Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

ProtonPowder

Re: Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby ProtonPowder » October 14th, 2024, 2:48 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Ministers are woefully underpaid for their portfolios eh.
That's a bitter pill to swallow, but it's true.
Private sector leadership making 3-5X that easily.

dotish point to make. The US president gets paid 400k a year which is still less than the top dogs in the private sector in the USA.

Politicians are in it for the power, and subsequent enrichment, not the ministerial salaries.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2024, 2:58 pm

hover11 wrote:Aren't they among the highest paid politicians in the region though, remember these are the same ppl who if they if they feel they are underpaid can simply vote on it and like it magic it increases no questions asked...just saying

no clue.
Would love to see regional data to compare. I was just comparing the last SRC data against local private sector job postings that were available on LinkedIn, caribbeanjobs or company websites where sal info was published.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2024, 3:02 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

dotish point to make. The US president gets paid 400k a year which is still less than the top dogs in the private sector in the USA.

Politicians are in it for the power, and subsequent enrichment, not the ministerial salaries.

You missed the point.
Saying they are in it for power and enrichment is a broad brush, not all will have the opportunity to possibly exploit their position for personal gain - and if you can call names for specific cases you should, assuming you have evidence. maybe I used the wrong term - I should have said Parliamentarian. My bad.

Fact is they're already uncompetitively remunerated. Threatening an existing job perk will make less people want to actually serve, lowering the "bar" to entry (no pun intended). I'd argue that the caliber of politicians will be even more sheit grade if you remove what little perks they have. And please note I am not talking about PNM only here. UNC too.

Threaten their perks nah, see what they will do. Clap? More like riot.

Postby alfa » October 14th, 2024, 4:39 pm

While this may be true I personally don't think people should go into politics as a job and the lower salary might actually be a way to prevent that. It should be an honest desire to serve the country.
Most of them are qualified to get jobs that pay far better than that of ministers anyway so it leads one to wonder if they're really doing it to serve which would be good, or to fill their pockets on the side

solarkh

Postby solarkh » October 15th, 2024, 9:12 am

alfa wrote:

While this may be true I personally don't think people should go into politics as a job and the lower salary might actually be a way to prevent that. It should be an honest desire to serve the country.
Most of them are qualified to get jobs that pay far better than that of ministers anyway so it leads one to wonder if they're really doing it to serve which would be good, or to fill their pockets on the side

Postby 88sins » October 15th, 2024, 9:34 pm

alfa wrote:

You realize, you just asked and answered your own question right?
Anywho, I got a question of my own for allyuh.

Why does a minister, need to buy a million dollar vehicle, to park in his residence, & pay zero taxes on said purchase, while he is being driven around 24/7 for the entirety of his term as a minister, both for work and personally, with a state owned and maintained vehicle and security detail that the taxpayers pay for?

And don't gimme that "it's a perk of the job" h0rsesh!t.

Postby hover11 » October 16th, 2024, 5:50 am

alfa wrote:

Why does a minister, need to buy a million dollar vehicle, to park in his residence, & pay zero taxes on said purchase, while he is being driven around 24/7 for the entirety of his term as a minister, both for work and personally, with a state owned and maintained vehicle and security detail that the taxpayers pay for?

Simple answer, we accept it so in essence we allow it. I don't want anybody reply well public servants traveling officers get that too. If you are a traveling officer the vehicle you get the tax exemption with you must actually USE the vehicle to get the traveling allowance and don't think for one minute the traveling is a big setta money like ministers own , sometimes is just $3000 for the month when u have to go all over trinidad that's not much. Anyway , it is what it is , the wise will continue to live off the foolish, that's the game of politics

Postby 88sins » October 16th, 2024, 6:39 am

The real answer is, it's a method of self enrichment.

The way I see it, if you are in a position where the taxpayers pay your salary, and pay for your transport, security, food, housing, and damn near everything else for you and your family, you should not have one single tax exemption that is not available to the general public.

But then as hover11 said, the people allow it, so they like it so

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 16th, 2024, 7:35 am

alfa wrote:

Ask your preferred party, any party, to consider this reduction proposal for the SRC and see how far you get out the door before the laughing start. Down to Felipe and Gory want to roll in top shotta mode if given the chance.

death365

Postby death365 » October 16th, 2024, 7:44 am

1. buy car with exemptions
2. wait for 3 years
3. sell to yuh family or friend cheap Or
4. sell for more than yuh pay for it
5. start back the cycle.

hope this clear it up

Postby j.o.e » October 16th, 2024, 1:55 pm

death365 wrote:1. buy car with exemptions
2. wait for 3 years
3. sell to yuh family or friend cheap Or
4. sell for more than yuh pay for it
5. start back the cycle.

hope this clear it up

A La Anand and the range

Postby st7 » October 16th, 2024, 3:02 pm

ent public servants have this same perk or did it get removed?

Postby 88sins » October 16th, 2024, 3:55 pm

st7 wrote:ent public servants have this same perk or did it get removed?

Not to the extent to which politicians do

They get government loans at low interest rates to buy, but they do pay taxes on imported cars as far as I know from when my BIL bought his last vehicle

Postby hover11 » October 16th, 2024, 4:13 pm

No they don't, you actually have to USE the vehicle to get traveling and get the exemption .You can't just buy the vehicle and have it sit down while the government gives you another vehicle or driver to get around.

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2024, 4:57 pm

hover11 wrote:
No they don't, you actually have to USE the vehicle to get traveling and get the exemption .You can't just buy the vehicle and have it sit down while the government gives you another vehicle or driver to get around.

perhaps they let their child drive it

Postby st7 » October 16th, 2024, 10:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

so according to the public servant, public servants do have the perk of enjoying tax exemptions on vehicles.

why the focus on ministers alone? it have wayyyy more of allyuh public servants that not paying tax on vehicles.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 17th, 2024, 5:14 am

Problem is public servants did not pass legislation to avoid taxes . Politicians did . They are the only ones that can make the required changes.

They are the ones maintaining the status quo and abusing it to the full extent.

Rowley himself admitted that it's being abused, but he seems powerless to make changes.

I really think he is just a figurehead being controlled by the puppet masters and has no real powers

He said for example that the fuel price would be floated, and Imbert just simply ignored him

Postby hover11 » October 17th, 2024, 5:52 am

st7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
hover11 wrote:

so according to the public servant, public servants do have the perk of enjoying tax exemptions on vehicles.

why the focus on ministers alone? it have wayyyy more of allyuh public servants that not paying tax on vehicles.
Very stupid to compare normal public servants (traveling officers ) with that of politicians, do public servants buy the type of vehicles that the politicians do? Can they afford the Porsche, Benz, range rover etc to get the huge tax write off? You comparing chalk with cheese. Like I said public servants have to USE these vehicles daily to get the work done or they don't get paid , regardless if politicians use these vehicles or not they getting their allowances and salaries every month

Postby j.o.e » October 17th, 2024, 7:17 am

Allyuh don’t get fed up of talking about this every few months ?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 17th, 2024, 7:42 am

regular permanent public servants who are travelling officers only get some taxes paid for them on their vehicles, and it does not apply to T vehicles, only private

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 17th, 2024, 7:53 am

PariaMan wrote:Problem is public servants did not pass legislation to avoid taxes . Politicians did . They are the only ones that can make the required changes.

They are the ones maintaining the status quo and abusing it to the full extent.

Rowley himself admitted that it's being abused, but he seems powerless to make changes.

I really think he is just a figurehead being controlled by the puppet masters and has no real powers

He said for example that the fuel price would be floated, and Imbert just simply ignored him

Well put and well said.

Postby hover11 » October 17th, 2024, 8:11 am

ProtonPowder wrote:regular permanent public servants who are travelling officers only get some taxes paid for them on their vehicles, and it does not apply to T vehicles, only private
Educate them and kindly remind them that the traveling allowance has not reflected the change in gas prices sometimes as an officer you still have to put extra from your own salary to get the work done. When a minister sells his vehicle he basically selling a brand new vehicle, when a traveling officer selling his he has to take what he can get due to the wear , tear and high mileage

Postby st7 » October 17th, 2024, 9:14 am

compared to the rest of the population, sound like public servants have a nice perk still.

public servants and ministers benefitting from a perk (of varying levels) the rest of the population wish they had.

Postby zoom rader » October 17th, 2024, 9:19 am

j.o.e wrote:Allyuh don’t get fed up of talking about this every few months ?
Then dont read or comment

Ministers enjoy tax exemptions on cars

Postby MaxPower » October 17th, 2024, 9:20 am

Soo…

The place hard, tighten allyuh belt….and allyuh VEX when ministers enjoy their perks.

But are the majority of citizens tightening their belt? Are they spending wisely?

Imported goods consumption sales decrease?

Cheaper local goods increase?

Car sales slow down?

Jamming STILL???

The vote changing for the same party they bashing?

Its the trait of the typical Trini to do his nonsense, but vex when others do the very same.

Postby zoom rader » October 17th, 2024, 9:28 am

MaxPower wrote:Soo…

The place hard, tighten allyuh belt….and allyuh VEX when ministers enjoy their perks.

But are the majority of citizens tightening their belt? Are they spending wisely?

Car sales slow down?

Jamming STILL???

Its the trait of the typical Trini to do his nonsense, but vex when others do the very same.
Carnival Costume have to buy

Fete must go on

KFC have to sell

Trinidad is stupid country bro

Postby hover11 » October 17th, 2024, 9:38 am

MaxPower wrote:Soo…

Car sales slow down?

Jamming STILL???

Carnival Costume have to buy

Fete must go on

KFC have to sell

Trinidad is stupid country bro
Don't forget stupid ppl

Postby st7 » October 17th, 2024, 9:48 am

public servants also have the free time perk during working hours to spend it on dey phone scrolling tiktok, ig, fb, and post on tuner

the life nice oui

Postby hover11 » October 17th, 2024, 9:54 am

st7 wrote:public servants also have the free time perk during working hours to spend it on dey phone scrolling tiktok, ig, fb, and post on tuner

the life nice oui
Study how much time your minister or MP actually works to receive their big pay and perks, don't watch the small man

Postby st7 » October 17th, 2024, 10:04 am

study how much public servants doh work and help keep this country ass backward, collecting a substantial amount of vacation days, yet studying how the people ABOVE them have more perks and sour that they dont have it.

as if ANY public servant would do anything different if they were in the same minister position.

but yes, keep frothing during work hours. this is what our tax dollars is being productively used on.