th, 2023, 5:10 pm

maj. tom wrote:Builders and structural engineers:

I've never seen this block arrangement done ever, but is there anything wrong with laying blocks this way?

Second >> should the concrete load bearing pillars be poured first before laying blocks?

This has to be for a design without plastering. Notice how the spaces between the blocks are thoroughly cleaned.
Once it isn’t a load bearing or structural wall it’s fine.
Those are also solid blocks, no hollow areas for rebar.

Postby adnj » July 29th, 2023, 5:44 pm

maj. tom wrote:Builders and structural engineers:

This is a decorative, non-load bearing wall design without reinforcement bars or a concrete core.

Load bearing columns are typically formed and cast prior to raising partition walls but can be done after. Wall pillars are typically cast after the wall is construction to integrate the pillar into the wall construction.

Some of the patterns listed in this illustration can be reinforced for walls that will be load bearing.

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » August 2nd, 2023, 1:50 pm

hey folks, need to cast a slab 20'x7'x4"
working out to 1.73 cubic yards.
How much material would I need if I were to DIY this as a weekend project?

carluva

Postby carluva » August 2nd, 2023, 2:10 pm

Postby The_Honourable » August 8th, 2023, 7:58 pm

Tuners, planning to re-sheet a roof and would like to "fireproof" the wooden rafters which is still in very good condition. Is there some type of fire-retardant paint or solution available locally that can be applied on the rafters?

solarkh

Postby solarkh » August 8th, 2023, 8:43 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Tuners, planning to re-sheet a roof and would like to "fireproof" the wooden rafters which is still in very good condition. Is there some type of fire-retardant paint or solution available locally that can be applied on the rafters?

Intumescent Fire Paint.

Call Alltrin Ltd

Lot C, Don Miguel Rd Ext, San Juan
Tel: (868) 622 6216

Postby The_Honourable » August 9th, 2023, 11:09 am

solarkh wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Tuners, planning to re-sheet a roof and would like to "fireproof" the wooden rafters which is still in very good condition. Is there some type of fire-retardant paint or solution available locally that can be applied on the rafters?

Intumescent Fire Paint.

Call Alltrin Ltd

Lot C, Don Miguel Rd Ext, San Juan
Tel: (868) 622 6216

Exactly what i'm looking for, now to find a contractor to apply it. Thank you Solarkh 8-)

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » August 17th, 2023, 11:10 am

Hey 2NRS,

What is the best primer and sealer for gypsum ceilings?

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 1st, 2023, 9:34 pm

Who sells rigid foam insulation board locally, preferably 2" thick? Anybody have an average price per sf?

matix

Postby matix » September 2nd, 2023, 6:23 am

NR8 wrote:Who sells rigid foam insulation board locally, preferably 2" thick? Anybody have an average price per sf?

Try MecalFab

medalist

Postby medalist » September 10th, 2023, 11:39 am

By chance anyone in here have any Sherwin Williams Loxon Primer on hand/ didn't use to sell?

Postby Rovin » September 15th, 2023, 12:42 pm

so i see a video on fb about ah man saying something like : lemme teach allyuh somtin, bout not buttering d edges of clay blocks how d plaster will go between & lock een better , ppl arguing bout who right\wrong & engineers saying dis\dat ...

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 17th, 2023, 7:25 pm

[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230917/8e7687ca1ddc46369d1dfa3c8d015da9.jpg[/img]

I trying my hand with flooring. Spc 6.5mil. If I had known it was this easy to do eh..

Anyone here ever made their own mattress base?? Looks simple enough but I don’t have a table saw so I might have to fight up with the circular

matix

Postby matix » September 17th, 2023, 7:57 pm

nick639v2 wrote:[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230917/8e7687ca1ddc46369d1dfa3c8d015da9.jpg[/img]

I trying my hand with flooring. Spc 6.5mil. If I had known it was this easy to do eh..

Anyone here ever made their own mattress base?? Looks simple enough but I don’t have a table saw so I might have to fight up with the circular

Flooring looks good.

Yes a circle saw is fine. Just treat the wood for termite prevention.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2023, 2:40 pm

The SPC flooring is very attractively priced. I wonder what the drawbacks are

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 18th, 2023, 3:15 pm

What is the best age to buy or build your own home?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2023, 3:32 pm

AlphaMan wrote:What is the best age to buy or build your own home?

as early as you can afford it.
Land appreciates.
Houses don't devalue.
Building material cost per sqft increase every year.

nick639v2

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby nick639v2 » September 19th, 2023, 9:48 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:The SPC flooring is very attractively priced. I wonder what the drawbacks are

Did my research and being spc and the proper push and lock system it definitely is better than the laminate and pvc counter parts that break and peel… I tried a couple pieces and it really is waterproof at the joints once it’s locked, so far I’m upgrading from 20 year old carpet so it’s benefits galore for me…

I intentionally tried to peel it and dig it out too. Installing I used a spare piece for a buffer while hammering and it lasted an entire room of beating with a mallet.

I’m onto my second room installing and it’s going well except for my knees rip. I would definitely say stick to 5.5mm and up and after 4 sheets it does not budge! 17$ a sqft, comes with the rubber backing.. bought by grade1 in Charlieville..

Postby Chimera » September 19th, 2023, 11:10 am

yeah its waterproof for sure

i soak some extra pieces in bucket of water for months and it never absorb or warp or anything

Postby pugboy » September 24th, 2023, 6:06 pm

apparently in woodbrook pos a building max height is 8.5m

i could be wrong but many 2 storey buildings would be over that incl roof

https://guardian.co.tt/news/dispute-ove ... 309527d58f

Postby supercharged turbo » October 4th, 2023, 9:46 pm

I'm looking for a durable floor paint for a concrete floor in a garage.What allyuh recommend?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 5th, 2023, 6:06 am

supercharged turbo wrote:I'm looking for a durable floor paint for a concrete floor in a garage.What allyuh recommend?

Acid wash, penetrating liquid then Crete Art floor paint. Neighbor beating his shed with a 3 tonne truck and high traffic of cars and it held up 5 years so far

Postby 88sins » October 6th, 2023, 5:23 pm

AlphaMan wrote:What is the best age to buy or build your own home?

Ideally, to finish any time before you need to move out yuh parents house. The younger, the better.

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Land appreciates.
Houses don't devalue.
Building material cost per sqft increase every year.

All relatively correct, except for the house part kinda.

Buildings do lose value, could be due to a lack of maintenance, increased criminal activity in the area leadingtl to a lack ofdesirability, negative effects of poor infrastructure in the area, structural defects exposed or caused by natural disaster or other means like termites eating out the roof beams and laths, tree leaves on the roof causing it to rust,/rot old or improper wiring causing short circuits and risk of fire, neighbor water passing thru the property & slowly undermining your foundation, these types of things.