Offshore

Speedy1234

Offshore

Postby Speedy1234 » October 4th, 2023, 9:22 pm

What contractors or companies can I apply for work as a Utility Hands for Offshore? What's the salary like for 14 days working Offshore as a Utility Hand?

Cantmis

Re: Offshore

Postby Cantmis » October 4th, 2023, 10:07 pm

What are your qualifications?

Postby zoom rader » October 4th, 2023, 10:30 pm

Why u wanna work offshore as a contractor?

The pay is about the same as non-offshore and even less.

Contractors collect all the money and pay u a pittance.

Eg, in 1990 I worked offshore in Trini and a deck hand was paid $40 per/hr as contractor rate. The contractor took $29 for himself, and the deck hand got $11.

Plus, u only get paid for the hours u work as a contractor.

Only the company men come out good in the offshore industry as Trini labour laws for contractor employees are non-existent.

Postby RBphoto » October 4th, 2023, 10:40 pm

Dude, try to get hired by a major multinational first. When you work for a contractor, you will ketch your nenen because the multinationals look at their contractors as providing a service and if they take the contractor's workers, they won't get the same value hiring you at their rate to do the same job. Is a perspective thing. Do what you have to do to live tho.

Postby zoom rader » October 4th, 2023, 11:01 pm

I worked along Contractor employees, the lower jobs always got robbed by the employer. Roustabouts, deckhands, cooks, cleaners ects .

Even the technician contractor got robbed. E&I, Mechs ect.

Contractor employer was paid premium offshore rates but the employees never saw this money.

Trini offshore Contractors are a scam. Only the Company men come out good.

Speedy1234

Postby Speedy1234 » October 5th, 2023, 7:23 am

zoom rader wrote:I worked along Contractor employees, the lower jobs always got robbed by the employer. Roustabouts, deckhands, cooks, cleaners ects .

Contractor employer was paid premium offshore rates but the employees never saw this money.

So what offshore companies can I apply for as a Utility Hand? Whats the salary like for a utility hand offshore for 14 days on?

Postby zoom rader » October 5th, 2023, 10:41 am

Speedy1234 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:I worked along Contractor employees, the lower jobs always got robbed by the employer. Roustabouts, deckhands, cooks, cleaners ects .

So what offshore companies can I apply for as a Utility Hand? Whats the salary like for a utility hand offshore for 14 days on?
I can say for now, I left trini offshore in 1993, and the pay for deckhands was very poor. You only get one 14 day pay for the month. U don't get paid for ur time at home. In those days staff turn around was high. Guys would leave for better paying jobs on land.

Maybe some tuners can advise on present day pay.

Postby nervewrecker » October 5th, 2023, 8:48 pm

Most of who I asked they say you clock more working on land unless you working for the parent company direct. Same same as everyone said.

Others describe it as a dressed up metal prison. Unless you accustomed with isolation it's not for you. Takes a mental toll on you. There is no life, no taking time off and / or running away from work to go buss a lime or attend to family.

Personally, I don't care. I don't value family and want to be as far from them as possible, I'm accustomed to working shift so I'm adjusted to isolation and miss it. I want to work in a new environment and It's not so much about the money, it's because I like the job and the experience I'm getting.

Supposed to go on a few platforms next month to oversee some works but very open to longer term employment in the field. May also further my studies into mechatronics engineering one time unless something seems more suitable.

So shameless plug, anyone have any links...pm me. Electrical and instrumentation or electrical.

Postby alfa » October 5th, 2023, 10:00 pm

I hear the food does be bess though

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 5th, 2023, 10:38 pm

Honestly it's really not for everyone and there is no shame in that.

To be a deckhand you will need to be under a contractor service company I.e el dorado offshore, kenson or jsl.

Pay is around 5 to 700 ttd a day. You only get paid the days you work.

You not guaranteed a fixed cycle or day's every month. So catch when you can.

It is cut throat. Men will dutty your name to take your spot.

Company men will chain you up to buy them beers after and have you spending your money stupid stupid.

Then send you for drug test just on follies.

All the old tropes you hear about offshore life are correct.

Food is iffy. May have a good chef. May not. What you might lack in quality you could make up with quantity.

I am currently offshore.

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2023, 6:32 pm

The whole industry is cut throat. I never see so much big man wearing panty, ever. No wonder women don't hang panty out on clothes line to dry again, man want to wear it.

It's so sad that it's the ones who are the reason why some many safety protocols in place are the ones working. They are straight up hazards and incompetent.

Offshore is not for you if you involved with someone or married and your gyul a lil loose. Cuz they just like a platform, need man on top them to survive. As you turn your back is horn and horn can come from Tiida man, neighbour or boys as young as 15 years old that will be total your ride and leave your gyul in a coma while you coasting you offshore.

Postby nervewrecker » October 6th, 2023, 8:38 pm

Did I mention pirates? Yes, pirates.

Was having a chat with someone from another company prior to commencing a shutdown of a facility. He mentioned armed pirates as part of a problem they have on platforms.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2023, 7:30 am

I did 8 yrs in Scotland and was my best working time. In the UK you are only good as ur last trip. If u mess up they will fire you, they leave no room for mistakes.

Food was first class, working condition best. Its not for everyone. Most times is 3wk at 12hrs shifts and 3wks home. Pay was £500+ per day and u don't get paid for ur off cycle.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 7th, 2023, 12:05 pm

Zoom you was there in Thatcher years? Ah hear dem Ingles talk bout tax ease in she years, but complain about vat and ting.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2023, 6:15 pm

viedcht wrote:Zoom you was there in Thatcher years? Ah hear dem Ingles talk bout tax ease in she years, but complain about vat and ting.
Nope, but I avoided paying UK employee taxes as high as 40% by setting up my own company and paying only cooperate taxes. Nearly all offshore workers ,work for themselves as a limited company.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 11th, 2023, 4:38 pm

Titan hires galley hands. Titan gets subcontracts from Aramak.
Believe Atermis also hires galley hands

I believe the pay for gally hands is really shitty. Take home of around 4000 for the week. Remember u work 2 week hitch or a month hitch and get nothing on your off time.
Most places galley hand have to work a min of 12 hours daily and no some how they no longer pay overtime like before

Postby nervewrecker » October 11th, 2023, 8:48 pm

The reality of the situation is work hard to get and a lot of people got laid off. Boils down to either you want it or not at the conditions offered. No OT is still better than no salary. The rates posted here are far more than what some people work for. In fact some of the figures quoted for a week in here is what some men clock in a whole month if they lucky. Not getting paid for when you not working, men will take that. It's not just these places listed here can be used as avenues into the offshore environment as there are multiple companies that provide various services. The one day being spent at nutec you will meet a variety of people doing a variety of things and a variety of careers that are available as options. I never even know it had so many options until I chat with everyone as to what they going to be doing.

Humble yourself and take what you get.