Yes. What alleged infraction did you commit?rexsmith wrote:Has anybody here ever contested a traffic ticket and win of have it dismissed?
Yeep.rexsmith wrote:Has anybody here ever contested a traffic ticket and win of have it dismissed?
rexsmith wrote:Has anybody here ever contested a traffic ticket and win of have it dismissed?
rexsmith wrote:Question, I was driving a friends car and got a ticket for no inspection sticker so I contested the ticket hoping he had the inspection certificate at least, but he did not, so i emailed the court and told them that i will not contest the ticket but instead pay it but when i went to pay it I was told by TTPOST that the ticket was contested and as such there is a hold on the ticket and I am unable to pay it, until the hold has been removed, What do I do? do I email the court requesting a new date or ask for the hold to be removed?
daxt0r wrote:boy go to court an win eh
I have contested several tickets in traffic court and even 1st court criminal driving related offences and won them all.
I even win a no insurance case with a no-show lol so doh beat up go strong
d only one ah eh eva loss was a dui since that scientific in nature i couldn't find ah valid argument.
daxt0r wrote:win music , tint and seatbelt charges with officer appearing
win insurance, mirror, number plates, tire, etc charges for no appearance
Usually, the magistrate will not entertain video footage due to the fact that said footage will first have to be authenticated, and that is usually always very tricky and complicated.redmanjp wrote:by chance do u know if the court allow dash cam recordings to be played in court as evidence in your defence?
Bananas republickillercow wrote:Usually, the magistrate will not entertain video footage due to the fact that said footage will first have to be authenticated, and that is usually always very tricky and complicated.redmanjp wrote:by chance do u know if the court allow dash cam recordings to be played in court as evidence in your defence?
Yes the video might be date stamped, but how does the magistrate know for a fact that the date stamp on the footage is in fact the correct date?
The officer on the video might look like the officer in court, but the officer can simply say that's not him in the video. Unless you have a witness to state "yes the officer in the video is the same in court", then how are you proving such? It would basically come down to your word against his.
Magistrates have dealt with this issue several times, which is why usually, they are hesitant to even make video footage admissible. However, as I said, there are exceptions to the rule.
My suggestion:
Severely scrutinise the ticket and summary evidence and look for any possible illegalities / errors that would make the charge baseless. Simple things like wrongful location of the alleged offence, incorrect vehicle license plate, driver's permit number, offence committed, name may contain errors that automatically makes the case inadmissible (minor misspelling of your name would not count and be simply viewed as a technicality).