3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 6th, 2009, 8:34 am

^^^ Yup Mutt's pics not loading fully .

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » May 7th, 2009, 12:21 pm

Looking for some advice on a wide angle lens... Which lens would you'll recommend for usage with the Nikon D60???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 7th, 2009, 4:16 pm

^ what do you plan to use it for?

do you want an ultra wide at 10mm or are you looking for a 16mm +?

The Nikon D60 is a 1.6x crop factor sensor?

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » May 7th, 2009, 5:58 pm

nope... 1.5x crop factor...

what i was looking at was the Sigma 10-20...

check these links...

http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-10-20mm-Fil ... 07&sr=8-10

http://www.amazon.com/Sigma-10-20mm-4-5 ... 3Y7Q1JNHDH

The first one does not mention Digital SLR in the initial title but in the product description it says that the lens is specifically made for Digital SLR etc...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 7th, 2009, 6:05 pm

That Sigma 10-20mm will work on the D60 it wont work on Nikon Full Frame Bodies though ( as far as I remember ) so if you plan to Upgrade to Full Frame take that into consideration .

Also to note on the D60 it will have the range of 15-30mm

David

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » May 7th, 2009, 6:31 pm

hmmmmm... well the company paid for the camera and they'll be paying for the lens and I don't really see an upgrade in the near future so I guess the Sigma 10-20mm will be the choice...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 7th, 2009, 6:36 pm

Ah want a work in that Company !!!!!!!

Good luck with the Siggy it's a good choice , My choice would be this however .

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5 ... X_116.html

The Tokina 11-16mm the IQ is in my opinion better on the Tokina and it's a f2.8 Lens.

P.S. Just checked and on the Nikon version AF is not supported on the D60 :evil: No Biggy Manual Focus is it .

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » May 7th, 2009, 6:43 pm

You had me tripping for a moment there...

The Tokina does not have the autofocus... That's what you meant right?..

Cuz all that I've seen on the Sigma suggests autofocus...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 7th, 2009, 6:50 pm

Yup for some reason it will not support Auto Focus on the Nikon D60 and D40 .

Taken from the link on the Tokina .

"Note! Not suitable for 35mm film SLR cameras or digital cameras with image sensor bigger than APS-C size (e.g. D3). AF not supported by D40 and D60 cameras."

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » May 7th, 2009, 6:53 pm

yeah i saw that... i was jus clarifying for peace of mind seeing as I will not be the only user of the camera... manual focus may end up being beyond some people...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 7th, 2009, 6:55 pm

You are good with the Sigma all clear with AF .

Postby pugboy » May 7th, 2009, 7:08 pm

it probably doesnt have the autofocus motor built into the lens,
some of the cameras dont have the motor either which would be needed to drive those motorless lens

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 7th, 2009, 7:31 pm

It has a AF motor just not compatible with the D40and 60 for what ever reason , it actually has a great motor built in that you don't need to switch between AF and MF .

Postby *KRONIK* » May 7th, 2009, 9:06 pm

R. Mutt wrote:ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

i am amazed by this......... :shock: :shock: :shock: 8-) 8-) 8-)

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 8th, 2009, 6:48 pm

plex

Postby plex » May 8th, 2009, 9:39 pm

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 8th, 2009, 9:44 pm

yuh just take dem ent nigel ?

it was raining too much for me to get some shots :x

Postby pete » May 8th, 2009, 11:26 pm

A couple I took with my P&S Sony last week

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 9th, 2009, 12:08 am

Good shots Pete

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » May 9th, 2009, 11:13 pm

Just got back from a trip

Had lunch with a legend

and picked up some of these:

:mrgreen: Fun times ahead! :mrgreen:

oh and this was from a shoot last week :twisted:

Racefan
CARS Member

Postby Racefan » May 10th, 2009, 10:33 am

Comments for Aaron in particular:
I know someone with the Canon 28-200 in mint condition that was considering selling at a fair price. Interested?
The 16-35 F2.8L is twice as expensive as the 17-40 F4L and some argue the optics are too similar to justify the added $$.
But a similar argument can be made for the 70-200 F4L at $600 vs the F2.8IS at $1,699.
Two very different lenses and as Duane and many others will attest, the extra stop is awsome, especially when you need it.
PM me if you would like to take the 17-40 F4L for a test drive.
I would advise against the cheaper lenses that are a compromise at best and which do not retain their resale value like the L lenses.
But that's just my perspective.
RaceFan

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 10th, 2009, 12:30 pm

This is Some pics i took with my Sony Ericsson k510I. 1.3 megapixels yo.
I call this one .STUCK.

A Truck man decide to overtake a line of cars, i was in front, please note dat just ahead we goin up a hill and it have a blind corner at the top. Van guy take d corner and las minute see d truck and attempted to pull into a man open yard...however WHAM. ah had to jump out meh car and pull out d man and he gyul.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 10th, 2009, 12:32 pm

Ok Cool but why is this in here ????

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 10th, 2009, 1:03 pm

^^^ hey its photos isnt it? lol

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 10th, 2009, 1:05 pm

Yes but this thread is about the art of Photography .

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 10th, 2009, 1:52 pm

^^^ I like Stuck

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 10th, 2009, 2:54 pm

Dragist wrote:Yes but this thread is about the art of Photography .

Hey this is my contribution to the expression of light and shadows...and of course a drunk arse truck driver.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » May 10th, 2009, 6:01 pm

thanks *KRONIK*, thanks for the lens info as well guys.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » May 10th, 2009, 10:19 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:oh and this was from a shoot last week :twisted:

I know this chick, you sure you wanna use that smiley? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » May 11th, 2009, 6:58 am

just a few photos i took with my old cam (2mp canon optura 500)