[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/ZdThmaH.jpeg
[/IMG]

Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby hover11 » May 13th, 2025, 11:11 am

mero wrote:[IMG]https://i.imgur.com/ZdThmaH.jpeg
[/IMG]
Question is what are they going to do with all that TTD, who is running CAL boi, this entity just spinning top in mud

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 4:10 pm

I not sure where to post this

Guyana Vice-President Bharrat Jagdeo says his country's supply of US currency is being impacted by a high demand for US dollars in Trinidad and Tobago. Jagdeo said in a news conference on Thursday in Georgetown, Guyana, that some of Guyana's US currency is making its way to T&T.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/16dGpu5R7R/

Postby mero » May 15th, 2025, 5:10 pm

Seems like Bharat and Guyana has no respect for our new government and PM. Since when he talking up in he skunt so?

I thought the UNC had pull with Jagdeo, PNM was the problem and Guyana was going and save we ?

Looks like no one in CARICOM like we boy.

Weak leadership spreading like a virus.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2025, 5:29 pm

bharat toting long time
remember first unc iteration mervyn assam say he is a rookie country leader and suffering from newness or something like that
rowlee making fun about guyanese dollars a couple years ago only make it worse

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 5:31 pm

mero wrote:Seems like Bharat and Guyana has no respect for our new government and PM. Since when he talking up in he skunt so?

I thought the UNC had pull with Jagdeo, PNM was the problem and Guyana was going and save we ?

Looks like no one in CARICOM like we boy.

Weak leadership spreading like a virus.
The only weak leadership we had was the suffering we had to endure for the last nine years where a so called leader had to shout and berate his citizens to ganer their attention....

Postby mero » May 15th, 2025, 5:38 pm

Allyuh hard head trinis needed berating and a stern voice.

I know Guyana wasn't talking all that talk when Rowley was leader. Bobbie Head wasn't going thru that ranking talk.

Now we have lace front head as the emasculated voice of Trinidad. Imagine after all we do for Guyana, they styling we, talking up in dey skunt.

Game of thrones in real life, weak leaders get shown no respect

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 15th, 2025, 5:56 pm

hover11 wrote:I not sure where to post this

Guyana Vice-President Bharrat Jagdeo says his country's supply of US currency is being impacted by a high demand for US dollars in Trinidad and Tobago. Jagdeo said in a news conference on Thursday in Georgetown, Guyana, that some of Guyana's US currency is making its way to T&T.

How? I just headline surfed tbh, but can anyone explain how tf that possible?

Postby hover11 » May 15th, 2025, 5:57 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Vexxx when you looking for a scapegoat do you apply logic or just hope it sticks

Jagdeo said it is believed that some local cambios and commercial banks are selling foreign currency to Trinidadians coming to Guyana. Locals, too, he said, may be purchasing foreign currency and reselling at slightly higher rates to Trinidadians.

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 4:41 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Alot of trinis are getting their usd from guyana for several years now.

As it gets worse here it gets worse there.

Many of the oilfield related companies or construction companies that started up there are using money from there to pay USD bills and ship the goods here.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 6:05 am

imagine that
plus we getting a lot from them illegal venes who paying boat taxis in usd which filtering into the local economy

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 6:19 am

pugboy wrote:imagine that
plus we getting a lot from them illegal venes who paying boat taxis in usd which filtering into the local economy
We losing much more with the Venezuelans than we could ever be getting.

They can only send back usd home which is never seen again in our economy.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 6:39 am

if anything we losing a lot more from the chinese buying up everything on the street

the simple way to address this is decriminalize the usage of usd, let ppl buy and sell goods, real estate etc
ppl will bring back some instead of hoarding all outside

Chimera wrote:
pugboy wrote:imagine that
We losing much more with the Venezuelans than we could ever be getting.

They can only send back usd home which is never seen again in our economy.

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 7:56 am

What You mean decriminalization? You can buy and sell goods for usd....you can't buy and sell the usd itself.....

That's why in casinos they openly buying usd but they paying you in chips and not cash then you can go cash in the chips immediately

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 8:10 am

it’s officially illegal to trade goods in usd
you can say quote a phone in usd and more importantly take payment in it

in other islands that is perfectly fine

Chimera wrote:What You mean decriminalization? You can buy and sell goods for usd....you can't buy and sell the usd itself.....

That's why in casinos they openly buying usd but they paying you in chips and not cash then you can go cash in the chips immediately

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 8:29 am

pugboy wrote:it’s officially illegal to trade goods in usd

Chimera wrote:What You mean decriminalization? You can buy and sell goods for usd....you can't buy and sell the usd itself.....

pretty sure you're totally wrong there
I got my info from someone in FIU years ago

show me the law that says its illegal to sell goods or services for other currency rather than TT

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 8:44 am

i can’t say i ever looked up the law
but i know it to be said so long time, maybe i am wrong

and the other day when hyatt pull a stunt quoting stuff in usd and wanting ppl to pay so
the talk came up about it and even somebody in govt spoke about it

Chimera wrote:

show me the law that says its illegal to sell goods or services for other currency rather than TT

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 8:48 am

pugboy wrote:i can’t say i ever looked up the law
but i know it to be said so long time, maybe i am wrong

and the other day when hyatt pull a stunt quoting stuff in usd and wanting ppl to pay so
the talk came up about it and even somebody in govt spoke about it

Chimera wrote:

yeah daz wrong info yuh spreading.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 9:29 am

need to examine those laws
because it is clear that no businesses openly ever trade goods in usd officially here
i know in jamaica and barbados there are no such restrictions and ppl quote tenders etc in usd and get paid so

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 11:02 am

pugboy wrote:need to examine those laws
because it is clear that no businesses openly ever trade goods in usd officially here
i know in jamaica and barbados there are no such restrictions and ppl quote tenders etc in usd and get paid so

yuh wrong again

many businesses accept usd for payments openly and legally

for over 5 years now many businesses quote in both USD and TT

some people with government supply contracts even quote in USD only

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 11:09 am

https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 685ece1688

only if you have permission from central bank
because they are doing it doesn’t mean it is legal

Postby Chimera » May 18th, 2025, 11:15 am

Read what you post there.

Selling buying borrowing the currency itself is illegal

You can sell goods or services for any currency

If you are an air condition man and you put your invoice in usd...it is not illegal to be paid in usd

It is supposedly illegal to buy usd cash for tt

Again I give the casino example
You can walk into any casino and sell usd cash. They will pay you with chips.

Then you have to go cash out the chips for tt.

You buying chips with usd....
Selling the chips for tt.

Postby pugboy » May 18th, 2025, 11:43 am

you seem very familiar with how some contractors does pay govt officials in vegas…

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 23rd, 2025, 9:19 am

IN 2020, many of the malls in the country faced significant challenges including slow foot traffic and low sales, however there has been a recent turnaround.

Business Day spoke to several businesses in in Grand Bazaar, Valpark and Tunapuna about their day-to-day operations and challenges.

THE "city" of Grand Bazaar has become the epicentre of a growing and flourishing business hub in eastern Trinidad and Tobago.

In the Valsayn-based mall itself, one can see a wide variety of businesses including bakeries, clothing stores, restaurants and bars making the mall one of the premier shopping experiences in TT.

See imbutt plan now after he stop giving allyuh USD an heavy tax to buy online. He buy d mall an now allyuh have to shop in his mall. Jus like when them syrians buy all d swamp land in el socorro south for small money an then build proper roads an full d swamp. The 1% dont be rich from being chuppid. Is d 99% chuppid.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 3rd, 2025, 2:52 pm

Seems FCB now has $1k limit on new customer credit cards.

Postby Gladiator » June 3rd, 2025, 3:49 pm

Chimera wrote:Read what you post there.

If you are an air condition man and you put your invoice in usd...it is not illegal to be paid in usd

IIRC any trade locally has to be done in TTD anything else is illegal. Also ALL USD must be accounted for and regulated by the central bank or else its considered illegal.

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2025, 4:46 pm

real bank managers with big cards making a good change renting out their cards

Postby Chimera » June 3rd, 2025, 4:50 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Chimera wrote:Read what you post there.

IIRC any trade locally has to be done in TTD anything else is illegal. Also ALL USD must be accounted for and regulated by the central bank or else its considered illegal.

where you remember that from?
who tell you that?
show us where that is law

Postby Chimera » June 3rd, 2025, 4:52 pm

simple and recent example

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ec6e5.html

If its illegal to trade and take payment in USD

why is a local company suing the TTPS for a contract that payment is suppose to be paid in USD

The company’s attorneys added that for the 3,000 units to be shipped from China as “per the technical proposal accepted by the Commissioner of Police, the payment of 70% of the initial payment in the sum of $2,600,553.13 USD (TT$17.6m), which was due and payable on September 5th, 2024, and to date has not been paid”.

In addition to the 70% downpayment, DSSL is demanding that the TTPS pay US$220,000 per month in storage fees for equipment held in China since September 2024, totalling approximately US$1.9 million or TT$13.4 million for the last nine months.

They are also requesting that the TTPS cover the interest accrued on their overdraft facility, which is computed at a rate of 9.75% per annum, as well as legal costs, which have reportedly totalled roughly $20,000 to date.

DSSL’s attorney gave the TTPS 14 days to respond, or legal action would be initiated to claim monies due and owed and for damages and breach of contract.

On March 11, 2025, the TTPS Legal Unit responded to DSSL’s attorney, asking that the TTPS be given an extension of 30 days to respond, adding that the “additional time will allow the Legal Unit (sic) to take the relevant steps to obtain the necessary instructions, which would facilitate a comprehensive response to your missive”.

allyuh stop spreading wrong and stupid information na

Postby Chimera » June 3rd, 2025, 4:53 pm

lol all usd has to be accounted for.......

so the whole AirBNB and Car rental industry at the airport illegal then?

they shouldnt be charging your credit cards in USD for local transactions?