Giant African Snail

Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2025, 4:20 pm

fowl means chickens, ducks, guinea birds, the wild bird they call krao/limpkin

in maraval and santa cruz manicou eating a lot of them and have them under control somewhat

SuperMan9999 wrote:
pugboy wrote:only real option is natural predation
fowl and manicou

I thought they said a Fox is a good predator? you saying Fowl will kill out all?

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2025, 4:21 pm

anybody know what is the attractant they use in the bait ?
it really attracts snails and slugs from a distance

screwbash wrote:
alfa wrote:Was the latest on the snail scenes?
What successes yall having with spray on chemicals? The bait too risky around dogs so I wanna try the spray chemicals if any working

Will the bait attract cats also? 2 kills with one poison, snail and them dam stray cats.

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2025, 6:52 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody know what is the attractant they use in the bait ?

screwbash wrote:
alfa wrote:Was the latest on the snail scenes?
What successes yall having with spray on chemicals? The bait too risky around dogs so I wanna try the spray chemicals if any working

Will the bait attract cats also? 2 kills with one poison, snail and them dam stray cats.
Red woman sweat.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 12th, 2025, 9:14 pm

SuperMan9999 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Well ah seeing these pest on the boarder of home first time ever....

These things are a MAJOR problem get the blue poison for snail ASAP, flame thrower anything you can get your hands on to kill them permanently, don't crush them because the eggs and little ones will spread.

They spread and multiply incredibly fast and once it happens there is noway to get rid of them from your area.

I adopted a small to medium size Caiman I found in my yard during the flood, I say well he will deal with these snails but he was useless he didn't eat any of the snails, he just loafed around sleeping all day and terrorized my mother instead, ended up dumping him in a nearby abandoned pond that has some fishes.
Bro wat,????

Postby 88sins » July 13th, 2025, 7:06 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody know what is the attractant they use in the bait ?

boi, I'm seeing 2 things that have been attracting those snails
Bananas
Dog crap

Do with that information whatever you will

Postby timelapse » Yesterday, 7:38 am

The copper sulfate solution real wukking for me.
What I discovered is that they hate chives. I have stated planting chives around the plants that they like

Postby alfa » Yesterday, 8:11 am

timelapse wrote:The copper sulfate solution real wukking for me.
What I discovered is that they hate chives. I have stated planting chives around the plants that they like

How you using the copper?
Mix ratios?

Postby j.o.e » Yesterday, 8:13 am

The chives thing is interesting. I’m snail free more or less for over a year and a half now. Always vigilant tho because the general area is infested.

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 9:15 am

i see them eating chives already
in fairways

Postby *KRONIK* » Yesterday, 9:23 am

pugboy wrote:i see them eating chives already
in fairways
Seasoning themselves

ROFL

Postby timelapse » Yesterday, 10:55 am

alfa wrote:

How you using the copper?
Mix ratios?

Recommended ratio is 1 tsp per gallon of water,I using it 4 tsp per gallon. I using small spray bottles and going trigger happy.
I am paying $25/lb by the agro shop. The copper sulfate is safe for dogs/cats /birds. Do not use around fish. It is also a very good fungicide for plants. So win/win
The snails by me don't particularly like the chives for some reason, just an observation

Postby MaxPower » Yesterday, 11:32 am

Boys,

Nothing not working, them fawkers coming full force. The more deading the more coming.

Trying this around the entrance where they coming from. Going to place on ground and fill with heavy salt.

Plenty rain would make it overflow and dilute the salt, but some of them will get it if they venture in. Trying to see if i could build a shelter strip to cover it.

IMG_5698.JPG

Postby timelapse » Yesterday, 1:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Boys,

Nothing not working, them fawkers coming full force. The more deading the more coming.

Trying this around the entrance where they coming from. Going to place on ground and fill with heavy salt.

Plenty rain would make it overflow and dilute the salt, but some of them will get it if they venture in. Trying to see if i could build a shelter strip to cover it.

IMG_5698.JPG

That looking like some people's trunk spoiler...lol
What area you from again? Not sure how far south they reach

Re: Giant African Snail

Postby MaxPower » Yesterday, 3:28 pm

timelapse wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Boys,

IMG_5698.JPG

That looking like some people's trunk spoiler...lol
What area you from again? Not sure how far south they reach

Point, but this is in Tacarigua.

Postby gastly369 » Yesterday, 3:44 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
in fairways
Seasoning themselves

ROFL
Should I?

Postby *KRONIK* » Yesterday, 3:51 pm

gastly369 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
in fairways
Seasoning themselves

ROFL
Should I?
Yes
Doh second guess it
Jam the land conchs in a curry sauce dey

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 4:33 pm

what sense it make throwing salt if yuh still have to pick them up since they does leggo the eggs when dying
best you just pick them up one time and soak in the bleach bucket

Postby alfa » Yesterday, 5:33 pm

I guessing with enough salt the eggs will be properly salted as well upon being released

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 8:51 pm

well it ain’t hard to test that
collect the dead snail/eggs in a container and see if they hatch lol

alfa wrote:I guessing with enough salt the eggs will be properly salted as well upon being released