Columbus ships to be removed from T&T Coat of Arms

Dohplaydat

Re: Columbus ships to be removed from T&T Coat of Arms

Postby Dohplaydat » August 24th, 2024, 11:03 am

D firetruck does grassroots really mean? You more Trini than someone else? All of we living in the same country.

Postby bluefete » August 24th, 2024, 11:09 am

He is an upper, upper class Trinbagonian.

Did you ever see some of those eating places he highlights or the upper level places he stays in?

Real grassroots cannot afford that (but then again some grassroots have best high tech tv, satellite dish and electronics in their homes so me ent know).

Now let me say something about Harts - actually this is before Harts existed.

When I was a young teenager, I used to go and jump up with Edmund and L'il Hart's band. My parents were working class people who NEVER owned a car in their lives. That is to give you context.

Anyways, in those days, there were no ropes to keep people out of the bands and Edmund Hart's band had a nice vibes. You could jump up with the band from anywhere but when it came time to go on stage, you had to wine to the side and that was okay because you did not have a costume. I was never harassed at all so when the time came for me to actually play mas, you get nothing for guessing who I went with.

Postby zoom rader » August 24th, 2024, 11:14 am

Dohplaydat wrote:D firetruck does grassroots really mean? You more Trini than someone else? All of we living in the same country.
Grassroots,
u from the village and interact with all around, u know the daily struggles
U know ur culture
U know people around u

There are those that claim Grassroots but they live in segregation or gated communities. They want nothing to do with Raj or Kwame

Trinisurfer is not real grass roots, these people do not understand what it is like to take a taxi or bus to travel to work. They live sheltered lives. He does youtube cause he never done these things before than everyday Trinidad.

Hes making money on Raj & Kwame culture and way of living.

Postby st7 » August 24th, 2024, 11:24 am

so what stopping Raj and Kwame making money the same way?

Postby zoom rader » August 24th, 2024, 11:29 am

st7 wrote:so what stopping Raj and Kwame making money the same way?
There are a number of local trini youtubers that are doing the same, some in cooking, hiking , motorbiking, motoring, Indian culture, forest, fishing.

In the 1980s there was various TTT programs than did the same.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 24th, 2024, 3:05 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:D firetruck does grassroots really mean? You more Trini than someone else? All of we living in the same country.
Grassroots,
u from the village and interact with all around, u know the daily struggles
U know ur culture
U know people around u

There are those that claim Grassroots but they live in segregation or gated communities. They want nothing to do with Raj or Kwame

Trinisurfer is not real grass roots, these people do not understand what it is like to take a taxi or bus to travel to work. They live sheltered lives. He does youtube cause he never done these things before than everyday Trinidad.

Hes making money on Raj & Kwame culture and way of living.

Everyone has a different culture they live, I don't see someone taking a taxi and talking to villagers in their rum shop as more Trini than a person living in a gated community and sipping wine in Buzo. It's the same country, just different experiences due to income and lifestyle.

Trinisurfer probably knows the geography of the country better than most.

Raj and Kwame could do the same, and many do, they all have their niche.

Postby paid_influencer » August 24th, 2024, 3:09 pm

alternative: "grassroots" is a term popularised by the ruling classes to present themselves and their objectives as having come from the proletariat.

Postby st7 » August 24th, 2024, 3:28 pm

on another note,

what does the helmet and shipwheel signify on the coat of arms?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 24th, 2024, 4:51 pm

Why Columbus is the target, at the end of day, it's Spain that commissioned Columbus voyages, so if it's anyone we should be angry with it's Spain. And the country of Spain still around unlike Columbus who died how many hundreds of years ago. If they really care they should rename the capital Port-of-SPAIN

death365

Postby death365 » August 26th, 2024, 12:09 pm

I Say tha too ...

name should be changed to "piss-town". ah casual walk thru ANY PART ah town an yuh go kno .

Mmoney607 wrote:Why Columbus is the target, at the end of day, it's Spain that commissioned Columbus voyages, so if it's anyone we should be angry with it's Spain. And the country of Spain still around unlike Columbus who died how many hundreds of years ago. If they really care they should rename the capital Port-of-SPAIN

Postby The_Honourable » August 26th, 2024, 12:15 pm

death365 wrote:I Say tha too ...

name should be changed to "piss-town". ah casual walk thru ANY PART ah town an yuh go kno .

Mmoney607 wrote:Why Columbus is the target, at the end of day, it's Spain that commissioned Columbus voyages, so if it's anyone we should be angry with it's Spain. And the country of Spain still around unlike Columbus who died how many hundreds of years ago. If they really care they should rename the capital Port-of-SPAIN

Oh simply Port of Pain

Traffic, dirty, vagrants, flooding, shootings, murders, gangs, balisier house

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 26th, 2024, 12:17 pm

Let's just rename it based on the popular acronym.

Peice of sheit

Postby MaxPower » August 26th, 2024, 12:48 pm

Why do Trinis insist on urinating in public?

And yes, POS reeks of it.

And don’t blame the vagrants only.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2024, 12:53 pm

if we want to get rid of anything that reminds of Columbus won't we have to make a change to the very name of the country? which would be way more drastic than taking off the ships from the coat of arms

we can't change everything - maybe have both

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/08/26/rc-archbishop-wants-both-ships-steelpan-on-coat-of-arms/

Postby sMASH » August 26th, 2024, 12:57 pm

The concept of coat of arms is an imperialist tool in the first place, that colonialism came from .

Colonialism is the verb and a coat of arms is the branding

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » August 26th, 2024, 4:08 pm

That Keith Rowley, he’s a money making guy. Lol
Wtf is the significance of changing the coat of arms? It have nothing to do with removing the evidence of past colonization. It have everything to do with making money. It sound like something that started out as rum shop talk and then they figure out how to make money through it by changing all documents and so going forward.

Forget traveling by bus and maxi to work. You not grassroots if you didn’t climb trees, pick fruits, make chow, get sick from chow, play home free with cousins and neighbors, tell stories by candle light, bathe by a tank or with a bucket and dipper. That is grassroots.

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2024, 4:56 pm

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2024, 4:58 pm

Zoe took me out. ROFL.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2024, 5:02 pm

besssstt

Postby bluefete » August 26th, 2024, 5:06 pm

pugboy wrote:besssstt

Fuh true, eh.

I buss my belly laughing. We are such a talented people.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » August 26th, 2024, 6:09 pm

importzxtt wrote:then they figure out how to make money through it by changing all documents and so going forward.

All dem pastor who holdin $100 polymers tithes in cash better get ready for a nex rounds of money laundering crackdown.

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2024, 8:28 pm

MaxPower wrote:Why do Trinis insist on urinating in public?

And yes, POS reeks of it.

And don’t blame the vagrants only.
Tints is more important than bio dangers

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2024, 10:59 am

Nobody went down to the consultation
Went as well as I thought it would
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/drama-a ... bafba061ff

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2024, 1:26 pm

unimatrix-001 wrote:
importzxtt wrote:then they figure out how to make money through it by changing all documents and so going forward.

All dem pastor who holdin $100 polymers tithes in cash better get ready for a nex rounds of money laundering crackdown.

PM said it will be done on a phased basis so old and new would coexist for a while- so u may get shiny new bills with the steelpan while old bills with 3 ships remain legal tender. same for passports, etc.

Postby alfa » August 29th, 2024, 1:36 pm

Why it seeming one race taking this 3 ships have to be removed a lot more serious than the next? I personally couldn't care less, they're bigger issues to deal with but find they coulda put a pumping jack instead. without oil we woulda be Haiti 2.0

Postby Dizzy28 » August 29th, 2024, 2:21 pm

alfa wrote:Why it seeming one race taking this 3 ships have to be removed a lot more serious than the next? I personally couldn't care less, they're bigger issues to deal with but find they coulda put a pumping jack instead. without oil we woulda be Haiti 2.0

Wel based on the article the usual suspects showed up - Kambon, Rubadiri et al
If nothing else these ppl are hyper focussed on their cause

Postby zoom rader » August 29th, 2024, 3:00 pm

alfa wrote:Why it seeming one race taking this 3 ships have to be removed a lot more serious than the next? I personally couldn't care less, they're bigger issues to deal with but find they coulda put a pumping jack instead. without oil we woulda be Haiti 2.0

Wel based on the article the usual suspects showed up - Kambon, Rubadiri et al
If nothing else these ppl are hyper focussed on their cause
The empowerment of Black people have lead to nothing. These African self appointed leaders have done nothing for Africans.

Africans continue to be used & abuse especially by the PNM.

Let them remove the boats, it still has no effect on African upliftment

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 30th, 2024, 1:45 pm

Who the hell is this woman designing the new coat of arms???

Postby MaxPower » August 30th, 2024, 1:48 pm

Discipline
Tolerance
Production

Nobody talking about that.