Do Trinis save? Where the money coming from?

Postby goalpost » December 19th, 2024, 8:37 am

Just curious about what you guys think is the saving patterns of Trinis generally? Do people generally have a savings for a rainy day, or do they manage payheck to paycheck? I speak mostly of the working class. Where are Trinis getting money from? Is it debt?

Re: Do Trinis save? Where the money coming from?

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 8:55 am

Goalpost

As u have seen, Trinis main goal is to get a credit card and take unnecessary useless loans.

That should tell you how much they save

Then u have ppl that say they are responsible for paying it off at the end of each month.

Carnival loans should also tell you how Trinis save.

Trinis are not responsible

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 9:04 am

It's loans bro and heavy debt, look how many new vehicles we have and roro. Series finishing like that. U feel these ppl buying with cash nope its a debt ridden life to maintain their lifestyles. Why do you think so many ppl were bawling during covid they cannot miss a month pay otherwise they in shite street

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Dizzy28 » December 19th, 2024, 9:42 am

hover11 wrote:It's loans bro and heavy debt, look how many new vehicles we have and roro. Series finishing like that. U feel these ppl buying with cash nope its a debt ridden life to maintain their lifestyles. Why do you think so many ppl were bawling during covid they cannot miss a month pay otherwise they in shite street

Can you miss a month's pay?

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 9:49 am

hover11 wrote:It's loans bro and heavy debt, look how many new vehicles we have and roro. Series finishing like that. U feel these ppl buying with cash nope its a debt ridden life to maintain their lifestyles. Why do you think so many ppl were bawling during covid they cannot miss a month pay otherwise they in shite street

Yup I save my money sir....rule of thumb must have at least 6 months pay saved up in case of any emergency

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2024, 9:51 am

Is there a deeper structural issue here?
Why can't people save?
Don't say people are living beyond their means. Some are, but the reality is that most people in this country live paycheck-to-paycheck. Why?

Let's talk about their "means" and what it can actually do in 2024.

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 9:52 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Is there a deeper structural issue here?
Why can't people save?
Don't say people are living beyond their means. Some are, but the reality is that most people in this country live paycheck-to-paycheck. Why?

What about the standard of living, salaries aren't keeping up with inflation unless of course you're a politician or ceo

Postby Dizzy28 » December 19th, 2024, 9:58 am

hover11 wrote:
Why can't people save?

What about the standard of living, salaries aren't keeping up with inflation unless of course you're a politician or ceo

Salaries doesn't need to keep with up inflation. Productivity does. Increased salaries naturally come about from increased productivity.
Is Trinidad more productive in 2013 than in 2024?

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 10:05 am

hover11 wrote:
Why can't people save?

Salaries doesn't need to keep with up inflation. Productivity does. Increased salaries naturally come about from increased productivity.
Tell the politicians stop raising minimum wage in that case because that in essence drives inflation as well

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2024, 10:06 am

hover11 wrote:
Why can't people save?

Isn't that some sort of paradox?
You're being asked to do more with less, to the point where you have to do everything for nothing.

Is the workforce being motivated to increase productivity?

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 10:10 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Why can't people save?

You're being asked to do more with less, to the point where you have to do everything for nothing.

Them don't care about motivation only about head count lol.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 19th, 2024, 10:14 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Why can't people save?

Without increased productivity where does the money to pay more wages come from?
If its from a position where productivity was stagnant or low to start with you would end up causing more inflation in the long run.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2024, 10:37 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Why can't people save?

Without increased productivity where does the money to pay more wages come from?
If its from a position where productivity was stagnant or low to start with you would end up causing more inflation in the long run.

therein lies the paradox - at least in my head.
I'll chalk it up to deficiencies in strategic leadership, because the national agenda needs some work with diversification, self-sustainability, food security etc.

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2024, 10:51 am

hover11 wrote:

Yup I save my money sir....rule of thumb must have at least 6 months pay saved up in case of any emergency

The Six Months Rule of savings is for emergency spending.

By 35, you should have 1.5x current annual salary for retirement. By 50, it's 3x to 6x. That number expects that you will have a pension.

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 11:03 am

Why can't people save?

A number of factors lead up to Trinis being dotish, which are the following.

A lack of reasoning & logic.
A lack of financial education in schools.
Clever marketing by banks on useless loads.
Trini show off mentally.
Advertising that catches trinis.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2024, 11:15 am

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 11:21 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:interesting numbers
https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/c ... And+Tobago

Screenshot 2024-12-19 at 11.15.41 AM.jpg
Why are we comparing our standard of living to the US when our dollar is much weaker and the government subsidises alot more things here than america?

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 11:53 am

Must u be a kant?

US and TT $$ are not the same nor does Trinidad have the quality of life as a US citizen

Postby j.o.e » December 19th, 2024, 12:07 pm

Must u be a kant?

US and TT $$ are not the same nor does Trinidad have the quality of life as a US citizen

Calm down zoomie. Duane is just posting some figures but you always be so aggressive and belligerent ?

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 12:28 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Must u be a kant?

Calm down zoomie. Duane is just posting some figures but you always be so aggressive and belligerent ?
Yes by all means post data, but leave a comment that you cannot compare dollar to dollar.

It's very misleading, like those PNM media houses filled with half truths

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2024, 12:29 pm

hover11 wrote:

Why are we comparing our standard of living to the US when our dollar is much weaker and the government subsidises alot more things here than america?

Must u be a kant?

j.o.e wrote:

Must u be a kant?

Yes by all means post data, but leave a comment that you cannot compare dollar to dollar.

For those that are reasonably well educated and/or anyone else that is not remarkably stupid; please ignore my post because you already know these things.

This is a comparison of Cost of Living and not Standard of Living.

Cost of living - financial requirement to maintain a certain level of basic necessities like food, housing, and healthcare in a specific place.

Standard of living is firmly associated with the quality of life.

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 12:37 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Must u be a kant?

j.o.e wrote:

Must u be a kant?

For those that are reasonably well educated and/or anyone else that is not remarkably stupid; please ignore my post because you already know these things.

Cost of living - financial requirement to maintain a certain level of basic necessities like food, housing, and healthcare in a specific place.

You still sound DOTISH....the government here subsidizes most of those things u listed here. So your point is moot

Postby zoom rader » December 19th, 2024, 12:39 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Must u be a kant?

j.o.e wrote:

Must u be a kant?

Kant a US and Trinidad $$ cannot be compared due to the nature of the countries and those that live in it. Different extremes lead up the differences, which most times are based on culture, politics, and temperament of the country.

You and Duane posting data that has no relevance on trinis saving money.

You another dumb asre that live on data that has no relevance on the reality on savings

Postby MaxPower » December 19th, 2024, 12:44 pm

zoom rader wrote:Goalpost

As u have seen, Trinis main goal is to get a credit card and take unnecessary useless loans.

That should tell you how much they save

Then u have ppl that say they are responsible for paying it off at the end of each month.

Carnival loans should also tell you how Trinis save.

Trinis are not responsible

X3000.

Trinis are not responsible.

The main goal as you said is to get the CC to buy $14k iphone and Carnival costume, and take out 10 year car loans. Big eye na…want want want with no care for savings and VEX when reminded of priorities and responsibilities.

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2024, 12:45 pm

hover11 wrote:Why are we comparing our standard of living to the US when our dollar is much weaker and the government subsidises alot more things here than america?

hover11 wrote:You still sound DOTISH....the government here subsidizes most of those things u listed here. So your point is moot

Postby adnj » December 19th, 2024, 12:47 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Must u be a kant?

j.o.e wrote:

Must u be a kant?

Kant a US and Trinidad $$ cannot be compared due to the nature of the countries and those that live in it. Different extremes lead up the differences, which most times are based on culture, politics, and temperament of the country.

You and Duane posting data that has no relevance on trinis saving money.

You another dumb asre that live on data that has no relevance on the reality on savings

Are you really that stupid, too? You two dickfucks are exhausting. *sad

Postby alfa » December 19th, 2024, 1:25 pm

Lots of youths lining up in Starbucks with the latest I whatever phone but taking juice box maxi to reach home. Priorities are the problem

Postby Les Bain » December 19th, 2024, 1:41 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:Why are we comparing our standard of living to the US when our dollar is much weaker and the government subsidises alot more things here than america?

hover11 wrote:You still sound DOTISH....the government here subsidizes most of those things u listed here. So your point is moot

Any idea what's the national average cost of renting? Just asking.

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 1:42 pm

alfa wrote:Lots of youths lining up in Starbucks with the latest I whatever phone but taking juice box maxi to reach home. Priorities are the problem
Parents are the enablers why you buying your child a 6000 dollar phone to begin with. They teaching them that everything comes easy

Postby hover11 » December 19th, 2024, 1:43 pm

Les Bain wrote:
adnj wrote:

Any idea what's the national average cost of renting? Just asking.
Let's average it 2500 -3000 that's private but then look at an hdc apartment which is next to nothing in rent and most of them not even paying the miniscule rent