3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 10th, 2008, 8:29 pm

^ nice photos

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » November 10th, 2008, 9:40 pm

first pic take win Ed

plex

Postby plex » November 11th, 2008, 8:19 am

nice shots...

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 11th, 2008, 8:42 am

R. Mutt wrote:first pic take win Ed

seconded!

scientist

Postby scientist » November 11th, 2008, 11:53 am

thanks....starting to get the hang of things

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 11th, 2008, 11:55 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
R. Mutt wrote:first pic take win Ed

seconded!

Thirded :twisted:

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 11th, 2008, 11:57 am

wah settings scientist?

scientist

Postby scientist » November 11th, 2008, 12:47 pm

on the EOS....contrast turned up, saturation turned up, white balanced, then Levels in Photoshop+ Unsharp mask

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 11th, 2008, 3:28 pm

scientist wrote:on the EOS....contrast turned up, saturation turned up, white balanced, then Levels in Photoshop+ Unsharp mask

Cool I have been playing around with those settings on my XT also .

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » November 12th, 2008, 11:52 am

I have been looking on at the pics posted and thought I could finally contribute something here since I am also a fan of the Long lenses perspective.
Here is a pic I shot at SoloDex6 using my Canon 300 F4L on a 40D
I used 1/640 at F5.0 and ISO 400
Its been cropped about 10% to improve placement and treated to Lightroom.

Comments?
Last edited by Racefan on November 12th, 2008, 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 12th, 2008, 11:57 am

^Fixed. Image wasn't showing.

A larger version would be nicer.

Looks good though

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 12th, 2008, 12:06 pm

I want to try to make it to Solodex this weekend.

Something I shot last evening:

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 12th, 2008, 12:07 pm

Good shot Raymond a bigger version would be nice .

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 12th, 2008, 12:11 pm

Scully that's one of the best shots that I have seen , I would of cropped a bit of the bottom so that the horizon wont be that centered .

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » November 12th, 2008, 12:12 pm

I think I fixed it, hope it looks better now.
RF

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 12th, 2008, 12:14 pm

imageshack images blocked at my work :(

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 12th, 2008, 12:15 pm

Thanks.

I was thinkin the same, but the elements at the bottom add to the composition, as well as the gradual colour fades towards the horizon emphasize the impression of depth so I left it

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 12th, 2008, 12:18 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:I want to try to make it to Solodex this weekend.

Something I shot last evening:

wow :shock:

Very nice scully !

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 12th, 2008, 12:19 pm

re-upped on 2nr

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » November 12th, 2008, 12:19 pm

I would consider lightening the foreground a bit (mayb 1 stop) then cropping the top so the horizon is about 1/3 way down.
Or do as Draggist suggests and take out the foreground altogether by cropping the bottom so the horizon is again around the 1/3 mark.
This will leave a whole expanse of empty beautiful sky.
RF
Last edited by Racefan on November 12th, 2008, 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 12th, 2008, 12:24 pm

Racefan wrote:I would consider lightening the foreground a bit (mayb 1 stop) then cropping the top so the horizon is about 1/3 way down.
Or do as Draggist suggests and take out the foreground altogether by cropping the bottom so the horizon is again around the 1/3 mark.
This will leave a whole expanse of empty beautiful shy.
RF

Just tried it quickly and it changes the perspective drastically.

Thanks RF.

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » November 12th, 2008, 12:28 pm

So Freelander can see the pic, hopefully.
Otherwise I will try Imageshack next.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 12th, 2008, 1:02 pm

good perspective just the actual car doesnt look very sharp

and scully wow beautifull! crop out the forground make it look endless

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » November 12th, 2008, 1:21 pm

The text is also blurred, I'm thinking it has to do with the image size I chose to upload.
Pls advise what size to use so I can fix it.
RF

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 12th, 2008, 1:28 pm

The DPI could be causing that too.

Try 640x480 @ 120dpi or higher

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » November 12th, 2008, 2:58 pm

After checking with Duane, here is the improved version of the pic.
Hope it shows the correct detail now.
But technical e-challenges aside, I used the f5.0 to ensure the bkground was blurred and had to use ISO 400 bcuz of the overcast/rainy/dim light at the time.
Maybe I could/should have used 1/500 and a lower ISO to have more blur in the water and less grain.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2008, 5:33 pm

^ much better

I prefer shutter speeds slower than 1/400 for motorsport since too fast shutter speeds make moving cars look like they are parked up and you lose all sense of motion - unless of course there is a water splash like the one above.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » November 12th, 2008, 8:42 pm

really awesome shot Antony!

I've been doing a more 3D work than photography as of recent, so I'm posting some renders even though I fallin in a photography thread :lol:

I think that the first shot of the Surpa is cropped way too tight. The color of the calipers on the grey Civic and Supra are both off. The images are pretty grainy...could only have been fixed by increasing the number of glossy sample which equates to ridiculous render times :? There are a few issues with respect to the accuracy of the models themselves but it is what it is. Other than that I'm pretty happy with the results.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 12th, 2008, 8:58 pm

^ cool!

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 13th, 2008, 11:25 am

WOW!

Very nice work Pat!