PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Antorstreams

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Antorstreams » July 7th, 2023, 12:49 pm

Dell RTX3080 removed from my Alienware Aurora R8 reason for swap upgraded to 40 series
No overclock 1 year old minimal gaming on weekends

this is a great size card for medium cases as it has a max length of just 267mm
$3000 location Diego Martin.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=771719

Postby maj. tom » August 19th, 2023, 8:38 am

Was seeing some weird vids going on about Linus Tech Tips and they stopped publishing content.
So dig into their forum. It's bad. As with any tech-bro company, the behind the scenes suck for the workers. And it's a huge $100M company now so it's a lot of devious practices going on to keep that profit margin $$$$ steady. Lots of illegal stuff in Canada's employment and workers rights laws. How they treat vendors that send prototypes to test. That their touted testing and benchmarking is a lot of bs.

Anyway, here's the actual real shitz that happened that they haven't addressed publicly.
https://threadreaderapp.com/thread/1691693740254228741.html
Some who follow LTT would remember Madison and how she was suddenly and unexpectedly hired from winning a promotion contest on the channel and then disappeared soon after only appearing in a few videos. Pretty difficult reading all that and realizing who Linus and his wife (HR) and his management team really are behind what they show us in the edited video cuts.

Postby st7 » August 19th, 2023, 1:31 pm

well we know how ppl love to embellish the truth to be the victim. a lot of things she posting seems off. for example, the screenshot where linus was talking about how an NDA cannot stop an employee from reporting misbehaviour and she summarize it as something else. and talking about managing the onlyfans account which was an april fools joke. all this sounds like she's been emotionally posting. not saying any of it is true, but not saying any of it is false either.

LTT posted a video regarding the prototype though, and they said (not in the video i believe) they're going to hire an external team to investigate the claims that person is making. so we'll see what comes out of it.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 24th, 2023, 5:17 pm

So last upgrade i had for PC was in 2005

so am due a upgrade would u suggest the 13600 or 14600

was thinking a i5 cause only game i play is fifa

thanks in advance

Postby paid_influencer » October 24th, 2023, 5:36 pm

yes ps5

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 24th, 2023, 7:20 pm

fred1266 wrote:So last upgrade i had for PC was in 2005

so am due a upgrade would u suggest the 13600 or 14600

was thinking a i5 cause only game i play is fifa

thanks in advance

A 250W CPU? :shock:

After all the recent Electricity increases, I say go with Ryzen yes. I recently bought a 105W Ryzen 5 7600x processor, mobo and DDR5 combo.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » October 24th, 2023, 7:43 pm

ok thanks

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2023, 6:16 am

i does always forget who here deals with fixing/upgrading desktops

one of my office pc's conk out on me,

it was custom built in 2016, last year one of the hdmi ports on the graphics card stop working

now i pressing the power button and i hearing it coming on...i think it on
but i not seeing anything

i honestly don't have time to troubleshoot myself , just need it fixed without upgrading too much

i removed the graphics card completely and plugged into the board vga but no luck

so me eh know wha gwan

who fixing and have time?

Postby maj. tom » November 26th, 2023, 7:40 am

yuh sure the monitor eh gone through if it not working with the onboard vga either?

Wizz does repairs, but 2016 kinda long ago in terms of computer hardware. You could just get one of those new Dell or HP or Lenovo business units for Office work. That's Optiplex, Elite or ThinkStation lines, not the regular consumer line.

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2023, 8:13 am

nah the monitors are working with another tower that i have

yeahh i know the tech old but.....some of the software i have won't easily run or install on a new build or install

just ideally want to get the present one to work

that you recommending there is desktops or laptops?

i really need 2-3 video outputs for what i does be doing

Postby maj. tom » November 26th, 2023, 9:34 am

The above brands are the business model desktops.

Is not for gaming right or graphics design right? Office work. Spreadsheets, databases, documents. Win 11 Pro security.

You can go on Amazon and bring down something less than $1000 USD. Look an example link. 3 monitors DisplayPort.
https://www.amazon.com/Dell-OptiPlex-7010-Plus-Computer/dp/B0C4TG78MM/

As for running old software, well there's VMWare or VirtualBox and you run a virtual machine on your system. The program only works on Windows XP, or Win 7 load up the OS image and run it. No use operating with old stuff that lacking updates and security and then malware and hackers do a ransomware mischief on your critical systems for your business.

Postby Chimera » November 26th, 2023, 10:39 am

Nah not for gaming at all

Basically excel and word docs lol

Postby gastly369 » December 4th, 2023, 3:07 pm

Yeh fellas tmrw long overdue and may be many of us last "gta" will be seeing
gta-6-cost-200-v0-y3dfectn780c1.jpg

Postby gastly369 » December 4th, 2023, 7:59 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 4th, 2023, 8:20 pm

^ I' wondering if they going to have AI NPC's in the game? It only makes sense at this stage and given GTA's setup it would be the perfect opportunity.

Postby Les Bain » December 4th, 2023, 9:16 pm

GTA is for the meme dancing tiktok generation now, and that's fine.
I'll play it in 10 years when it's free on Epic Games.

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2023, 9:20 pm

seeing endless tiktoks with runescape popping up all over

i log on yesterday for the first time in 5 or 6 years just to see if i remembered the password lol

yardie_tnt

Postby yardie_tnt » December 5th, 2023, 9:02 pm

Anyone can confirm if xbox game pass works in T&T? Would I have to use a VPN if I had a US account?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 5th, 2023, 9:16 pm

yardie_tnt wrote:Anyone can confirm if xbox game pass works in T&T? Would I have to use a VPN if I had a US account?

Confirmed, I’ve been running game pass for 2 years now. No vpn, just US outlook/microsoft account.

I bought the game pass digital codes through Amazon/G2A

yardie_tnt

Postby yardie_tnt » December 5th, 2023, 9:37 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
yardie_tnt wrote:Anyone can confirm if xbox game pass works in T&T? Would I have to use a VPN if I had a US account?

Confirmed, I’ve been running game pass for 2 years now. No vpn, just US outlook/microsoft account.

I bought the game pass digital codes through Amazon/G2A

Ok thanks hoss - will try to get an XBOX Series S then

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2023, 9:44 pm

i have an xbax series s and I can't get gamepass 1-month code from amazon to load.

says the code is for another region. my account is a us account from xbox360 days

the $10 card from amazon working and I can buy games from it. but can't subscribe to gamepass (asks for a credit card even tho I have the funds preloaded on the account) or load the gamepass code.

I have the xbax at my office but i ent get chance to play it long time now. so it just pack up. whenever i try to play it, is one setta updates it have to do and whatever free time I had gone waiting for it to update. flight simulator is the worst for updates

Postby gastly369 » December 6th, 2023, 1:06 am

paid_influencer wrote:i have an xbax series s and I can't get gamepass 1-month code from amazon to load.

says the code is for another region. my account is a us account from xbox360 days

the $10 card from amazon working and I can buy games from it. but can't subscribe to gamepass (asks for a credit card even tho I have the funds preloaded on the account) or load the gamepass code.

I have the xbax at my office but i ent get chance to play it long time now. so it just pack up. whenever i try to play it, is one setta updates it have to do and whatever free time I had gone waiting for it to update. flight simulator is the worst for updates
Use free vpn app on phone login to your xbox account and redeem code on https://redeem.microsoft.com/

Use to use turkey gamepass ultimate for years(cost was 18usd for 3 months ultimate) since the new price adjustment cant seem to get any sadly

JayBoi90

Postby JayBoi90 » December 10th, 2023, 9:38 am

DMan7 wrote:^ I' wondering if they going to have AI NPC's in the game? It only makes sense at this stage and given GTA's setup it would be the perfect opportunity.

They might be able to, alpaca 7B would be all they'd need and that would require about 4GB of RAM to run locally. Not sure if they'd be able to use the tensor cores on People's systems and Nvidia's nonsense might keep the whole technology behind (Even though AMD has the same tech, they don't have much software written for them for high level AI).

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2023, 8:05 pm

seeing some used devices like this Dell Precision 3431 SFF Desktop 3.10Ghz i9-9900 32GB RAM 512GB SSD WIN 10 PRO.
Dell Precision 3431 SFF Desktop 3.10Ghz i9-9900 32GB RAM 512GB SSD WIN 10 PRO

for 300-500 USD on ebay/amazon

some with a P1000 graphics card https://www.amazon.com/PNY-NVIDIA-Profe ... B06X9SC9SD

what allyuh think about that for a office PC

Postby st7 » December 11th, 2023, 8:38 pm

yeah u wont hadda upgrade for 8 years if so short

Postby paid_influencer » December 11th, 2023, 8:46 pm

$500 usd putting you in mac mini territory [[brand new]]

mac mini real hard to beat as an office pc

the mac apps for office work (pages, numbers, keynote) are free and work wonderfully. you save plenty $$$ instead of buying/subscribing to office. the OS generally plenty less annoying too, none of that cheapy 'windows' feeling

the hardware excellent, nothing like fan noise coming from that. and even an old one like the m1 mac mini will work completely flawlessly for office work

Postby Chimera » December 11th, 2023, 10:44 pm

never liked apple or mac devices

bidding on a i9-9900 with 64gb ram 512gb ssd and 4tb HDD with p1000 graphics card right now
should get it for around 400 usd

Postby Les Bain » February 7th, 2024, 8:53 pm

Where can I get a PSP serviced locally? I have a 3001 model that's basically been boxed over 5 years now. It doesn't appear to charge fully as the orange led turns off instead of green, the battery doesn't hold a charge and the UMD drive is noisy and doesn't access data as quickly as it used to.

I just want to play Hot Shots Golf again.

Postby Chimera » February 14th, 2024, 10:13 pm

what allyuh think about this
Dell Precision 3431 3GHz i7-9700 Nvidia Quadro P620 16GB RAM 512GB SSD Win11 Pro

used, about $2500 landed

really for office work, not autocad or anything heavy like that

i gonna end up with 3 full size computer towers and no use for them yes
wonder if them thing have any resale value

Postby adnj » February 14th, 2024, 11:03 pm

If you are willing to buy a new Acer mini instead:

Use the $200 coupon and at checkout add promotion code 30FBO7FL for a total discount of $397.70.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0CSCZ3MTY