jhonnieblue

Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby jhonnieblue » March 9th, 2024, 2:12 pm

matr1x wrote:
matr1x wrote:Why would anyone want to live in Canada?
Cause it have zero PNM guntas wanting to buss u up or invade ur home.

Yeah, but they hate east Indians
Uk hated East Indians too in the 60s & 70s,

Who's the Prime minister? And Scotland?

Only a matter of time for an Indian leader in Canada

UK is real crap right now, place stink dirty and infrastructure in a mess. So don’t rate it up because an Indian running it. He doing a piss poor job. Was there last week. Couldn’t wait to leave. Only one set of Pakistani and Indian everywhere begging and slumming it out.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 9th, 2024, 3:57 pm

The main point of moving away is to be safe, to set yourself up to succeed or to live in relative luxury while doing whatever you want to do. The last is only realistically achievable if you didn't waste your time skimming every extra you could off the Trini experience, which was fairly easy if you had a link with someone. If you used to be wotless and spend the whole day at work on 4chan and took the advice of the autistic sages there and bought Bitcoin/Litecoin/Ethereum in the early 2010s then you also have it made. The good thing about third world countries is that many of them are more developed than Trinidad, while still costing less. Of course there might be a language barrier, but if you've enough money to have a house and car in Trinidad, then you have enough money to have a house and land in one of these places and have quite a bit leftover. People are genuinely struggling in North America and Europe, and you shouldn't want to go and struggle there with them. Trinis have pushed themselves up in so many things that in those places, it's more of an "Oh, you're Trini...." rather than an "Oh, that's cool! Tell me about that place!". Most third world countries are also much easier to adjust to since they're not running off the Anglo-Germanic/East Asian live and die for the company bottom line model. Nice, slow life with liming, drinking and barbeque with music. Unless you plan to transition from Baboolal from Caroni to Bob from Cincinnati, it's much easier to adapt and even thrive. What I am saying is, when you go abroad, you want to be the one getting the food delivered, not the one delivering the food.

Postby 88sins » March 9th, 2024, 4:42 pm

Quite agree with this post.
Only thing you omitted, was one more reason for migration.
And that is so that future generations, if taught well by their parents and grandparents, can have an opportunity to be better than their migrant parents, IF they work for it.

An old schoolmate of mine migrated to Canada right after cxc. His parents didn't even wait for results.
Today, he's running his own business, and his two primary clients are of all entities the US DoD and Microsoft.
The opportunities are there, if you can see them and are prepared to seize them.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 9th, 2024, 4:52 pm

88sins wrote:Quite agree with this post.
And that is so that future generations, if taught well by their parents and grandparents, can have an opportunity to be better than their migrant parents, IF they work for it.

An old schoolmate of mine migrated to Canada right after cxc. His parents didn't even wait for results.
Today, he's running his own business, and his two primary clients are of all entities the US DoD and Microsoft.
The opportunities are there, if you can see them and are prepared to seize them.

Only if you take them and put them in an environment without other Trinis/Caribbean people. Put them in a school with only White people or East Asians where they are forced to compete and adapt. If you move to one of the diaspora areas, it will be like they never left. In Canada, Alberta, in the US, Texas or the Midwest. Or other countries altogether. I have some cousins, my same age who grew up in the Caribbean ghetto areas of Toronto and they are the exact same as Trinis back here because they weren't made to conform to anything and grew up in an ethnic enclave where "badmanism" was what the young people around them aspired to.

Postby 88sins » March 9th, 2024, 5:24 pm

triniterribletim wrote:

Only if you take them and put them in an environment without other Trinis/Caribbean people. Put them in a school with only White people or East Asians where they are forced to compete and adapt. If you move to one of the diaspora areas, it will be like they never left. In Canada, Alberta, in the US, Texas or the Midwest. Or other countries altogether. I have some cousins, my same age who grew up in the Caribbean ghetto areas of Toronto and they are the exact same as Trinis back here because they weren't made to conform to anything and grew up in an ethnic enclave where "badmanism" was what the young people around them aspired to.

bruh, it ain't always about ethnicity or regional origins.
There PLENTY broke af Africans, Asians, Caucasians, and Middle Easterners to be found in the world, from damn near any country in the world. Pull a country name from a hat, and it have brokies living in their own country and abroad.
But you see that things known as ambition, drive, sacrifice, effort and most importantly wisdom and exercising sound judgment?
I dare ANYBODY to apply & adhere to these principles in life and fail.

Postby alfa » March 9th, 2024, 7:52 pm

I know Trinis who migrated to the US and Canada many years ago. Their children benefited from the move but they themselves remained the US version of sufferers, renting in white folks basement, babysitting or doing menial jobs whilst hiding from authorities. They remained in the Caribbean dominated areas of Brooklyn, Queens, Broward etc and doing the same things they used to do back home. Of course the dollar is 7 to 1 so when they come back for vacation people think they're living it up and some of them but apartments back home on family land. But other than that I don't know if that generation of people make a good move. They could have been doing the same thing here and close to retirement by now with a public service pension on the way in their own home and not have to fight the cold

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2024, 8:09 pm

it is correct that a mediocre migrant can end up in a mediocre life abroad but they can still survive benefit from a place where many systems work and are not broken like here
and if they can apply themselves they have have better chance of big success simply due to much wider scope of opportunities across the board and not have to worry about corruption or a certain % always getting ahead or having to pay a bribe

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 9th, 2024, 11:11 pm

triniterribletim wrote:

bruh, it ain't always about ethnicity or regional origins.
There PLENTY broke af Africans, Asians, Caucasians, and Middle Easterners to be found in the world, from damn near any country in the world. Pull a country name from a hat, and it have brokies living in their own country and abroad.
But you see that things known as ambition, drive, sacrifice, effort and most importantly wisdom and exercising sound judgment?
I dare ANYBODY to apply & adhere to these principles in life and fail.

Ethnic enclavism becomes a problem when foreigners aren't made to conform to the basic standards of living in another country, and having at least a vague sense of belonging to the place and the awareness of the cultural mores there. Canada and the US used to do this, but don't anymore for fear of "racism", so you remove that pressure to conform to basic levels of societal cohesion and you start having breakdowns in the society. I've been to Liberty Avenue, I've been all over Toronto, I've seen firsthand the areas dominated by certain enclavist diaspora groups. Go see what Caribbean folks have done to places like Jane and Finch or Scarborough in Toronto. Or to give a non-Caribbean example, the Indians in Brampton. Even my own family members are no exception in Hamilton and Hoxton. The older ones may have made something out of themselves, but the younger ones are spitting images of all the worst traits of Trinis, because all they surround themselves with is Trini-Canadians and FoB Trinis. If their parents didn't prop them up, they would be SoL. The pressure to adapt and conform was simply not there for them, and they are worse off for it. They spend all year waiting for Carnival so they can fly down, post some Instagram photos and then back to Canada. I hosted them often when I still lived in Trinidad and you would swear that they were more Trini than I was. If you have nothing to challenge you and to aspire to and you refuse to challenge yourself, you will just stagnate. It used to be becoming like the people who built and keep the country you move to running, or surpass them, but now it's just largely do nothing and if they actually do something, it's grievance mongering.

Postby 88sins » March 10th, 2024, 6:39 am

At the end of the day, individuals have to motivate themselves bruh. You can be surrounded by whoever or whatever, but ultimately you have to decide who you are going to be and what you are going to do with your existence.
You have to understand that the only thing keeping you a certain way, is you, not really the people around you. If one really believes that it's the people around you that are keeping you a certain way, it's most likely due to weakness and a lack of will on your part.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 10th, 2024, 7:24 am

88sins wrote:At the end of the day, individuals have to motivate themselves bruh. You can be surrounded by whoever or whatever, but ultimately you have to decide who you are going to be and what you are going to do with your existence.
You have to understand that the only thing keeping you a certain way, is you, not really the people around you. If one really believes that it's the people around you that are keeping you a certain way, it's most likely due to weakness and a lack of will on your part.

Humans are not automatons divorced from the circumstances of the society they are born into, the people they are surrounded by and the people they surround themselves with. Humans are social animals at the end of the day, and oftentimes are likely to go along with herd pressures. If the herd pressures were positive, and you surround yourself with positive people and hard workers, then you are more likely to succeed, than surrounding yourself with layabouts whose highest ambition is scoring enough cash for their next high. If you go to Japan, you have to adapt to the pressures of that society, or you will be a pariah. It used to be the same social contract that was enforced upon immigrants once upon a time, which doesn't necessarily require a cultural divorce from your origins, but being able to compartmentalize that and adopt the same mores as the people around you. With the rise of enclavism, people move to a mirror image of what they left and don't feel that positive societal pressure to conform and succeed, and thus remain enmeshed in what they always were and often live some caricature of their former lives, and upon not seeing the success of them and their peers seek alternative solutions as to why that is, rather than looking at themselves. It is best to throw Trini immigrants into a situation entirely unfamiliar, because adapt or die is a great motivator for success. Comfy ethnic enclave dwelling only enables sloth and remaining set in your ways.

Postby mero » March 10th, 2024, 8:20 am

Imagine thinking the only way to succeed as a migrant is distancing yourself from and scorning your own diaspora and assimilating to Caucasians and Asians.

D good ole model minority myth.

The self loathe never ends

Postby 88sins » March 10th, 2024, 9:07 am

triniterribletim wrote:
88sins wrote:At the end of the day, individuals have to motivate themselves bruh. You can be surrounded by whoever or whatever, but ultimately you have to decide who you are going to be and what you are going to do with your existence.

Humans are not automatons divorced from the circumstances of the society they are born into, the people they are surrounded by and the people they surround themselves with. Humans are social animals at the end of the day, and oftentimes are likely to go along with herd pressures. If the herd pressures were positive, and you surround yourself with positive people and hard workers, then you are more likely to succeed, than surrounding yourself with layabouts whose highest ambition is scoring enough cash for their next high. If you go to Japan, you have to adapt to the pressures of that society, or you will be a pariah. It used to be the same social contract that was enforced upon immigrants once upon a time, which doesn't necessarily require a cultural divorce from your origins, but being able to compartmentalize that and adopt the same mores as the people around you. With the rise of enclavism, people move to a mirror image of what they left and don't feel that positive societal pressure to conform and succeed, and thus remain enmeshed in what they always were and often live some caricature of their former lives, and upon not seeing the success of them and their peers seek alternative solutions as to why that is, rather than looking at themselves. It is best to throw Trini immigrants into a situation entirely unfamiliar, because adapt or die is a great motivator for success. Comfy ethnic enclave dwelling only enables sloth and remaining set in your ways.

My grandfather used to say something when I was a pup. He used to say
"When in Rome, by all means, you may do as the Roman's do, if you so desire. But never forget, you were born a Greek."
Because at the end of it all, if you are eager to abandon who and where you came from, you may get lost on your way to where you think you going. And if you aren't accepted by the new place and people in your life that you abandoned your heritage for, you will find yourself eating that whole humble pie by yourself, and probably need to tuck tail and crawl back to what you so eagerly discarded.
No society is perfect, they all have faults of some sort. So don't be quick to decry your people for their few negative aspects, to take on another society's negative aspects.

Postby alfa » March 10th, 2024, 9:31 am

I think most migrants do maintain their culture and is evident from the areas they live to the music they listen to, at least the first generation ones. When relatives go to visit them and expect to be taken to a true American lunch experience like cracker barrel they usually carry them to Joy sawh roti shop lol. I think the culture is alive and well and they never fully assimilate which I'm not sure is good or bad. How many legal migrants even own an AR 15, the quintessential landmark of being American? Lol
Even the second generation both there who's never been to the Caribbean still maintain cultural aspects because they were raised by Caribbean parents in a similarly influenced home

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 10th, 2024, 9:49 am

Honestly you need to properly know yourself before embarking on something like this. You won't always be ready, I did it a decade ago and came back.

Not that life wasn't better away, I had a good job, made lots of friends. But all my friends and family were back home. Trinidad was doing well (PP time) and I felt like I didn't wanna miss out.

I moved back, and it was good for a period of time. But living abroad changes you, it expands your mind, pushes you out of your comfort zone and you soon realise how closed trinis are (not their fault, they just live in a safe bubble).

So I went back, and I'm doing far better than I ever expected.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 10th, 2024, 12:35 pm

Most people have obviously not been reading what I've been writing, so I'll spell it out more plainly. One doesn't have to reject their culture, but if they choose to go to places like the US and Canada, the goal shouldn't be to make these places just like the place you left behind, but rather to make it better than it was when you arrived. I have no issues maintaining the same Trini culture I always had, because Brazilian culture is 90% similar, and assimilating to US or Canada work culture, and the social mores there were not what I wanted to do, but immigrants to there should make an attempt to do so and actually experience the American and Canadian way of life, doing things and at least superficially try to set yourself up to succeed at it and not immediately move to Little Trinidad in the cold and carry on as if they never left. Meanwhile, I can drink my cachaça, kick back in my pool with my music playing loud, and have my meat roasting over the coals on the automatic meat turner without a care in the world because everyone around me does that too. Then I can go sweat some football or play some cards or just drive around aimlessly just like back in Trini because again, that's the culture here. If I want to hit the beach, or go to a waterfall, or go fishing, I can do that too. Plus the systems here are nowhere as rigorous as they are in places like Canada and the US, so all the experience of dealing with the Trini way of doing things, gives you a big headstart over say, Canadians and Americans who move here and flabbergasted by the hoops they have to jump through. Plus you still get treated as the "cool, exotic foreigner" and you can milk that for all it's worth. The only men who didn't immediately jump to a crazy conclusion were Alfa and Dohplaydat, because they actually seem to have some experience of what I'm talking about.

Postby aaron17 » March 10th, 2024, 5:13 pm

Interesting to listen to.

Postby 88sins » March 11th, 2024, 4:42 am

Our unemployment rate at 3%?
Anybody believe that true? cuz I got this nagging niggling feeling that some numbers may have been manipulated to come to that result.

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » March 19th, 2024, 10:38 am

Chimera wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:
Chimera wrote:You can sell property at a preferential price if the buyer pays in usd.

Like 3 million tt or 400k usd when you selling

Who in their right mind is going to drop 400K USD on non-commercial property in Trinidad? Unless they're getting a decade long government rental contract on said property, it's probably going to be a net loss.
Alot of persons are paying chunks of usd locally for properties if they are getting an amazing rate and us is no issue or importance to them.

A good example is parents or grand parents abroad who buying property for their kids or grand kids here.

One of my padnas in real estate sold 3 houses recently for payment in USD.

Buyers saved probably a 150k on the price because they paid in usd.

A nex bredrin of mine who living new york buy 2 houses in grande and paid the sellers in usd

Hey bro is your friend a local real estate agent?
Can I have a contact? Thanks!

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2024, 3:50 pm

Not really leaving Trinidad for good, but I decided to spend a week in Brazil, Sau Paulo.

Seems fairly OK for me, very friendly people. Language a lil problem some understand Spanish so I am able to get by.

From a Tourist point of view looks good and great food. 5 -10us gets you good steaks with rice, fries & Salda. Fruits are super cheap.
Non afro Women a lil apprehensive to deal with ninjas like myself, guess I am in the wrong part of the country. Some parts look like laventille on the hills. Crime, there are some characters like the youths. Women dress fine and u can see the class of women in them. Brazil reminds of a water down version of Argentina.

Would I consider living here if I was younger, hell yeah, its a lil bit like trinidad but better manner people.

Postby alfa » May 23rd, 2024, 4:23 pm

zoom rader wrote:Not really leaving Trinidad for good, but I decided to spend a week in Brazil, Sau Paulo.

Seems fairly OK for me, very friendly people. Language a lil problem some understand Spanish so I am able to get by.

From a Tourist point of view looks good and great food. 5 -10us gets you good steaks with rice, fries & Salda. Fruits are super cheap.
Non afro Women a lil apprehensive to deal with ninjas like myself, guess I am in the wrong part of the country. Some parts look like laventille on the hills. Crime, there are some characters like the youths. Women dress fine and u can see the class of women in them. Brazil reminds of a water down version of Argentina.

Would I consider living here if I was younger, hell yeah, its a lil bit like trinidad but better manner people.

Good to hear. I've always wondered about different countries to vacation in and experiences people had. Looking at Switzerland myself in the future

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2024, 4:29 pm

alfa wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Not really leaving Trinidad for good, but I decided to spend a week in Brazil, Sau Paulo.

Good to hear. I've always wondered about different countries to vacation in and experiences people had. Looking at Switzerland myself in the future
Was in Switzerland October last year.

Very very expensive, food basically French and not to my liking. Friendly people and crime not a problem. Felt very safe at all times. Transport like clockwork, watches galore and costly. You have book appointments to see a Rolex dealer a few weeks before, my mistake.

Again everything very expensive

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 23rd, 2024, 6:46 pm

alfa wrote:

Was in Switzerland October last year.

Very very expensive, food basically French and not to my liking. Friendly people and crime not a problem. Felt very safe at all times. Transport like clockwork, watches galore and costly. You have book appointments to see a Rolex dealer a few weeks before, my mistake.

Again everything very expensive

Switzerland is beautiful though, perhaps the most picturesque place I've been too. Food expensive for sure, but not outrageous. You'd spend about 200-500 TT a meal in a restaurant. Trains cheap though, hotels expensive.

Cities are nice and clean but nothing super special.

Salaries are high AF there, wish I could migrate to there

Postby alfa » May 23rd, 2024, 7:20 pm

Good info folks. I only want to go for like a week though, see Grindelwald or some other picturesque place with mountains and cable cars shidz lol

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » May 23rd, 2024, 7:24 pm

Hey Zoomie you should contact tuner "triniterribletim" while you are in Brazil. This guy usually post about life in Brazil through the lens of a Trini living there.

Postby zoom rader » May 23rd, 2024, 8:46 pm

Bad Dog wrote:Hey Zoomie you should contact tuner "triniterribletim" while you are in Brazil. This guy usually post about life in Brazil through the lens of a Trini living there.
Well after reading his post I decided to take a a lil visit and was well worth it.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » May 23rd, 2024, 9:12 pm

If you had sent me a message I could have organized a lime for you. Where did you stay in São Paulo, on Avenida Paulista? Did you get a chance to try the all you can eat steak?

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2024, 9:22 pm

Anytime we in the zone we taking some drinks tim?

Postby zoom rader » May 24th, 2024, 9:18 am

triniterribletim wrote:

If you had sent me a message I could have organized a lime for you. Where did you stay in São Paulo, on Avenida Paulista? Did you get a chance to try the all you can eat steak?
I tried all the steaks i could get from various restaurants, top notch. I must say i was very impressed with Brazil. I sayed just out side of Sau Paulo, San Jose de campos . Very quiet city.

I will plan for next year

Postby alfa » May 24th, 2024, 9:31 am

Would you say Brazil grass fed steaks is better than American corn fed?

dogg

Postby dogg » May 24th, 2024, 10:12 am

you have a very engaging writing style - even with the missing paragraph breaks. You should write a book.

triniterribletim wrote:Ethnic enclavism becomes a problem when foreigners aren't made to conform to the basic standards of living in another country, and having at least a vague sense of belonging to the place and the awareness of the cultural mores there. Canada and the US used to do this, but don't anymore for fear of "racism", so you remove that pressure to conform to basic levels of societal cohesion and you start having breakdowns in the society. I've been to Liberty Avenue, I've been all over Toronto, I've seen firsthand the areas dominated by certain enclavist diaspora groups. Go see what Caribbean folks have done to places like Jane and Finch or Scarborough in Toronto. Or to give a non-Caribbean example, the Indians in Brampton. Even my own family members are no exception in Hamilton and Hoxton. The older ones may have made something out of themselves, but the younger ones are spitting images of all the worst traits of Trinis, because all they surround themselves with is Trini-Canadians and FoB Trinis. If their parents didn't prop them up, they would be SoL. The pressure to adapt and conform was simply not there for them, and they are worse off for it. They spend all year waiting for Carnival so they can fly down, post some Instagram photos and then back to Canada. I hosted them often when I still lived in Trinidad and you would swear that they were more Trini than I was. If you have nothing to challenge you and to aspire to and you refuse to challenge yourself, you will just stagnate. It used to be becoming like the people who built and keep the country you move to running, or surpass them, but now it's just largely do nothing and if they actually do something, it's grievance mongering.