NYC Financial Workers See Low-Flying Planes, Panic

Yeo

NYC Financial Workers See Low-Flying Planes, Panic

Postby Yeo » April 27th, 2009, 11:56 am

A low-flying Boeing 747 escorted by two fighter jets as part of a federal government photo op over lower Manhattan has caused a brief panic among workers in lower Manhattan.

John Leitner, a floor trader at the New York Mercantile Exchange Building, says workers received no official prior announcement about the exercise. He says everyone panicked when they saw the low-flying planes and began running out of the building around 10 a.m. Monday.

About 1,000 workers gathered along the Hudson River esplanade until a security officer with a bullhorn told them it was a planned exercise.

The Federal Aviation Administration says the government was conducting a photo op involving two F-16 jets and a 747. The FAA notified city law enforcement about the mission.

http://www.1010wins.com/Low-Flying-Plan ... ic/4279141

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » April 27th, 2009, 11:57 am

Postby crazybalhead » April 27th, 2009, 11:58 am

Postby wagonrunner » April 27th, 2009, 12:02 pm

:rofl: xxxxxxxxxxxxx

american jumpiness for the entertainment factor. :lol: :lol:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 27th, 2009, 12:03 pm

all the mouth the US ppl have, one little exercise and they scampering... :D :D :D

But dat is some serious sheit... at least they should have notified the ppl.... STEUPS!!! :evil:

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 27th, 2009, 12:14 pm

Low-flying presidential plane sows New York panic

45 minutes ago

NEW YORK (AFP) — One of President Barack Obama's planes, escorted by two fighter jets, spread panic Monday flying low over New York, triggering office evacuations in the city still scarred by the 9/11 attacks.

But the low-flying planes which buzzed parts of southern Manhattan and the Hudson River for about 30 minutes were just out for a Pentagon exercise.

"The presidential airlift group conducted an aerial photo in the New York city area today," said US Air Force spokesman Major Richard Johnson.

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) called the maneuver a "photo op."

"The Defense Department is conducting a photo op that involves deploying two F-16s and escorting a military version of the Boeing 747" close to lower Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty, FAA spokesman Jim Peters told AFP.

"The maneuver was not an emergency and was coordinated in advance with the FAA and state and local officials," he added.

A police spokesman confirmed some offices had been evacuated, without giving a figure and said: "I guess people panicked."

Hijackers slammed two planes into the twin towers of New York's World Trade Center on September 11, 2001 destroying the building on the southern tip of Manhattan and killing about 3,000 people.

"I was there on 9/11, I saw thousands of people die. I don't like when I am not aware of a military photo op," said commodities trader Jurgens Bauer.

"I am in a room without windows, I did not see any plane, I saw everybody running and I ran out too. My heart is still pounding."

Ground Zero, where the buildings once stood, is now a permanent memorial to the deadliest-ever terror attack on American soil.

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/ar ... f1Z9i0ucyg

Yeo

Postby Yeo » April 27th, 2009, 12:15 pm

I did not see any plane, I saw everybody running and I ran out too. My heart is still pounding."

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Damien » April 27th, 2009, 12:17 pm

Supazuki

Postby Supazuki » April 27th, 2009, 12:23 pm

it was ah dry run

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » April 27th, 2009, 12:27 pm

any thing to revive 911 stories...wait no that was bush okay n/m..

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » April 27th, 2009, 1:02 pm

i was going home after that one.....or the rumshop..trini behaviour FTL :lol:

oh and then i woulda ask for a holiday tomorrow

Postby AllTrac » April 27th, 2009, 1:08 pm

Yeo wrote:
I did not see any plane, I saw everybody running and I ran out too. My heart is still pounding."

that guy has to be black.

Yeo

Postby Yeo » April 27th, 2009, 1:13 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Yeo wrote:

that guy has to be black.

Nah, I don't think so, if he was, the news crew would have never caught up to interview him and b) before he responded, he would have given a "shout-out" to his "crew" first .....

xtech

Postby xtech » April 28th, 2009, 7:42 am

Obama furious after his plane scares New York
White House apologizes for low-flying plane
White House Military Office was trying to update its file photos of Air Force One

http://edition.cnn.com/2009/US/04/27/lo ... index.html

Postby noshownogo » April 28th, 2009, 8:18 am

dem coulda just photoshop a nice background and some crims on de plane for de photo-op

xtech

Postby xtech » April 28th, 2009, 3:16 pm

dem lucky that d private city defense systems i help set up for some of the local BILLIONAIRES did not engage

It have buildings protected by

Anti-aircraft guns
Rocket launchers
High energy Particle weapons
High Energy Deflector Fields
Tractor Beams

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dP-UgWsiT0E&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/phCRNrqd4f8&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby wagonrunner » April 28th, 2009, 4:37 pm

xtech wrote:dem lucky that d private city defense systems i help set up for some of the local BILLIONAIRES did not engage

It have buildings protected by

Anti-aircraft guns
Rocket launchers
High energy Particle weapons
High Energy Deflector Fields
Tractor Beams

no lludium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulators?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 28th, 2009, 4:39 pm

dat infomation is G5 level classified :|

Hammy Bolo

Postby Hammy Bolo » April 28th, 2009, 6:13 pm

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » April 28th, 2009, 8:21 pm

Air Force 1 is relatively quiet

It's the F-16s that probabally caused the panic