U spend a 100k on a CC to get $1000 in points ?adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:A mortgage is an investment on property. Property always appreciatesMaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I had one mortgage, that's all.
Cash is king
So you taking out mortgage but vex when people take out a credit card?
Lol u is one pathetic old man eh
How old are you now? 55?
A CC is not, and interests rates go up while ur pockets are empty
Signup bonuses, cash rebates, travel points, and no counting change at the checkout - why would any fool rely on cash?
Pay your bill in full at the end of the month. Only a sufferer would pay interest on a CC.
zoom rader wrote:Feel what u want, bro,st7 wrote:i feel that's a lie. you cyah be real sour for no reason
living the life as I no longer have to work.
My rents come in every month plus one Airbnb.
I do multiple sidelines hussle like banknotes, produce & farming (venes)
zoom rader wrote:U spend a 100k on a CC to get $1000 in points ?adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:A mortgage is an investment on property. Property always appreciatesMaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I had one mortgage, that's all.
Cash is king
How old are you now? 55?
Signup bonuses, cash rebates, travel points, and no counting change at the checkout - why would any fool rely on cash?
Pay your bill in full at the end of the month. Only a sufferer would pay interest on a CC.
A flash, is nice but over time it catches you.
zoom rader wrote:U spend a 100k on a CC to get $1000 in points ?adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:A mortgage is an investment on property. Property always appreciatesMaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I had one mortgage, that's all.
Cash is king
How old are you now? 55?
st7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:U spend a 100k on a CC to get $1000 in points ?adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:A mortgage is an investment on property. Property always appreciatesMaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I had one mortgage, that's all.
Cash is king
How old are you now? 55?
what do you get in return with cash?
fokhan_96 wrote:Why is this even a discussion?
Why do people bother themselves with what others do ?
Whether someone uses a credit or debit card, how exactly that affecting your life ?
fokhan_96 wrote:Why is this even a discussion?
Why do people bother themselves with what others do ?
Whether someone uses a credit or debit card, how exactly that affecting your life ?
mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
Debit cards carry a $0.75 charge per transaction so technically u pay more using a debit card
Seeing too much misinformation spreading here. Someone should update page 1 with actual information
“We allege that Visa has unlawfully amassed the power to extract fees that far exceed what it could charge in a competitive market,” said Attorney General Merrick B. Garland. “Merchants and banks pass along those costs to consumers, either by raising prices or reducing quality or service. As a result, Visa’s unlawful conduct affects not just the price of one thing – but the price of nearly everything.”
Debit transactions are an important and popular part of the U.S. financial system. Millions of Americans prefer or must use debit for online and in-person purchases. Visa dominates debit network markets that facilitate these transactions, charging significant fees and stifling competition in the process. Visa’s systematic efforts to limit competition for debit transactions have resulted in billions of dollars in additional fees imposed on American consumers and businesses and slowed innovation in the debit payments ecosystem. Through this lawsuit, the Justice Department seeks to restore competition to this vital market on behalf of the American public.
“Anticompetitive conduct by corporations like Visa leaves the American people and our entire economy worse off,” said Principal Deputy Associate Attorney General Benjamin C. Mizer. “Today’s action against Visa reminds those who would stifle competition rather than competing on price or investing in innovation that the Justice Department will never hesitate to enforce the law on behalf of the American people.”
“Visa fears competition and innovation, and instead chooses unlawful cooperation and monopolization,” said Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General Doha Mekki of the Justice Department’s Antitrust Division. “Visa abuses its power over its customers and buys off would-be rivals at the expense of American consumers, merchants, banks, and the competitive process itself. Today’s lawsuit holds Visa accountable for its conduct in a market that forms the backbone of American commerce.”
paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
Debit cards carry a $0.75 charge per transaction so technically u pay more using a debit card
Seeing too much misinformation spreading here. Someone should update page 1 with actual information
Timelapse is correct tho. What you posted is only half the story.
Debit cards charge both the merchant and the consumer a fixed cost (usually totalling about a dollar per transaction). These can be substantial if we are moving to fully cashless where persons have to make several transactions a day - everything from buying doubles to paying the maxi taxi tout incurs a fee.
Credit cards only charge the merchant, but the charge is based on a percentage of the transaction (usually 3% to 5% depending on the card and the "points"/"cashback" given to the owner). Timelapses postulated that if these 3% to 5% payment fees becomes the norm, prices generally would raise to cover the additional transaction cost and thereby drive inflation.
The bank's merchant agreement specifically says that these fees must never be mentioned anywhere. This sounds anti-competitive because it is -- there is no mechanism to drive those costs down.
The payment processor with the largest network (VISA) also naturally falls into monopolistic position to extract rents from the economy as a whole. The nature of these hidden agreements restrict competition and entrench the monopoly.
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice- ... it-markets“We allege that Visa has unlawfully amassed the power to extract fees that far exceed what it could charge in a competitive market,” said Attorney General Merrick B. Garland. “Merchants and banks pass along those costs to consumers, either by raising prices or reducing quality or service. As a result, Visa’s unlawful conduct affects not just the price of one thing – but the price of nearly everything.”
Debit transactions are an important and popular part of the U.S. financial system. Millions of Americans prefer or must use debit for online and in-person purchases. Visa dominates debit network markets that facilitate these transactions, charging significant fees and stifling competition in the process. Visa’s systematic efforts to limit competition for debit transactions have resulted in billions of dollars in additional fees imposed on American consumers and businesses and slowed innovation in the debit payments ecosystem. Through this lawsuit, the Justice Department seeks to restore competition to this vital market on behalf of the American public.
“Anticompetitive conduct by corporations like Visa leaves the American people and our entire economy worse off,” said Principal Deputy Associate Attorney General Benjamin C. Mizer. “Today’s action against Visa reminds those who would stifle competition rather than competing on price or investing in innovation that the Justice Department will never hesitate to enforce the law on behalf of the American people.”
“Visa fears competition and innovation, and instead chooses unlawful cooperation and monopolization,” said Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General Doha Mekki of the Justice Department’s Antitrust Division. “Visa abuses its power over its customers and buys off would-be rivals at the expense of American consumers, merchants, banks, and the competitive process itself. Today’s lawsuit holds Visa accountable for its conduct in a market that forms the backbone of American commerce.”
MaxPower wrote:Hear na i dunno what the beat up is na.
I now use my CC to buy some gifts for the kids, i got them what they wanted as they did well in school. They will be delighted Xmas morning.
I not even studying points and interest rate and who gaining what off my purchases and payments. I will pay that off when money comes.
The worrying will kill some of allyuh slowly.
well look ting nah, Max buying gifts for people chirren, and going in debt to do it too. good on you boi.
That aside, here's a term you need to get very familiar and comfortable with . It's called financial responsibility. Judging from your post, you lack any of it.
I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Cash is kinghong kong phooey wrote:paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
Debit cards charge both the merchant and the consumer a fixed cost (usually totalling about a dollar per transaction). These can be substantial if we are moving to fully cashless where persons have to make several transactions a day - everything from buying doubles to paying the maxi taxi tout incurs a fee.
Credit cards only charge the merchant, but the charge is based on a percentage of the transaction (usually 3% to 5% depending on the card and the "points"/"cashback" given to the owner). Timelapses postulated that if these 3% to 5% payment fees becomes the norm, prices generally would raise to cover the additional transaction cost and thereby drive inflation.
The bank's merchant agreement specifically says that these fees must never be mentioned anywhere. This sounds anti-competitive because it is -- there is no mechanism to drive those costs down.
The payment processor with the largest network (VISA) also naturally falls into monopolistic position to extract rents from the economy as a whole. The nature of these hidden agreements restrict competition and entrench the monopoly.
https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/justice- ... it-markets“We allege that Visa has unlawfully amassed the power to extract fees that far exceed what it could charge in a competitive market,” said Attorney General Merrick B. Garland. “Merchants and banks pass along those costs to consumers, either by raising prices or reducing quality or service. As a result, Visa’s unlawful conduct affects not just the price of one thing – but the price of nearly everything.”
When i fill at the pump using my republic card i am charged about 3 dollars per transaction
zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Never looked in or bothered about credit scores cause I don't need one.adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
What's your credit score, Lil Z? Anyone with online banking can set their monthly credit card payment to "statement balance."
Sufferers can't seem to fight the need to spend what they don't have.
Keep trying to prove that your lifestyle is worth aspiring to. It's working on me. /s
This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Z,
3 trips a year going where? To quarrel?
Enjoy youself na, you cannot be frothing up when you hearing credit cards swiping off from a side when u in dollar tree line.
zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.
Cool story, tl;dr but this bares no relevance or significance to my post. From a CONSUMER standpoint u pay 75 cents per debit card and pay nothing using your credit card and is that.paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
The payment processor naturally falls into monopolistic position to extract rents from the economy as a whole. The nature of these hidden agreements restrict competition and entrench the monopoly.
how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Z,
Enjoy youself na, you cannot be frothing up when you hearing credit cards swiping off from a side when u in dollar tree line.
I pay Zero using cashmero wrote:Cool story, tl;dr but this bares no relevance or significance to my post. From a CONSUMER standpoint u pay 75 cents per debit card and pay nothing using your credit card and is that.paid_influencer wrote:mero wrote:Credit cards have $0.00 charge at merchants unless at another bank ATM alongside 3% cash advance fees.
The payment processor naturally falls into monopolistic position to extract rents from the economy as a whole. The nature of these hidden agreements restrict competition and entrench the monopoly.
I use my UK debit cards.st7 wrote:how you purchase them plane tickets? definitely couldn't purchase directly from the airline website so i imagine you had to go to a travel agency and paid, what, 30-40% extra? exorbitantly more than the $150 TTD for a yearly credit card fee.zoom rader wrote:This year, I was in Switzerland, Brazil , and Grenada.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:I do about 3 trips per yr, only use my debit card . I don't own a CC. I limit my use on my local debit card. Cash is kingChimera wrote:Zoom u don't leave the country at all anymore? Because everything from flights to hotels to rental cars you does need a credit card not so?
Z,
cash is king.