Funding Cepep as important as awarding scholarships

one eye

Re: Funding Cepep as important as awarding scholarships

Postby one eye » July 7th, 2025, 10:11 am

I was about to edit to include Ashton Ford, I left the link so did not bother to do so.

Nothing came out of it as it was likely a politically motivated, malicious attempt.

Please place context where it is needed to avoid misinformation.

Kazim slams untruth

“I call upon the minister and MP involved to confirm or deny that these are their voices and to clarify the manner in which Cepep contracts are being currently determined,” Maharaj said.

“It is my understanding that this clip originated from Devant Maharaj - an individual who has fallen out of favour with his colleagues and is grasping at any way back in. I see it as an attempt to make allegations against me and draw me into a scandal,” Hosein wrote

In defence, Hosein said he speaks with all Members of Parliament, as well as Opposition on many matters, including Cepep “and I direct them to contact the board of the company. I remain dedicated to serving my country in this office and I will not let untrue narratives prevent me from fulfilling this mandate.”

The recording made its rounds on social media one day after the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government published a notice for the pre-qualification and registration of new Cepep contractors. In the ad, applicants who applied for Cepep contracts in 2017 or 2018 were advised not to re-apply.

But Opposition MP Dr Roodal Moonilal, who served as line minister for Cepep for five years, said the practice of ministers and MPs submitting names of contractors was not new. He said during the People’s Partnership administration and “over the years” MPs and government ministers had put forward recommendations to assist companies in their constituencies. However, he said no one made demands and all contractors were subject to the same evaluation process and had to meet all the necessary requirements before being selected for a contract.

https://trinidad689.rssing.com/chan-506 ... 52996a9782

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2025, 10:33 am

one eye wrote:I was about to edit to include Ashton Ford, I left the link so did not bother to do so.

Nothing came out of it as it was likely a politically motivated, malicious attempt.

Please place context where it is needed to avoid misinformation.

Kazim slams untruth

“I call upon the minister and MP involved to confirm or deny that these are their voices and to clarify the manner in which Cepep contracts are being currently determined,” Maharaj said.

“It is my understanding that this clip originated from Devant Maharaj - an individual who has fallen out of favour with his colleagues and is grasping at any way back in. I see it as an attempt to make allegations against me and draw me into a scandal,” Hosein wrote

Everything against the PNM is malicious and made up
Everything against the UNC is fact based and grounded in reality!!!

Look at me I am a true patriot that cares about the country!!!

Postby hover11 » July 7th, 2025, 11:53 am

If the CEPEP Contractor’s company was struck off in 2024, how could the PNM renew his CEPEP contract? That is not valid in law. Is that contract still valid , as far as I know limited liability companies are their own entities and if the company is not valid how could it enter a contract?

Between this and al rental family who was collecting rent without a lease i don't know which is worse

one eye

Postby one eye » July 7th, 2025, 12:45 pm

You’ll feel dizzy coping that hard.

If I did not care about the country, I wouldn’t be highlighting the terrors caused by this government.

You don’t care about the 20,000 vulnerable workforce being jobless?

Hover why didn’t you check the company’s certificate of compliance and all the NIS payments?

Mishaps happen and is not an indication of corrupt practices, the contractor can plead not guilty to knowing about his company’s status, CEPEP not doing a legal status check before renewal is on them.

He will most likely win the appeal.

After converting the administrative complex built for gov't offices to a teaching center to start the office rental bobol, then vex about Faris.

One Alexandria was rented at a much lower price than what it was worth.

Postby hover11 » July 7th, 2025, 12:48 pm

One Alexandra place =$600k a month rental fee...one eye said it was rented out for less than what it was worth
one eye wrote:You’ll feel dizzy coping that hard.

If I did not care about the country, I wouldn’t be highlighting the terrors caused by this government.

Hover why didn’t you check the company’s certificate of compliance and all the NIS payments?

Mishaps happen and is not an indication of corrupt practices, the contractor can plead not guilty to knowing about his company’s status, CEPEP not doing a legal status check before renewal is on them.

After converting the administrative complex built for gov't offices to a teaching center to start the office rental bobol, then vex about Faris.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2025, 12:53 pm

No I am not coping about "20,000" jobless people. There are actually real jobs out there available for anyone that wants them at the skill level of CEPEP workers. OFC it means actually working a full work day.
CEPEP is not a sustainable work arrangement, just handouts masquerading as it. If you happy that we have created an entire army of people dependent on make work programmes good on you oui.

one eye

Postby one eye » July 7th, 2025, 1:09 pm

Hover go check the valuation, running costs and what amenities are available at One Alexandria then let me know if you still believe it is too high.

And many people take up those "real jobs", only to find themselves being degraded.

CEPEP does a great job cleaning areas.

The money is circulated back into the economy and it employs those who really need it, that's quite sustainable.

Postby hover11 » July 7th, 2025, 1:17 pm

Well hear what let al wari keep his property and rent it to someone else. Let the government take their business elsewhere. Nobody discounting the work CEPEP provides however in reality it can be done for a FRACTION of the cost
one eye wrote:Hover go check the valuation, running costs and what amenities are available at One Alexandria then let me know if you still believe it is too high.

And many people take up those "real jobs", only to find themselves being degraded.

CEPEP does a great job cleaning areas.

The money is circulated back into the economy and it employs those who really need it, that's quite sustainable.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2025, 1:32 pm

if the man company been deregistered since 2024 he should return the monies since it has been fraudulently received.
they looking real bad, ferris, stuey, larry are all senior counsel plus kareem

Postby hover11 » July 7th, 2025, 2:47 pm

There must be an audit of the previous decade or more of CEPEP's accounts. Why the PNM GOVT failed to ensure these audits since 2015? UNC must not also be guilty of bad management allowing this to continue. DITTO for CAL. One eye answer this why PNM didn't conduct a single audit since they were in office?

Postby The_Honourable » July 7th, 2025, 2:55 pm

So a company collecting millions of dollars per year didn't know they were suppose to file a $40 annual return at companies registry? and he going to court with that excuse? The judge will sort him.

And what BS you talking about the "teaching center". The administrative complex was converted to a TEACHING HOSPITAL. There are about 18 wards and about three administrative floors. All meh health workers will know the popular level 8. The Level 2 area that was suppose to go to UWI for teaching was eventually converted to HR. Under the pnm, the HR department was renting a "temporary" site for a decade some blocks away which had OSHA violations. When pnm wanted to use that same level 2 floor to rent out, HR department together with the union made threats to the SWRHA board and that is how HR was able to move out the rented building and got that floor.

Since when you care about country? You was quiet when pnm was terrorizing the population for nearly a decade. Oh right... you was bawling "this is a black PNM country!" Your racist self full of anti-hindu sentiment was only popping up talking about "nasty injuns" hindus and idols. You was vex with rowley and young attended Ganesh Chaturthi back in 2019.

Miss us with your BS please.

one eye

Postby one eye » July 7th, 2025, 6:26 pm

Collecting millions of dollars per year? It is 1 million per year.

We will see what happens with that court case.

The administrative complex was always intended as a multi-purpose facility. It’s cool and all that it’s a teaching hospital however its real intention was to eliminate the leases and millions in annual rent to, as you said “temporary” site with OSHA violations.

Made threats? No, there must be a negotiation process.

I always have Trinidad & Tobago's best interest. There is hardly any credibility that they were "terrorizing" the population for nearly a decade.

Knowing pnm logic, they will call Dr. Selwyn Cudjoe a UNC, sellout, lick bottom, etc for speaking the truth.

Your words and I posted what I "bawling" right after your post on 'Black betrayal', you figure it out.

My comments were aimed to trigger De Dragon and Zoom which it usually did. You'd never tell them anything when they throw their anti-black tantrum so please cut out that ugly PEA behavior.

Postby The_Honourable » July 7th, 2025, 7:33 pm

one eye wrote:Collecting millions of dollars per year? It is 1 million per year.

We will see what happens with that court case.

The administrative complex was always intended as a multi-purpose facility. It’s cool and all that it’s a teaching hospital however its real intention was to eliminate the leases and millions in annual rent to, as you said “temporary” site with OSHA violations.

Made threats? No, there must be a negotiation process.

I always have Trinidad & Tobago's best interest. There is hardly any credibility that they were "terrorizing" the population for nearly a decade.

Knowing pnm logic, they will call Dr. Selwyn Cudjoe a UNC, sellout, lick bottom, etc for speaking the truth.

Your words and I posted what I "bawling" right after your post on 'Black betrayal', you figure it out.

My comments were aimed to trigger De Dragon and Zoom which it usually did. You'd never tell them anything when they throw their anti-black tantrum so please cut out that ugly PEA behavior.

Yuh conveniently skip the annual return part... just $40

When HR threaten to go slow and shut down because of osha violations in a regional authority, upper management will cave in fast.

True, it was for government offices. Made much more sense for a hospital as the old colonial hospital which is literally next door had capacity problems with an expanding san fernando and environs population.

So PNM was an excellent government in the last 9+ years?

If yuh did ACTUALLY understand Zoom who is black, he is not anti-black, he is anti-pnm. You on the other hand is a racist full with hate for hindus. Quiet when it comes to poor pnm governance, throwing talk for indians and hindus but as pnm loss elections you suddenly now for country and very active here on tuner with pnm spin.

Go ahead and fool yourself but you not fooling anybody.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2025, 9:10 pm

so one million is not worth pulling up it appears

Postby The_Honourable » July 7th, 2025, 9:37 pm

hover11 wrote:If the CEPEP Contractor’s company was struck off in 2024, how could the PNM renew his CEPEP contract? That is not valid in law. Is that contract still valid , as far as I know limited liability companies are their own entities and if the company is not valid how could it enter a contract?

pugboy wrote:if the man company been deregistered since 2024 he should return the monies since it has been fraudulently received.
they looking real bad, ferris, stuey, larry are all senior counsel plus kareem

That new contract would not be valid as the company was struck off before it was signed. Then there is the question if the company was struck off before previous contracts were signed.

It seems some of the contractors got caught off guard with their companies being struck off, and if they sign contracts during the struck off period they can't lay any claims against CEPEP or anyone for that matter, but CEPEP can make claims against the directors to return monies. You can read up on "piercing the corporate veil" legal theory.

Yeah it does look bad on Larry and co... they must be going through all the companies who want to challenge cepep and realize some would not be able to as their companies are struck off.

Postby hover11 » July 8th, 2025, 6:57 am

Minister of Legal Affairs Saddam Hosein claims that 32 of the 326 Community-Based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme (CEPEP) contractors were struck off the Companies Registry.

Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/saddam- ... 1195d7f582

I honestly find they should SCRAP CEPEP it is too much corruption
FB_IMG_1751972175988.jpg

Postby Chimera » July 8th, 2025, 7:53 am

Lol whoever rush and sign those contracts should get screwed up and charged. to get struck off it mean 3 years they didnt file anything

Plenty things i've done with government they always ask for last annual return before approving anything.

and you collecting a million a year from government.....you eh even studying to keep your company up to date?

they should start to investigate all them fellas OTHER companies and see what contracts they getting

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2025, 8:23 am

most does ask for last 2-3 returns
ent revenue authority was supposed to go after these ppl

one eye

Postby one eye » July 8th, 2025, 8:47 am

This gov’t was the most scandalous gov’t ever during their first term.

Full of hate is exacerbated, coming up to elections I gave my warnings why you should not let this gov’t back into office.

You should hear the full of hate chit chat that group of people have about you even though you were nothing but good to them.

Should I be active when there is nothing to defend or refute?

Fool myself? I present the facts to back what I say.

9.8% of contractors were stuck off, 1 contractor not existing anymore. Instead of politicizing it, deal with it and move on.

So what if you recognize a few (3) names that are known to members in the Opposition, they still went through the same evaluation process as everyone else. What about the rest of 323 contractors, do you know them?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 8th, 2025, 9:12 am

one eye wrote:This gov’t was the most scandalous gov’t ever during their first term.

Full of hate is exacerbated, coming up to elections I gave my warnings why you should not let this gov’t back into office.

You should hear the full of hate chit chat that group of people have about you even though you were nothing but good to them.

Should I be active when there is nothing to defend or refute?

Fool myself? I present the facts to back what I say.

9.8% of contractors were stuck off, 1 contractor not existing anymore. Instead of politicizing it, deal with it and move on.

So what if you recognize a few (3) names that are known to members in the Opposition, they still went through the same evaluation process as everyone else. What about the rest of 323 contractors, do you know them?

Between 2002 - 2010
Patrick Manning
Was building a secret church in the Jungle
Spent 1.4b on a 277m cricket stadium and still didn't complete it
Had Calder Hart running rackets on billions of tax payers monies
Had Marlene giving out secret scholarships which went to 92% non-Indians
Was before the Privy Council and lost for vetoing Public Servants appointments

But yea the UNC 2010 to 2015 was the most scandalous ever

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2025, 9:39 am

allyuh actually taking the bait to debate old crap
don’t take the sycophant chain up

Postby hover11 » July 8th, 2025, 9:41 am

What's the difference between CEPEP and money laundering

Postby timelapse » July 8th, 2025, 12:58 pm

200,00 vulnerable workforce my left nut. Venezuelans, Guyanese, lord knows who else landing fresh off the boat and getting jobs.Some of them are actually successful . Let's face it , these folks don't want meaningful employment, or to develop their skills .
I know guys that came out from the prison system that are doing very well for them selves because they made up their minds to work hard. CEPEP is not designed to be permanent employment. You are supposed to learn skills from it that give you experience.
Same with OJT and all these other programs that exist/ed. I have personally seen people that jump from program to program when I was working in the OJT office some years ago.It is an entitlement mindset that needs to be broken.

Postby j.o.e » July 8th, 2025, 2:27 pm

Whether they scrap cepep or not I hope they replace it with something. Place looking overgrown already

Postby The_Honourable » July 9th, 2025, 8:46 pm

CEPEP gets a fresh lawsuit from a fired contractor

THE CEPEP Company is facing fresh legal action from a contractor over the government's decision to rescind more than 300 CEPEP contracts.

This latest development comes as the company navigates ongoing disputes regarding its contractual agreements with government.

One such case involves Eastman Enterprise Ltd, a general contracting company, which has filed a notice of application for an interim injunction against CEPEP.

The matter came up on Wednesday before Justice Margaret Mohammed via a virtual hearing. The High Court judge has since given directions for both parties to file their evidence within the next month with the next hearing scheduled for July 18.

Eastman Enterprise is represented by Senior Counsel Larry Lalla and attorney Kareem Marcelle, while the CEPEP Company is being led by a team of attorneys from Freedom Law Chambers, headed by former attorney general Anand Ramlogan SC.

Eastman Enterprise is seeking a court order to prevent CEPEP from terminating its contract, which was initially dated October 28, 2022, but significantly amended on April 23, 2025, to extend its term until September 20, 2029.

In its statement of case, Eastman Enterprise asserts that it has provided satisfactory services to CEPEP for approximately seven years, and argues that the termination notice, issued on June 27, 2025, constitutes a fundamental breach of contract.

The company claims CEPEP failed to make a payment in lieu of notice concurrently with the termination.

A critical aspect of Eastman Enterprise's argument is the severe impact the termination would have on thousands of individuals.

The company contends that ending the contract abruptly would profoundly affect over 10,000 people, including its employees, their families, and other vulnerable individuals who rely on these jobs. Many of these workers are single parents, and they have lost accrued benefits, with the company currently unable to secure alternative employment for them due to prevailing national economic conditions.

CEPEP's attorneys on the other hand have raised significant concerns about an alleged April 23, addendum that extended Eastman Enterprise's contract.

They described the extension as "highly irregular and a cause for grave concern," particularly as it was signed just five days before a general election while the existing contract still had over 16 months remaining.
CEPEP's legal representatives questioned the absence of a public tender process, suggesting a "preferential exercise of power without reference to the principles of transparency, accountability and good governance." They also indicated "reasonable grounds for suspicion that there may have been some form of illegal political corruption, nepotism and favouritism," even suggesting that contracts might have been "purportedly renewed after the results of the general elections were announced and subsequently backdated" to disguise "illegal political conspiracy and corruption."

Eastman Enterprise, however, counters that CEPEP acted in "bad faith" and without "proper justification" in terminating the contract.

They maintain that monetary damages would not adequately compensate for the harm, emphasizing the severe impact on their employees and their families. The company also argues that CEPEP would not be prejudiced by an injunction, as it has sufficient budgetary allocations to continue funding the contract.

This latest legal action follows a short-lived claim brought by another CEPEP contractor, Stephen Samuel's Contractors Ltd, who filed a lawsuit against The CEPEP Company Ltd on July 3, only to withdraw it less than 24 hours later.

That lawsuit had sought to overturn CEPEP's decision to terminate its contract. Reports indicate that the claim was withdrawn after it was discovered that Stephen Samuel's company had been struck from the Companies Registry.

CEPEP subsequently accused the contractor of abusing the court process, labelling the legal action as "misconceived, hopeless, frivolous, and vexatious" and politically motivated, although the contractor's legal team has suggested a new claim is expected to be filed.

https://trinidadexpress.com/cepep-gets- ... d8432.html

Postby pugboy » July 9th, 2025, 9:06 pm

are cepep contracts based on a certain sum guaranteed over the years ?

could they have allowed the contractors to remain but leave them with miniscule money?

Postby The_Honourable » July 10th, 2025, 11:52 pm

Statement by Patrick Manning during his budget speech in 2008 on cepep.

Page 38: https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... 1/pub9.pdf
PM Cepep Budget 08.png

Postby Dizzy28 » July 11th, 2025, 10:56 am

The_Honourable wrote:Statement by Patrick Manning during his budget speech in 2008 on cepep.

No dawg

Men need CEPEP to pay mortgages !!!

Postby The_Honourable » July 11th, 2025, 4:25 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Statement by Patrick Manning during his budget speech in 2008 on cepep.

No dawg

Men need CEPEP to pay mortgages !!!

one eye refinancing his mortgage as we speak

Postby Chimera » July 11th, 2025, 6:55 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/07/11/pnm-mp ... p-firings/

is this youth really this stupid

or his senior PNM forcing him to be so stupid

COMING onstage to Bob Marley's song, War, Laventille West MP Kareem Marcelle promised that the government would now face "war" over its halting of Cepep contracts.

He said a PNM legal team would go to court on July 18 seeking an injunction to halt the firing of Cepep workers and termination of contractors' contracts, at a PNM rally at Beetham Community Centre, Port of Spain, on July 10, chaired by Port of Spain deputy mayor Abena Hartley.

Saying "Beetham Gardens raised me," Marcelle said he had many uncles, aunts, friends and neighbours who were Cepep workers, so he knew how the sudden mass loss of jobs felt.

He said the Cepep firings were all about "real people and real lives."

"That is why I worked passionately to bring this claim against this wicked, nasty, evil government."

He said by the stroke of a pen, the government had not only fired 11,000 Cepep workers but also harmed the families of the 11,000 ex-workers.

Addressing the Cepep line minister, Public Utilities Minister Barry Padarath, Marcelle said, "Barry Padarath is the 'prime minister' of TT, but this country did not give him a mandate."

"When the PNM came to power in 2015 they did not do this."

She implored that Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar even at this late stage could act to halt the firings or give fired workers food cards or book grants.

She said owing to parents losing their Cepep jobs, some children would be forced to drop out of school, join gangs or to go seek work.

"These are real repercussions of political decisions.

"Twenty thousand people out of work! For God's sake, Kamla, where is your humanity?

"You have the power to show love.

"The responsibility of a leader is to take care of the most humble."

Opposition Senator Dr Amery Browne said who would have thought the Cepep firings would have occurred, after all the nice songs and goodies of the recent election campaign.

Opposition Leader Pennelope Beckles testified to the good work of Cepep by saying crews were requested and then lauded by the Government of Grenada after Hurricane Ivan had struck

this mc head shaking