Digicel Internet Thread

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby redmanjp » June 10th, 2024, 10:28 am

Nexus wrote:Been having buffering issues with netflix, disney and even youtube from around 6 pm. Speedtest saying I getting over 200 mbps, are they deliberately throttling those streaming services?

speedtest to local or foreign servers?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 10th, 2024, 11:26 am

Nexus wrote:Been having buffering issues with netflix, disney and even youtube from around 6 pm. Speedtest saying I getting over 200 mbps, are they deliberately throttling those streaming services?
I've noticed on a Friday and Sunday afternoon this happens a lot, starts off normal then speeds drop significantly. On YouTube goes from 114 to 20 on 4k videos, seems like throttling to me. I'll continue to monitor

Postby redmanjp » June 10th, 2024, 11:36 am

^how u measuring it? using the 'stats for nerds' option on youtube?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 10th, 2024, 10:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:^how u measuring it? using the 'stats for nerds' option on youtube?
Yea, that gives great info. I would normally monitor on PC. Wait for YouTube to slow down, then open up other video streams in vimeo or movies anywhere and check total bandwidth utilization in task manager. Even though YouTube is buffering, the other sites work fine on 4k and total bandwidth use is what it should be around 200 - 250 Mbs. If you use an Amazon fire device there is the on screen overlay that shows streaming info. that might give useful info. also

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 10th, 2024, 11:15 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
I've noticed on a Friday and Sunday afternoon this happens a lot, starts off normal then speeds drop significantly. On YouTube goes from 114 to 20 on 4k videos, seems like throttling to me. I'll continue to monitor

Noticed this a while now. Not sure if its deliberate but to raise prices and still experience this is unfortunate

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » June 10th, 2024, 11:16 pm

killercow wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Anyone else having problems with their Digicel connection tonight?
They were doing maintenance from 11pm to 6am

Did an official notice went out?

Postby redmanjp » June 15th, 2024, 9:33 pm

Anyone getting problems with Netflix?

Getting error tvq-pb-101 3.1.17

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » July 8th, 2024, 7:59 pm

How is everyone enjoying the new speeds, well at least for those who got upgraded.

Anyone with the 1000mb package?

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » July 20th, 2024, 6:42 pm

What repeaters/extenders work well with the Digicel Huawei routers to get 5GHz performance. I know you can rent Huawei EchoLife WA8021V5 Smart Wi-Fi Repeater, but where can I buy it?

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2024, 4:06 pm

Question

Is it possible to use your cable box at another location without the same modem? the location is my office and we have wifi here - at home the box was configured to work over wifi instead of plugging in to the modem- we used to have Flow on the TV in the office but that was disconnected so I'm wondering it to bring my 2nd TV box from home if it will work with the TV by picking up a wifi connection.

juswil868

Postby juswil868 » August 6th, 2024, 9:28 pm

Anyone experiencing throttling issues tonight ?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » August 16th, 2024, 5:23 pm

Is there any way to get a Digicel cable box to work using direct connection or wireless from a router rather than a direct or wireless from digicel's modem?

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2024, 6:48 pm

Anyone getting problems with cable TV? Can't change channels and when I power off then on the app gave a login screen. Then got an error say Digicel TV has stopped.

sachin

Postby sachin » September 9th, 2024, 6:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:Anyone getting problems with cable TV? Can't change channels and when I power off then on the app gave a login screen. Then got an error say Digicel TV has stopped.

Same here now came on the thread to see if anyone mentioned it also lol

Postby redmanjp » September 9th, 2024, 7:16 pm

I pressed the Menu button and selected IPTV which is the old interface. Watching CNC3 news on that.

jsali

Postby jsali » September 9th, 2024, 8:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:I pressed the Menu button and selected IPTV which is the old interface. Watching CNC3 news on that.
Thank yuh for this...
Mil was frantic without the ZEE

Postby wagonrunner » September 10th, 2024, 2:57 pm

None of the affected I spoke toare concerend with Premier league.
They prefer a rebate for the "inconvenince" and cost of having to use other means of data.

But this is the extent of digicel's appreciation.
1.jpg

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2024, 3:14 pm

^got a message similar to that via sms- good thing i knew the old interface was still accessible!

Postby redmanjp » September 27th, 2024, 7:33 pm

in case anyone was wondering

while the app has been down for the longest while you can still pay your bill online via Swiftpay (only learnt this last month and just paid my bill using it for the 2nd time)

https://service.digiceltt.com/quickpay/pay/account

it says it registers in 1 hr - however after actually paying it it say something about 2 business days. :roll: digi might still give me late charges :roll:

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 13th, 2024, 10:08 pm

Any power users/gamers in here living in the maraval/long circular area? (Environs can chime in)

How’s your service been in the last couple months? Any throttling and dropped connections?

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2024, 10:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:https://service.digiceltt.com/quickpay/pay/account

it says it registers in 1 hr - however after actually paying it it say something about 2 business days. :roll: digi might still give me late charges :roll:

If they do, take it up with TATT using the credit card transaction ID.
It doesn't matter when they get around to processing it. The ID shows when you paid it.

nick639v2

Digicel Internet Thread

Postby nick639v2 » October 16th, 2024, 2:10 pm

nick[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji639][emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji6[emoji640][emoji637]]]v[emoji638] wrote:Any power users/gamers in here living in the maraval/long circular area? (Environs can chime in)

How’s your service been in the last couple months? Any throttling and dropped connections?

Anyone???

Trying to justify their $+145 price tag for 300mb package over flow

Postby st7 » October 16th, 2024, 2:57 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
nick[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji639][emoji[emoji6[emoji640][emoji638]][emoji640][emoji6[emoji640][emoji637]]]v[emoji638] wrote:Any power users/gamers in here living in the maraval/long circular area? (Environs can chime in)

Anyone???

you should ask on social media or reddit... tuner have a niche group of ppl and is not much too. you lucky to get a response for exactly what you looking for

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2024, 5:56 pm

nick639v2 wrote:

Anyone???

Dunno about the maraval/long circular area
But in Chaguanas the service has been solid with low latency.
I have a 500Mb for $500 - it's broadband only, no cable
I just had some issues with lower speeds and they fixed it and refunded for the period and also had some issues with intermittent service which they also fixed - but other than those instances it's been solid.
I have a mesh router system and about 35 connected devices

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 16th, 2024, 6:52 pm

Thanks! I’ll also be running mesh and a separate vpn network like I do with flow home here.

I scrolled back and saw some people experiencing throttling issues so it got me worried.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 18th, 2024, 9:24 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Thanks! I’ll also be running mesh and a separate vpn network like I do with flow home here.

I scrolled back and saw some people experiencing throttling issues so it got me worried.

I eventually cancelled my VPN service.
Wasn’t really using it for much and Digicel changes your IP address so often it was getting frustrating

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 19th, 2024, 4:47 pm

Does service or stability degrade when they change your ip?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2024, 1:46 pm

At least allyuh have access to digicel, I living so far in the bush (according to digicel) they refuse to add an extra pole to get new customers

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2024, 2:07 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Does service or stability degrade when they change your ip?

No. Service remains the same. You don't even know when it's changed unless you check.
Most ISPs in T&T don't offer fixed IPs to their customers. It's an extra fee to have a fixed IP.
Having a fixed IP may also be less secure for average users as you're always reachable at that same IP.
So having a changing IP makes it a lil safer.
But with a VPN service you have to verify your IP address to ensure that you aren't trying to use the paid service across multiple locations (account sharing), so they lock it into your current IP address. If your service provider changes your IP then your VPN stops working and you have to log in to your VPN account and update to your new IP. It just gets to be a hassle after a while.

Postby wagonrunner » October 28th, 2024, 11:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:But with a VPN service you have to verify your IP address to ensure that you aren't trying to use the paid service across multiple locations (account sharing), so they lock it into your current IP address. If your service provider changes your IP then your VPN stops working and you have to log in to your VPN account and update to your new IP. It just gets to be a hassle after a while.

VPn service doesnt have an option to use a DNS name instead, and register name with dynamic dns?