Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2024, 7:27 pm

mero wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

The best way so far is for family members to also have credit cards.
Plenty ppl credit cards getting their us balance dropped to 500usd etc and thing, even taken away for this, "helping out " friends and family. Commingling is a major issue. Business transactions ain't for personal credit card.

Ppl applied for a personal cc for a reason, if u have a business , get a business cc, and dat shoulda be stated in your application, And then u can formally apply for an extended amount of Usd ,so from the bank POV is why u trying to make money on we head and the cc loan we give u is for personal use like u sign for? Then u getting points , cash back, miles etc on top of that.

Imo, the average trini don't need $7500 usd a month when the local limit is under way under $15,000 ttd. If your background checks show u only qualify for 3k ttd, why you bawling for usd? On a fcb card u can withdraw about 875usd a week when u up there.

Also lots of USD being drained through crypto, trading and mlm schemes and ppl always finding a way to work around it.

Agreed!

About dropping to 500usd, i believe that is Republic Bank credit card customers?

To expand where I mentioned family members, I don't necessarily mean that all family members have to be at the same bank. If one member has a CC from FCB with a 5,000US limit while another member has a CC at Scotia with a 2,000US limit, the family has 7,000US to use. They just have to manage the debt on the TT side and know when forex cycle refreshes.

You made a valid point about business transactions on personal credit cards. Would not be surprised if banks already looking into that much more and cancel credit cards.

I know for a fact that customers caught doing crypto, forex, mlm etc got their credit cards terminated and accounts closed.

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2024, 7:45 pm

zoom rader wrote:The level of idiots complaining of forex, yet still they voting PNM

How more stupid can a country be

Forex not affecting the pnm base... YET

In their minds, we like champagne taste and should go to the market instead

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2024, 8:06 pm

once they getting they hennessy, weed and kfc ketchup from the 1% they good and the bootleg slippers and shoes from the chinee shop

The_Honourable wrote:
zoom rader wrote:The level of idiots complaining of forex, yet still they voting PNM

Postby st7 » November 11th, 2024, 8:36 pm

what's the situation if you pay in Euros?

yuh book a family flight to europe in euro, pay hotel in euros etc... any forex limits on that?

Postby paid_influencer » November 11th, 2024, 8:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

they not wrong tho

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 11th, 2024, 9:15 pm

st7 wrote:what's the situation if you pay in Euros?

yuh book a family flight to europe in euro, pay hotel in euros etc... any forex limits on that?

Euros a little easier to get, if you want cash, not by much though, and all foreign transactions count against your USD limit.

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2024, 10:06 pm

it is possible you may pay a higher conversion rate
as the local banks are usd based so if you swipe in a euro bank they may convert the eu to usd first at a loss rate

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2024, 10:07 pm

how them onlyfans folks collecting their usd?
using a american bank acct?

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2024, 11:16 pm

pugboy wrote:how them onlyfans folks collecting their usd?

That or transferwise (wise)

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 3:34 am

Chimera wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even if you try, you wouldn't be allowed to have so much credit cards anyway. The banks will do a credit check and once they see you have a credit card with another bank, it is unlikely they will give you another one especially if your income is tight.

Lol allyuh does post info as if it's factual without knowing anything about it

I have 9 credit cards myself.

People who realize what was coming and what needed to be done prepared themselves.

One credit card is too much

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 3:36 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Thats cause the PNM brain stays in box, they will forever be slaves

Postby st7 » November 12th, 2024, 6:27 am

pugboy wrote:it is possible you may pay a higher conversion rate
as the local banks are usd based so if you swipe in a euro bank they may convert the eu to usd first at a loss rate

so here's the thing -- with FCB you get instant email notifications of how much you spent in TTD per transaction. when in europe i used to calc the exchange rate quickly to see what it is that day and it would be less than what the bank has the EUR listed at.

back in sept and oct 2022, the EUR was lower than USD and i saw i was paying the EUR exchange rate (6.7 and 6.68), so idk if that really counted against my US limit as TTT says.

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 7:50 am

U lil conts too happy making 1% more profits
Screenshot_20241112_114913_Instagram.jpg

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 7:53 am

Look u think dem care about u getting a lil $500us to go Miami
Screenshot_20241112_115257_Instagram.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » November 12th, 2024, 8:03 am

once you get into a oligopoly position by being the one of the few businesses anointed by the banking cartel with forex, why not maximise your profit?

kinda cements my belief that ppl don't actually believe in the principles of free market capitalism. liberals just want to keep the status quo going to ensure their continued supply of treats. there is nothing ideological going on in their position

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 8:13 am

paid_influencer wrote:once you get into a oligopoly position by being the one of the few businesses anointed by the banking cartel with forex, why not maximise your profit?

kinda cements my belief that ppl don't actually believe in the principles of free market capitalism. liberals just want to keep the status quo going to ensure their continued supply of treats. there is nothing ideological going on in their position
Then Trinidad remains a Slave plantation

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 12th, 2024, 9:45 am

st7 wrote:

so here's the thing -- with FCB you get instant email notifications of how much you spent in TTD per transaction. when in europe i used to calc the exchange rate quickly to see what it is that day and it would be less than what the bank has the EUR listed at.

back in sept and oct 2022, the EUR was lower than USD and i saw i was paying the EUR exchange rate (6.7 and 6.68), so idk if that really counted against my US limit as TTT says.

Almost all of my transactions are charged in Brazilian reais and that counts against my USD limit. I was in Germany recently as well and all my transactions were charged in Euros, and they counted against my USD limit. All transactions not settled with businesses in Trinidad and Tobago are charged from the US limit, which should more accurately be called a foreign transaction limit. My primary TT card is a FCB one.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2024, 10:35 am

Caribbean economist Marla Dukharan says the solution to this country’s foreign exchange availability problems is simple and within reach.ability problems is simple and within reach.

She explained that the Central Bank of T&T simply needs to reinstate an auction mechanism for US dollar injections, which she said existed before its dismantling by the last administration in June 2014.

Dukharan made the suggestion in one of her reports, which was released yesterday, titled, Why have successive governments of T&T deliberately created a foreign exchange crisis? 

The T&T-born economist made the comments as Finance Minister Colm Imbert remained adamant that the Government will not be floating the T&T dollar.

His statement, which came via his page on X, formerly known as Twitter, was in response to a Guardian Media article in which the International Monetary Fund (IMF) was quoted as saying that T&T’s foreign exchange restrictions were not consistent with the Fund’s Articles of Agreement.

In defining how a currency auction works, the World Bank’s website said that under such a regime, the central bank regularly sells a given amount of foreign exchange through a bidding process and buys foreign exchange in the intervening periods at the previous auction-determined rate. 

Stating that she did not agree that freely floating the TT dollar was a good idea, Dukharan said instead that some market determination needs to be allowed in the exchange rate to reduce the overvaluation of the TT dollar (vs the black market rate).

She added the fact was that demand for the US dollar far outweighs supply at the current de facto pegged exchange rate.
Report Ad

The economist said since 2012 the Central Bank had an auction mechanism for USD injections into the banking system that the People’s Partnership and former Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran dismantled in June 2014.

She added that Finance Minister Colm Imbert said in his budget speech in 2015, that he would reinstate the auction mechanism as it worked well.

“Alas, here we are today, with a completely unnecessary and avoidable FX situation that the current administration knows exactly how to address but refuses to. Instead, they have created ‘windows’ and other mechanisms of controlling access to FX, and one can only guess why,” she added. 

Dukharan also sought to further explain what the effects would be if the TT dollar was floated.

“A free float of the TTD would likely see the TTD depreciate rapidly and destabilise the economy—see the examples of Suriname’s last two devaluations. But a return to the auction mechanism we once had would see a slow and almost imperceptible depreciation in the TTD which avoids over or undervaluation of the TTD and, like we saw for many years up until 2012, it worked well.
Report Ad

“A managed float which existed up to 2012 is ideal under our circumstances and would be easy to reinstate. The real question is why has it not been reinstated?”  

‘It can work’ 

Former finance ministers Selby Wilson and Karen Nunez-Tesheira also recommend that T&T reinstate an auction mechanism to deal with the foreign exchange crunch.

Wilson said it allows the markets to set the price.  He noted that if the Government plans to ration how it allocates foreign exchange, it could be treading on potential corruption and unfair bias.

Wilson also stated that a review of the price range of the US dollar should be considered amid current forex woes.
Report Ad

“You could have a range of prices, you would not allow the price to fall below this, and you would not allow the price to rise above x, not below y and not above x and it fluctuates between those two lines,” he added. 

Nunez-Tesheira said she was sure having an auction system would assist with the allocation of the scarcest resource.

However, in the same breath, she said she did not know if this method would be a short-term solution to a larger issue.

“Every single commercial bank has cut their US credit card spending. To be frank I do not know how the auction method would work. The issue to me right now is we are not in a position to devalue the dollar, but the IMF is putting pressure on us to do that. The question is how we are going to develop a policy of increasing our forex,” she explained.

Last week, Finance Minister Colm Imbert announced plans to consult with stakeholders on changing the method for allocating foreign exchange. He said the discussions will outline the path toward achieving equitable distribution. He said the consultations with stakeholders, can conclude as early as the end of this year. 

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2024, 10:36 am

Bring back the Auction System it used to work good

It's as simple as that

Postby zoom rader » November 12th, 2024, 11:53 am

PariaMan wrote:Caribbean economist Marla Dukharan says the solution to this country’s foreign exchange availability problems is simple and within reach.ability problems is simple and within reach.

She explained that the Central Bank of T&T simply needs to reinstate an auction mechanism for US dollar injections, which she said existed before its dismantling by the last administration in June 2014.

Dukharan made the suggestion in one of her reports, which was released yesterday, titled, Why have successive governments of T&T deliberately created a foreign exchange crisis? 

The T&T-born economist made the comments as Finance Minister Colm Imbert remained adamant that the Government will not be floating the T&T dollar.

His statement, which came via his page on X, formerly known as Twitter, was in response to a Guardian Media article in which the International Monetary Fund (IMF) was quoted as saying that T&T’s foreign exchange restrictions were not consistent with the Fund’s Articles of Agreement.

In defining how a currency auction works, the World Bank’s website said that under such a regime, the central bank regularly sells a given amount of foreign exchange through a bidding process and buys foreign exchange in the intervening periods at the previous auction-determined rate. 

Stating that she did not agree that freely floating the TT dollar was a good idea, Dukharan said instead that some market determination needs to be allowed in the exchange rate to reduce the overvaluation of the TT dollar (vs the black market rate).

She added the fact was that demand for the US dollar far outweighs supply at the current de facto pegged exchange rate.
Report Ad

The economist said since 2012 the Central Bank had an auction mechanism for USD injections into the banking system that the People’s Partnership and former Central Bank Governor Jwala Rambarran dismantled in June 2014.

She added that Finance Minister Colm Imbert said in his budget speech in 2015, that he would reinstate the auction mechanism as it worked well.

“Alas, here we are today, with a completely unnecessary and avoidable FX situation that the current administration knows exactly how to address but refuses to. Instead, they have created ‘windows’ and other mechanisms of controlling access to FX, and one can only guess why,” she added. 

Dukharan also sought to further explain what the effects would be if the TT dollar was floated.

“A free float of the TTD would likely see the TTD depreciate rapidly and destabilise the economy—see the examples of Suriname’s last two devaluations. But a return to the auction mechanism we once had would see a slow and almost imperceptible depreciation in the TTD which avoids over or undervaluation of the TTD and, like we saw for many years up until 2012, it worked well.
Report Ad

“A managed float which existed up to 2012 is ideal under our circumstances and would be easy to reinstate. The real question is why has it not been reinstated?”  

‘It can work’ 

Former finance ministers Selby Wilson and Karen Nunez-Tesheira also recommend that T&T reinstate an auction mechanism to deal with the foreign exchange crunch.

Wilson said it allows the markets to set the price.  He noted that if the Government plans to ration how it allocates foreign exchange, it could be treading on potential corruption and unfair bias.

Wilson also stated that a review of the price range of the US dollar should be considered amid current forex woes.
Report Ad

“You could have a range of prices, you would not allow the price to fall below this, and you would not allow the price to rise above x, not below y and not above x and it fluctuates between those two lines,” he added. 

Nunez-Tesheira said she was sure having an auction system would assist with the allocation of the scarcest resource.

However, in the same breath, she said she did not know if this method would be a short-term solution to a larger issue.

“Every single commercial bank has cut their US credit card spending. To be frank I do not know how the auction method would work. The issue to me right now is we are not in a position to devalue the dollar, but the IMF is putting pressure on us to do that. The question is how we are going to develop a policy of increasing our forex,” she explained.

Last week, Finance Minister Colm Imbert announced plans to consult with stakeholders on changing the method for allocating foreign exchange. He said the discussions will outline the path toward achieving equitable distribution. He said the consultations with stakeholders, can conclude as early as the end of this year. 
PNM does not listen to Indians

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 12th, 2024, 12:01 pm

I think it's more that the 1 percenters prefer this arrangement

It's to their benefit

He will always do best by them

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 12th, 2024, 12:07 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
mero wrote:

Plenty ppl credit cards getting their us balance dropped to 500usd etc and thing, even taken away for this, "helping out " friends and family. Commingling is a major issue. Business transactions ain't for personal credit card.

Ppl applied for a personal cc for a reason, if u have a business , get a business cc, and dat shoulda be stated in your application, And then u can formally apply for an extended amount of Usd ,so from the bank POV is why u trying to make money on we head and the cc loan we give u is for personal use like u sign for? Then u getting points , cash back, miles etc on top of that.

Imo, the average trini don't need $7500 usd a month when the local limit is under way under $15,000 ttd. If your background checks show u only qualify for 3k ttd, why you bawling for usd? On a fcb card u can withdraw about 875usd a week when u up there.

Also lots of USD being drained through crypto, trading and mlm schemes and ppl always finding a way to work around it.

Agreed!

About dropping to 500usd, i believe that is Republic Bank credit card customers?

To expand where I mentioned family members, I don't necessarily mean that all family members have to be at the same bank. If one member has a CC from FCB with a 5,000US limit while another member has a CC at Scotia with a 2,000US limit, the family has 7,000US to use. They just have to manage the debt on the TT side and know when forex cycle refreshes.

You made a valid point about business transactions on personal credit cards. Would not be surprised if banks already looking into that much more and cancel credit cards.

I know for a fact that customers caught doing crypto, forex, mlm etc got their credit cards terminated and accounts closed.

What about only fans? Would you get your card terminated for that?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 12th, 2024, 12:09 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
pugboy wrote:how them onlyfans folks collecting their usd?

That or transferwise (wise)

Transfer wise has turned out to be a scam platform.
They randomly freeze your account and you cash gets stuck in there for long periods of time....sometimes permanently.
Avoid using it.
You have been warned

Postby hover11 » November 12th, 2024, 12:10 pm

PariaMan wrote:Caribbean economist Marla Dukharan says the solution to this country’s foreign exchange availability problems is simple and within reach.ability problems is simple and within reach.

Report Ad

Report Ad

‘It can work’ 

Report Ad

In before they label her a UNC

Postby Dizzy28 » November 12th, 2024, 1:51 pm

Now perusing some Central Bank docs here.
Last year VAT Bonds issued to the energy sector became due and payable and with the influx of TT$ they had no need to convert forex. The energy sector generates 70% of all forex sold to financial institutions.
There was a USD 1B shortfall in US$ bought in y-o-y.

OFC this still doesn't change that every year the country uses much more forex than we generate.

Postby st7 » November 12th, 2024, 6:30 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
st7 wrote:

Almost all of my transactions are charged in Brazilian reais and that counts against my USD limit. I was in Germany recently as well and all my transactions were charged in Euros, and they counted against my USD limit. All transactions not settled with businesses in Trinidad and Tobago are charged from the US limit, which should more accurately be called a foreign transaction limit. My primary TT card is a FCB one.

i see... so no matter the currency, we restricted...

Postby paid_influencer » November 13th, 2024, 6:09 pm

seeing on the Sabga paper that former top PNM economists, Wendell Mottley and Euric Bobb, are calling for a return to the managed float system that has stood since 1993.

Imbert cannot hold a candle to Wendell Mottley's qualifications. I am wondering which economist is going to attach his or her name and reputation to Imbert's fixed-exchange rate decision (because it is an amazingly backward Chambers-era policy). Which pnm economist going to say Wendell Mottley, the country's best finance minister in history, is wrong. who, call name, let them put their reputation on the line against Mottley.

Top economists call for return of managed flotation

Two of T&T’s most respected economists, former minister of finance Wendell Mottley and former Central Bank governor Euric Bobb, are calling for a return of the managed flotation of the TT dollar that was first introduced in April 1993.

They argued that the managed flotation of the TT dollar “worked reasonably well for over two decades, a period during which a remarkable industrial policy saw T&T become a gas-based economy with a world-class presence in the markets for LNG, ammonia, methanol, UAN, and melamine.”

Mottley served as T&T’s minister of finance between 1991 and 1995, during which he oversaw the flotation of the TT dollar. He received the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (ORTT), this country’s highest honour, on November 1, 2018.

Dr Euric Bobb is a Cambridge-trained economist who served as governor of the Central Bank of T&T from 1984 to 1988. He received the Chaconia Medal (gold), T&T’s second highest honour, in 1994.

In a jointly authored essay, Mottley and Bobb noted that in recent months, access to foreign exchange (forex) has become a major issue of public concern: “Parents worry about paying fees for children studying overseas; businessmen are distressed at the prospect of not being able to pay foreign suppliers in a timely manner; householders want to buy goods online for which they have enough local currency (TTD).

“Both of us have been there before in our professional lives, notably in 1977, 1983 and 1991, when there was similar loud clamour for the Government ‘to do something’.

“Therefore, we consider it useful to illuminate the ongoing discussion by laying out, in simple fashion, some of the basic facts about the supply of and demand for forex.”

They pointed out that as a small, open economy, T&T must import goods and services to meet a significant share, at least 50 per cent, of its expenditure for consumption and investment. The buoyancy of this demand is determined by the overall state of the economy, while its composition shifts depending on the mix between investment and consumption and the changing preferences of consumers.

Under today’s economic circumstances, demand for forex exceeds supply. There is no reason why supply and demand should autonomously balance over any given period. Hence, mechanisms are needed to allocate the supply of foreign exchange among competing demands.

The economists pointed out that in April 1993, T&T’s bureaucratic system for the allocation of foreign exchange, which was in force since 1942, was replaced by a market-based system.

They said the major elements of the reform were:

The exchange rate would be determined under a managed float influenced by overall economic circumstances;

Controls on both current and capital transactions were abolished;

Foreign exchange earners were allowed to open US$ accounts in local banks or keep their funds overseas; and

Local banks were declared authorised dealers to interact directly with customers wishing to buy and sell foreign exchange.

Mottley and Bobb pointed out that T&T’s world-class infrastructure for the production and monetisation of natural gas stimulated a strong inflow of forex. They noted that the production of natural gas reached a peak of about 4 billion standard cubic feet per day (MMSCF/D) in 2014 and is now approximately 2.491MMSCF/D.

“While the supply of forex has declined, demand has remained high. The public became accustomed over a generation to market conditions that no longer exist and have not adapted to the changed circumstances,” they added.

They said that the sustained high demand for foreign exchange over recent years has in part been fuelled by persistent fiscal deficits, which feed liquidity in the banking system. Mottley and Bobb also noted that over the last several years, as the flow of foreign exchange fell short of demand, T&T drew on its stock of official foreign exchange reserves, which fell from US$7 billion at the end of 2020 to US$5.6 billion in August 2024.

“This imbalance between current demand and current supply cannot continue at the expense of further reduction of the stock of reserves now at only 7.8 months of import cover.”

They said while export-led diversification was necessary as T&T looks to the future, the energy sector will remain the main source of foreign exchange for a long time, especially with the good prospect of increased gas supply and, therefore, forex earnings in the next few years.

“Even so, our economic history teaches us that we should not risk being fully reliant on a resurgent supply of forex from the energy sector. We face a structural problem that can be fixed only by bringing demand into alignment with supply.

“Unlike the biblical miracle of the few loaves and fishes that fed a multitude, managing an economy is about trade-offs among competing demands. There is no miraculous solution to the recurring shortage of forex.

“Whatever may be done to reduce demand in the near term, there will remain a clear need for a system of allocating forex. As stakeholders continue to demand that ‘the Government do something’ we must not lose sight of the fact that experience teaches us that an administrative system is burdensome, inefficient and less effective than the market-based system in place over most of the last few decades,” the economists concluded. 

(See full commentary in Thursday’s Business Guardian)

https://guardian.co.tt/news/top-economi ... b6be14e4c2

Postby The_Honourable » November 13th, 2024, 6:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:seeing on the Sabga paper that former top PNM economists, Wendell Mottley and Euric Bobb, are calling for a return to the managed float system that has stood since 1993.

Imbert cannot hold a candle to Wendell Mottley's qualifications. I am wondering which economist is going to attach his or her name and reputation to Imbert's fixed-exchange rate decision (because it is an amazingly backward Chambers-era policy). Which pnm economist going to say Wendell Mottley, the country's best finance minister in history, is wrong. who, call name, let them put their reputation on the line against Mottley.

Yeah but the thing is, Imbert experiencing hubris nine years now. He could not care less about candle, qualifications and reputation.

So far, nobody eh riot yet.

Postby paid_influencer » November 13th, 2024, 6:27 pm

why does the media not ask who came up with the policy decision to move from managed float to fixed exchange

make the economists in the MoF attach their name and reputation to the decision

because LOFL if this policy decision came about from a civil engineer and a geologist with no input from qualified people

Postby hover11 » November 13th, 2024, 6:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:why does the media not ask who came up with the policy decision to move from managed float to fixed exchange

make the economists in the MoF attach their name and reputation to the decision

because LOFL if this policy decision came about from a civil engineer and a geologist with no input from qualified people
Ppl will bash u and say he has a team of qualified yes men behind the scenes helping him make a decision