Hoe's lil secret

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 6th, 2008, 3:44 pm

sometimes if you dont have enough compression for wilder cams, you can actually loose power.

Raymond.EMS

Postby Raymond.EMS » July 6th, 2008, 3:55 pm

raymond if the cams were installed improperly the car would not have even started

(1)if you read what i said i said it was not possible for the cams to be installed improperly because the problem would of come long before it came not 15 pulls in but pull 1 or 2 . you need to read what i said again.

the car was driving 3 weeks prior to you attempting to tune it

as for the specs on the cams... the duration and valve lift is 297 degrees and 12.4mm respectively

(2) cam specs are correct

according to YOUR excuse... i am telling you they are NOT turbo cams, rsx cams or inferior to ITR cams

(3) i never said they were turbo cams all i said is the buddy club stage 2 cams have less duration than the stock cams .

so considering the FACTS... dat YOU were swinging the car past redline.. YOU saw the spec sheet before purchase and approved it... YOU never changed or tried to determine the optimum vtec engagement point... and after 3HOURS ON THE DYNO, the car was still doin 201whp!

(4) i saw the spec sheet after the cams were installed and my first question was who sugested these cams because they have less duration than stock .hmmmmm get the facts correct i actually got the spec sheet that came with the cams . how did i get that before the cams were bought

(5)with the stock cams the car turned 9000 rpm every day sense the last time it was tuned with out a problem . it was only turning 8700 rpm on the dyno no power on top so no need to go any higher than that dyno sheets will show .

(6) we determined the optimum vtec point and it was 5800 rpm thats y the lump in the vtec transistion point was smothened out would you like me to post the dyno sheets showing this .with the vtec point higher and lower ? hmmmmm get the facts correct please before you post .

YOU are saying that I had the wrong cams and k20 engines KNOWN for breaking valves...
and yes im saying that k20 engines are known for droping valves .
lots of people in the world sare the same view i can show pictures off the net from a k20 which was in 6th gear at 70 miles per hour and a valve droped for no reason peopl have left it down to metal fatigue .

if i may ask how much km has the car done ??

i never said u had the wrong cams i asked y a cam with less duration than stock .

im not pointing fingures at any one what we are trying to find out is y the engine went south its not as tho some one jumped inside with a hammer its an engine metal stretches metal gets tired after a while of being hammered .
how much km did the engine do in its life time the thing to do is figure out what went wrong in the engine so it would never happen again not point fingers and at the end of the day you all are totally missing the point .there was no problem with the cam install as i said in my previous post . and the rpm was only at 8700 rpm
and the vtec and variable valve timing points were already established as the car went from the first pull of 180 bhp to the last pull of 201 bhp .and the last 5 pulls were all 201 bhp 8700 rpm all identical between the 2 last pulls no changes were made . [/img]

Raymond.EMS

Postby Raymond.EMS » July 6th, 2008, 4:00 pm

You Guys ever learned how to read cam specs there is a differance between advertised duration and duration at 0.050 inches of lift . here are the specs below for the stock jdm cams.
JDM K20A (DC5) Stock
Adv. Dur. 320°/318°
Dur @ .050 224°/219°
Lift (mm) 12.27/10.7
Last edited by Raymond.EMS on July 6th, 2008, 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » July 6th, 2008, 4:03 pm

what are the specs on the cams brent bought?
and at what lift

sometimes there mesaured at different lift

paz

Postby paz » July 6th, 2008, 4:10 pm

honda hoe wrote:
Raymond.EMS wrote:ok peoples lets look at this from a technical point of view because te finger pointing isn't making sense when the reason for the engine imploding still isn't clear for metal parts to break up they have to hit some thing the problem is figuring out what caused the first collision the car was on about the 15-20 dyno pull at the same 8700 rpm when it happened if it was a problem of cam install or to much rpm at 8700 it would of happened long before that as the clearance variables don't just up and change that drastically in between dyno pulls if it dose all of us have to be carefull because a lot of engines will implode so whats left metal Fatigue connecting rod bolt or a valve dropped for no reason which K20 ENGINES ARE KNOWN FOR DOING . with a valve dropping (valve head breaks off ) there would be metal on metal contact lots of it to .

:roll: :roll: :roll:

raymond if the cams were installed improperly the car would not have even started

the car was driving 3 weeks prior to you attempting to tune it

as for the specs on the cams... the duration and valve lift is 297 degrees and 12.4mm respectively

according to YOUR excuse... i am telling you they are NOT turbo cams, rsx cams or inferior to ITR cams

so considering the FACTS... dat YOU were swinging the car past redline.. YOU saw the spec sheet before purchase and approved it... YOU never changed or tried to determine the optimum vtec engagement point... and after 3HOURS ON THE DYNO, the car was still doin 201whp!

YOU are saying that I had the wrong cams and k20 engines KNOWN for breaking valves...

are you blatantly saying dat YOU were not responsible for my engine mashing up?

its a simple yes or no answer

hoe ...the engine had milege. and yes you should have ugraded the valvetrain one time ..we all know you ruffed up the car on a daily basis ,i'm sure past the stock limit which seems closer 8700 - 9000rpm.

when it boils down to it ..used valvetrain, stage 2 cams ..the engine just had enough .as luck would have it ..this happened while raymond was tuning ..had this happend while you were driving it .it would have been a totally different story.think about it .valve dropped at 8700 .

i sorry for yuh there .but thaz just how some things happen...

personally if i were raymond ..i would have tld yuh come back when you upgrade the valvetrain.and yes it is possible that the cams could have been installed without proper clearances and still run ....it is impossible to know at this point...the only person i would trust to put cams in my car is jason cause he takes his time and gets the job done properly.no mistakes

Raymond.EMS

Postby Raymond.EMS » July 6th, 2008, 4:18 pm

Buddy club spec
SPEC II
intake 297° 12.4mm
exhaust 293° 11.8mm

more lift and less duration gives more bottom end power and more mid range torque and that it did for sure the dyno sheets shows a conciderable differance in the mid range and low end .

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2008, 4:22 pm

I feel hoe bull in the car.

Postby joker » July 6th, 2008, 4:23 pm

IMO... BRENT BLIGHT WITH HONDAS.

sad to hear your loss boi hoe.

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2008, 4:24 pm

I goin and play 20 - 1 in Pick 2 tomorrow yes. Seems to be Honda Hoes lucky number.

Raymond.EMS

Postby Raymond.EMS » July 6th, 2008, 5:05 pm

oh note to brent on the dyno the rev limit was never raised back up from where kess had set it it was still at the set 9000 rpm no need to touch the rev limit if the car isnt making power pass 8700 rpm so get that info rite as well.

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2008, 5:06 pm

Raymond.EMS, did you approve his Cam install?

Raymond.EMS

Postby Raymond.EMS » July 6th, 2008, 5:20 pm

I was asked what i think about cams and i said yes cams will make a difference and then i was told he had bought cams after they were installed i was told what cams they were and given the spec sheet . there was a messenger dont know if the messenger was told to ask me about buddy club stage 2 cams or not but i was never asked before tha fact and didnt know what cams they were untill i got the spec sheet .

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2008, 5:28 pm

Raymond.EMS, I admire both your patience in answering questions and your professionalism

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2008, 5:34 pm

well i guess its official.
Hoe has no one to blame but himself... again.

Aphrodite
Location: living my life ....and loving it every step off the way :)

Postby Aphrodite » July 6th, 2008, 5:49 pm

pic's of brents engine taken today

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2008, 6:09 pm

Hoe did your engine have any head issues before?

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2008, 6:15 pm

engine looks licksed down

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:24 pm

297 degrees duration and 12.4mm lift That is stage 2 range cams.
Stock specs taken from Brian Crower's wesite
Stock 224° duration@.050 and 10.77mm lift (JDM K20A)

That is a lot of duration to be using the stock valvetrain....

i saw the spec sheet after the cams were installed and my first question was who sugested these cams because they have less duration than stock .

Wait .....forgive my ignorance

but wtf? ....didnt kezays specs mean the buddy club had more duration and lift than a stock ITR cam?

high milage is 112,000km?? damn....good ting for nissan.......ppl with 200,000km does be tuning full out with stock BLOCK and nothing does go poof

MUDDA CNUT GOD BLESS PALLA ENGINE!!!! :fist:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:25 pm

engine looks licksed down

hoe bull in the engine bay wtf yuh expect

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:26 pm

Hoe did your engine have any head issues before?

since hoe had the car he never had any issue...odda dan it effing slow

he used to spend good money to keep it right up

did i say.....HOORAY FOR PALLA ENGINE

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:27 pm

spam up unda a rock nA

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:27 pm

iz like this post hit vtec on a low duration high lift cam....and a moderator will tune out this graph for mid ramnge power

Postby Cjruckus » July 6th, 2008, 6:28 pm

BlueIce wrote:
high milage is 112,000km?? damn....good ting for nissan.......ppl with 200,000km does be tuning full out with stock BLOCK and nothing does go poof

That's because the previous owner of the engine already changed everything by purchasing a full kit for 200 bux.

Postby eliteauto » July 6th, 2008, 6:28 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: buh I have a Corolla doing 300K on the original engine............................................. rite rite my car slow

Raymond.EMS

Postby Raymond.EMS » July 6th, 2008, 6:29 pm

JDM K20A (DC5) Stock
Adv. Dur. 320°/318°
Dur @ .050 224°/219°
Lift (mm) 12.27/10.7

Buddy club spec
SPEC II
intake 297° 12.4mm
exhaust 293° 11.8mm

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:31 pm

is like this....the higher duration of the inlet cam came into the less vtec of the sorck hampster duration

sgjkhsdkgnsdgs
jhgfsjsbdfksd
sjfgjsdfvtecsjfgshgfs
asjfgsajraaaaaaaatatatatatatatatatatatattatatatatatatatata creeeech

Postby r3iXmann » July 6th, 2008, 6:31 pm

BlueIce wrote:
Wait .....forgive my ignorance

but wtf? ....didnt kezays specs mean the buddy club had more duration and lift than a stock ITR cam?

MUDDA CNUT GOD BLESS PALLA ENGINE!!!! :fist:

for a sports car? yes..you think the owners gonna be driving at 80kmh@3000rpm all the time or what? :|

nissan engines aint going anywhere fast,so they must last long :fist:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:32 pm

JDM K20A (DC5) Stock
Adv. Dur. 320°/318°
Dur @ .050 224°/219°
Lift (mm) 12.27/10.7

Buddy club spec
SPEC II
intake 297° 12.4mm
exhaust 293° 11.8mm

cool scene

but how come ur specs diff from kezay?? just asking....want to learn

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:33 pm

nissan engines aint going anywhere fast,so they must last long

small ting....40K k20 motor.......i cud afford to by about 4 front cut with palla engine

PLO :fist:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 6th, 2008, 6:33 pm

nehoe

we gonna check ajeet and jj16 dey......ah now hear dey fighting by d fence again