Ato's negative comments about Usain Bolt

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » August 20th, 2008, 12:00 pm

joel wrote:Ato really had no choice... he tryin to please the american boss so he could get ahead...

This is what we call pleasing boss from under the table... :wink:

joel

Postby joel » August 20th, 2008, 12:06 pm

^ yuh right!! and in we heart we feel he shoulda stand up for heself and say something different but he do what he musbe thought shoulda been said as " a responsible news caster to the AMERICAN public" so that he could get ahead in their system...unfortunately NBC is not aired in the states alone and EVERYBODY see and hear him soo he come out lookin like a hypocritcal sourgrapes man

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » August 20th, 2008, 12:21 pm

This is my 2 cents being an Ato fan...concerning the celebrating i would of done the same ting by all means it the 100m olympic finals and the man had the record already. And for the other comment if Bolt technique is slighty flawed thats the fact and any athlete would want to improve on their from in any way possible. But Ato is one of the few modern day sprinter that has 4 olympic medals in 2 olympics which was an incredible job considering todays standard in athletics....But i still find that Bolt's way of celebrating is none of his business...

Positive Performance

Postby Positive Performance » August 20th, 2008, 12:25 pm

Terran wrote:So... he was right, then?
No cuz he broke the 100m record running the "wrong" type of race :roll: UBolt is simply phenomenal! If what's taught by traditional T&F coaches is not his technique,so what? Michael Johnson was said to have NOT able to achieve the times that he did with his tech. :wink: It's admittedly irksome for him not to be a Trini,but he is our Caribbean brethren, and simply he is an exceptional athlete.

x2, Ato should go tell Chanderpaul bout his technique... :D :D :D

Postby honda hoe » August 20th, 2008, 12:40 pm

but ato NEVER win olympic gold or break either OR or WR

so he should hush he kant

i NEVER like him

damn heat specialist

i classify him as a pullstones since 1996 olympics

Lancer01

Postby Lancer01 » August 20th, 2008, 12:54 pm

I second that....If I was 21 and in the 100m Finals at the Olympics and realising I would come first, I would be celebrating just like bolt. Winning the most loved event at EVERY olympics.....ha ha.....X-tatik :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » August 20th, 2008, 1:29 pm

The number of ppl tuning in to NBC to watch Bolt run in all the heats and finals after that 100m run most likely increased ratings 10 fold for NBC who would turn that into profit which would then pay Boldon's salary....

I really wish Bolt the best and hope he has the right ppl to guide him in his decisions....

Well done BOLT.

ATO....hymc

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 20th, 2008, 2:17 pm

I scream down de place when I see bolt win !!! both 100 and 200 !!

he's freaking amazing !!!!!!!!

and hurdle girl who was right after omg !!!!!!! allyuh does say that gyul hit Vtec yes !!!

Honestly I didn't kno the other voice who bad talking bolt was Ato I thought it was some refuse US track star :oops: de accent fool me bad bad :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Screw Ato hes stooopid . :evil:

BessD

Postby BessD » August 20th, 2008, 3:06 pm

Pot ah tell kettle he bottom black...... why Ato en haul he ole #$%. If i win i woulda been d same way.... so why he shouldnt b allowed to celebrate his accomplishment.

kalongi

Postby kalongi » August 20th, 2008, 3:18 pm

while I ent like the guy's comments one bit stop beating up on our national hero , ( yes whether you like it or not) and please take into consideration that his role and agenda as a Commentator has dramatically changed as being an athlete , especially a USA commentator.

For Christ sakes some of you all in here , see things for what they are at times and leave well enough alone geesh .

He mouth big but he delivered alogn with so many others , which is no easy feat and please try and separate the two roles. !!!!!!!!!!!

d_ad_man

Postby d_ad_man » August 20th, 2008, 3:29 pm

If i was that far ahead, i would hav cartwheeled over de line. Michael Johnson used to do it sometime, b4 he win 1 finger in the air showin who was boss. Ato is jus a puppet

ha ha ha ha ha

i woulda flip an spit in meh bottom too. :P

eitech

Postby eitech » August 20th, 2008, 3:35 pm

i doin a search on google to find da rules that states it wrong to celebrate prematurely..when we caribbean ppl should be supporting each other , we back stabbing..despite all the rivalries jamaica and trinidad has, i was glad to see BOLT win..as a matter of fact, i glad to see anyone win except the usa. As for ato, he's jus jealous, or should i say envious. he should be the last one talkin bout being cocky. his comments were really disappointin and anyone endorsing it :fist: ...

Postby gt4tified » August 20th, 2008, 7:19 pm

Greypatch wrote:ATo mouth was always faster than his legs...

Agreed. Daz exactly why Bas fire he @ss from de UNC!

Usain Bolt is only 21 years old....couple dat with the excitement and psyche that it takes to be a top Olympian, I could understand and overlook Bolt's jubilation.

Hear wha, if any of allyuh willing to provide the "Jealousy Kills" vinyl stika, I would ensure it finds its way to de back of Boldon's prado! :twisted:

axe

Postby axe » August 20th, 2008, 7:30 pm

remember how ato used to take out his shirt right after running and walk up and down pushin out he chest and strutting? i didnt see anything wrong with that...still dont. But criticizing a man for celebrating a herculean feat is jus wrong. I was upset one time...and Bolt is such a likeable character! what they expect him to do bow to the east, bow to the west, bow to the north, bow to the south? ridiculous. Ive seen many times where co-commentators disagree...not one thing wrong with that...yuh jus need stones.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 20th, 2008, 7:53 pm

^^ well said.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 20th, 2008, 8:22 pm

I think what it really boils down to is Ato wishes he could have broken the world record in his time and to see someone do it, and do it with effort to spare. It boils down to envy. Ato wishes he could have made it look that easy...it's the stuff of dreams and Ato has had a rude awakening by the dominance Bolt has demonstrated:!:

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 20th, 2008, 10:58 pm

If you guys were in ATO position you would of said the same thing...

typical Trinidadians hating your own Heroes....

Not everyone can hold the same ideologies or thoughts and ATO has earned his right to comment otherwise NBC would not of hired him.

I don't see u commenting on Micheal Johnson saying that bolt cant break his record because of his technique but you choose to hate on one of your own.

the only thing i see is that you guys are holding a lot of envy... GROW UP TUNERS!!!

Postby Monk BANzai » August 20th, 2008, 11:03 pm

^^ understand?........i doh understand allyuh.....Bolt is 6 foot plus.....and that is ALL he doing? ...steups...come on man....for a man that height..i expected MUCH more out of him..i agree.....Bolt is not impressive...fast yes.....but impressive?...nah.....

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » August 20th, 2008, 11:14 pm

^I thought that until today...the 200m record.michael johnson...he geh some respek for tha....

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » August 20th, 2008, 11:31 pm

BOLT is an unfinished Athlete.... and when irons out his faults he will be even more awesome..

He is the wave of the future.

Postby Maserati » August 21st, 2008, 1:06 am

"He still has to mature. He is a young man but he should show more respect for his rivals. He should shake hands with them after the finish line. I have no problems with his showboating but it would be good not to have a repeat of the 'catch me if you can' gesture."
IOC chief Jacques Rogge on Usain Bolt

Postby RASC » August 21st, 2008, 8:43 am

Jamaican?
Black?
Faster than every single man on EARTH?

If they ain't hating, you ain't doing it right :wink:

Postby RASC » August 21st, 2008, 8:48 am

Let me set the record straight on "BOLT COULD'VE GONE FASTER IF..." nonsense :roll:

It is clearly evident that alot of your guys don't have a concise understanding of how this things work.

WHAT IS THE POINT OF GOING ALL OUT IN OLYMPICS this early in his career???

Think About it :wink:

Don't you think it would be more profitable to KEEP breaking your own record?
Think about next year, and year after that?
You think PUMA is forever gonna be able to pay you unless *hint* you do something spectacular AGAIN :shock:

Obviously he didn't go all out, he has sense and the maturity to understand how to work the system.

CONTINUE TO BREAK YOUR OWN RECORD=MORE MONEY & MORE ENDORSEMENTS :!:

joel

Postby joel » August 21st, 2008, 10:38 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ understand?........i doh understand allyuh.....Bolt is 6 foot plus.....and that is ALL he doing? ...steups...come on man....for a man that height..i expected MUCH more out of him..i agree.....Bolt is not impressive...fast yes.....but impressive?...nah.....

amm banzai, to be that tall and run that fast is a phenomenal thing. Tall people..in his case 6'5", do not make very good sprinters because to get the correct mix of leg turnover speed and stride length is not easy to do for them. the man and his coach has in some way made his enormous stride length extremely efficient. Plus tall men take a year to get out of blocks,...which is the difference ( in 100 AND 200M) between gold and maybe last. he doesnt so people are in awe. His feats have caused people in track to rethink their position on what physical attributes a sprinter must have.

Tall people are generally more suited to run the 400m where their stride is going to help them.
Last edited by joel on August 21st, 2008, 10:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Trini_tech

ato

Postby Trini_tech » August 21st, 2008, 10:43 am

JJ16 wrote:i agree with what ato saying..d man did dotishness..he shuda jus be professional about the race and finish it properly....after all it was the Olympics...also i guess its the man's job as a commentator to comment on whatever...

I see some ppl vex they aint run in the 100m race....

30hz

Postby 30hz » August 21st, 2008, 10:50 am

wat the US have to realise us that in beijing they beef up drug testing and now it hardly have any americans around. i wonder why? before they use to have 3 or 4 competitors in every final. now they lucky if they have one.

if ato talk bout that, it will never reach the air.
nbc hire him cuz he does sound like an american and to show their US coverage.
nbc will bad talk the pope to big up jimmy swaggart and america, thats just the way it is.

joel

Postby joel » August 21st, 2008, 11:00 am

Below is what ato boldon put up on another website in response to what people sayin bout him....ah just thought it woulda be FAIR to have what he say here because he answers on the other website but not here. Now that we have both sides ah guess we could make more informed decisions on what his motives were or are. For the record, I think that he just say what he say out of maturity...because nobody coulda show off more than he and HSI, even when he come second place and he padnah maurice greene win all them race....

look de link http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index ... ic=38258.0

No-one on the planet has used more superlatives to praise Bolt since May when I called his 100m world record in New York. A month ago, I said he would win three gold medals in Beijing, and during both NBC broadcasts, I correctly predicted his World Records.
No one who saw the NBC broadcasts I have done on Bolt could possibly ever say I have begrudged the man his wins or his success, or even his exuberance, because quite to the contrary, as I walk to the stadium every day with my Jamaican mother, I am excited and thrilled for the Jamaican team's success this year - as I am for all those who are excelling in Beijing.

Prior to the start of the Games, I said in an article that it would only be fitting that Jamaica have their first men's and women's 100m champion ever, since Jamaica is the mecca of track and field. That has since happened. In my several visits to Jamaica this year, Jamaicans, in many ways, embraced me as a fellow Caribbean brother in a way no other island has, which was a great feeling. To imply that I am anti-Jamaica or anti Bolt simply flies in the face of the facts.

So, despite the numerous articles in which I have been complimentary to Bolt and my calls of his races on NBC, some have chosen to single out my opinion that he should have celebrated after the line as a 'sour grapes' rain on his parade, or disrespect for Usain Bolt's achievements.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

It has further descended into a 'USA vs Jamaica' issue, which is lunacy, since when watching the replays of the 100 I said aloud off-air "that was great television, but I think it was poor sportsmanship". That assessment was discussed on NBC during Bolt's early rounds and another commentator said it was just youthful exuberance - and it was left at that.
Since that time, and since my Bob Costas interview, Jamaicans, as well as people from other Caribbean countries and the USA, have written to me, to say either one of the following two things - that I was stupid for allowing Costas to 'bait' me into a derogatory statement about Bolt, which is false, since I thought it myself on the night in question, OR, that I should 'stand my ground' because they, too, thought the pre-finish line celebration a bit excessive. People clearly feel differently about the race.

It is perfectly ok to disagree with my opinions, and many Jamaicans here in Beijing have sought me out in the stadium to say that I would have to know the man Bolt more to understand that he would never disrespect his competitors. I can certainly entertain or accept that possibility, but I will not apologize for an opinion, especially since it seems that the 999 favorable ones I have had of Bolt have been ignored - to focus on this one - which has been blown totally out of proportion.

I have no interest in a needless controversy which seeks only to overshadow the unprecedented performances of this Jamaican Olympic team, and I wish to state categorically that I respect opinions contrary to my assessment of Bolt's celebration, while maintaining my own opinion.

My stance as a track purist is that an athlete should celebrate as much as possible before and after, not during a race - simple as that. I celebrated as much as was possible during my own career and I find Bolt's antics here truly entertaining. I was unaware that he had THIS much personality, in all honesty. NBC has devoted much airtime to showing the fun Bolt is having in Beijing - but that does not mean I can't state an opinion that I wanted to see him celebrate after the finish line was crossed. By celebrating 'post finish-line' tonight, Bolt broke a 200M WR I thought would never fall. I congratulate him wholeheartedly.

I will remind those who seek to falsely make this out to be an issue of one man or one country being singled out that it was NBC that was most harsh when the victorious USA men's 4x100 Olympic team celebrated in a most unbecoming manner in 2000, a sentiment quickly echoed by the US media, leading to an apology by said team.

Anyone who might question my praise and admiration for Bolt need only look at my broadcasts of his races dating back to May of this year, or any of the countless articles in which I have spoken in glowing terms about him.

Ato Boldon
Beijing.

Postby RASC » August 21st, 2008, 11:17 am

You guys have to admit, he(Ato) is talking alot of sense there :wink:

ALL athletes have ego's hell, 99% of the go getters in society have ego's. It's what makes them Alpha in their genre. It's part and parcel of who and what they are. I see nothing wrong with it and actually encourage it. It helps forms strong character and often times makes you into a leader and not a follower.

BUT as Ato said, celebrating while during the race was a bit much IMHO, and I congratulate Ato for coming out and stating that's EXACTLY what he meant to condemn!

Terran

Postby Terran » August 21st, 2008, 11:21 am

I kinda think NBC hired Ato because there probably isn't a drug-free former sprint sensation from their own country they can hire to give a sound analysis of a race or a competitor without shooting themselves in the foot.

Apart from that, Ato can talk.

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 21st, 2008, 11:27 am

Terran wrote:I kinda agree with Ato... not sure if I would consider Bolt's actions to be disrespectful, but more indisciplined. Furthermore, one would question if it is the appropriate etiquette for a sportsman. If Bolt carried it any further, there may have been whistles, streamers, horns, a live band and music all around during his "celebration".

I don't know anything about Bolt's technique being flawed... whatever he's doing right now is producing the results. He WON the 100m final in a WORLD RECORD TIME. Let's see the "flawless" runners beat that! Had it not been for his victory dance across the line, I am SURE he would have lowered the record to an even 9.60.

buh wha d @$$, where decorum come in this? if the man win he win. better yet he break de workd record. what wrong with celebrating, eh?

what make it so different than when dem skinny-@ss woman cross the finish line then proceed to skin dey teeth and take a victory lap after a marathon eh?